Skip to main content

Archives and Special Collections: Archive of Ahmad Kamal, Senior Fellow, United Nations

Archives and Special Collections is a repository for materials contained in a variety of formats: books, manuscripts, correspondence, journals, photographs, posters, maps, original drawings, theatre programs, archival documents, and other materials.

Archive of Ahmad Kamal, Senior Fellow, United Nations

Ahmad Kamal is presently senior fellow at the United Nations Institute for Training and Research and is best known for his work as a professional diplomat in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Pakistan though he has served at postings around the world for nearly 40 years. As ambassador and permanent representative of Pakistan to the United Nations, he held high elective posts, including vice president of the General Assembly. He was also the chief negotiator in talks that led to the formation of the World Trade Organization. A graduate of the Paris Institute of Political Studies and the Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy at Tufts University, Kamal was a Carnegie Foundation Fellow at the London School of Economics and is the author of works on disarmament, management, multilateralism, global economic issues, and information technology.

Benefactor

Oscar de Rojas, Ambassador and Permanent Observer of the Sovereign Order of Malta to the United Nations facilitated the donation of Ahmad Kamal's archive.

Since September 2015, Ambassador Oscar de Rojas is the Permanent Observer of the Sovereign Military Order of Malta to the United Nations. He also keeps the position of Director of Global Partnerships at Long Island University, in Brookville, New York, where he teaches courses in Development, Latin American History, and United Nations Studies, and coordinates a program of internships for students in UN IGO/NGO offices.

Presentations: VHS Cassette Tapes (56)

Item No. Date Title Location
1 12 February 2001 DPUvc. Israel - Palestine. Box 1
2 12 March 2001 The Ambassador's Club. US-UN Relations. Box 1
3 13 September 2001 George Mason University. Introduction to the UN. Box 1
4 19 September 2001 DePaul University. Cross-cultural understanding. Box 1
5 20 September 2001 Stony Brook University. International Crimes. Box 1
6 26 September 2001 DePaul University. Management at the United Nations. Box 1
7 04 October 2001 DePaul University. Trade Concerns and the W.T.O. Box 1
8 04 October 2001 George Mason University. Disarmament. Box 1
9 04 October 2001 Stony Brook University. Human Rights Concerns. Box 1
10 10 October 2001 De Paul University. Intellectual Property. Box 1
11 11 October 2001 Stony Brook University. HIV/AIDS. Box 1
12 17 October 2001 DePaul University. Labor and Environmental Concerns. Box 1
13 18 October 2001 George Mason University. The World Bank and the I.M.F. Box 1
14 18 October 2001 Stony Brook University. Migration. Box 1
15 24 October 2001 DePaul University. Terrorism After 11 September 2001. Box 1
16 24 October 2001 DePaul University. ITU WHO WMO. Box 1
17 25 October 2001 George Mason University. Environmental Concerns. Box 1
18 01 November 2001 George Mason University. Human Rights. Box 1
19 06 November 2001 De Paul University. Human Rights. Box 1
20 07 November 2001 DePaul University. The Global Compact. Box 1
21 15 November 2001 Stony Brook University. Environmental Concerns. Box 1
22 19 November 2001 Seton Hall University. Ethnicity In Macedonia. Box 1
23 28 November 2001 Stony Brook University. U.N. Reform. Box 1
24 14 February 2002 Fairleigh Dickinson University. Fundamentalism and Terrorism. Box 1
25 21 February 2002 Stony Brook University. New Threats - Genocide, Terrorism, ETC. Box 1
26 25 April 2002 Stony Brook University. The Future of the United Nations. Box 1
27 01 May 2002 Seton Hall University. International Crimes and the ICC. Box 1
28 30 May 2002 DePaul University. Financial Crisis of Argentina. Box 1
29 26 September 2002 Stony Brook University. Nuclear Weapons and Global Security. Box 1
30 24 October 2002 Fairleigh Dickinson University. The US Position on the ICC. Box 1
31 21 November 2002 Fairleigh Dickinson University. Global Citizenship and National Sovereignty Box 1
32 13 March 2003 Fairleigh Dickinson University. Just War - Aboul-Gheit, Dauth, Zarif. Box 1
33 20 March 2003 George Mason University. Environmental Concerns - Quiblier Box 1
34 03 April 2003 George Mason University. Operational Activities De Rojas Box 1
35 03 April 2003 Stony Brook University. Globalization Refugees Migrants. Baali Argyriades. Box 1
36 10 April 2003 George Mason University. Terrorism, War, Media, Diplomacy. Zarif, Lynch, Wachtel. Box 1
37 10 April 2003 Fairleigh Dickinson University. Human Rights and Cultural Diversity. MBANEFO, KMONICEK, FOX. Box 1
38 14 April 2003 Dutch UN Student Association. UN Challenges Sorensen Mackay. Box 1
39 19 May 2003 DePaul University. Practice of Peace Aboul-Gheit ED Luck. Box 1
40 20 May 2003 DePaul University. China and Japan and the World Economy Maehara. LIU Box 1
41 09 October 2003 Fairleigh Dickinson, Ryder, Lockhaven, Roger Williams. Schori-Gallegos-Luck, Future of the UN. Box 1
42 23 October 2003 Women's Rights- Thoraya Obaid. Fairleigh Dickinson, Lockhaven, Ryder, Roger Williams. Box 1
43 06 November 2003 Stony Brook University. HIV - AIDS Alderslade. Box 1
44 13 November 2003 Fairleigh Dickinson University. Global Health Concerns Bassani. Box 1
45 19 November 2003 Stony Brook, University. UN Reform Oscar de Rojas, Bill Pace. Box 1
46 25 February 2004 DePaul University. Cross-cultural Communications-Arias. Box 1
47 04 March 2004 Stony Brook University. Globalization and Migration Richardson. Box 1
48 11 March 2004 Human Rights. Nabeela Al-Mulla. Stony Brook University. Box 1
49 25 March 2004 Fairleigh Dickinon, Ryder, Lockhaven, Roger Williams. Rights of the Child - Olara Otunnu. Box 1
50 22 April 2004 Fairleigh Dickinson, Rider, Lockhaven, Roger William. Millennium Development Goals. Herfkens Amdur. Box 1
51 18 November 2004 Stony Brook University. Impact of the US Elections on the UN Agathocleous Picco. Box 1
52 09 December 2004 George Mason University. UN Challenges & Reform. James Jonah. Box 1
53 24 February 2005 Fairleigh Dickinson -- Roger Williams - Rider - Lockhaven. Relevance & Reform of the United Nations Patterson - Dauth - Jonah. Box 1
54 nd Amb. Kamal. The Situation in South Asia. Box 1
55 nd The Situation in Middle East. AMB Kamal Box 1
56 nd The Ambassador's Club. Introduction to the General Assembly. Box 1

Compiled by Jennifer Campos, April 2017

Presentations: VHS Cassette Tapes (19)

Item No. Date Title Location
1 04 October 2001 Studio H. Interview. Ambassador Kamal and Guest. Box 2
2 01 November 2001 Stony Brook University. Globalisation and the Mass Media. Box 2
3 06 November 2001 Ambassador Kamal. Part One Presentation. RT:73 min. Box 2
4 06 November 2001 Ambassador Kamal. Part Two Presentation. RT: 47 Min Box 2
5 07 March 2002 SBU. Nigerian Refugees. Box 2
6 10 July 2002 Ambassador Kamal. Box 2
7 01 August 2002 Ambassador Kamal and Conner. Box 2
8 24 April 2003 Kamal UN Procurement SNL. Class 4 Copy. Box 2
9 02 March 2004 Ambassador's Club With DePaul University. Munoz Gleckman. CHILI & Intl. Trade. Box 2
10 nd The Situation in West Africa. Ambassador Kamal. Box 2
11 nd The Situation in Central Africa. Ambassador Kamal. Box 2
12 nd No Title Box 2
13 nd No Title Box 2
14 nd No Title Box 2
15 nd No Title Box 2
16 nd No Title Box 2
17 nd No Title Box 2
18 nd No Title Box 2
19 nd No Title Box 2

Compiled by Jennifer Campos, April 2017

Presentations: DVDs (47)

Item No. Date Title Location
1 02 November 2006 Environment Sniffen. Amb Kamal. Box2
2 09 November 2006 Peacekeeping by the United Nations. Mihnea Motoc - Ambassador of Romania. George Mason University. Box2
3 07 December 2006 United Nations Reform. Rosemary Banks. George Mason University. Box 2
4 01 March 2007 Non-State Entities Stomatopoulou Schenandoah. Fairleigh Dickinson Lockhaven Montclair. Box 2
5 15 March 2007 Migration and Human Rights Strauss. Stony Brook. Box 2
6 29 March 2007 Trans-National Corporation and Global Governance. Montes. Stony Brook University. Box 2
7 05 April 2007 The United Nations and the Private Sector Dossal. DePaul University. Box 2
8 10 April 2007 MDGs and the Private Sector. Schmidt-Traub. DePaul University. Box 2
9 12 April 2007 Children's Rights Loayza-Barea. Fairleigh Dickinson Roger Williams Lockhaven Montclair. Box 2
10 12 April 2007 The United Nations and Civil Society. Walsh. Stony Brook University. Box 2
11 17 April 2007 ILO and the Private Sector. Ndjonkou. DePaul University. Box 2
12 19 April 2007 UN Reform. Kamal. Stony Brook University. Box 2
13 26 April 2007 Environmental Concerns and the Private Sector. Sniffen. DePaul University. Box 2
14 24 May 2007 The World Bank and the Private Sector. Avalle. DePaul University. Box 2
15 31 May 2007 Human Rights and the Private Sector. Walsh. DePaul University. Box 2
16 07 June 2007 UN Reform. Jonah. DePaul University. Box 2
17 13 September 2007 General Assembly and UN Reform Laurenti. George Mason University. Box 2
18 20 September 2007 Media and ICT Agathocleous. Notre Dame University. Box 2
19 27 September 2007 Power of Diplomacy. Tanin. Stony Brook University. Box 2
20 04 October 2007 Human Rights and Women's Rights. Brautigam & Jagwanth. Notre Dame University. Box 2
21 11 October 2007 International Criminal Court. Wenaweser. Stony Brook University. Box 2
22 11 October 2007 Immigration & Human Rights. Banzon. Notre Dame University. Box 2
23 18 October 2007 Trade and Human Development. Brandwayn. Notre Dame University. Box 2
24 18 October 2007 Globalisation and Economic Development de Rojas. Stony Brook University. Box 2
25 25 October 2007 Human Rights and Self-Determination. Khadad. George Mason University. Box 2
26 25 October 2007 Water Concerns. Chaudhry. Fairleigh Dickinson University. Box 2
27 25 October 2007 Women's Rights. Brautigam. Stony Brook University. Box 2
28 01 November 2007 Environment and Climate Change. Sniffen. Notre Dame University. Box 2
29 01 November 2007 Migration and Internal Displacement. Dall'Oglio. Stony Brook University. Box 2
30 08 November 2007 TNC's and the UN. Wyndhoven. Notre Dame University. Box 2
31 15 November 2007 Civil Society. Walsh. Notre Dame University. Box 2
32 15 November 2007 Civil Society. Wells Kabikire Eraso. Stony Brook University. Box 2
33 29 November 2007 Women's Rights & Women's Health. Sandler. Fairleigh Dickinson University. Box 2
34 29 November 2007 Rule of Power or Rule of Law. Al Saidi. Box 2
35 14 November 2008 Power of Diplomacy. Tanin. Stony Brook University. Box 2
36 06 March 2008 Human Rights and Refugees. MBAIDJOL. Fairleigh Dickinson University. Box 2
37 27 March 2008 Global Health Problems. Kamal. Fairleigh Dickinson University. Box 2
38 10 April 2008 TNC's and Global Governance. Escudero. Stony Brook University. Box 2
39 10 April 2008 Conducting Business with China. LIU. DePaul University. Box 2
40 17 April 2008 Civil Society and UN Reform. Al-Saidi. Stony Brook University. Box 2
41 15 May 2008 The MDG's and the Private Sector. Muttukumaru and Sobhan. DePaul University. Box 2
42 07 April 2009 Outer Space. Rydell. Box 2
43 22 February 2011 Current Events. Agathocleous. Fairleigh Dickinson University. Box 2
44 01 November 2011 Financial Crisis. Montes. DePaul University. Box 2
45 15 November 2011 Arab Spring. Abdelaziz. Al- Moallimi. Fairleigh Dickinson University. Box 2
46 04 May 2012 UN Outreach. Damodaran. Kapur. DePaul and Panamericana and DeLaSalle. Amb Kamal. Box 2
47 29 November 2012 Peace-keeping. Leloq. George Mason University. Box 2

Compiled by Jennifer Campos, April 2017

Ahmad Kamal

Ahmad Kamal, Senior Fellow, United Nations

Contact Information

Archives and Special Collections

B. Davis Schwartz Memorial Library
LIU Post Campus
Long Island University
Brookville, NY 11548

Telephone: (516) 299-2880

Email: jarron.jewell@liu.edu

Hours: 9:00-5:00, Monday-Friday