Skip to Main Content

ART Visual Arts: Art Apps

This guide will help you find resources about visual arts.

ARTstor Mobile

ARTstor Mobile

ARTstor is accessible to registered users through various mobile operating systems. The mobile site for Apple devices and mobile app for Android devices allows users to search, browse, and view previously created image groups.

More about ARTstore Mobile

Art Apps

Art Swipe
By Jody Zellen
Price: Free
An app developed by artist Jody Zellen and the Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA) to coincide with the exhibition “In Wonderland: The Surrealist Adventures of Women Artists in Mexico and the United States” that was on view at LACMA from January 29 – May 6, 2012. It allows users to make collages from images that are in the public domain from LACMA’s collection, images from the “In Wonderland” exhibition, as well as photographs from their camera and camera roll.
Guggenheim

By Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation

Price: Free

The Guggenheim museum’s app contains several features designed to enhance your experience at the museum and provide you with materials to discover at home. These features include information on more than 1,300 works from the museum’s collection, building and collection guides available in several languages as well as exclusive audio, video, and photographic documentation for select exhibitions. There is also a Manage My Guides section for users to add and delete content, customized favorite lists, and a weekly calendar with program details, images, and links to purchase tickets.

*New*

Interaction of Color by Josef Albers

By Yale University

Price: Free; $13.99 for the complete Edition

First published in 1963, Josef Alber's Interaction of Color is one of the most influential books on color ever written. The classic text achieves its full, interactive potential in this stunning new application for iPad. The full app is free to download, and allows you to sample Chapter 19, including text, video commentary, two interactive plates, and the palette tool. The complete app - featuring full text, 125 plates, 60 interactive studies, and over two hours of video commentary - can be unlocked through an in-app purchase.

MoMA

By MoMA, The Museum of Modern Art

Price: Free

The app for the Museum of Modern Art, home to the world’s finest collection of modern and contemporary art. You can use the app to find out about current exhibitions, plan a visit, browse or search tens of thousands of works in the collection, take multimedia tours, or learn about artists and art terms.


MoMA Art Lab
By MoMA, The Museum of Modern Art
Price: Free
An app for children to create their own abstract art with activities inspired by MoMA’s collection. One example of an activity is creating a chance collage in the style of Jean Arp.

By MoMA, The Museum of Modern Art
Price: Free
An app that allows you to read a growing number of The Museum of Modern Art’s award-winning books, including those that are no longer available in print.

The Design Museum Collection for iPad

By Design Museum
Price: Free
This app presents 59 remarkable objects from London’s Design Museum. These pieces from the collection are  explored through film, audio, text, and photographs.

The Warhol: DIY Pop

By The Andy Warhol Museum, Carnegie Museums of Pittsburgh

Price: $0.99

This app allows users to create a digital silkscreen just like Andy Warhol’s classic pieces but using their own photos. It allows users to go through a multi-step process (film positive, underpainting, screening) that sheds light on the actual silk-screening process.

Tate Guide to Modern Art Terms

By Tate Gallery

Price: $2.99

A comprehensive dictionary to help demystify the language used to describe modern art. Includes more than 300 art terms covering movements, styles, schools, techniques and art theory with 43 illustrations.

 

Tripolar

By Scott Snibbe Studio, Inc.

Price: $1.99

Commissioned by the Whitney Museum of Art, this app animates the tangled, abstract, and ever-changing forms a pendulum makes as it swings over a magnetic base.

 

 

Van Gogh’s Dream

By Mnestra

Price: $3.99

This app is an original, fully documented and captivating account of the painter with amazing interactive features. It provides in=depth insight into Van Gogh’s art and thoughts.