Academic OneFile offers extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, literature and other subjects. Contains nearly 14,000 indexed titles, including more than 10,000 peer-reviewed journals and more than 6,500 in full-text. Also provides full-text coverage of The New York Times and The Times (London) from 1985.
Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
PsycInfo is the American Psychological Association's resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. It is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Ninety-nine percent of its content is peer-reviewed. Included is information on the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals.
CINAHL® Complete provides indexing for more than 5,000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health including the full-text of about 1,399 journals. The database contains more than 4 million records dating back to 1937. CINAHL® Complete covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and other allied health disciplines.
Gale Ebooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) offers coverage of academic, scholarly and professional disciplines. Includes specialized subject dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks useful for background information.
The JSTOR Collection provides full-text of scholarly journals in the Arts & Sciences. The LIU Libraries currently subscribes to JSTOR Arts & Sciences Archival Collections I - IX, and selected current titles in the JSTOR Current Scholarship Program.
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine. Similar content as PubMed.
ProQuest Central Essentials provides comprehensive, full-text, periodical coverage from 12 complete ProQuest databases, including Research Library and US Newsstream. These curated databases are focused on science, technology, business, health, religion, arts, literature, humanities, social sciences, and education. The top national and regional US newspapers and newswires are available alongside academic and professional journals, consumer magazines, blogs, and reports. Each of the 12 databases may be searched together or separately.
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Shakespeare’s Globe on Screen 1 (2008-2015) includes 21 plays recorded live on the Globe stage from leading actors including Mark Rylance, Stephen Fry, and Roger Allam’s Olivier Award-winning Falstaff in Henry IV. Inspired and informed by the unique historic playing conditions of two beautiful iconic theatres, Shakespeare’s Globe’s diverse programme of work harnesses the power of performance, cultivates intellectual curiosity, and excites learning to make Shakespeare accessible for all. While Shakespeare's Globe on Screen 2 (2016-2018) includes 9 landmark productions from the theatre’s most recent seasons, including two productions from Emma Rice’s tenure as Artistic Director and the first production from the indoor Jacobean theatre, the Sam Wanamaker Playhouse. These films showcase the Globe’s two unique playing spaces on Bankside and how different artists respond to them.
WGSN Fashion helps the creation of fashion and fashion products with actionable guidance through the fashion industry’s transformational shifts, from sustainability targets and changing consumer lifestyles to digital design. WGSN, a consumer trend forecaster, provides global trend insights, expertly curated data and industry expertise to help clients understand consumer behavior and lifestyles, create products with confidence and trade at the right time.
WGSN Insight helps clients effectively drive engagement with their future consumers through a deep understanding of consumer behavior and lifestyles, the market, and socio-cultural global shifts that will impact and disrupt their industry. WGSN, a consumer trend forecaster, provides global trend insights, expertly curated data and industry expertise to help clients understand consumer behavior and lifestyles, create products with confidence and trade at the right time.