Skip to main content

ENG 2 Sassenoff: The Assignment

This guide is compiled to assist you in completing your Research Argument paper on Arthur Miller's All My Sons

The Assignment

This Guide has been developed to assist you in writing your paper. A copy of the assignment specifics can be found in the boxes down below.

Note that the Research Argument Guidelines and the Annotated Bibliography Guidelines also appear on this page as downloadable .pdf's.

Please feel free to contact me at 516-299-4145 if you have questions or need help with the assignment. 

 


Contact:
Mary Kate Boyd-Byrnes
B. Davis Schwartz Memorial Library
Room 237
Brookville, NY 11548
516.299.4145

MaryKate.Boyd-Byrnes@liu.edu

Research Argument Guidelines

Research Argument Guidelines

An argument is defined as, “an address or composition intended to convince or persuade” (Dictionary.com).  Arthur Miller’s The Crucible acts as a catalyst to instigate awareness about issues that are reflective of the culture at the time and relevant in today’s society.  Therefore, you must examine one controversial point discussed in the play and persuasively argue your position about this particular social, political, gender, or psychological issue presented in The Crucible. In other words, how Miller’s characters and his own life expose the social issues of the twentieth century that instigated awareness to the masses?  Furthermore, how is the specific issue relevant in today’s culture?

You must use 6 secondary sources in your paper to further convince your audience (myself) of your specific claim.  Here are seven topics you may choose from to persuasively argue:

  • Given President Trump’s foreign policies and promise to “Make America Great Again,” would you argue that the current administration is similar to post World War II’s policy of Isolationism —take a position
  • Given our current society’s discrimination and ill-treatment of Muslim Americans and other minorities, is America as intolerant or more intolerant today compared to World War II/1940s society with ethnic groups like the Japanese Americans and other minorities—take a position
  • Given President Trump’s Executive Order and immigration policy regarding Muslim Americans/refugees living in the United States, would you argue that these actions are as extreme as how the U.S. treated Japanese Americans during World War II—take a position. 
  • Given Miller’s depiction of female characters and the rise of feminism during the 1940s, would you argue that Kate Keller and/or Ann exemplify strong contemporary heroines or women who are deeply flawed and too weak to accept the truth —take a position
  • Given how Kate Keller handles her older son’s disappearance and likely death during World War II, would you argue that she proves to suffer from Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder—take a position
  • Given Arthur Miller’s depiction of a seemingly perfect father-figure in Joe Keller, would you argue that his actions during World War II make him a sociopath or just a misguided man driven by love for his family’s well-being—take a position
  • Topic of Choice (Please note that any topic of your choosing MUST FIRST BE CLEARED BY THE PROFESSOR)

Requirements:

  • You must follow MLA Guidelines
  • 8-10 FULL PAGES
  • You must have AT LEAST 6 secondary sources
  • 4 of your secondary sources must be from a scholarly database
  • You must have a minimum of 6 in-text citations that correspond with THE 6 bibliographical entries on the “Works Cited” Page
  • YOU MUST HAVE A MINIMUM OF 6 SECONDARY SOURCES  IN ORDER TO PASS THE RESEARCH ARGUMENT (The Crucible IS A PRIMARY SOURCE)
  •  You must go through a draft and a revision for this research paper

Draft Due: THURSDAY, APRIL 12TH — AT THE BEGINNING OF CLASS

Revision Due: THURSDAY, APRIL 26th — AT THE BEGINNING OF CLASS

*Due Dates to keep in mind for Research Argument:

  1. Topic Due: Tuesday, March 6th   
  2. Annotated Bibliography Due: Tuesday, April 3rd  
  3. Draft Due: Tuesday, April 12th
  4. Hand Back Research Argument Draft: Thursday, April 19th  
  5.  Revision Due: Thursday, April 26th 

 

*Dates can be subject to change; however, this will be indicated in advance by the professor

Annotated Bibliography Guidelines

Annotated Bibliography Guidelines

An annotated bibliography is a list of secondary sources—journal articles, books, electronic sources—that goes into detail about the specific source and its relevancy for your argument.  An annotation should be about two full paragraphs in which you first discuss the author’s overall point followed by how relevant the source is for your research argument.  For this annotated bibliography, you must choose A MINIMUM of 10 secondary sources that pertain to your research argument.  Remember, choose sources that elaborate on the social, political, religious or gender issues that were evident in the text The Crucible.  The school’s databases will be extremely helpful in collecting research for your paper.  LexisNexis, ProQuest, Academic Search Premier, SocioINDEX with Full Text, as well as the Literature Databases are all excellent and credible databases to begin performing research.  Furthermore, make sure to look at the library’s online card catalog for any possible books or criticisms to help support your topic.  Make sure to be as detailed as possible because these secondary sources will assist you when you are writing your research argument.  For any further questions, please consult your professor. 

Requirements:

  • Make sure to have A MINIMUM OF 10 annotations
  • 4 OF THE 10 ANNOTATIONS MUST  COME FROM SCHOLARLY DATABASES (library databases—ProQuest, Gale Literary Index, Literature Resource Center, History Resource Center, Academic Search Premier)
  • This must be done in proper MLA Format and use the example handout provided
  • At least two paragraphs for each source used in this bibliography
    • Make sure the first paragraph discusses the content of the annotation and if you use specific ideas from the annotations, cite the page number as shown in the handout
    • Make sure the second paragraph comments on the source’s usefulness for your paper and if the source is credible/helpful for your particular research argument
  • Page Length: each citation must be AT LEAST TWO PARAGRAPHS
  • You must have both a hard copy and email a copy as a Microsoft Word Attachment by the specified due date
  • YOU MUST HAVE 10 SECONDARY SOURCES IN ORDER TO PASS THE ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY (The Crucible is a Primary Source)
  • There will be no draft process for the annotated bibliography

 

Due Date:    TUESDAY, APRIL 3RD— AT THE BEGINNING OF CLASS