Databases
These are good databases for starting your research in art therapy.
They can be accessed from off-campus computers using your LIU username and password. Click here for a complete list of databases.
- Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowAcademic OneFile offers extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, literature and other subjects. Contains nearly 14,000 indexed titles, including more than 10,000 peer-reviewed journals and more than 6,500 in full-text. Also provides full-text coverage of The New York Times and The Times (London) from 1985.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides the full text of over 8,500 periodicals along with citations to an additional 12,500, as well as more than 13,200 publications that include monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and more. Articles cover a broad range of academic subjects.
- Education Source This link opens in a new windowResource for education research that covers all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as health education, and testing.
- ERIC (DOE) This link opens in a new windowERIC (DOE) is the official site of the ERIC database for education research. ERIC (Education Resource Information Center) provides access to education literature and resources. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.
- ERIC (Ebscohost) This link opens in a new windowProvides access to information from journals included in the Current Index to Journals in Education and from documents in the Resources in Education index. The database contains more than 1,282,000 records and links to more than 314,000 full-text documents from ERIC.
- MEDLINE (Ebscohost) This link opens in a new windowCreated by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
- Education Database This link opens in a new windowProQuest's Education Database supports the study and application of education across all levels of education, including early childhood education, primary and secondary education, and higher education. The database supports global study and research, including thousands of full-text journals, dissertations and other relevant sources. Coverage: 1988 to present.
- Research Library This link opens in a new windowProvides access to the full-text journals across a wide range of subjects. Covers 1971 to the present.
- APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new windowContains the full text of more than 100,000 articles from 59 peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific journals.
- APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new windowCreated by the American Psychological Association, this database contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly articles from journals, books, book chapters, and dissertations. Covers psychology and its related disciplines.
- Dissertations & Theses @ Long Island University This link opens in a new windowDissertations & Theses @ LIU gives full text access to the dissertations and theses produced by students at LIU campuses.
Searching Tips
There is no standardized format for a database's appearance or user interface. However, most databases offer similar search functionality.
- Use important nouns as search words
- Use synonyms of your original search term(s):
- example: therapy, counseling, treatment, rehabilitation.
- example: therapy, counseling, treatment, rehabilitation.
- Put phrases in quotation marks.
- example: "art therapy"
- Use * to search for multiple endings of a word.
- example: child* will find child, children, childhood, etc.
- AND narrows results by finding both terms.
- OR broadens results by finding either or both terms.
- NOT excludes a word from the search