Op-Eds
An op-ed is an essay in a newspaper or magazine that gives the opinion of the writer and that is written by someone who is not employed by the newspaper or magazine and stands for opposite to an editorial.
Op-Eds are sometimes referred to as Opinions and/or Commentary.
Their purpose is to discuss and provide arguments on issues of relevance to a reader. They are written by named authors who are not associated with the newspaper's editorial board.
Voice of America
The Hill
Finding News Articles in Our Databases
- New York Times (direct) This link opens in a new windowThis resource is the online version of the New York Times. LIU has a "NYTimes.com Pass" account for faculty, staff, and students. The link provided will take you to the NYTimes.com Pass webpage where you can create a complimentary account to access the New York Times. Please use your LIU email when creating an account.
- New York Times This link opens in a new windowThe New York Times is considered a national and international newspaper of record. Covers, local national and world news on politics, business, art, performing arts, environmental issues, biography, science, and more. Full text content from 1980 to present.
- Newspaper Source This link opens in a new windowNewspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.
Linkage to Some Op-Ed Sources
New York Times
The links in the "Opinion page" section below are to The New York Times website, which allows reading a limited number of articles without a subscription. Full digital access to The New York Times is available using the New York Times (direct) link found above. Students, faculty and staff can also access The New York Times (text only) through ProQuest.
- Opinion page
- To read outside submissions only, go to Opinion Contributors
- Sunday Review
- @nytopinion on Twitter and Instagram
- Subscribe to Opinion Today for daily emails with summaries of all opinion pieces
Washington Post
The links in the "Opinion page" section below are to the Washington Post website, which allows reading a limited number of articles without a subscription. Students, faculty, and staff can read Op-Eds from The Washington Post (text only) through ProQuest by executing an Advanced Search for Commentary.
- Opinions page
- The Opinions Essay - Long-form commentary and other features from The Washington Post’s Opinions section.
- PostEverything - Online only magazine for “fresh takes, personal essays, news analyses, and other innovative ways to tell the stories everyone is talking about—and the ones they haven’t yet heard.”
- @PostOpinions on Twitter and Instagram
- Subscribe to the Opinions newsletter for daily emails with links to all opinion pieces
Wall Street Journal
The links in the "Opinion page" section below are to the Wall Street Journal's website, which allows reading a limited number of articles without a subscription. Students, faculty, and staff can read Op-Eds from The Wall Street Journal (text only) through ProQuest by executing an Advanced Search for Commentary.
How to find Op-Eds
In print copies of newspapers, these pages are on the page opposite to the editorial page (op-ed). In online databases, search for keywords related to your topic and then look to limit (or filter) the document type to Commentary.