Skip to main content

Endnote Basic: Home

What is Endnote basic?

Endnote basic is the free online version of the popular desktop citation management software from Thomson Reuters.  Endnote basic will allow you to store and generate references based on citation styles such as APA, MLA, and Chicago. Endnote basic also comes with a "Cite While You Write" plugin that will work with Microsoft Word to automatically generate parenthetical references and a bibliography as you write your research papers. The online version available to LIU students and faculty has more features than the free Endnote basic version online that is available to anyone.    Please be sure to register for a free account on campus or, if off campus, by using the proxied link below.  If you own a personal copy of the desktop Endnote software you will be able to sync your citation library with the online version.

Searching Online In Endnote

You can search some of the library's databases from within Endnote.  Once you login as an LIU User you will be able to choose several online resources to search for citations.  Click on the "Collect" tab and then "Online Search." Select a database to search or add them to your "favorites,"   While this is a convenient feature, you may lose some of the database's functionality by using the Endnote online search.  It is recommended that you conduct your online database searches in the library databases and then export the citations into Endnote.

Exporting from a Database without Direct Export

You may find that the database or online resource you are using does not have Direct Export for Endnote.  In these cases, you can download (export) the citations manually.   You do need to export the citations into a format recognizable by Endnote.  A standard format for exporting citations is called RIS.  If this format is available, you should use it for exporting. Generally, you want to save the records in RIS format and then import them manually into Endnote.  The instructions for importing records manually into Endnote are listed below (#6 - #13)

The library subscribes to several databases from the Proquest family.  Proquest does not offer Direct Export for Endnote.  Follow the instructions below for exporting references from Proquest databases into Endnote:

 

  1. Select the records you want to export
  2. Click on ...More on the Proquest menu on the right
  3. Choose RIS (Works with Endnote, Citavi, Etc.)
  4. When popup box appears click on Continue
  5. Another popup box will appear prompting you to save the file.
  6. Save the file on your computer so it can easily be found (e.g. Desktop)
  7. Open Endnote
  8. Choose Collect tab and then Import References
  9. Browse for the saved RIS file on your computer
  10. Choose Import Option: RIS filter
  11. Select a folder or unfiled
  12. Click on Import
  13. The citation record will be imported into your Endnote account

Register For A Free Endnote Basic Account

  1. Go to https://0-www.myendnoteweb.com.liucat.lib.liu.edu/EndNoteWeb.html (proxied link).
  2. Endnote can also be accessed as a menu item within Journal Citation Reports on the library Databases A-Z page.
  3. Click on Create an Account
  4. Follow the onscreen instructions

NOTE: If you are off campus you will need to use the link above.  If you use the direct link (www.myendnoteweb.com) off campus you will not be registered as an LIU User.   However, on campus either link will register you as an LIU user.

 

Cite While You Write

With the Cite While You Write plugin you can insert references, and format citations and bibliographies automatically while you write your papers in Microsoft Word.  There is both a Windows and MAC OS version.  To access:

 

 

  1. Log in to your Endnote basic account
  2. Choose the Format tab
  3. Choose the Cite While You Write™ Plug-In tab
  4. Choose the version for your laptop or desktop operating system.
  5. Once the file has downloaded click on the file to begin installation
  6. Follow the instructions on your computers screen
  7. When you open Word, the Endnote tool will appear on the toolbar

Exporting From A Database into Endnote

Many of the library databases will allow you to export citations into Endnote.  Each database interface handles this slightly differently.  The example instructions below are for our Ebscohost databases.

 

 

  1. Open an Ebscohost database such as Academic Search Complete.
  2. Enter your search term
  3. Click on the folder icon to the right of the record to save in the folder view
  4. Select all the citations you want to export.
  5. Click on Folder View
  6. Click on Export
  7. Click the radio button for "Direct Export to EndNote Web"
  8. Click on Save
  9. If you are already logged into your Endnote account your citation will be automatically exported.  If you are not logged in the Endnote login page will appear.

Note:  We recommend that you sign up for a free My Ebscohost account and the citations will be saved in your account.  For more information on this feature please view the video at this link:

My EBSCOhost Folders

 

Endnote Updates

UPCOMING CHANGES TO ENDNOTE ONLINE

On May 24, 2016, we are retiring the Connect tab and the community in EndNote online. Released as a Beta nearly two years ago, this community has given us a great deal of data and feedback about how researchers interact and collaborate with others in the context of their reference management workflow. We are grateful to those who have worked with us to test the concept. 

We see exceptional value in embedding social, sharing, and collaboration tools into our users’ workflow and providing users tools to manage their public profile, body of work, and reputation. We’re exploring some new ways to help you discover, discuss, and connect around research. Stay tuned for what’s to come… 

What now? Please communicate these changes to your users. We will provide a toolkit of supporting materials in the coming weeks that will reflect all new developments. If you’re looking for product help, our EndNote User Forum is still a great place to ask questions of our experts and other users.

Librarian

Robert Battenfeld's picture
Robert Battenfeld

Contact:
LIU Post
B. Davis Schwartz Memorial Library
Reference Office, Room 237
720 Northern Blvd.
Brookville, NY 11548
robert.battenfeld@liu.edu
516-299-2165