Skip to main content

Psychology: Databases

Database Searching Tips

There is no standardized format for a database’s appearance or user interface. However, most databases offer similar search functionality.

  • Keyword searching is default on many databases.
  • Use important nouns as search words.
  • Try using synonyms of your search words: college, university, "higher education".
  • Avoid using common words: "a", "an","the","to","by", "of", etc.
  • Use double quotations marks to search for an exact phrase.
    Example: “embryonic stem cell”

General databases

The following databases are multi-disciplinary and will retrieve articles on almost any topic.

Many offer the option to limit searches to articles found in scholarly and peer-reviewed journals.

Psychology Databases

 

PsycINFO: Created by the American Psychological Association, this contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly articles (from 2,100 journals), book chapters, books, and dissertations published in more than 25 languages with some dating back to 1887. Covers psychology and its related disciplines, as well as the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law, and more. 97 percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed.

ProQuest Psychology Journals: Provides abstracts and indexing for more than 650 leading psychology and psychosomatic publications, with over 540 titles available in full text along with the accompanying charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements. Also includes 4,000 full text dissertations from 2000 through 2005. Covers clinical and social psychology, as well as related disciplines such as genetics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, the psychology of business and economics, and more.

PsycARTICLES: Contains the full text of more than 100,000 articles from 59 peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific journals (48 published by the American Psychological Association and 11 from allied organizations), some dating back to 1894. Covering general psychology as well as specialized, applied, clinical and theoretical research, it includes all articles, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal.

PEP Archive

PEP Archive Offers the full text for principal psychoanalytic journals and classic psychoanalytic books dating as far back as 1871, and is the most authoritative source of peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles from the field of psychoanalysis.

Mental Measurements Yearbook

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print Produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska, it provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership. Covers from Volume 1 to the present. Tests in Print serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. It includes test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s).

PsycTests produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), is a database providing descriptive summaries, full text (when available), and relevant citations on the development and assessment of tests and measures that can be used in research and teaching. Coverage dates from 1910 to the present. Updated monthly.