Looking for Dissertations?
- Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new windowProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Global (PQDTGlobal) is collection of full-text dissertations and theses. As the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and as the database of record for graduate research, PQDTGlobal includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works.
- Dissertations & Theses @ Long Island University This link opens in a new windowIf you are looking for Palmer School dissertations or those produced by any of the LIU doctoral programs you can check this database. Submission to ProQuest is at the discretion of the author so not all LIU dissertations are included.
- Cataloged Palmer School DissertationsCopies of Palmer School Dissertations are deposited with the library and cataloged.
- Dissertation Retrieval Request FormPalmer School Dissertations are housed in closed stacks. To have a dissertation retrieved and ready at the reference desk for your arrival use the Dissertation Retrieval Request Form.
Your Palmer School Dissertation
- Palmer School's Dissertation ManualDescribes the dissertation process including deposit requirements for your accepted dissertation. Check with the Palmer School if there are any changes to this document.
- Instructions for Dissertation BindingA copy of your dissertation should be deposited with the library. There is no binding charge for the library copy. Instructions are provided.
Submitting your Dissertation to ProQuest
You can choose to publish your dissertation digitally with ProQuest. The library provides access to an online dissertation publishing platform through Proquest/UMI Digital Dissertation Publishing. When you publish your dissertation online using this service it will be available in the Proquest Dissertation & Theses Global database and in Dissertations & Theses @ LIU database. These databases can also be found on our library online databases page. The links are provided below for your convenience. You may submit your dissertation once you have permission from your department to do so.
You can go to the LIU dedicated “ETD Administrator” website at:
On this page you will find links to information about publishing your dissertation online. You are encouraged to read all of the provided information under the “Resources and Guidelines” tab so that you have a full understanding of the process and of your rights as an author.
If you have not already done so you will first need to create an account by clicking on the "Sign up and get started today!" button. Once you have logged in and are ready to publish, you will be asked several questions during the process concerning copyright protection, open access publishing, and if you wish to delay (embargo) the publication of your dissertation. The “traditional” publishing option is free of cost. If you choose additional options you can pay online with a credit card. The online resources provided should answer your questions.
During the process you can also choose to order one or several personal print copies. These would be in addition to the bound copies you may have already ordered through the library if your department requires this. This online publishing service for digital dissertations and the bound dissertations service in the library are separate programs. Please contact Anna.Giuga@liu.edu (516-299-4138) concerning ordering print copies of a dissertation through the library.
Once you submit your dissertation, the ETD Administrator will review your submission for formatting and other quality control issues. The final submittal to the Proquest Dissertation & Theses Full-text database will take place after your graduation.
You must follow the formatting guidelines as stipulated by your department. It is particularly important that you follow the correct format on the title page so that your dissertation can be indexed correctly. The library also receives a microfilm copy that will be cataloged into the library collection. For security reasons, do not include a page containing personal signatures. Please remove the page or submit a replacement page without the signatures. Proquest has advised not to include signatures. If you include signatures in the document, you will need to resubmit and the publication of your dissertation will be delayed
If you still have questions concerning this program you can e-mail your library liaison. If you have technical questions during the process please contact the ETD administrator, Heather.Hesse@liu.edu (516-299-2880).