Library Online Resources: Outage Alerts, Known Problem/Issues and Solutions: Home

On this page are current outage alerts, known problems/issues, solutions, and scheduled maintenance outrages with the library's online resources.

Current Alerts

03/27/14 - Earlier today we were having an issue with APA database.  This issue is now resolved. 

11/18/13 - Reported problems with Ebscohost databases and Safari browser on mobile devices off campus.  Search terms not recognized. Ebscohost databases appear to function without incident on campus.  IT is investigating.

 11/22/13 - 12/20/13 Reported problems with Ebscohost, Cabell's and Proquest databases and Safari and Internet Explorer browsers.  Search terms not recognized. Ebscohost  and Proquest databases appear to function without incident on campus.  Search terms appear to be working remotely if you use Firefox browser which is available for both platforms MAC and PC and can be downloaded at www.getfirefox.com.  IT is investigating.



Pending or Current Scheduled Maintenance Outages

No Reported  Scheduled Maintenance at this Time.


 

Current Unscheduled Outages

No Reported Outages at this Time.

Known Problems/Issues and Solutions

Problem:  Can not view PDF documents in Ebscohost database using a Mac
Solution:  Click here to install plugin (Free for educational use)

Problem: Hoover's Online is asking for a login from off-campus.

Solution: This appears to be an intermittent and sporadic problem.  Try reloading your browser or clear the browser's cache and try again.  Try another browser and try again. 

Problem:  Sending emails from Books in Print using a university email address
Solution:  Use a non university email address in the FROM: field (bip@bowker.com)



ERIC Documents not accessible.  Statement from ERIC:

Dear ERIC Community,

We have currently disabled access to many ERIC full-text PDFs due to the discovery of personally identifiable information in some documents. A team is in place to check each PDF to see if it contains personally identifiable information. Due to the quality of many of the documents, a large portion of the search has to be done by hand. This will take several weeks, but our primary concern is to protect the privacy of individuals.

To minimize the burden on our users, we will prioritize searching the PDFs that users request. If you would like to request a PDF to be returned online, please fill out this form, which requires only the document's ERIC record number and your email address. Full-text PDFs will be returned on a rolling basis. We will be posting the list of newly released documents here.

We are sorry for the inconvenience and want to thank you for bearing with us through this unexpected delay.

The ERIC Team

Subject Guide

Jefferson Sanchez