Skip to main content

Reference Department: Reference Resources

LibGuide for the LIU Post Library Reference Department.

Find Reference Materials

Find Books and More
   

How to find books in stacks

Use this link to the bookstacks map for help finding books in the library. 

Map to the Bookstacks

It includes a library map and a chart that explains book locations. 

Once you know the call number of your book, for example LB1756.M35 D45 2001, match the alphabetical part of the call number (LB) with the corresponding stack level (in this instance the book will be in level 3 of the stacks.  Enter the stacks from the main floor of the library.

Find a Periodical

Reference Collections

The Reference Collection offers a rich variety of resources from general and specialized subject encyclopedias, to extensive legal and literary materials. The collection is continually evolving toward more technological access, adding databasesdigital sources, and internet sites.

To locate print resources at LIU, use the Library's online catalog, LIUCat. Materials located in Reference are listed as "Post Main Reference" and do not circulate.

To search a database for journal articles and other sources, you can find a list of databases arranged by subject or alphabetically. There is also a vendor list where the databases are grouped together by company name, such as InfoTracWebSPIRS, andProquest.

Subject Access to Collections will help you choose which databases to use for a topic, along with related reference sources, selected periodicals, and the Library of Congress classification numbers for the subject. It's our version of one-stop shopping.

Internet Resources (Virtual Reference Collection) offers links to useful websites arranged by subject.

Book Stacks

Bookstacks 
Enter on the main floor which is the equivalent of stack level 4.

Call
Number

Stack
Level

A

3

B

3

C

3

D

4

E

4

F

4

G

3

Call
Number

Stack
Level

H

4

J

4

K

4

L

3

M

5

+N   N

5*

P

5

Call
Number

Stack
Level

Q

2

R

2

S

2

T

2

U

2

V

2

Z

4

Collection

Stack
Level

Beilstein

-

British Museum

B

Houben-Weyl

-

Law

B

Reference Annex

B

Sadtler

-

Thesis

B