Skip to main content

Digital Initiatives and Art Image Library: Slide Collection

LibGuide for the Digital Initiatives and Art Image Library at LIU Post.

35 mm Art Slides

The art image collection contains more than 50,000 35 mm slides representing most geographic regions, historic time periods and media. The images are arranged alphabetically according to geographical regions and within that classification, according to artists’ names. Long Island University adopted VRA Standard Abbreviations for Image Descriptions for use in Fine Arts Visual Resources Collections in 1992. This standardization facilitates access to t­he collection. Original source information is also recorded on each label providing metadata for future digitalization of images not accessible in ArtStor, WorldImages and other institutional providers of unrestricted images for teaching and scholarship listed at: http://liu.cwp.libguides.com/visualarts.

Using the 35 mm Slide Collection

The librarians and staff will assist in the navigation of the collection and the selection of images for educational purposes. Although we hold multiple copies of frequently used and popular images, availability cannot be guaranteed. You may wish to visit the library or contact a staff member with any concerns in advance.  Students must have a current Long Island University identification card to use the collection.

Imaging Services

The Art Image Library is equipped to produce digital images for instruction within the University. Please allow three weeks for requests to be filled. Image requests are addressed on an individual basis, subject to staff availability and the needs of the collection.

Assistance with digital imaging and presentation technologies is available for faculty and students. Please contact us via email for an appointment.