SOC 102: Social Problems: Find Articles

Opposing Viewpoints in Context provides balanced viewpoints on a variety of social and political issues, current events, in videos, podcasts and streaming audio, image galleries, national and global news sources, full-text articles, interactive maps, charts and graphs, along with other statistical information.

Points of View Reference Center provides balanced viewpoints on a variety of social and political issues. Each entry includes, an overview - background that provides a neutral starting point of reference; point/counterpoint - presents both sides of an argument; and a guide to critical analysis - directs students to delve deeper into the topic, discern fact from opinion, compare and contrast, research for other perspectives, and formulate opinions. Contains full text, charts, maps, images, and videos.

Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.

ProQuest Central provides comprehensive, full-text, periodical coverage from 12 complete ProQuest databases, including Research Library and US Newsstream. These curated databases are focused on science, technology, business, health, religion, arts, literature, humanities, social sciences, and education. The top national and regional US newspapers and newswires are available alongside academic and professional journals, consumer magazines, blogs, and reports. Each of the 12 databases may be searched together or separately.

Google Scholar provides access to scholarly literature available on the web. Access to the full text of articles is either available free of charge or restricted behind a publisher's pay wall. For access to full text, open "Settings," click on "Library Links," search for "Long Island University" and check the box for "Long Island University Libraries - Find FullText@LIU."

Statista provides statistical data from over 18,000 sources.

Statistical Abstract of the United States is a comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.

SocINDEX with Full Text is a sociology research database that offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing closely related areas of study including criminology & criminal justice, political sociology, religion, social psychology, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for 16,800 conference papers.

Social Science Database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work and sociology.