Skip to main content

Zotero - Citation Manager: Creating
Bibliographies

Zotero is a free, easy to use software that helps you save, manage, and cite research sources.

Creating Quick Bibliographies

It's easy to create a bibliography from your Zotero library.

Select the references or collections you want to include. Hold the control key and click to select multiple items. Right-click one of the selected items and choose Create Bibliography.

Choose the bibliographic style you want, select Copy to Clipboard, click OK and paste into your word processor.

This method works with any word processor (or anywhere you can paste text).

Creating Your Bibliography While You Write

Zotero offers word processing plugins for Word and OpenOffice. The plugin adds a Zotero toolbar to your word processor that allows you to add citations to your document while you write.

To add a citation, click the first button ("Insert Citation") on the toolbar. Search for the reference you want to cite and press Enter. Zotero will add the citation at your cursor.

At the end of your paper, click the third button ("Insert Bibliography"). Your bibliography will appear, and new citations will be added automatically. Change bibliographic styles with the last button on the toolbar ("Set Doc Prefs").

Creating Bibliographies

Click the "Insert Bibliography" icon (third from left) to automatically create a bibliography in the style you've chosen. It's really that easy!

generating a bibliography in Word

 

Quick Copy: drag and drop your resources to create a bibliography in seconds!

Another way to create a bibliography is to use Zotero's Quick Copy function. To configure Quick Copy (aka "drag and drop"), click on the Actions icon (looks like a gear) > Preferences > Export > choose your default output bibliographic style > click OK. Now you are ready to create a bibliography using Quick Copy.

Simply select/highlight and then drag and drop the desired resources from your Zotero library pane into your word processing document, Google doc, new email message, blog post, etc. It's really that easy!

Zotero will automatically create an alphabetized, formatted bibliography with just one click!

Adding additional styles to Zotero

Zotero comes with the most common bibliographic styles, but many more are available to download.

To install a style (Firefox):

  1. Go to the Zotero Style Repository page in Firefox.
  2. Search for the name of the style you need.
  3. Click the Install link next to the style, then the Install button to confirm.
To install a style (Zotero Standalone):
  1. Go to the Zotero Style Repository page in Firefox.
  2. Search for the name of the style you need.
  3. Download the style (right-click the Install link and choose Save As).
  4. Open Zotero preferences. Click Cite, then Styles, then the "+" button, and select the style you downloaded (a .CSL file).

The new style will appear in Zotero's style lists.

Librarian

Robert Battenfeld's picture
Robert Battenfeld

Contact:
LIU Post
B. Davis Schwartz Memorial Library
Reference Office, Room 237
720 Northern Blvd.
Brookville, NY 11548
robert.battenfeld@liu.edu
516-299-2165