Nursing Research for Evidence-Based Practice: Finding Nursing Research Books

Encyclopedia of Nursing Research by oyce J. Fitzpatrick, PhD, MBA, RN, FAAN, FNAP editor. This award-winning nursing reference, meticulously researched by luminaries in the field, represents the state of the art in nursing science. Comprehensive and concise, entries provide the most relevant and current research perspectives and demonstrate the depth and breadth of nursing research today.

Nursing research using case studies by Mary de Chesnay, editor. "Once considered to be a lesser pedagogical method, the case study is now recognized as a powerful, in-depth tool for examining evidence-based practice as it relates to patient care, family dynamics, professional roles, and organizational systems. Here is a unique how-to guide to conducting research using case studies. Focusing on current leading methodologies, the text describes the philosophical basis and state of the art for using this qualitative method. The peer-reviewed designs (including interviews, physiological measurements, psychological tests, and analyses of patients' diaries and journals) are accompanied by an in-depth research plan, a discussion of appropriate methods, and ethical considerations. The text provides clear directives - bolstered by nursing examples - on how to solve practical problems a researcher may encounter"--Publisher's description

Reading, Understanding, and Applying Nursing Research by James A. Fain Awarded second place in the 2017 AJN Book of the Year Award in the Research category What is the evidence? How do you find it? How do you evaluate it? Put the evidence to work in your practice! The 5th Edition of this AJN Book of the Year shows you how to integrate today's best scientific knowledge into your clinical decision-making. Step by step, you'll learn to effectively evaluate and apply nursing research and to understand its potential impact on the quality of your patient care. Look for the Plus Code inside new, printed texts--your key to unlocking your Davis Digital eBook online at DavisPlus.

Nursing Research Using Data Analysis by Mary De Chesnay This is a concise, step-by-step guide to conducting qualitative nursing research using various forms of data analysis. It is part of a unique series of books devoted to seven different qualitative designs and methods in nursing, written for both novice researchers and specialists seeking to develop or expand their competency. This practical resource encompasses such methodologies as content analysis, a means of organizing and interpreting data to elicit themes and concepts; discourse analysis, used to analyze language to understand social or historical context; narrative analysis, in which the researcher seeks to understand human experience through participant stories; and focus groups and case studies, used to understand the consensus of a group or the experience of an individual and his or her reaction to a difficult situation such as disease or trauma. Written by a noted qualitative research scholar and contributing experts, the book describes the philosophical basis for conducting research using data analysis and delivers an in-depth plan for applying its methodologies to a particular study, including appropriate methods, ethical considerations, and potential challenges. It presents practical strategies for solving problems related to the conduct of research using the various forms of data analysis and presents a rich array of case examples from published nursing research. These include author analyses to support readers in decision making regarding their own projects. The book embraces such varied topics as data security in qualitative research, the image of nursing in science fiction literature, the trajectory of research in several nursing studies throughout Africa, and many others. Focused on the needs of both novice researchers and specialists, it will be of value to health institution research divisions, in-service educators and students, and graduate nursing educators and students. Key Features: Explains how to conduct nursing research using content analysis, discourse analysis, narrative analysis, and focus groups and case studies Presents state-of-the-art designs and protocols Focuses on solving practical problems related to the conduct of research Features rich nursing exemplars in a variety of health/mental health clinical settings in the United States and internationally

Fast Facts for Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing by Maryann Godshall Second Edition Designated a Doody's Core Title This is a concise, pocket-sized resource for students and practicing nurses alike that delivers the fundamentals of evidence-based practice (EBP) and basic nursing research concepts in an easy-to-read, quick-access format. It demystifies the research process with straightforward information. The third edition is updated to deliver the most current information on research methods, database upgrades, and new resources. The reference serves as a succinct companion for students in EBP courses and provides practicing nurses with a resource for developing EBP on their units. It equips bedside nurses with fundamental concepts and explains basic research terms and how to conduct literature searches to "find the evidence." The third edition continues to deliver the most practical information on EBP, including how to get the best evidence quickly, using various databases, and coverage of both quantitative and qualitative methods. At-a-glance charts categorize research and abundant examples demonstrate concepts. This classroom-tested book also provides background information on defining the "compelling question," which is essential to finding the appropriate evidence-based material. New to the Third Edition: Updated with current information on research methods and new resources"Finding the Evidence" chapter completely updated with the latest databases and search enginesIncludes two new chapters, "The Iowa Model of Evidence-Based Practice to Promote Quality Care" and "Evidence-Based Practice in the Nurse Residency Program"Aligns with projects that are required by many undergraduate programs and residency/internship programs for new nursesIncorporates the Iowa Model of EBP into developing the project format Key Features: Provides step-by-step methods to implement evidence-based practiceIncludes examples of how hospitals and healthcare providers are integrating EBP into their practiceIncludes extensive coverage of how EBP can be used to improve patient care, with examples and cases to show readers practical application of contentReviews basic terms and principlesPresents quantitative and qualitative research approachesHas been classroom tested and used in both live and online course formats

Nursing Research Using Participatory Action Research by Mary De Chesnay (Editor) "PAR is the ultimate in social justice practice. I suggest that PAR should be the basis for all nursing research. This book will provide you with the basics for getting started." óPatricia J. Kelly, PhD, MPH, APRN University of MissouriñKansas City (From the Foreword) Participatory action research is a qualitative research method conducted in collaboration with a community of people in order to effect changes in the community that are relevant to the residents. This is a practical, "how-to" resource for conducting participatory action research that guides readers, step by step, through planning, conducting, and disseminating nursing research using this qualitative design. It is part of a unique series of seven books devoted to nursing research using qualitative designs and methods. Examples from actual research along with author commentary illustrate potential pitfalls and challenges that may occur during the process and how to resolve them. Written by a leading scholar of nursing research and nurse experts in participatory action research, the book describes its philosophical underpinnings and state-of-the-art techniques, and provides a concrete road map for planning and conducting studies. It considers why this particular research method is best suited for a particular study, ethical considerations, and potential obstacles. The book also discusses how to ensure rigor during a study, providing examples from scholarly literature and the authorsí own work. Each case example features a description of the study, including why the investigator decided to use participatory action rather than another research design, how he or she solved gatekeeper and access-to-sample issues, and institutional review board concerns. Also included is a discussion of how to collect and analyze data and how to disseminate findings to both the scientific community and research participants. With a focus on practical problem solving throughout, the book will be of value to novice and experienced nurse researchers, graduate teachers, in-service educators, students, and nursing research staff at health care institutions. Key Features: Describes, step by step, how to plan, conduct, and disseminate participatory action research Delivers new designs and methods Focuses on solving practical problems related to the conduct of research Features rich nursing exemplars in a variety of health/mental health clinical conditions in the United States and internationally