Skip to main content

Instructional Media Center: Educational Resources & Databases

BrainPOP

  BrainPOP is used in numerous ways in classrooms, at home, and on mobile devices, from introducing a new lesson or topic to illustrating complex subject matter. Content is mapped to Common Core, and aligned to academic standards. This software is uniquely suited for 21st century leaning, and is compatible with interactive whiteboards, Macs, and PCs. No downloading, installation, or special hardware is required.                      

The combo subscription to BrainPOP includes the following:

BrainPOP -- http://www.brainpop.com

BrainPOP jr -- http://www.brainpopjr.com

BrainPOP ESL --- http://www.brainpopesl.com/

BrainPOP Espanol -- http://esp.brainpop.com/

BrainPOP Francais -- http://www.brainpop.fr/

BrainPOP UK -- http://www.brainpop.co.uk/

BrainPOP China -- http://www.brainpop.cn/index.weml

BrainPOP Google Chrome Ap -- https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/cdikkckjinnmjpgkjjpnfmmbcpbhmklf

BrainPOP iTunes ap -- http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/brainpop-featured-movie/id364894352?mt=8

Scholastic Go! (formerly Grolier Online

 

   or  

Access is provided by NovelNY (New York Online Virtual Electronic Library)

Amazing Animals of the World – For elementary school students. Includes facts and photos for over 1,200 animals.
America the Beautiful – For elementary and middle school students. Includes articles on US cities, states and presidents.
Encyclopedia Americana – Articles include links to further readings, a bibliography, selected full text articles, web page links, and links to related articles.
Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia – Includes over 41,000 encyclopedia articles, news, timelines, quizzes and games, and research starters. It also includes an atlas and dictionary. Articles can be grouped by lexile level and are aligned to standards.
Lands and Peoples – For middle and high school students. Includes articles on countries, cultures and current events. Also includes an atlas and almanacs.
The New Book of Knowledge – For middle grade students. Includes literary selections, a timeline, projects, experiments, news, homework help and more.
The New Book of Popular Science – For middle and high school students. Includes articles in the areas of science, technology and medicine.
La Nueva Enciclopedia Cumbre – Spanish language encyclopedia written from a Latin American perspective.

Britannica School

 For more information view the flyer by clicking on the PDF link below

Rosen Learning Center

Interactive eBooks for grades K - 12

Collections

Core Language Skills

Energy Everywhere

How are they different?

Let's Celebrate Freedom

My Community : New York's Geography

Pioneer Spirit : The Westward Expansion

Powerkids Readers : American Symbols

Powerkids Readers : My Community

Power Kids Readers : The Universe

Save Earth's Animals

Science Tools

Spotlight on New York

Under the Sea

What really happened?

Yours five senses and your sixth sense

 

How AreThey Different?                         

    The Universe