Skip to main content

Archives and Special Collections: Archive of Melvin Sylvester - Tau Kappa Epsilon

Archives and Special Collections is a repository for materials contained in a variety of formats: books, manuscripts, correspondence, journals, photographs, posters, maps, original drawings, theatre programs, archival documents, and other materials.

Archive of Melvin Sylvester - Tau Kappa Epsilon Fraternity. C. W. Post Campus Chapter (Theta Kappa)

Mel Sylvester and Students at the TKE Celebration, April 1976.

This is an archive of the Tau Kappa Epsilon Fraternity which Melvin Sylvester amassed during his time as the faculty advisory of the Theta Kappa Chapter on the LIU Post Campus. The archive contains a collection of periodicals from both the campus and the national organization as well as some other fraternity-related periodicals. It also contains numerous papers and correspondence related to the campus chapter, including various manuals and handbooks, rosters, alumni lists, chapter rankings, and ephemera. (See also the Archive of LIU Post Fraternities on the Archives and Special Collections website.)

Shown above: Mel Sylvester and Students at the TKE Celebration, April 1976.

Melvin Sylvester Materials: Tau Kappa Epsilon Fraternity. C. W. Post Campus Chapter (Theta Kappa)

Prepared by Jaime Barrett. MSLIS, JD

Folder ItemsDateDescriptionLocation
Folder 37.1
Newsletters
1974-1976Tau Kappa Epsilon's Headquarters BulletinBox 6
Folder 38.1
Newsletters
1967-1968Newsletters of the Inter-fraternity Research and Advisory CouncilBox 6
Folder 39. 1
Newsletters
1967-1975Miscellaneous fraternity related newsletters. The White Pearl contains an article written by Melvin SylvesterBox 6
Folder 40.1
Newsletters
1970-1976Tau Kappa Epsilon's TEKE SpotlightBox 6
Folder 41.1
Newsletters
1966-1969Tau Kappa Epsilon's TKE TodayBox 6
Folder 42.1
Newsletters
1968-1969Tau Kappa Epsilon's TKE Top SecretBox 6
Folder 43.1
Officer's Calendar
1969-1970Tau Kappa Epsilon Officer's CalendarBox 6
Folder 43.2
Officer's Calendar
1970-1971Tau Kappa Epsilon Officer's CalendarBox 6
Folder 43.3
Officer's Calendar
1975-1976Tau Kappa Epsilon Officer's CalendarBox 6
Folder 44.1
Related Periodicals
1968-1970Banta's Greek ExchangeBox 6
Folder 44.2
Related Periodicals
1970-1971Banta's Greek ExchangeBox 6
Folder 44.3
Related Periodicals
1964-1966Fraternity MonthlyBox 6
Folder 45.1
Related Periodicals
1963-1974Miscellaneous fraternity related periodicalsBox 6
Folder 46.1
TEKE Magazine
1966Tau Kappa Epsilon's TEKE MagazineBox 6
Folder 46.2
TEKE Magazine
1967Tau Kappa Epsilon's TEKE MagazineBox 6
Folder 46.3
TEKE Magazine
1968Tau Kappa Epsilon's TEKE MagazineBox 6
Folder 46.4
TEKE Magazine
1969Tau Kappa Epsilon's TEKE MagazineBox 6
Folder 46.5
TEKE Magazine
1970Tau Kappa Epsilon's TEKE MagazineBox 6
Folder 46.6
TEKE Magazine
1971-1975Tau Kappa Epsilon's TEKE MagazineBox 6
Folder 46.7
TEKE Magazine
1976-1980Tau Kappa Epsilon's TEKE MagazineBox 6
Folder 47.1
TEKE Newspaper
1972Tau Kappa Epsilon's TEKE NewspaperBox 6
Folder 47.2
TEKE Newspaper
1973Tau Kappa Epsilon's TEKE NewspaperBox 6
Folder 47.3
TEKE Newspaper
1974Tau Kappa Epsilon's TEKE NewspaperBox 6
Folder 47.4
TEKE Newspaper
1975Tau Kappa Epsilon's TEKE NewspaperBox 6
Folder 48.1
Black Book
1968-1975Tau Kappa Epsilon's "Black Book" containing the constitution and bylaws of the fraternity at the national levelBox 7
Folder 49.1
Catalogs
c. 1968-1976Various fraternity themed merchandise catalogsBox 7
Folder 49.2
Catalogs
c. 1968-1976Tau Kappa Epsilon's publications and supplies catalogsBox 7
Folder 50.1
Chapter Management  
c. 1964-1976Documents of the Theta Kappa Chapter Advisor, Professor Melvin SylvesterBox 7
Folder 50.2
Chapter Management  
c. 1964-1976Documents pertaining to alumni of the Theta Kappa Chapter at C.W. PostBox 7
Folder 50.3
Chapter Management  
c. 1964-1976Documents pertaining to the Theta Kappa Chapter's Board of ControlBox 7
Folder 50.4
Chapter Management  
c. 1964-1976Bylaws and policies of the Theta Kappa Chapter at C.W. PostBox 7
Folder 50.5
Chapter Management  
1965-1974Chapter visitation reportsBox 7
Folder 50.6
Chapter Management  
1968-1970Documents pertaining to the Theta Kappa Chapter's Crimson BallBox 7
Folder 50.7
Chapter Management  
c. 1964-1976Handbooks pertaining to the Chapter CrysophylosBox 7
Folder 50.8
Chapter Management  
c. 1964-1976Financial documents of the Theta Kappa ChapterBox 7
Folder 50.9
Chapter Management  
c. 1964-1976General documents related to chapter management including articles and guidesBox 7
Folder 50.10
Chapter Management  
c. 1964-1976Document pertaining to the role of the Chapter GrammateusBox 7
Folder 50.11
Chapter Management  
c. 1964-1976Miscellaneous handwritten notes regarding chapter managementBox 7
Folder 50.12
Chapter Management  
c. 1964-1976Documents pertaining to the role of the Chapter HistorBox 7
Folder 50.13
Chapter Management  
c. 1964-1976Documents pertaining to fraternity housing issuesBox 7
Folder 50.14
Chapter Management  
1968-1974Theta Kappa Chapter MinutesBox 7
Folder 50.15
Chapter Management  
c. 1964-1976Document signed by Chapter PryantisBox 7
Folder 50.16
Chapter Management  
c. 1964-1976Documents pertaining to the chapter retreatBox 7
Folder 50.17
Chapter Management  
c. 1964-1976Chapter rostersBox 7
Folder 50.18
Chapter Management  
1974-1976Chapter social calendarsBox 7
Folder 51.1
Conclave
1969-1975Documents pertaining to the fraternity conclaveBox 7
Folder 52.1
Conferences
c. 1964-1976Documents pertaining to fraternity conferencesBox 7
Folder 53.1
Education
c. 1964-1976Documents pertaining to educational issues including scholarshipsBox 7
Folder 54.1
Employment
1969Document listing graduates available for employmentBox 7
Folder 55.1
Flyers
c. 1964-1976Miscellaneous flyers, brochures and handouts regarding the fraternityBox 7
Folder 56.1
Fundraising
c. 1964-1976Miscellaneous documents regarding fraternity fundraisingBox 7
Folder 57.1
Grand Council
1968-1976"Grand Council" policy statementsBox 7
Folder 58.1
Grand Pryantis
1969, 1975State of the Fraternity Addresses made by the Grand PryantisBox 7
Folder 59.1
Letters
1966-1969Miscellaneous letters to and from fraternity membersBox 7
Folder 59. 2
Letters
1970-1984Miscellaneous letters to and from fraternity membersBox 7
Folder 60.1
Letterhead Blanks
c. 1964-1976Miscellaneous TKE letterhead blanksBox 7
Folder 61.1
Memoranda
1965-1969Fraternity related memorandaBox 7
Folder 61.2
Memoranda
1970-1985Fraternity related memorandaBox 7
Folder 61.3
Memoranda
c. 1964-1976Miscellaneous undated memorandaBox 7
Folder 62.1
National
c. 1964-1976Documents pertaining to the fraternity on the national level including organizational charts and instructions on starting chaptersBox 7
Folder 63.1
Newsletter Art
c. 1964-1976Miscellaneous fraternity related art and letters for use in chapter newslettersBox 7
Folder 64.1
Pledge
c. 1964-1976Miscellaneous documents regarding pledging the fraternityBox 7
Folder 65.1
Public Relations
1965Public Relations Manual from 1965Box 7
Folder 65.2
Public Relations
1973Public Relations Manual from 1973Box 7
Folder 65.3
Public Relations
c. 1964-1976Miscellaneous documents pertaining to public relationsBox 7
Folder 66.1
Rankings
1969-1974Fraternity chapter rankingsBox 7
Folder 67.1
Rush
c. 1964-1976Booklets and documents pertaining to rushBox 7
Folder 67.2
Rush
c. 1972-1976Three ring binder "Rush Book"Box 7
Folder 68.1
Songbook
c. 1968Three ring binder songbook from 1968 as well as some loose songsBox 7
Ephemerac. 1973Two boxed pen set favors from the 1973 Crimson Ball and 7 sports medals in plastic cases that may have been given to fraternity members?Box 8
Photographs1962-2005Photographs of Melvin Sylvester as well as his family, colleagues, and students. These photographs were taken at various stages of Melvin Sylvester's career. They include events such as birthday celebrations, Melvin Sylvester's trip to New Orleans for the ALA Conference, and the TKE Fraternity's Crimson Ball.Box 9

Return to the Archive of Melvin Sylvester Homepage

Melvin Sylvester

Melvin Sylvester at a 2005 celebration of Langston Hughes.

Melvin Sylvester at a 2005 celebration of Langston Hughes.

Contact Information

Archives and Special Collections

B. Davis Schwartz Memorial Library
LIU Post Campus
Long Island University
Brookville, NY 11548

Telephone: (516) 299-2880

Email: jarron.jewell@liu.edu

Hours: 9:00-5:00, Monday-Friday