Skip to main content

Writing a Literature Review: Bibliography

Tips on writing a literature review (in any subject).

Works Cited/Bibliography

It is essential that you document your lit. review well. Check with your professor for the preferred bibliography style. It is likely that the requisite style will be that of the American Psychological Association (APA) or of the Modern Language Association (MLA) or perhaps the Humanities version of The Chicago Manual of Style.

Some guides for documenting papers appropriately:

 

RefWorks

  • The Web-based bibliographic citation management tool RefWorks (mentioned earlier) allows one to format tone's bibliography in numerous styles including APA, MLA, Turabian and Chicago.

  • RefWorks also has a utility called Write-N-Cite which allows Microsoft Word and Internet Explorer users to insert cited references directly into their manuscripts with the click of a button. The utility installs a Write-N-Cite icon on your desktop as well as an Add-in to your Word toolbar and a menu option under Tools for launching Write-N-Cite.

  • See the RefWorks Getting Started guide and the Frequently asked questions page.

Works Cited/ Bibliography

It is essential that you document your literature review. Check with your professor for the preferred bibliography style. It is likely that the requisite style will be that of the American Psychological Association (APA) or of the Modern Language Association (MLA) or perhaps the Humanities version of The Chicago Manual of Style.

Some guides for documenting papers appropriately:

Managing Citations - Tools

RefWorks

  • The Web-based bibliographic citation management tool RefWorks  allows one to format one's bibliography in numerous styles including APA, MLA, Turabian and Chicago.

  • RefWorks also has a utility called Write-N-Cite which allows Microsoft Word and Internet Explorer users to insert cited references directly into their manuscripts with the click of a button. The utility installs a Write-N-Cite icon on your desktop as well as an Add-in to your Word toolbar and a menu option under Tools for launching Write-N-Cite.

  • See the RefWorks Getting Started guide.

Zotero

  • Zotero(pronounced "zoh-TAIR-oh") is a Firefox browser addon that collects, manages, and cites research sources. It's easy to use, lives in your web browser where you do your work, and best of all it's free. Zotero allows you to attach PDFs, notes and images to your citations, organize them into collections for different projects, and create bibliographies.

    It automatically updates itself periodically to work with new online sources and new bibliographic styles.

    Zotero Quick Start Guide

    See also this great guide published by the Zotero developers themselves. Also available as a PDF.

Library Liaison

Mary Kate Boyd-Byrnes's picture
Mary Kate Boyd-Byrnes
Contact:
B. Davis Schwartz Memorial Library
Room 237
720 Northern Boulevard
Brookville, NY 11548
516-299-4145