Speech, Hearing and Language: Databases

Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC) provides quality research in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC offers cover-to-cover (“core”) indexing and abstracts for more than 570 journals, and selected (“priority”) coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 770 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for over 450 journals.

CINAHL® Complete provides indexing for more than 5,000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health including the full-text of about 1,399 journals. The database contains more than 4 million records dating back to 1937. CINAHL® Complete covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and other allied health disciplines.

Communication Abstracts is a comprehensive source of information about communication-related publications on a world-wide scale. Containing over 244,000 records, Communication Abstracts covers major journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study.

Health and Medicine from Gale OneFile provides articles from a wide range of full text nursing and allied health journals, magazines, newsletters and select consumer health information sources with full-text reference works and hundreds of health-related multimedia.

Nursing & Allied Health Collection from Gale OneFile provides full text articles from over 1,000 journals published in the nursing and allied health fields.

Communications & Mass Media Collection from Gale OneFile brings together information found in more than 350 journals in the communications and mass media fields. Nearly 3 million articles on all aspects of the communications field meet the needs of researchers.

ERIC (Education Resource Information Center) provides access to education literature and resources. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966. This version uses the Ebscohost search interface.

ScienceDirect Journals is a full-text scientific database offering journal articles from Elsevier, a leading international science publisher. Full text access is provided to LIU students, faculty, and staff through LIU Libraries subscriptions.

The JSTOR Collection provides full-text of scholarly journals in the Arts & Sciences. The LIU Libraries currently subscribes to JSTOR Arts & Sciences Archival Collections I - IX, and selected current titles in the JSTOR Current Scholarship Program.

Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.

The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare and pharmacology decision-making. The Cochrane Library consists of Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR), Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE), Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA), and the NHS Economic Evaluation Database (EED).

MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine. Similar content as PubMed.

ProQuest Central provides comprehensive, full-text, periodical coverage from 12 complete ProQuest databases, including Research Library and US Newsstream. These curated databases are focused on science, technology, business, health, religion, arts, literature, humanities, social sciences, and education. The top national and regional US newspapers and newswires are available alongside academic and professional journals, consumer magazines, blogs, and reports. Each of the 12 databases may be searched together or separately.