Psy'D in Clinical Psychology: Databases

Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.

PsycArticles from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 163,000 articles from more than 80 journals published by the APA. Coverage spans 1894 to present.

PsycInfo is the American Psychological Association's resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. It is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Ninety-nine percent of its content is peer-reviewed. Included is information on the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals.

PsycTests, produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), is a database providing descriptive summaries, full text (when available), and relevant citations on the development and assessment of tests and measures that can be used in research and teaching. Coverage dates from 1910 to the present. Updated monthly.

Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) with Tests in Print provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,700 contemporary testing instruments. All MMY entries contain descriptive information (e.g., test purpose, publisher, pricing) and edited review(s) written by leading content area experts. Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language.

PEP Archive contains peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles from the field of psychoanalysis. PEP Archive offers the full text for 47 principal psychoanalytic journals and more than 80 classic psychoanalytic books dating as far back as 1871.

PsychiatryOnline is a resource for information on diagnosis, treatment, guidelines, the latest research, and breaking news from the field of psychiatry. Provides access to all American Psychiatric Association journals, Psychiatric News, the DSM Library, and textbooks, as well as APA Practice Guidelines, and continuing medical education.

Psychology Collection from Gale Onefile brings together information found in 4.1 million articles from nearly 300 journals and covering all fields of psychology—abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social and all areas of applied psychology.

Psychology Database provides abstracts and indexing for more than 650 titles, with over 540 titles available in full text. ProQuest Psychology Journals encompasses topics from leading psychology and psychosomatic publications. In addition to clinical and social psychology, it also provides coverage of related disciplines including genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, and more.

PsycTHERAPY features streaming video recordings of leading therapists demonstrating the approaches for which they are known in unscripted, spontaneous sessions with participants who have agreed to have their demonstration sessions taped for educational purposes.

The PTSDpubs Database (formerly PILOTS) is an extensive PTSD resource produced by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs.

SAGE Research Methods is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. Researchers can explore methodology concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Sage Research Methods presents research methodologies that are useful in many disciplines including, education, psychology, and the health sciences. Contains ebooks and online journals on various techniques for research including statistical, hypothesis testing, qualitative, observational, and case study methods. SAGE Research Methods User Guide (PDF). For more information on this resource see the SAGE Research Methods Library Guide from SAGE.

ScienceDirect Journals is a full-text scientific database offering journal articles from Elsevier, a leading international science publisher. Full text access is provided to LIU students, faculty, and staff through LIU Libraries subscriptions.

Scopus is a abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Scopus features a bibliometrics tool to track citations over time for a set of authors or documents, view h-index (publication impact) for specific authors, assess trends in search results, analyze an author's publishing output, and gain insight into journal performance.

TECH TIP: If you experience technical issues in accessing or searching Scopus then use Firefox and clear your cache, cookies and browsing history