Where can I find information on the current political and economic situation in my country?
• See Library databases and web resources listed under the Country Information tab
• See also Library databases listed under the Find Articles tab to locate current newspaper and magazine articles
Where can I find currency (exchange rate) data for my country from 1970 through 2011?
• Use the book International Financial Statistics Yearbook. You will need to use the 2000 and 2011 volumes to cover through 2010. Go to the Reference Desk in the Library to find these volumes. Call number is HG 61 .I57
• Go to the Periodicals Department of the Library and use the latest monthly version of International Financial Statistics to find 2011 data
Where can I find balance of payment data for my country?
• Use the International Financial Statistics Yearbook as mentioned above
• BOP data is also frequently available in other places such as the foreign central bank website for your country.
Where can I find economic data, including forecast data, for my country?
• See economic outlook reports and other links listed under the Economic and Statistical Data tab
• See also issues of ECRI publications from your teacher and also available in the Periodicals Department of the Library
Where can I find information on currency movements (directional changes) for my country?
To find background information on financial events that have had an impact on your country’s currency at a particular period of time, try the OECD Economic Surveys which are available in the Library as print publications and also in the Business Source Premier database as online publications. The OECD Economic Surveys are published every two years and go back many years. Use them to find background on your country’s economic situation for a particular period of time.
OECD Economic Surveys - print pubications - available to borrow from the Library:
Australia: HC 605.074a
France: HC 271 .07
Germany: HC 286.6 073a Italy: HC 301 .089
Japan: HC 461 .A107
Spain: HC 381 .07
UK: HC 256.5 07
To find the OECD Economic Surveys in the Business Source Premier- Country Reports database, do the following;
1. Enter country name in the "browse for" box
2. Select country
3. Browse list of reports until you see the link for the OECD Economic Surveys for your country
4. Choose the year of the report you would like to look at
You may also search the Library databases for articles by doing a keyword search. For example:
spain and currency
You can limit your search to specific periods of time to search for events that may have had an impact on your country's currency
• See the How-To Guides tab for detailed informtion
How can I select a foreign public company operating in my country?
• See the How-To Guides tab for detailed information
Where can I find information on corporate governance for my country?
• Use the Browse feature at the top of the Proquest database homepage and go to the dropdown menu for Country Reports (under the "Business" heading) to locate Economist Intelligence Unit Country Finance & Forecast Reports on a specific country.
o When in the Country Finance report, use the Find function on your computer to search for the phrase "corporate governance" in the entire report or look for the section entitled "Medium- and long-term instruments/regulations: Corporate governance."
• You can also do a keyword search in the Library databases to look for articles. For example:
o germany and corporate governance
Where can I find information on business ethics for my country?
• Use the Library databases to look for articles. For example:
o France and business ethics
• See also reports (ones that have a global emphasis) available in the Conference Board database under Ethics
• Check the foreign central bank website for your country