Database Searching Tips
There is no standardized format for a database’s appearance or user interface. However, most databases offer similar search functionality.
- Keyword searching is default on many databases.
- Use important nouns as search words.
- Try using synonyms of your search words: college, university, "higher education".
- Avoid using common words: "a", "an","the","to","by", "of", etc.
- Use double
quotations marks to search for an exact phrase.
Example: “embryonic stem cell”
Find Social Work Journal Articles
The databases listed below contain full-text journal articles on social work and can be accessed remotely.
See below for Ebooks in Databases
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSocINDEX with Full Text is a sociology research database that offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing closely related areas of study including criminology & criminal justice, political sociology, religion, social psychology, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for 16,800 conference papers.
- Social Science Database This link opens in a new windowSocial Science Database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work and sociology.
- PsycINFOCreated by the American Psychological Association, this contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly articles (from 2,100 journals), book chapters, books, and dissertations. Covers psychology and its related disciplines, as well as the psychological aspects of related fields.
Ebooks in Databases
An assortment of Social Work Ebooks can be found in the database below:
- Ebook CentralEbook Central (Formerly ebrary) from ProQuest is an eBook platform that contains over 10,000 ebook titles available for LIU users
- eBook Collection This link opens in a new windoweBook Collection from Ebsco contains more than 132,000 multidisciplinary ebooks representing a broad range of academic subject matter.
