Library Guides - aka LibGuides
What are LibGuides?
- These are online guides that contain listings of library recommended resources: databases, journals, books, web pages and other useful resources relevant to your course or subject. LibGuides are capabile of displaying links, social media widgets, documents and surveys and much more.
- This Blended and Online Instruction web site is an example.
How can you get a LibGuide Created for your course?
- LibGuides are created by librarians in collaboration with faculty members. Contact:
- Post: contact your library liaision
- Brooklyn: Email: Ingrid Wang
How long does it take to get a LibGuide?
- That depends on how complex you want to make it. The time frame is generally 1-8 weeks.
How can I create a link from Blackboard to my Guide?
-
From the top-left side of Blackboard - Just click on the Plus Sign and choose -> Add External Link and enter the name of your guide and the URL provided by your liaison.
Books
Introduction to Rubrics by Call Number: Post - LB3063 .S74 2005ISBN: 1579221157Publication Date: 2004-11-01
Copyright Law and the Distance Education Classroom by Call Number: Brooklyn - KF4209.E38 L57 2005ISBN: 0810851717Publication Date: 2004-12-28
Discussion-Based Online Teaching to Enhance Student Learning by Call Number: Post - LB1044.87 .B43 2003ISBN: 1579220657Publication Date: 2003-10-01
Facilitating Online Learning by Call Number: Brooklyn - LB1044.875 .F33 2000ISBN: 1891859331Publication Date: 2000-09-01
Effective Online Teaching by Call Number: Post, Brentwood - LB1044.87 .S846 2011ISBN: 9780470578384Publication Date: 2011-07-20
Teaching Online: A Practical Guide by Call Number: Post, Brentwood - LB2395.7 .K67 2010ISBN: 9780415997331Publication Date: 2010-03-10
Teaching and Learning at a Distance by Call Number: Brooklyn, Brentwood - LC5800 .T43 2009ISBN: 9780135137765Publication Date: 2008-03-25
The Virtual Student: a profile and guide to working with online learners by Call Number: Post, Brentwood - LC5803.C65 P35 2003ISBN: 0787964743Publication Date: 2003-03-10
Information Literacy Programs in the Digital Age by Call Number: Brooklyn, Post - ZA3075 .I538 2007ISBN: 9780838984444Publication Date: 2007-01-01
Assessing Online Learning by Call Number: Brooklyn - LB2328.15.U6 A88 2005ISBN: 1882982770Publication Date: 2004-10-29
Reference Books
Encyclopedia of Virtual Communities and Technologies by Call Number: EbookISBN: 1591405637Publication Date: 2005-10-31
Education and Technology by Call Number: Brooklyn, Post, Brentwood - Reference - LB1028.3 .E17 2004ISBN: 1576073513Publication Date: 2003-12-05
Encyclopedia of Distributed Learning by Call Number: Post, Brentwood - LC5211 .E52 2004 OVSZISBN: 0761924515Publication Date: 2003-11-06
Interlibrary Loan
Use our Interlibrary Loan Services to request articles unavailable electronically. Note: When registering with ILLiad, if you are not able to visit the library to pick up your articles, please select: Preferred Article Delivery Method = mailed
Articles - Scholarly Journals
- American Journal of Distance Education"The internationally recognized journal of research and scholarship in the field of American distance education established with the mission of disseminating information about research and scholarship in the Americas."
- BJET (British Journal of Educational Technology)“The British Journal of Educational Technology provides readers with the widest possible coverage of developments in international educational and training technology. BJET is a primary source for academics and professionals in learning technology.”
- Computers & Education“Targeted at researchers interested in the educational aspects of computers and computing, and specifically at Educational Technologists.”
- Distance Education"Distance Education is a peer-reviewed journal of the Open and Distance Learning Association of Australia, Inc. It publishes research and scholarly material in the fields of open, distance and flexible education."
- Educational Technology Research and DevelopmentScholarly journal whose focus is on research and development in educational technology.
- EDUCAUSE Review Online"Online, peer-reviewed, practitioner's journal from EDUCAUSE about managing and using information resources in higher education."
- European Journal of Open , Distance, and E-Learning"EURODL, supported by the European Distance and E-learning Network, presents scholarly work and solid information about open, distance and e-learning as well as new dimensions of technology-enhanced learning and contributes to the Open Content movement since 1995"
- International Journal of Distance Education Technologies"The International Journal of Distance Education Technologies (IJDET) is a forum for researchers and practitioners to disseminate practical solutions to the automation of open and distance learning."
- International Journal of Educational Research"The International Journal of Educational Research publishes regular papers and special issues on specific topics of interest to international audiences of educational researchers."
- International Journal of Instructiona lMedia"IJIM is a source for cutting-edge research
on all forms of technology used in teaching
and training today. Contains reports on the latest, independent science on applying all instructional media: software, hardware, curriculum and instruction strategies." - International Journal on E-LearningIJEL reports on "advances in technology and the growth of e-learning to provide educators and trainers with unique opportunities to enhance learning and teaching in corporate, government, healthcare, and higher education."
- International Review of Research in Open and Distance Learning"The International Review of Research in Open and Distance Learning is a refereed, open access e-journal that disseminates original research, theory, and best practice in open and distance learning worldwide."
- The Internet and Higher Education"A quarterly journal devoted to addressing contemporary issues and future developments related to online learning, teaching, and administration on the Internet in post-secondary settings."
- Journal of Computing in Higher Education"Journal of Computing in Higher Education, JCHE, publishes original research, literature reviews, implementation and evaluation studies, and theoretical, conceptual, and policy papers that contribute to our understanding of the issues associated with instructional technologies and educational environments."
- Quarterly Review of Distance Education"The Quarterly Review of Distance Education is a rigorously refereed journal publishing articles, research briefs, reviews, and editorials dealing with the theories, research, and practices of distance education."
- The Journal of Educational Research"The Journal of Educational Research is a well-known and respected periodical that reaches an international audience of educators and others concerned with cutting-edge theories and proposals. "
- Journal of Educational Technology Systems"Articles on systems in which technology and education interface, the use of computers as an integral component of educational systems and design and development of interactive computer-based systems aimed at the professional educator."
- Journal of Experimental Education"For researchers and practitioners interested in the advancement of educational research and its implementation to improve the educational process. Includes research studies that address all levels of schooling."
- Journal of Higher Education"Published in affiliation with the American Association for Higher Education. Articles, review essays and book reviews dealing with all aspects of higher education."
- Journal of Instruction Delivery Systems"Devoted to the issues, problems, and applications of instructional delivery systems in education, training, and job performance; purpose is to inform managers, senior professionals, & developers of specific examples of applications."
- Journal of Research on Technology in Education"Presents articles that report on original research, system or project descriptions and evaluations, syntheses of the literature, assessments of the state of the art, and theoretical or conceptual positions that relate to educational computing."
- Online Learning (formerly JALN)The premier journal of the Online Learning Consortium dedicated to research into quality online education.
Articles - Non-peer Reviewed Journals, Magazines, Newletters
Articles - Databases
- Education Full Text (WilsonWeb)Comprehensive coverage of an international range of English-language periodicals, monographs, and yearbooks, indexing and abstracting articles of at least one column in lengt. relating to education published in 1995 or later.
- ERIC : Education Resources Information Center (Ebsco)Covers education literature and resources by providing access to information from journals included in the Current Index to Journals in Education and from documents in the Resources in Education index.
- ERIC : Education Resources Information Center (US Dept of Education)United States Department of Education website access to the ERIC database and the full text of ERIC documents. No password needed for remote access
- Teacher Reference Center (TRC) (Ebsco)this database provides indexing and abstracts for over 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals, periodicals, and books. Covers key education topics such as assessment, continuing education, current pedagogical research, curriculum development, instructional media, language arts, literacy standards, science, mathematics, and more.
- Education Research Complete (Ebsco)Resource for education research. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.