Databases
These are good databases for starting your research in the visual arts. They can be accessed from off-campus computers using your LIU username and password.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides the full text of over 8,500 periodicals along with citations to an additional 12,500, as well as more than 13,200 publications that include monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and more. Articles cover a broad range of subjects.
- JSTORThe full text of more than 100 journals in business, social sciences, science, and the humanities.
- ProQuest Research LibraryProvides access to full-text journals across a wide range of subject areas including the arts. Coverage of more than 2,600 periodicals is designed to correspond to the most popular college majors, and over 1,700 are available in full text. Covers 1971 to the present.
- ProQuest Dissertations & ThesesCovering 1637 to the present, this comprehensive collection provides the full text of over 1.2 million dissertations and theses from around the world, along with citations to an additional 1.5 million. More than 70,000 items are added each year through publishing partnerships with 700 academic institutions as well as UMI's archiving program of retrospectively digitizing past works. Most of the full text is still from the past thirty years.
Database Searching Tips
There is no standardized format for a database’s appearance or user interface. However, most databases offer similar search functionality.
- Keyword searching is default on many databases.
- Use important nouns as search words.
- Try using synonyms of your search words: college, university, "higher education".
- Avoid using common words: "a", "an","the","to","by", "of", etc.
- Use double quotation marks to search for an exact phrase.
Example: “embryonic stem cell”
Find Journals
Enter the name of a journal to find a list of databases that include full-text from a journal and/or those found in our LIU Libraries Periodicals Collections.