Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A selection of Books
Bringing Genius Hour to Your Library by This unique book presents a practical and realistic approach to implementing a school-wide, K-12 Genius Hour program--one that can succeed regardless of budgetary and infrastructure constraints. Genius Hour is a movement in which students are allowed to spend a portion of their in-school time learning about a topic of their choosing--even subjects outside of the curriculum. When properly implemented, a Genius Hour program can create true passion for learning among unmotivated students, ignite interest in STEM as well as the arts, encourage collaboration, improve the relationship between educator and students, and help prepare students for real life outside of the educational system. But revamping a school library program to offer a Genius Hour program may seem like an insurmountable task--especially when working with a limited staff or budget. This book provides specific direction and concrete advice that enables school librarians to lead a school-wide program for all grade levels, from kindergarten to 12th grade. It explains why Genius Hour is the perfect program complement to the learning commons environment; presents research and support that will empower librarians to make a convincing case to administration; explains how to enlist the participation of faculty; and provides step-by-step guidance to begin, successfully manage, and grow a campus-wide Genius Hour. Librarians will see why investing in "creative teaching" is worth the effort, despite their limited time and resources; understand how to help underperforming students make their distractions "count" in school; and look forward to playing a part in creating imaginative and independent thinkers, not test takers. Provides a clear plan for implementing a school-wide genius hour program that can create a fluid learning and teaching experience for both students and librarians Offers an education program that matches the goals or mission of a venue such as a learning commons environment Delineates how a school librarian can fulfill a position of leadership in the school to implement a school-wide vision Written with sensitivity to and knowledge of the issues that surround both public and private schools--for example, varying budgets, degrees of technology adoption, and community support
Publication Date: 2017-11-28
Collection Development and Management for 21st Century Library Collections by Packed with discussion questions, activities, suggested additional references, selected readings, and many other features that speak directly to students and library professionals, Gregory's Collection Development and Management for 21st Century Library Collections is a comprehensive handbook that also shares myriad insightful ideas and approaches valuable to experienced practitioners. This new second edition brings an already stellar text fully up to date, presenting top-to-bottom coverage of the impact of new technologies and developments on the discipline, including discussion of e-books, open access, globalization, self-publishing, and other trends; needs assessment, policies, and selection sources and processes; budgeting and fiscal management; collection assessment and evaluation; weeding, with special attention paid to electronic materials; collaborative collection development and resource sharing; marketing and outreach; self-censorship as a component of intellectual freedom, professional ethics, and other legal issues; diversity and ADA issues; preservation; and the future of the field. Additional features include updated vendor lists, samples of a needs assessment report, a collection development policy, an approval plan, and an electronic materials license.
Publication Date: 2019-01-25
Collection Management for Youth: Equity, Inclusion, and Learning, Second Edition by With a renewed emphasis on facilitating learning, supporting multiple literacies, and advancing equity and inclusion, the thoroughly updated and revised second edition of this trusted text provides models and tools that will enable library staff who serve youth to create and maintain collections that provide equitable access to all youth. And as Hughes-Hassell demonstrates, the only way to do this is for collection managers to be learner-centered, confidently acting as information guides, change agents, and leaders. Based on the latest educational theory and research, this book presents the argument for why collection management decisions and practices should focus on equity, exploring systemic inequities, educational paradigm shifts, developments in the information environment, and other key factors; lays out the theoretical foundation for developing and managing a library collection that facilitates learning, supports the development of multiple literacies, and provides equitable access to an increasingly diverse group of young learners; touches upon current competencies and standards by AASL, YALSA, and ALSC; uses a learner-centered and equity perspective to cover core issues and criteria such as selection and removal of materials, budgeting, and cooperation among libraries; shows how a business viewpoint can assist the learner-centered collector in articulating the central significance of the collection to learning; discusses how library staff can work collaboratively to create policy and negotiate budgets; and includes customizable tools and templates, including a Stakeholder Contact/SWOT Analysis, Decision-Making Model for Selecting Resources and Access Points that Support Learning and Advance Equity, and Collection Development Analysis Worksheet. This resource will be as useful to current school librarians and supervisors, youth librarians in public libraries, and educators as it will to LIS students.
Publication Date: 2020-12-08
Copyright for Schools by Copyright for Schools makes legal concepts related to U.S. copyright law understandable to educators. A staple on reference shelves, it has now been updated with new court rulings and technology applications. This updated edition of Copyright for Schools explains U.S. copyright law as it applies to education settings clearly and concisely for teachers and school librarians. Topics new to this edition include copyright implications related to the use of such streaming services as Netflix(tm) and Pandora(tm), links to online tools that teachers can use to assist them in making their own daily decisions regarding the use of copyrighted materials, and implications relating to the use of anonymous internet publishing tools such as Snapchat(tm) and use of Cloud-based sharing. Other new topics include issues related to disability, how to appropriately respond to cease and desist letters and other legal inquiries, implications of the Music Modernization Act, and expanded discussion of open resources such as Creative Commons licenses. This edition also adds a concordance in a "Scope and Sequence" table format, so all information related to U.S. copyright knowledge is accessible no matter where it resides within the text, and provides links to online tools and resources that can be used to guide users of copyrighted materials in making decisions about how to use them. Still included are the real-world applications and the Q&A sidebars from prior editions. Concordance linking copyright concepts to concepts featured elsewhere in the text Revised and expanded lists of free and licensed materials for use in teaching and learning New chapter discussing issues related to disability New chapter discussing appropriate responses to cease and desist letters and other legal inquiries Links to online tools and resources that can be used to guide users of copyrighted materials in making decisions about how to use them
Publication Date: 2021-01-12
Enhancing Teaching and Learning by Rapid change calls for informed leadership. The goal of Donham's text has always been to help school library professionals make a difference in the educational experience and academic attainment of students in their schools. With the addition of new co-author Sims, a junior high school librarian, this newly revised fourth edition rises to the challenge with updates and enhancements that confirm its value as an important resource for both LIS students and current school librarians. Covering all aspects of the school system, including students, curriculum and instruction, principals, district administration, and the community, it demonstrates how to interact and collaborate in order to integrate the school library program throughout these environments. Inside, readers will find myriad real-world examples of issues in school librarianship and evidence-based practice; discussion of such urgent topics as the educational needs of the iGen (those born between 1995 and 2012), changing reading habits, the influence of the media, and news literacy and other issues related to the proliferation of fake news; updates which touch upon the new AASL Standards, inquiry-based learning, assessment, and library program evaluation; specific tactics for establishing the library program as an active player in teaching and learning; an overview of education-related technology such as course management systems, the virtual library, makerspaces, information presentation and data representation tools like ScreenCast and Google Maps, online home-school communication, and online student safety and privacy; and end-of-chapter discussion scenarios that explore opportunities for the practical application of concepts. Reflecting changes--professional, theoretical, legal, and political--in both the library field and education, this new edition of a groundbreaking school library text will equip readers to be leaders at their schools and in their communities.
Publication Date: 2020-02-17
Evaluating the School Library by This guide for the evaluation of school libraries both in practice and in research covers analysis, techniques, and research practices for conducting evaluations of curriculum, collections, facilities, and library personnel performance. This new edition of an important tool for school librarians and administrators describes how and why to conduct evaluations of school libraries and explains the evaluation of curriculum, collections, facilities, student programs and services, and library personnel. The results can be used for strategic planning, curriculum development, and conducting action research. New topics to this edition include explorations of community, faculty, students, and school library research, discussing how to bring all stakeholders to the table when evaluating the school library program, personnel and services, and the collection and facilities. Other new topics include information on high-stakes testing, multiculturalism, special needs students, advocacy, school librarians' self-evaluation, dispositions for learning, and evidence-based practice. This title will be of value to new school librarians in assessing how their program compares to others, as well as to school library professors, who will find this book useful in management and administration courses. Discusses evaluation of all school services Presents the only comprehensive evaluation guide for school libraries Contains helpful tools, forms, and checklists that add value Provides a one-stop and one-of-a-kind resource for all types of evaluation
Publication Date: 2020-10-14
Gaming Programs for All Ages at the Library by Join librarian and lifelong gamer Tom Bruno on his quest to bring gaming to his library community, from bringing back classic board games such as Fireball Island to offering free play in the latest virtual reality games using the Oculus Rift or the HTC Vive Gaming Programs for All Ages at the Library shows you how you can launch and support gaming programming in your library, including: -how to make the case for library gaming with your administration, -how to acquire and loan gaming materials (whether or not you have the budget for them ), -how to publicize your library gaming programming, and -how to incorporate other library units into the gaming experience. Everything from acquisitions to budgeting to circulation is covered in this practical guide --- you'll also learn about promotion, assessment, and experiential learning opportunities
Publication Date: 2018-06-20
Intellectual Freedom Issues in School Libraries by This volume of collected articles from the archives of School Library Connection provides school librarians and LIS professors with a one-stop source of information for supporting the core library principle of intellectual freedom. School librarians continue to advocate for and champion student privacy and the right to read and have unfettered access to needed information. Updated and current information concerning these issues is critical to school librarians working daily with students, parents, and faculty to manage library programs, services, and print and digital collections. This volume is an invaluable resource as school librarians revisit collection development, scheduling, access, and other policies. Library science professors will find this updated volume useful for information and discussion with students. Drawing on the archives of School Library Connection, Library Media Connection, and School Library Monthly magazines--and with comprehensive updates throughout--chapters tackle privacy, the right to read, censorship, equal access to information, and other intellectual freedom issues. New laws and legal and ethical opinions continue to appear and help inform the daily response school librarians have to current issues. This volume updates all included articles with current legal thought and opinion. Intellectual freedom expert April Dawkins offers practical advice and commentary throughout. Includes up-to-date coverage of a wide range of intellectual freedom topics Looks at current and applicable laws Features important topics for discussion in LIS classes Immediately usable in schools and for school district staff development
Publication Date: 2020-11-11
National School Library Standards for Learners, School Librarians, and School Libraries by The AASL Standards Framework for Learners pamphlet is the ideal collaborative and advocacy piece to introduce your stakeholders to this student-focused segment at the heart of AASL's standards. In addition to the framework for Learners, this convenient pamphlet includes Common Beliefs reflecting current Learning environments and professional best practices that form the foundation of the standards; a summary of the essential elements in the standards framework structure; and additional information to support the role of the school Librarian and school library in raising student achievement. Begin a dialogue with your stakeholders that connects the learner with the librarian as a teacher, and spotlights the school library as a dynamic, personalized learning environment. This is the perfect piece to share and present at: District school board meetings, PTA/PTO meetings, Teacher in-service days, A great quick reference for the practitioner, the learner standards pamphlet is a handy advocacy tool to share with administrators, parents, and other stakeholders as well as a valuable collaborative resource to use in working with classroom teachers. Available in full-color glossy packs of 10, this AASL Standards resource is available to distribute to every colleague and stakeholder in your school or district. AASL now offers professionals the option to access the standards through a searchable mobile application. Thanks to the app, you can always have the AASL Standards accessible and easily at hand-during curriculum meetings, teacher collaborations, professional development, or instructional opportunities. Maximize your collaborative opportunities with your stakeholders as you showcase the standards that define the profession. With the app, you can: search all the AASL Standards frameworks by Shared Foundation or keyword search; easily compare Domains and Competencies across Learners, school Librarians, and school libraries; record and edit personal notes within the app; and, share your notes via email with yourself or your colleagues. Book jacket.
Publication Date: 2017-09-01
New Standards-Based Lessons for the Busy Elementary School Librarian by Busy elementary librarians need help applying the new AASL Standards Framework, especially in collaboration with social studies teachers seeking to apply the social studies standards framework. This book shows a path forward for both. This book will be a tremendous help to the busy elementary school librarian who is working with busy elementary social studies teachers. As they are designing and co-teaching library-based lessons based on the Social Studies Standards Framework, the English Literacy Common Core Standards, and the new American Association of School Librarians (AASL) Standards Learners Framework, these reproducible lessons will enhance planning and implementation. You'll get ready-to-use lessons as well as model lessons to adapt to the needs of your own curriculum and students. All standards are applied--with needed handouts--and other tools and current lists of recommended resources are provided. Lessons are coordinated to common elementary social studies curricula at indicated grade levels but can be adapted as template lessons as needed. Current resource lists aid librarians in collection development to support new and current standards. Applies the new AASL Standards Learner Framework to easily used lessons Applies the new Social Studies Standards Framework to library-based lessons and resources Applies Common Core Language Arts Literacy Standards to library-based lessons Provides easy-to-use reproducible elementary school lessons Provides recommended current resources for all elementary library lessons
Publication Date: 2020-02-06
Political Advocacy for School Librarians by School librarians are prepared to be leaders and can use their strengths to advocate for policy that benefits school libraries. This book will teach you how to engage elected officials to effect change that extends to your library. Education and information policy has a direct impact on school libraries and is shaped by decisions at the local, state, and federal levels. School librarians are positioned uniquely to leverage their inside knowledge of effective school library programs to make a difference in education through civic engagement; however, a thorough understanding of both the explicit and "hidden" rules of government is necessary to be an effective advocate. This compact book serves as a guide to advocating for effective programs, filling a gap in the practitioner literature regarding the policies that affect school library programs. Drawing on research-based best practices and the author's experience as the chairman of the ALA Legislation Committee and in political advocacy, this book explains the political process through concrete examples of both success and failure and analyzes these examples to show how librarians can move education policy in a positive direction. Realize how to use your strengths as a librarian to influence issues that matters to you, even if you consider yourself apolitical Discover the "hidden rules" of representative democracy Learn strategies to leverage your institutional knowledge to advocate for effective school libraries at all levels of government
Publication Date: 2019-01-15
Radical Collaborations for Learning by Librarians can be effective catalysts and vital connectors who facilitate successful partnerships that enrich students' lives--"radical collaborations" that have deep and far-reaching impact. Envisioning schools as learning organizations requires collaborating with the greater communities as an integral part of the school's dynamic. How can librarians be key players in realizing this concept of schools? This book addresses this essential question, as well as how librarians can serve as catalysts in reaching beyond the traditional school to form alliances and partnerships with a range of community organizations and agencies, and how these collaborations result in transformative learning experiences not only for the students but for the adults who work together as well. The authors provide examples of schools where librarians, library directors, and educators are joining together in these types of unique partnerships. Chapters are authored by library professionals, who describe what stimulates and motivates these partnerships and how they are collaboratively developed and sustained. This publication will be a catalyst that will inspire readers to grow similar alliances in their own schools and districts among public libraries, colleges, arts foundations, nonprofit cultural organizations, and STEM-related agencies. Defines a unique and critical role for today's school librarians Describes the rationale for forming distinctive collaborations to enhance student learning Features projects currently being implemented and how to foster collaborations
Publication Date: 2020-07-01
Social Justice and Cultural Competency by Published in partnership with the International Association of School Librarianship, this work gathers together the latest and most important research on the topics of social justice and cultural competency in school libraries. Education systems today are expected to advance national goals related to fairness, equity, and social cohesion. Comprising articles written and collected in the journal of the International Association of School Librarianship and new articles written especially for this anthology, this book documents both empirical research and promising practices to help school librarians and teachers work together to promote social justice and develop learners' and educators' cultural competence. Both coeditors are experienced in working with authors from around the world and have participated in the development of standards and guidelines for school library practitioners that are effective and ethical. Brief real life case studies of school librarians and teachers in action showcase efforts to improve the lives of marginalized or under-served students. School librarians inside and outside of the United States, school library educators and policymakers, and academic librarians building school librarianship collections will find this guide valuable. Includes evidence-based approaches to dealing with challenges to the educational and moral purposes of schools Features fresh perspectives on shared concerns from colleagues Provides access to research and promising practices
Publication Date: 2019-11-20
Technology Playbook by Using concrete examples, The School Librarian's Technology Playbook offers strategies for school librarians to initiate and support innovative practices throughout their school community. The role of school librarians has evolved: no longer do they primarily support teachers with reading and literacy resources. Many librarians now support teachers in integrating technology tools and innovative teaching practices in their classrooms. At her school, author and learning coordinator Stacy Brown has pioneered the transition to innovation and technology use in the classroom. In The School Librarian's Technology Playbook, she showcases different technology tools and innovative strategies that can be incorporated into the classroom, such as 3D printing, augmented reality, green screen applications, gamification, coding, makerEd, and more. She details the many ways in which school librarians can support teachers as they implement these new practices into their curriculum. School librarians will learn how to collaborate with teachers and how to empower them to step outside of their comfort zones to try new tools and teaching methods. Readers of this book will also learn how to support teachers as the technology continues to change in this dynamic educational landscape. Readers will be inspired to reimagine the role of the school librarian as a primary influencer of innovation within the school community Readers will discover specific strategies to achieve buy-in from administrators and managers to allow school librarians to lead the school in innovation and professional learning Readers will learn about relevant resources in technology and innovation and practical approaches to using them in an elementary and middle school curriculum Readers will acquire specific strategies for librarians to form partnerships with teachers to introduce resources and alternative teaching strategies into the classroom Readers will learn practical approaches for shaping the school library as an innovation hub to pilot ideas and resources and launch them into the larger community
Publication Date: 2020-02-06
School Library Journals and Sources of Reviews