Skip to main content

Dissertation Publishing : Home

How To Publish Your Dissertation Online

You have three options for publishing your dissertation online:

  1. Publish your dissertation in Digital Commons @ LIU - our Institutional Respository
  2. Publish your dissertation with Proquest/UMI Digital Dissertation Publishing (EDT Administrator)
  3. Publish your dissertation in BOTH of the above.

Note: Your academic department may require that you submit a print copy to the library for binding and cataloging.  At this time, publishing online is optional.

Proquest/UMI Digital Dissertation Publishing

The library provides access to an online dissertation publishing platform through Proquest/UMI Digital Dissertation Publishing.  When you publish your dissertation online using this service it will be available in the Proquest Dissertation & Theses Global database and in Dissertations & Theses @ LIU database.  These databases can also be found on our library online databases page.  The links are provided below for your convenience. You may submit your dissertation once you have permission from your department to do so.

 You can go to the LIU dedicated “ETD Administrator” website at:

http://www.etdadmin.com/liu

On this page you will find links to information about publishing your dissertation online.  You are encouraged to read all of the provided information under the “Resources and Guidelines” tab so that you have a full understanding of the process and of your rights as an author. 

If you have not already done so you will first need to create an account by clicking on the "Sign up and get started today!" button. Once you have logged in and are ready to publish, you will be asked several questions during the process concerning copyright protection, open access publishing, and if you wish to delay (embargo) the publication of your dissertation.   The “traditional” publishing option is free of cost.  If you choose additional options you can pay online with a credit card. The online resources provided should answer your questions. 

During the process you can also choose to order one or several personal print copies. These would be in addition to the bound copies you may have already ordered through the library if your department requires this. This online publishing service for digital dissertations and the bound dissertations service in the library are separate programs. Please contact Rosemary.Kopczynski@liu.edu (516-299-2764) concerning ordering print copies of a dissertation through the library.

Once you submit your dissertation, the ETD Administrator will review your submission for formatting and other quality control issues.  The final submittal to the Proquest Dissertation & Theses Full-text database will take place after your graduation.

You must follow the formatting guidelines as stipulated by your department.   It is particularly important that you follow the correct format on the title page so that your dissertation can be indexed correctly.  The library also receives a microfilm copy that will be cataloged into the library collection. For security reasons, do not include a page containing personal signatures.  Please remove the page or submit a replacement page without the signatures.  Proquest has advised not to include signatures.   If you include signatures in the document, you will need to resubmit and the publication of your dissertation will be delayed

If you still have questions concerning this program you can e-mail your library liaison.  If you have technical questions during the process please contact the ETD administrator, Jamani.Hawkins-El@liu.edu. (516-299-2874)

In addition to submitting your dissertation to the Proquest EDT Administrator, you can also submit your dissertation to the LIU Institutional Repository (IR).  You do not need to submit your dissertation to the IR.  We just need your approval and we will do the rest. There is no cost to you. See below for more details.

 

DIGITAL COMMONS @ LIU

Dear  Student,

We would like to invite you to submit your dissertation (free of charge) to our Digital Commons @LIU http://digitalcommons.liu.edu/ open access Institutional Repository.

Your submission to Digital Commons (should you chose to submit) would be in addition to submitting the dissertation to ProQuest. The advantage is broader dissemination of your scholarship.

All you need to do is to sign the submission agreement.http://digitalcommons.liu.edu/creative_works_permission.pdf

(electronic signature is fine), scan it and email it to digitalcommons@liu.edu.

Alternatively, you can drop the signed form at the Technical Services room at the Library. We are located in front of the Library Dean’s office.

The library will upload your dissertation once/if  your agreement is received.

Once your dissertation is posted:

  • your dissertation is periodically featured as a Paper of the Day
  • you receive  URL “for life’ that you can include in social media sites, digital portfolio, blackboard etc.
  • you also receive monthly report if your research is downloaded during specific month period
  • you have access to personal author dashboard and can see where in the word your work is read and downloaded as well as by what kind of organizations (educational, commercial etc.)
  • your work is disseminated world-wide
  • potential for increased Google citation statistics 

ETD WorkFlow

Subject Guide

Robert Battenfeld's picture
Robert Battenfeld

Contact:
LIU Post
B. Davis Schwartz Memorial Library
Reference Office, Room 237
720 Northern Blvd.
Brookville, NY 11548
robert.battenfeld@liu.edu
516-299-2165