Skip to main content

Archives and Special Collections: Rare Books

Archives and Special Collections is a repository for materials contained in a variety of formats: books, manuscripts, correspondence, journals, photographs, posters, maps, original drawings, theatre programs, archival documents, and other materials.

Rare Book Collection

A miscellaneous gathering of books and journals that contain a variety of interests from literature, history and travel to politics, religion and science. Most of the items are arranged alphabetically by author, but other items are found within sub-groups.

Bibles and Liturgical Texts

Archives and Special Collections is home to an exceptional collection of Bibles and Christian liturgical texts which present a pleasing variety of language, engraving, type style and binding. The volumes contain an impressive representation of the rich liturgical and scholastic traditions of Western Europe as well as examples from further afield.

Commentary on the Psalms of David, 1506

Apparently first printed in 1491 with the title, Expositio in Psalterium, this commentary on the Psalms of David is the earliest book in Special Collections, printed in January, 1506.

Contemporary leather binding with tooled decorations on the cover, with vestiges of metal clasps. Text in Latin. Printer's device on title page. The last three leaves contain: "Francisci Petrarchae poetae lureati Psalmi peniteniales elegantes devoti."

Henry James Collection

  • Letters in Manuscript
    Six letters, five of which were written to his London publisher, William Heinemann.
  • Book Collection
    Comprehensive in scope, containing mostly first editions. The letters and numbers following these bibliographic descriptions are the identifiers from: A Bibliography of Henry James by Leon Edel and Dan H. Laurence. London: Rupert Hart-Davis, 1961.

John Milton Collection

Pre-eminent English poet, John Milton (1608-1674). Most of this collection was donated by Clifford Nickels Carver, 1891-1965. Among his many accomplishments, Carver was a renowned collector of bookplates.

Miscellaneous Oversized Rare Books Collection

Archive of the Long Island Book Collectors

The Long Island Book Collectors (LIBC) was started by a group of avid, prominent book collectors in 1966 to "'foster and encourage the study of literature, history, bibliography, and the art of bookmaking and illustration." The Archives and Special Collections Department and LIU Post Provost, Dr. Paul Forestell, have been pleased to host the LIBC on the LIU Post Campus since January, 2009. The LIBC donated their archives to Long Island University in 2011. This collection contains assorted archival items related to the on-going activity of the LIBC and contains assorted materials such as original letters and notes, original documents for the preparation of the LIBC journals, LIBC organizational minutes, books, and like items. The Long Island Book Collectors Archive will continue to expand along with the LIBC's varied activities.

The Franklin B. Lord Fishing and Hunting Collection

Franklin B. Lord, a lawyer, was born circa 1911 and died on February, 5, 1971 at the age of 59. He was an avid fisherman and had an active interest in the training of hunting dogs. Graduating from the University of Virginia Law School, he joined his family's law firm of Lord, Day and Lord in 1936. He was in the United States Navy from 1942 to 1945, and was discharged as a lieutenant commander. Returning to his law firm, Mr. Lord eventually retired in 1963. He was a trustee of Long Island University from 1955 to 1966. Franklin B. Lord's bequest is a sports collection almost completely dedicated to fishing and hunting.

Contact Information

Archives and Special Collections

B. Davis Schwartz Memorial Library
LIU Post Campus
Long Island University
Brookville, NY 11548

Telephone: (516) 299-2880

Email: jarron.jewell@liu.edu

Hours: 9:00-5:00, Monday-Friday