Skip to main content

Archives and Special Collections: Archive of LIU Post - Loomings Art and Literature Magazine

Archives and Special Collections is a repository for materials contained in a variety of formats: books, manuscripts, correspondence, journals, photographs, posters, maps, original drawings, theatre programs, archival documents, and other materials.

History of Loomings

The following historical information about Loomings was taken from a former C. W. Post webpage: http://www2.liu.edu/cwis/CWP/mycampus/LoomingsCWPmag.html

"In the mid-60s, students and faculty in the English Department at the C. W. Post College of Liberal Arts and Sciences started a literary magazine for members of the community to share their creative writing talents. Loomings -- which takes its name from an idea found in the novel Moby-Dick that events, thoughts and ideas often loom ahead -- would become a showcase for students to share poetry, fiction and nonfiction work. The magazine's first advisor was Dan Levin, an accomplished author and professor of creative writing.

"In 1981, Professor Levin left C. W. Post to study in Korea as a Fulbright Scholar and Professor William Fahey took over as advisor. As more and more students began submitting photography and artwork to the magazine, Loomings found a new home as part of the School of Visual and Performing Arts.

"Today, Loomings is a full-color, annual publication that promotes and encourages the creative efforts of the students of C. W. Post in the literary and visual arts. It also serves as a training ground for students who might be interested in pursuing careers in editing, publishing, graphic design, advertising, and any other aspect of the collaborative creative process. All undergraduate and graduate students at C. W. Post are encouraged to [not] only submit work to the magazine, but also to work on it. Staff members in areas such as design and layout, as well as poetry, fiction, art, and photography, are always needed. No prior experience is necessary."

Archive of LIU Post: Loomings Art and Literature Magazine.

  1. Loomings. Spring, 2007.
  2. Loomings. Spring, 2006.
  3. Loomings. Spring, 2005.
  4. Loomings. The Award Winning Art and Literature Magazine of C.W. Post.
  5. Loomings. The Art and Literature Magazine. Spring, 2003.
  6. Loomings. The Art and Literature Magazine. Spring, 2002.
  7. Loomings. Spring, 2001.
  8. Loomings. Spring, 2000.
  9. Loomings. Spring, 1999.
  10. Loomings. Spring, 1998.
  11. Loomings. Spring, 1997.
  12. Loomings. Spring, 1994.
  13. Loomings. Winter, 1993.
  14. Loomings. Spring, 1992.
  15. Loomings. Fall, 1991.
  16. Loomings. The C.W. Post Literary Magazine. A Student Publication. Spring, 1991.
  17. Loomings. The Art and Literary Magazine of LIU-C.W. Post. Fall, 1989.
  18. Loomings. The Art and Literary Magazine of LIU-C.W. Post. Spring, 1989.
  19. Loomings. The Art and Literary Magazine of LIU-C.W. Post. Fall, 1988.
  20. Loomings. The C.W. Post Literary-Artistic Magazine. A Student Publication. Spring, 1988.
  21. Loomings. The C.W. Post Literary-Artistic Magazine. A Student Publication. Alumni Issue. 1988.
  22. Loomings. The C.W. Post Literary-Artistic Magazine. Special Student/Alumni Issue. Spring, 1987.
  23. Loomings. The C.W. Post Literary-Artistic Magazine. A Student Publication. Fall, 1987.
  24. Loomings. The C.W. Post Literary-Artistic Magazine. A Student Publication. Fall, 1986.
  25. Loomings. The C.W. Post Literary-Artistic Magazine. A Student Publication. Spring, 1986.
  26. Loomings. The C.W. Post Literary-Artistic Magazine. A Student Publication. Fall, 1985.
  27. Loomings. The C.W. Post Literary-Artistic Magazine. Alumni Issue. 1985.
  28. Loomings. The C.W. Post Literary-Artistic Magazine. A Student Publication. Spring, 1985.
  29. Loomings. The C.W. Post Literary-Artistic Magazine. A Student Publication. Fall, 1984.
  30. Loomings. The C.W. Post Literary-Artistic Magazine. A Student Publication. Summer, 1984.
  31. Loomings. The C.W. Post Literary-Artistic Magazine. A Student Publication. Spring, 1984.
  32. Loomings. The C.W. Post Literary-Artistic Magazine. A Student Publication. Fall, 1983.
  33. Loomings. A Celebration of C.W. Post Alumni. Alumni Issue. 1983.
  34. Loomings. The C.W. Post Literary Magazine. A Student Publication. Spring, 1983.
  35. Loomings. The C.W. Post Literary Magazine. A Student Publication. Fall, 1982.
  36. Loomings. The C.W. Post Literary Magazine. A Student Publication. Spring, 1982.
  37. Loomings. The C.W. Post Literary Magazine. A Student Publication. Fall, 1981.
  38. Loomings. The C.W. Post Literary Magazine. A Student Publication. Autumn, 1980.
  39. Loomings. The C.W. Post Literary Magazine. A Student Publication. Spring, 1980.
  40. Loomings. The C.W. Post Literary Magazine. A Student Publication. Autumn, 1979.
  41. Loomings. The C.W. Post Literary Magazine. A Student Publication. Fall, 1978.
  42. Loomings. The C.W. Post Literary Magazine. A Student Publication. Spring, 1978.
  43. Loomings. The C.W. Post Literary Magazine. A Student Publication. Fall, 1977.
  44. Loomings. The C.W. Post Literary Magazine. A Student Publication. Spring, 1977.
  45. Loomings. Autumn 1980 - Spring 1983.
  46. Loomings. Fall 1978 - Spring 1980.
  47. Loomings. Fall 1974 - Spring 1978.
  48. Loomings. Fall 1976.
  49. Loomings. Spring, 1976.
  50. Loomings. Fall, 1975.
  51. Loomings. Spring, 1975.
  52. Loomings. Spring, 1974.
  53. Loomings. Fall, 1973.
  54. Loomings. Spring, 1973.
  55. Loomings. Fall, 1972.
  56. Loomings. Spring, 1972.
  57. Loomings. Fall, 1971.
  58. Loomings. Spring, 1971.
  59. Loomings. Fall, 1970.
  60. Loomings. Spring, 1970.
  61. Loomings. Winter, 1969.

Preparer: Olamide Ojuawo
10.18.2016

Loomings Art and Literature Magazine

Loomings cover

Loomings Art and Literature Magazine

Loomings cover

Loomings Art and Literature Magazine

Loomings cover

Loomings Art and Literature Magazine

Loomings cover

Contact Information

Archives and Special Collections

B. Davis Schwartz Memorial Library
LIU Post Campus
Long Island University
Brookville, NY 11548

Telephone: (516) 299-2880

Email: jarron.jewell@liu.edu

Hours: 9:00-5:00, Monday-Friday