Company Ratios
Find financial ratios for individual companies by taking the following steps:
- Go to Mergent Online's Basic Search page
- Enter a company name or stock ticker symbol
- Retrieve the search results for your company
- Click the "Company Financials" tab in the navigation bar
- Select the "Ratios" tab beneath "Company Financials" to obtain key ratios for profitability, liquidity, debt management, asset management, etc., calculated from company financial statements, for up to 5 years/quarters.
Understanding Ratios
- 101 Business ratiosCall Number: REF HF5657.4 .G38An introduction to ratio analysis with descriptions of and discussion of the uses for 101 specific measures, as well as formulas for their computation.
Business ratios and formulas : a comprehensive guideCall Number: REF HF5691 .B73Provides complete descriptions, explanations of calculations, examples, and cautions regarding use.
Ratios and other tools for analysis, control and profitCall Number: REF HF5681.R25 V36Understand how to analyze and make sense of financial statements. Each ratio concept is briefly described and presented in a worked example.
Industry Ratios
Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial RatiosCall Number: REF HF5681.R25 A45Organized according to NAICS Codes. Provides updated performance data for operating and financial factors in various industries, derived from the latest available IRS figures on U.S. and international companies. The data for each industry are subdivided into categories based on company size. Covers all variety of factors relating to operations, operating costs, financial performance, and an array of critical financial factors in percentages including debt ratio, return on assets, return on equity, and profit margins. Each table is divided into asset sizes to facilitate comparison. Includes descriptive pages that explain the formulas and data used for calculating the ratios.
- D&B Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios This link opens in a new windowIndustry Norms and Key Business Ratios (Dun & Bradstreet) are available through Mergent Archives. Data is made possible through over one million financial statements in the D&B Financial Information Base. This file consists of U.S. corporations, partnerships and proprietorships both public and privately owned, in all size ranges, and includes different lines of business as defined by the U.S. Standard industrial Classification (SIC) code numbers.
RMA annual statement studiesCall Number: REF HF5681.B2 R6Organized according to NAICS Codes. Provides ratios widely used in the financial services industry with accompanying balance sheet information. Data is derived directly from financial statements of Risk Management Association member financial institutions (U.S.) borrowers and prospects. Included are various types of liquidity, coverage, leverage, and operating ratios. Data arrayed by asset and sales size. Different asset & sales size categories are presented. Annual trend data available. Includes descriptive pages that explain the formulas and data used for calculating the ratios.