Library Guides: LV High School: Home

Welcome

Welcome to the Locust Valley High School Research Guide
The guide is written for one-time use by students from Locust Valley High School to assist them in jump-starting their research endeavors by directing them to databases that may be most appropriate for use with their topics.

If you are still having difficulty locating research on your topic please visit our complete list of databases where you can search additional resources associated with your topic.

How do football gloves affect the receiver's ability to catch the ball?

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central provides comprehensive, full-text, periodical coverage from 12 complete ProQuest databases, including Research Library and US Newsstream. These curated databases are focused on science, technology, business, health, religion, arts, literature, humanities, social sciences, and education. The top national and regional US newspapers and newswires are available alongside academic and professional journals, consumer magazines, blogs, and reports. Each of the 12 databases may be searched together or separately.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides access to scholarly literature available on the web. Access to the full text of articles is either available free of charge or restricted behind a publisher's pay wall. For access to full text, open "Settings," click on "Library Links," search for "Long Island University" and check the box for "Long Island University Libraries - Find FullText@LIU."
ScienceDirect Journals This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect Journals is a full-text scientific database offering journal articles from Elsevier, a leading international science publisher. Full text access is provided to LIU students, faculty, and staff through LIU Libraries subscriptions.

What affect does negative self talk have tennis players' gameplay?

APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
PsycInfo is the American Psychological Association's resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. It is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Ninety-nine percent of its content is peer-reviewed. Included is information on the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central provides comprehensive, full-text, periodical coverage from 12 complete ProQuest databases, including Research Library and US Newsstream. These curated databases are focused on science, technology, business, health, religion, arts, literature, humanities, social sciences, and education. The top national and regional US newspapers and newswires are available alongside academic and professional journals, consumer magazines, blogs, and reports. Each of the 12 databases may be searched together or separately.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides access to scholarly literature available on the web. Access to the full text of articles is either available free of charge or restricted behind a publisher's pay wall. For access to full text, open "Settings," click on "Library Links," search for "Long Island University" and check the box for "Long Island University Libraries - Find FullText@LIU."

Hozier - commentary on political/social issues using metaphors & allusions to Irish culture

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides access to scholarly literature available on the web. Access to the full text of articles is either available free of charge or restricted behind a publisher's pay wall. For access to full text, open "Settings," click on "Library Links," search for "Long Island University" and check the box for "Long Island University Libraries - Find FullText@LIU."
JSTOR Collection This link opens in a new window
The JSTOR Collection provides full-text of scholarly journals in the Arts & Sciences. The LIU Libraries currently subscribes to JSTOR Arts & Sciences Archival Collections I - IX, and selected current titles in the JSTOR Current Scholarship Program.
JSTOR Open Content This link opens in a new window
JSTOR Open Content contains ebooks and journal articles that are freely available from major academic publishers such as the University of California Press, Cornell University Press, NYU Press, and University of Michigan Press. Also include digitized versions of books published prior to 1923.
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Gale Literature Resource Center provides full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines that are combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central provides comprehensive, full-text, periodical coverage from 12 complete ProQuest databases, including Research Library and US Newsstream. These curated databases are focused on science, technology, business, health, religion, arts, literature, humanities, social sciences, and education. The top national and regional US newspapers and newswires are available alongside academic and professional journals, consumer magazines, blogs, and reports. Each of the 12 databases may be searched together or separately.

To what extent was the Battle of Teutoburg Forest significant to the fall of the Roman Empire?

JSTOR Collection This link opens in a new window
The JSTOR Collection provides full-text of scholarly journals in the Arts & Sciences. The LIU Libraries currently subscribes to JSTOR Arts & Sciences Archival Collections I - IX, and selected current titles in the JSTOR Current Scholarship Program.
JSTOR Open Content This link opens in a new window
JSTOR Open Content contains ebooks and journal articles that are freely available from major academic publishers such as the University of California Press, Cornell University Press, NYU Press, and University of Michigan Press. Also include digitized versions of books published prior to 1923.
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window
History Reference Center (HRC) features full text for more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books. HRC also includes full text for more than 150 history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents; more than 77,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 37,000 historical photos and maps; and more than 80 hours of historical video.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides access to scholarly literature available on the web. Access to the full text of articles is either available free of charge or restricted behind a publisher's pay wall. For access to full text, open "Settings," click on "Library Links," search for "Long Island University" and check the box for "Long Island University Libraries - Find FullText@LIU."
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central provides comprehensive, full-text, periodical coverage from 12 complete ProQuest databases, including Research Library and US Newsstream. These curated databases are focused on science, technology, business, health, religion, arts, literature, humanities, social sciences, and education. The top national and regional US newspapers and newswires are available alongside academic and professional journals, consumer magazines, blogs, and reports. Each of the 12 databases may be searched together or separately.
World History in Context This link opens in a new window
World History in Context provides information on topics related to the world history. Sources include reference works and primary historic documents.

To what extent did wrong decisions of the German leadership effect the outcome of the evacuation of Dunkirk?

JSTOR Collection This link opens in a new window
The JSTOR Collection provides full-text of scholarly journals in the Arts & Sciences. The LIU Libraries currently subscribes to JSTOR Arts & Sciences Archival Collections I - IX, and selected current titles in the JSTOR Current Scholarship Program.
JSTOR Open Content This link opens in a new window
JSTOR Open Content contains ebooks and journal articles that are freely available from major academic publishers such as the University of California Press, Cornell University Press, NYU Press, and University of Michigan Press. Also include digitized versions of books published prior to 1923.
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window
History Reference Center (HRC) features full text for more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books. HRC also includes full text for more than 150 history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents; more than 77,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 37,000 historical photos and maps; and more than 80 hours of historical video.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central provides comprehensive, full-text, periodical coverage from 12 complete ProQuest databases, including Research Library and US Newsstream. These curated databases are focused on science, technology, business, health, religion, arts, literature, humanities, social sciences, and education. The top national and regional US newspapers and newswires are available alongside academic and professional journals, consumer magazines, blogs, and reports. Each of the 12 databases may be searched together or separately.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides access to scholarly literature available on the web. Access to the full text of articles is either available free of charge or restricted behind a publisher's pay wall. For access to full text, open "Settings," click on "Library Links," search for "Long Island University" and check the box for "Long Island University Libraries - Find FullText@LIU."
World History in Context This link opens in a new window
World History in Context provides information on topics related to the world history. Sources include reference works and primary historic documents.

To what extent were post-WWII American black nationalism and Nkrumahism ideologically interconnected?

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides access to scholarly literature available on the web. Access to the full text of articles is either available free of charge or restricted behind a publisher's pay wall. For access to full text, open "Settings," click on "Library Links," search for "Long Island University" and check the box for "Long Island University Libraries - Find FullText@LIU."
JSTOR Collection This link opens in a new window
The JSTOR Collection provides full-text of scholarly journals in the Arts & Sciences. The LIU Libraries currently subscribes to JSTOR Arts & Sciences Archival Collections I - IX, and selected current titles in the JSTOR Current Scholarship Program.
JSTOR Open Content This link opens in a new window
JSTOR Open Content contains ebooks and journal articles that are freely available from major academic publishers such as the University of California Press, Cornell University Press, NYU Press, and University of Michigan Press. Also include digitized versions of books published prior to 1923.
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window
History Reference Center (HRC) features full text for more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books. HRC also includes full text for more than 150 history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents; more than 77,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 37,000 historical photos and maps; and more than 80 hours of historical video.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central provides comprehensive, full-text, periodical coverage from 12 complete ProQuest databases, including Research Library and US Newsstream. These curated databases are focused on science, technology, business, health, religion, arts, literature, humanities, social sciences, and education. The top national and regional US newspapers and newswires are available alongside academic and professional journals, consumer magazines, blogs, and reports. Each of the 12 databases may be searched together or separately.
World History in Context This link opens in a new window
World History in Context provides information on topics related to the world history. Sources include reference works and primary historic documents.

How does mental illness influence the physical and visual aspects of Yayoi Kusama's work and technique?

Artstor Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The Artstor Digital Library is an image resource that provides over 1.8 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research.
Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
Arts & Humanities Database provides online access to 400 contemporary specialist arts titles combined with journals from related fields including ethnic studies, women’s studies, sociology, cultural studies, and more. Arts & Humanities Database titles include both scholarly peer-reviewed journals and selected trade and consumer titles relevant to applied arts and cultural studies. A subset of the ProQuest Central Essentials database.
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
PsycInfo is the American Psychological Association's resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. It is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Ninety-nine percent of its content is peer-reviewed. Included is information on the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals.
JSTOR Collection This link opens in a new window
The JSTOR Collection provides full-text of scholarly journals in the Arts & Sciences. The LIU Libraries currently subscribes to JSTOR Arts & Sciences Archival Collections I - IX, and selected current titles in the JSTOR Current Scholarship Program.
JSTOR Open Content This link opens in a new window
JSTOR Open Content contains ebooks and journal articles that are freely available from major academic publishers such as the University of California Press, Cornell University Press, NYU Press, and University of Michigan Press. Also include digitized versions of books published prior to 1923.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides access to scholarly literature available on the web. Access to the full text of articles is either available free of charge or restricted behind a publisher's pay wall. For access to full text, open "Settings," click on "Library Links," search for "Long Island University" and check the box for "Long Island University Libraries - Find FullText@LIU."
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
PsycInfo is the American Psychological Association's resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. It is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Ninety-nine percent of its content is peer-reviewed. Included is information on the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals.

The Handmaid's Tale and The Hunger Games: how does the portrayal of women differ in the two and reflect the society/world each was written in?

Gender Studies This link opens in a new window
The Gender Studies from Gale OneFile provides access to hundreds of thousands of articles with coverage on such topics as gender studies, sexual behavior surveys, family and marital issues, conversion therapy, gay and lesbian rights, homophobia, health aspects and more.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central provides comprehensive, full-text, periodical coverage from 12 complete ProQuest databases, including Research Library and US Newsstream. These curated databases are focused on science, technology, business, health, religion, arts, literature, humanities, social sciences, and education. The top national and regional US newspapers and newswires are available alongside academic and professional journals, consumer magazines, blogs, and reports. Each of the 12 databases may be searched together or separately.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides access to scholarly literature available on the web. Access to the full text of articles is either available free of charge or restricted behind a publisher's pay wall. For access to full text, open "Settings," click on "Library Links," search for "Long Island University" and check the box for "Long Island University Libraries - Find FullText@LIU."
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text is a bibliographic and full-text database covering the entire spectrum of television and film. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. The database provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 380 publications (and selected coverage of 300), as well as full text for more than 120 journals, and 100 books.
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
PsycInfo is the American Psychological Association's resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. It is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Ninety-nine percent of its content is peer-reviewed. Included is information on the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals.
Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
Social Science Database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work and sociology.

How are events revealed and explained through mysticism (or spirituality) and science in Gabriel Garcia Marquez's 100 Years of solitude and Thomas Pynchon's Gravity's Rainbow?

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides access to scholarly literature available on the web. Access to the full text of articles is either available free of charge or restricted behind a publisher's pay wall. For access to full text, open "Settings," click on "Library Links," search for "Long Island University" and check the box for "Long Island University Libraries - Find FullText@LIU."
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central provides comprehensive, full-text, periodical coverage from 12 complete ProQuest databases, including Research Library and US Newsstream. These curated databases are focused on science, technology, business, health, religion, arts, literature, humanities, social sciences, and education. The top national and regional US newspapers and newswires are available alongside academic and professional journals, consumer magazines, blogs, and reports. Each of the 12 databases may be searched together or separately.
JSTOR Collection This link opens in a new window
The JSTOR Collection provides full-text of scholarly journals in the Arts & Sciences. The LIU Libraries currently subscribes to JSTOR Arts & Sciences Archival Collections I - IX, and selected current titles in the JSTOR Current Scholarship Program.
JSTOR Open Content This link opens in a new window
JSTOR Open Content contains ebooks and journal articles that are freely available from major academic publishers such as the University of California Press, Cornell University Press, NYU Press, and University of Michigan Press. Also include digitized versions of books published prior to 1923.
Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
A one-stop search tool for the library's Gale literary reference resources including Literature Criticism Online, Literature Resource Center, MLA Bibliography, Something About the Author, Twayne's Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, and Gale Virtual Reference Library.
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Gale Literature Resource Center provides full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines that are combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements.
MagillOnLiterature Plus This link opens in a new window
MagillOnLiterature Plus contains editorially reviewed critical essays, brief plot summaries, extended character profiles, and detailed setting discussions covering works by more than 8,500 long and short fiction writers, poets, dramatists, essayists, and philosophers.

How does roman architecture affect the way people designed and built structures in a different point of time?

ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central provides comprehensive, full-text, periodical coverage from 12 complete ProQuest databases, including Research Library and US Newsstream. These curated databases are focused on science, technology, business, health, religion, arts, literature, humanities, social sciences, and education. The top national and regional US newspapers and newswires are available alongside academic and professional journals, consumer magazines, blogs, and reports. Each of the 12 databases may be searched together or separately.
JSTOR Collection This link opens in a new window
The JSTOR Collection provides full-text of scholarly journals in the Arts & Sciences. The LIU Libraries currently subscribes to JSTOR Arts & Sciences Archival Collections I - IX, and selected current titles in the JSTOR Current Scholarship Program.
JSTOR Open Content This link opens in a new window
JSTOR Open Content contains ebooks and journal articles that are freely available from major academic publishers such as the University of California Press, Cornell University Press, NYU Press, and University of Michigan Press. Also include digitized versions of books published prior to 1923.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.

Classical New York by Elizabeth Macaulay-Lewis (Editor); Matthew McGowan (Editor)
ISBN: 9780823281039
Publication Date: 2018-09-04
Essays on the historical Greco-Roman influence on the evolving architectural landscape of New York City.During its rise from capital of an upstart nation to global metropolis, the visual language of Greek and Roman antiquity played a formative role in the development of New York's art and architecture. This compilation of essays offers a survey of diverse reinterpretations of classical forms in some of the city's most iconic buildings, public monuments, and civic spaces.Classical New York examines the influence of Greco-Roman thought and design from the Greek Revival of the late eighteenth and early nineteenth centuries through the late-nineteenth-century American Renaissance and Beaux Arts period and into the twentieth century's Art Deco. At every juncture, New Yorkers looked to the classical past for knowledge and inspiration in seeking out new ways to cultivate a civic identity and to structure their public and private spaces.Specialists from a range of disciplines--archaeology, architectural history, art history, classics, and history-- focus on how classical art and architecture are repurposed to help shape many of New York City's most evocative buildings and works of art. Federal Hall evoked the Parthenon as an architectural and democratic model; the Pantheon served as a model for the creation of libraries at New York University and Columbia University; Pennsylvania Station derived its form from the Baths of Caracalla; and Atlas and Prometheus of Rockefeller Center recast ancient myths in a new light during the Great Depression. This examination of post-Revolutionary art, politics, and philosophy enriches the conversation about how we shape space--be it civic, religious, academic, theatrical, or domestic--and how we make use of that space and the objects in it.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides access to scholarly literature available on the web. Access to the full text of articles is either available free of charge or restricted behind a publisher's pay wall. For access to full text, open "Settings," click on "Library Links," search for "Long Island University" and check the box for "Long Island University Libraries - Find FullText@LIU."
World History in Context This link opens in a new window
World History in Context provides information on topics related to the world history. Sources include reference works and primary historic documents.

Can AI text be detected using a personalized classification model?

ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central provides comprehensive, full-text, periodical coverage from 12 complete ProQuest databases, including Research Library and US Newsstream. These curated databases are focused on science, technology, business, health, religion, arts, literature, humanities, social sciences, and education. The top national and regional US newspapers and newswires are available alongside academic and professional journals, consumer magazines, blogs, and reports. Each of the 12 databases may be searched together or separately.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides access to scholarly literature available on the web. Access to the full text of articles is either available free of charge or restricted behind a publisher's pay wall. For access to full text, open "Settings," click on "Library Links," search for "Long Island University" and check the box for "Long Island University Libraries - Find FullText@LIU."
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
ScienceDirect Journals This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect Journals is a full-text scientific database offering journal articles from Elsevier, a leading international science publisher. Full text access is provided to LIU students, faculty, and staff through LIU Libraries subscriptions.
Computer Science Database This link opens in a new window
Computing Database delivers information from scholarly journals and trade publications as well as consumer titles. The database includes topics including product reviews, database design and management, software, hardware, e-commerce, Web site development, intranets and extranets, technology management, artificial intelligence, computer games, computer graphics, computer networks, computer programming. computer security, computer systems, electronic data processing, information science and information theory, and more. The database includes around 450 titles, with over 350 available in full text.
Computer Science This link opens in a new window
Computer Science from Gale OneFile provides up-to-date information on the world of technology. Featuring coverage from 1980 to the present, Computer Science is a source for research on trends and innovations in the ever-changing world of technology. Coverage: 1988 to present.

How does the television adaptation of The Summer I Turned Pretty alter characters and relationships to adapt the story for a contemporary audience?

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides access to scholarly literature available on the web. Access to the full text of articles is either available free of charge or restricted behind a publisher's pay wall. For access to full text, open "Settings," click on "Library Links," search for "Long Island University" and check the box for "Long Island University Libraries - Find FullText@LIU."
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central provides comprehensive, full-text, periodical coverage from 12 complete ProQuest databases, including Research Library and US Newsstream. These curated databases are focused on science, technology, business, health, religion, arts, literature, humanities, social sciences, and education. The top national and regional US newspapers and newswires are available alongside academic and professional journals, consumer magazines, blogs, and reports. Each of the 12 databases may be searched together or separately.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text is a bibliographic and full-text database covering the entire spectrum of television and film. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. The database provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 380 publications (and selected coverage of 300), as well as full text for more than 120 journals, and 100 books.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
Social Science Database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work and sociology.

How do depictions of Disney princesses foster unrealistic expectiations for women?

Gender Studies This link opens in a new window
The Gender Studies from Gale OneFile provides access to hundreds of thousands of articles with coverage on such topics as gender studies, sexual behavior surveys, family and marital issues, conversion therapy, gay and lesbian rights, homophobia, health aspects and more.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides access to scholarly literature available on the web. Access to the full text of articles is either available free of charge or restricted behind a publisher's pay wall. For access to full text, open "Settings," click on "Library Links," search for "Long Island University" and check the box for "Long Island University Libraries - Find FullText@LIU."
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
PsycInfo is the American Psychological Association's resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. It is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Ninety-nine percent of its content is peer-reviewed. Included is information on the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central provides comprehensive, full-text, periodical coverage from 12 complete ProQuest databases, including Research Library and US Newsstream. These curated databases are focused on science, technology, business, health, religion, arts, literature, humanities, social sciences, and education. The top national and regional US newspapers and newswires are available alongside academic and professional journals, consumer magazines, blogs, and reports. Each of the 12 databases may be searched together or separately.
Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
Social Science Database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work and sociology.

How can AI reduce time to analyze photos for researchers?

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides access to scholarly literature available on the web. Access to the full text of articles is either available free of charge or restricted behind a publisher's pay wall. For access to full text, open "Settings," click on "Library Links," search for "Long Island University" and check the box for "Long Island University Libraries - Find FullText@LIU."
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central provides comprehensive, full-text, periodical coverage from 12 complete ProQuest databases, including Research Library and US Newsstream. These curated databases are focused on science, technology, business, health, religion, arts, literature, humanities, social sciences, and education. The top national and regional US newspapers and newswires are available alongside academic and professional journals, consumer magazines, blogs, and reports. Each of the 12 databases may be searched together or separately.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window
History Reference Center (HRC) features full text for more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books. HRC also includes full text for more than 150 history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents; more than 77,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 37,000 historical photos and maps; and more than 80 hours of historical video.

To what extent is animal experimentation justified by Peter Singer's theory of animal equality?

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides access to scholarly literature available on the web. Access to the full text of articles is either available free of charge or restricted behind a publisher's pay wall. For access to full text, open "Settings," click on "Library Links," search for "Long Island University" and check the box for "Long Island University Libraries - Find FullText@LIU."
Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
Social Science Database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work and sociology.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central provides comprehensive, full-text, periodical coverage from 12 complete ProQuest databases, including Research Library and US Newsstream. These curated databases are focused on science, technology, business, health, religion, arts, literature, humanities, social sciences, and education. The top national and regional US newspapers and newswires are available alongside academic and professional journals, consumer magazines, blogs, and reports. Each of the 12 databases may be searched together or separately.
ScienceDirect Journals This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect Journals is a full-text scientific database offering journal articles from Elsevier, a leading international science publisher. Full text access is provided to LIU students, faculty, and staff through LIU Libraries subscriptions.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.

To what extent does color serve as a narrative device to subvert audience expectations?

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides access to scholarly literature available on the web. Access to the full text of articles is either available free of charge or restricted behind a publisher's pay wall. For access to full text, open "Settings," click on "Library Links," search for "Long Island University" and check the box for "Long Island University Libraries - Find FullText@LIU."
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central provides comprehensive, full-text, periodical coverage from 12 complete ProQuest databases, including Research Library and US Newsstream. These curated databases are focused on science, technology, business, health, religion, arts, literature, humanities, social sciences, and education. The top national and regional US newspapers and newswires are available alongside academic and professional journals, consumer magazines, blogs, and reports. Each of the 12 databases may be searched together or separately.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC) provides quality research in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC offers cover-to-cover (“core”) indexing and abstracts for more than 570 journals, and selected (“priority”) coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 770 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for over 450 journals.
Communications and Mass Media Collection This link opens in a new window
Communications & Mass Media Collection from Gale OneFile brings together information found in more than 350 journals in the communications and mass media fields. Nearly 3 million articles on all aspects of the communications field meet the needs of researchers.

What are the benefits and drawbacks of AI imitating humans?

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides access to scholarly literature available on the web. Access to the full text of articles is either available free of charge or restricted behind a publisher's pay wall. For access to full text, open "Settings," click on "Library Links," search for "Long Island University" and check the box for "Long Island University Libraries - Find FullText@LIU."
Computer Science This link opens in a new window
Computer Science from Gale OneFile provides up-to-date information on the world of technology. Featuring coverage from 1980 to the present, Computer Science is a source for research on trends and innovations in the ever-changing world of technology. Coverage: 1988 to present.
Computer Science Database This link opens in a new window
Computing Database delivers information from scholarly journals and trade publications as well as consumer titles. The database includes topics including product reviews, database design and management, software, hardware, e-commerce, Web site development, intranets and extranets, technology management, artificial intelligence, computer games, computer graphics, computer networks, computer programming. computer security, computer systems, electronic data processing, information science and information theory, and more. The database includes around 450 titles, with over 350 available in full text.
ScienceDirect Journals This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect Journals is a full-text scientific database offering journal articles from Elsevier, a leading international science publisher. Full text access is provided to LIU students, faculty, and staff through LIU Libraries subscriptions.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central provides comprehensive, full-text, periodical coverage from 12 complete ProQuest databases, including Research Library and US Newsstream. These curated databases are focused on science, technology, business, health, religion, arts, literature, humanities, social sciences, and education. The top national and regional US newspapers and newswires are available alongside academic and professional journals, consumer magazines, blogs, and reports. Each of the 12 databases may be searched together or separately.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.

How did Covid-19 influence the food and delivery spike in 2019-2021?

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides access to scholarly literature available on the web. Access to the full text of articles is either available free of charge or restricted behind a publisher's pay wall. For access to full text, open "Settings," click on "Library Links," search for "Long Island University" and check the box for "Long Island University Libraries - Find FullText@LIU."
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central provides comprehensive, full-text, periodical coverage from 12 complete ProQuest databases, including Research Library and US Newsstream. These curated databases are focused on science, technology, business, health, religion, arts, literature, humanities, social sciences, and education. The top national and regional US newspapers and newswires are available alongside academic and professional journals, consumer magazines, blogs, and reports. Each of the 12 databases may be searched together or separately.
Hospitality and Tourism This link opens in a new window
Hospitality and Tourism from Gale OneFile covers areas of the hospitality industry, including the cultural aspects of travel and leisure activities, the economic impact of tourism and more.

How can one use Orbital Mechanics to calculate the tragectory and velocity needed for an object to enter a planet's orbit?

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides access to scholarly literature available on the web. Access to the full text of articles is either available free of charge or restricted behind a publisher's pay wall. For access to full text, open "Settings," click on "Library Links," search for "Long Island University" and check the box for "Long Island University Libraries - Find FullText@LIU."
ScienceDirect Journals This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect Journals is a full-text scientific database offering journal articles from Elsevier, a leading international science publisher. Full text access is provided to LIU students, faculty, and staff through LIU Libraries subscriptions.
MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
MathScieNet offers access to a database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature. Also useful for mathematics education students and teachers.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central provides comprehensive, full-text, periodical coverage from 12 complete ProQuest databases, including Research Library and US Newsstream. These curated databases are focused on science, technology, business, health, religion, arts, literature, humanities, social sciences, and education. The top national and regional US newspapers and newswires are available alongside academic and professional journals, consumer magazines, blogs, and reports. Each of the 12 databases may be searched together or separately.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.

How did the effects of the Chinese Exclusion Act of 1882 affect Asians in America politically, economicly and socially?

U.S. History in Context This link opens in a new window
U.S. History in Context provides information on topics related to the history of the United States. Sources include reference works and primary historic documents.
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window
History Reference Center (HRC) features full text for more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books. HRC also includes full text for more than 150 history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents; more than 77,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 37,000 historical photos and maps; and more than 80 hours of historical video.
World History in Context This link opens in a new window
World History in Context provides information on topics related to the world history. Sources include reference works and primary historic documents.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides access to scholarly literature available on the web. Access to the full text of articles is either available free of charge or restricted behind a publisher's pay wall. For access to full text, open "Settings," click on "Library Links," search for "Long Island University" and check the box for "Long Island University Libraries - Find FullText@LIU."
JSTOR Collection This link opens in a new window
The JSTOR Collection provides full-text of scholarly journals in the Arts & Sciences. The LIU Libraries currently subscribes to JSTOR Arts & Sciences Archival Collections I - IX, and selected current titles in the JSTOR Current Scholarship Program.
JSTOR Open Content This link opens in a new window
JSTOR Open Content contains ebooks and journal articles that are freely available from major academic publishers such as the University of California Press, Cornell University Press, NYU Press, and University of Michigan Press. Also include digitized versions of books published prior to 1923.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central provides comprehensive, full-text, periodical coverage from 12 complete ProQuest databases, including Research Library and US Newsstream. These curated databases are focused on science, technology, business, health, religion, arts, literature, humanities, social sciences, and education. The top national and regional US newspapers and newswires are available alongside academic and professional journals, consumer magazines, blogs, and reports. Each of the 12 databases may be searched together or separately.

How does Black Mirror present society's dependence on technology and underlying fears about this dependence?

ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central provides comprehensive, full-text, periodical coverage from 12 complete ProQuest databases, including Research Library and US Newsstream. These curated databases are focused on science, technology, business, health, religion, arts, literature, humanities, social sciences, and education. The top national and regional US newspapers and newswires are available alongside academic and professional journals, consumer magazines, blogs, and reports. Each of the 12 databases may be searched together or separately.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides access to scholarly literature available on the web. Access to the full text of articles is either available free of charge or restricted behind a publisher's pay wall. For access to full text, open "Settings," click on "Library Links," search for "Long Island University" and check the box for "Long Island University Libraries - Find FullText@LIU."
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Computer Science This link opens in a new window
Computer Science from Gale OneFile provides up-to-date information on the world of technology. Featuring coverage from 1980 to the present, Computer Science is a source for research on trends and innovations in the ever-changing world of technology. Coverage: 1988 to present.
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
PsycInfo is the American Psychological Association's resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. It is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Ninety-nine percent of its content is peer-reviewed. Included is information on the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals.

How do factors such as ocean acidification, dissolved oxygen, bacterial content, and salinity contribute to and affect the growth and development of the Eastern Oyster (Crassostrea Virginica)?

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides access to scholarly literature available on the web. Access to the full text of articles is either available free of charge or restricted behind a publisher's pay wall. For access to full text, open "Settings," click on "Library Links," search for "Long Island University" and check the box for "Long Island University Libraries - Find FullText@LIU."
Biological Science Database This link opens in a new window
Biology Database provides access to a wide range of biology topics including some of the most popular information resources for users in academic, government and public research environments. A subset of the ProQuest Central Essentials database.
ScienceDirect Journals This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect Journals is a full-text scientific database offering journal articles from Elsevier, a leading international science publisher. Full text access is provided to LIU students, faculty, and staff through LIU Libraries subscriptions.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central provides comprehensive, full-text, periodical coverage from 12 complete ProQuest databases, including Research Library and US Newsstream. These curated databases are focused on science, technology, business, health, religion, arts, literature, humanities, social sciences, and education. The top national and regional US newspapers and newswires are available alongside academic and professional journals, consumer magazines, blogs, and reports. Each of the 12 databases may be searched together or separately.
Biological Science Database This link opens in a new window
Biology Database provides access to a wide range of biology topics including some of the most popular information resources for users in academic, government and public research environments. A subset of the ProQuest Central Essentials database.
Science This link opens in a new window
General Science Collection from Gale OneFile includes more than 1.6 million articles on science topics including biology, geology, physics, mathematics, medicine, veterinary medicine, and more.
Web of Science Core Collection (All Indexes) This link opens in a new window
Access the world's leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.

WEB OF SCIENCE OPERATES MOST EFFICIENTLY WHEN USING FIREFOX AS YOUR BROWSER AND WHEN YOU LOAD THE NEW WEB OF SCIENCE INTERFACE.

WOS links to full text of articles when available through our Library.

Which is more efficient at converting stored potential energy to a projectiles kinetic energy: trebuchet or catapult?

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides access to scholarly literature available on the web. Access to the full text of articles is either available free of charge or restricted behind a publisher's pay wall. For access to full text, open "Settings," click on "Library Links," search for "Long Island University" and check the box for "Long Island University Libraries - Find FullText@LIU."
ScienceDirect Journals This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect Journals is a full-text scientific database offering journal articles from Elsevier, a leading international science publisher. Full text access is provided to LIU students, faculty, and staff through LIU Libraries subscriptions.
Science This link opens in a new window
General Science Collection from Gale OneFile includes more than 1.6 million articles on science topics including biology, geology, physics, mathematics, medicine, veterinary medicine, and more.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central provides comprehensive, full-text, periodical coverage from 12 complete ProQuest databases, including Research Library and US Newsstream. These curated databases are focused on science, technology, business, health, religion, arts, literature, humanities, social sciences, and education. The top national and regional US newspapers and newswires are available alongside academic and professional journals, consumer magazines, blogs, and reports. Each of the 12 databases may be searched together or separately.
Science Database This link opens in a new window
Science Database is a definitive resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences. With coverage dating back to 1986,Science Database features over 1030 titles, with more than 760 available in full text.
Web of Science Core Collection (All Indexes) This link opens in a new window
Access the world's leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.

WEB OF SCIENCE OPERATES MOST EFFICIENTLY WHEN USING FIREFOX AS YOUR BROWSER AND WHEN YOU LOAD THE NEW WEB OF SCIENCE INTERFACE.

WOS links to full text of articles when available through our Library.

What does Francis Bacon's choice of color, shape, and facial expressions in his paintings and portraits show about his self image?

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides access to scholarly literature available on the web. Access to the full text of articles is either available free of charge or restricted behind a publisher's pay wall. For access to full text, open "Settings," click on "Library Links," search for "Long Island University" and check the box for "Long Island University Libraries - Find FullText@LIU."
Art & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI) This link opens in a new window
Available through Web of Science, allows searching for articles that cite a known author or work, as well as searching by subject, author, journal, and author address. Indexes 1,600 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals. It also indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 6,000 major science and social science journals.

Links to full text of articles when available through our Library.
Artstor Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The Artstor Digital Library is an image resource that provides over 1.8 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central provides comprehensive, full-text, periodical coverage from 12 complete ProQuest databases, including Research Library and US Newsstream. These curated databases are focused on science, technology, business, health, religion, arts, literature, humanities, social sciences, and education. The top national and regional US newspapers and newswires are available alongside academic and professional journals, consumer magazines, blogs, and reports. Each of the 12 databases may be searched together or separately.
Psychology Database This link opens in a new window
Psychology Database provides abstracts and indexing for more than 650 titles, with over 540 titles available in full text. ProQuest Psychology Journals encompasses topics from leading psychology and psychosomatic publications. In addition to clinical and social psychology, it also provides coverage of related disciplines including genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, and more.
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
PsycInfo is the American Psychological Association's resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. It is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Ninety-nine percent of its content is peer-reviewed. Included is information on the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals.

LV High School: Home