Skip to main content

Shakespeare Forever: General


Shakepeare Birthplace Trust

The Shakespeare Birthplace Trust site provides information on the print collections of the Trust, as well as information about Stratford-upon-Avon, including its historical houses, museum and library. The Trust also maintains archival records concerning Shakespeare and his family.

Shakespeare Timeline: the Intersection of Art and Life by PBS

Has video clips

Folger Shakespeare Library                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        The Folger is a world-renowned center for scholarship, learning, culture, and the arts. It is home to the world’s largest Shakespeare collection. The Folger’s collections include rare printed books, manuscripts, works of art, audiovisual materials, and modern scholarship.

           "The Wonder of Will, celebrating Shakespeare and his extraordinary legacy through special events, exhibitions, performances, and more—online, at the Folger, and across

           the United States!"

         This multi-institutional collaboration coordinated by Folger, is an online exhibit that will include "images, descriptions, and transcriptions of all known documentary,

          manuscript, and printed references and allusions to Shakespeare, his works, and additional references to his family, during their lifetimes and shortly thereafter."

Folger Digital Image Collection                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                       The Folger's Digital image collection on LUNA offers online access to over 80,000 images from the FolgerShakespeare Library collection, including books, theater memorabilia, manuscripts, art, and more. Images are available in high resolution and users can show multiple images side-by-side, zoom in and out to see fine detail, view cataloging information when available, export thumbnails, and construct permanent URLs linking back to their favorite items or searches.                                     

The Folger Luminary Shakespeare apps                                                                                                                                                                                                           

The Folger Luminary Shakespeare apps, created in partnership with Luminary Digital Media and Simon & Schuster, enrich the Folger Shakespeare Editions with unique audio and visual resources designed for 21st-century learning and teaching on the iPad.


Absolute Shakespeare                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                              Absolute Shakespeare, the essential resource for William Shakespeare's plays, sonnets, poems, quotes, biography and the legendary Glo

Shakespeare Movies

The Shakespeare Resource Center The mission of the Shakespeare Resource Center is simple: help people who need to research Shakespeare. This guiding principle has been the reason for the site's continued existence since 1997.       

Shakespeare in Quarto

This website is maintained by the British Library. It contains good background material and digital copies of the original (quarto) 17th-cen

Internet Shakespeare Editions
Want to see what Shakespeare’s plays looked like when they were originally published? This is a great site for comparing quarto to folio, and how words and spellings changed from text to text.

Shakespeare Online
This site features everything from historical background to Shakespeare’s original sources to useful study guides.

The Shakespeare Standard                                                                                                                                                                                                                              A true grab bag of Shakespeare on the web. It hosts everything from original articles to Shakespeare news and reviews to newsletters and educational resources. Also has a wide variety of web-links

SHAKSPER                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                 SHAKSPER is an edited and moderated, international, e-mail distribution list for discussion among Shakespearean scholars, researchers, instructors, students, and anyone sharing their academic interests and concerns

Shakespeare's Words
The best online glossary to all the strange, confusing, and beautiful words that appear in Shakespeare’s works. Based on David and Ben Crystal’s incredible book, also called Shakespeare?s Words, it lets you look up any word instantly. It even features full-text editions of the plays with the definitions linked in!

Shakespeare Quotations