The economics of a country influences decisions to invest. Some factors that should be considered are inflation, interest rates, exchange rates, unemployment and the labor supply, income distribution and long-term prospects for economic growth.
Country Economic Profiles & Risk Measures
- Coface Economic Studies & Country RiskCountry-level evaluations that measure the average credit risk of a country’s businesses. Reports are updated twice a year.
- Enterprise SurveysWorld Bank country-level reports benchmark the quality of the business and investment climate. Survey data highlights the biggest obstacles experienced by private sector firms. Reports cover emerging market and developing countries.
- OECD Economic OutlookOrganization for Economic Cooperation and Development's (OECD’s) twice-yearly analysis of the major economic trends and prospects for the next two years. Prepared by the OECD Economics Department, the Outlook puts forward a consistent set of projections for output, employment, government spending, prices and current balances based on a review of each member country and of the induced effect on each of them on international developments. Coverage is provided for all OECD member countries as well as for selected non-member countries.
Labor Statistics
- ILIOSTATBuild tables of country data on wages and hours, employment and unemployment, and labor costs with data from the International Labour Organization (ILO), the world's leading source on labor statistics.
- International Labor ComparisonsU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics data on the size of the labor force, employment and unemployment, hourly compensation, and productivity and unit labor costs for major industrial nations.
Economic News
- Financial TimesDirect access available on LIU/Post Campus Only.
Login Required for off-campus access. Obtain Login information from the Periodicals Department ( (516) 299-2872) or the Reference Desk (516-299-2305).
and enter the title of any publication for which you are looking (e.g., The Economist). This will lead to links to databases in which the publication may be found. Clicking on a database (e.g., ABI/INFORM Global) will take you to the record for the publication within that database and allow you to access specific volumes and issues.
Additionally, a link to LIU Libraries Print & Microform may also be provided for those titles available in the LIU Libraries Periodicals Collections. If you wish to have a copy made of an article in the Library's Collections, use the Digital Delivery Request Form.
If LIU does not subscribe to a publication or have access to its full-text , you can still request individual articles through Interlibrary Loan.
Economic Data
Economic data, forecasts and analysis are published by central banks, government agencies, international organizations like the World Bank, the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD), the International Monetary Fund (IMF), and research consultants. Begin searching for data with one of the following sources:
- Economic and Financial IndicatorsBrowse the latest financial and economic data from The Economist using the links found under the "Economic and Financial Indicators" heading.
- Global Consumption DatabaseThe World Bank's Global Consumption Database is a one-stop source of data on household consumption patterns in developing countries. It is designed to serve a wide range of users—from researchers seeking data for analytical studies to businesses seeking a better understanding of the markets into which they are expanding or those they are already serving.
- IMF DataThe International Monetary Fund's (IMF’s) publishes a range of time series data including: International Financial Statistics, Balance of Payment Statistics, Government Finance Statistics and Direction of Trade Statistics.
- OECD Economic SurveysThe Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) Economic Surveys assess current challenges and report on key issues such as competition, financial markets, labor and migration. Click the "Read" button to view the entire content online.
- World Bank: Countries & EconomiesSelected key indicators. Data on population, the economy and more.
- World Bank Open DataFree and open access to global development data. Provides international social and economic data for a wide range of development indicators and time series data for countries and country groups. Includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators where data are available.