Skip to main content

Archives and Special Collections: RoseMarie Salerno Dollhouses and Miniatures Literature Collection

Archives and Special Collections is a repository for materials contained in a variety of formats: books, manuscripts, correspondence, journals, photographs, posters, maps, original drawings, theatre programs, archival documents, and other materials.

The RoseMarie Salerno Dollhouses and Miniatures Literature Collection

The RoseMarie Salerno Dollhouses and Miniatures Literature Collection was graciously donated by RoseMarie Salerno in September, 2014. This charming collection houses well over 220 books, periodicals and pamphlets and is housed, separately, in its entirety within the American Juvenile Collection. While teaching in Suffolk County, New York, RoseMarie Salerno became fascinated with the world of miniature artifacts - especially those of 1" to 12" dollhouse scale. Through her research, she became expert in the history of this art form and the role these miniature artifacts played in the lives of children as well as adults. Magnificent dollhouse masterpieces were created for celebrities such as Colleen Moore to Queen Mary of England. For more than thirty years, Ms. Salerno built her impressive collection for reference and personal pleasure. The collection reflects every aspect of dollhouse miniatures including histories, how to make your own miniatures, and juvenile fiction with dollhouse plots.

Holdings List

More information coming soon.

American Juvenile Collection

American Juvenile Collection

Contact Information

Archives and Special Collections

B. Davis Schwartz Memorial Library
LIU Post Campus
Long Island University
Brookville, NY 11548

Telephone: (516) 299-2880

Email: jarron.jewell@liu.edu

Hours: 9:00-5:00, Monday-Friday