Skip to main content

Archives and Special Collections: Joseph Cameron Cross Theatre Collection Archive

Archives and Special Collections is a repository for materials contained in a variety of formats: books, manuscripts, correspondence, journals, photographs, posters, maps, original drawings, theatre programs, archival documents, and other materials.

Joseph Cameron Cross Theatre Collection Archive

Joseph Cameron Cross. At Home. Ritz Carlton. New York. [nd]
Joseph Cameron Cross. At Home. Ritz Carlton. New York. [nd]

 

The Joseph Cameron Cross Theater Collection contains over 300 letters, 50 theater programs, many Christmas cards, postcards, articles, and a great many theatrical photographs. All chronicle the time periods of the early 20th century and the 1940's and 1950's.

The letters are written by such notables as the actors Viola Allen (also a major recipient of letters) and John Gielgud; writers such as Ambrose Bierce, Booth Tarkington, and Hall Caine; the ballet dancer Margot Fonteyn; the comedian Fred Allen; and many others.

In conjunction with these letters there are photographs, both signed and unsigned, of many of these principals, and especially Viola Allen. The beautiful Miss Allen was a leading American actress circa 1890 to 1910. She played Shakespearean roles, modern comedies, and many popular plays of the day, including a dramatization of Hall Caine's novel, The Eternal City.

Jarron Jewell, Archivist
Laura DeMuro, Archival Graduate Assistant, Collection Compiler
Graziella DiMaggio, Collection Compiler

Alphabetical List

    Fred Allen
Viola Allen
Sadie Bates
Ambrose Bierce
Kate Blancke
Maria-Theresa Bourgeois
Richard Burton
Giles Cain
Joseph Cameron Cross
Donna Dickey "Poems"
Grace Fisher
Lynn Fontanne
Margot Fonteyn
John Gielgud
Lillian Gish
Alec Guinness
Edna Wallace Hopper
Elsie Janis
Thais Lawton
Joel Marston
Marguerite Merington
James Monks
Ward Morehouse
Mary Ellen Moylan
Olive Oliver
Nichstha Alias Bernice Rehmer
Fritizi Scheff
Julia Marlowe Sothern
Frances Starr
Gloria Swanson
Maria Tallchief
Booth Tartington
Evelyn Vaughan
Dick Watts
Mary Young
-Miscellaneous Correspondence
-Miscellaneous Items
-Professional Letters

Fred Allen Correspondence to Joseph Cameron Cross

  1. Letter with picture at top dated October 17th to Joe from Fred Allen. Includes newspaper article. Envelope. Watermark. 9 lines.
  2. Typed letter written on a Thursday to Joseph from F. Allen. Envelope. Watermark. 13 lines.
  3. Typed letter written on Monday to Joseph from F. Allen. Envelope. Watermark. 43 lines.
  4. Typed letter written on Sunday to Joseph from F. Allen. Includes newspaper clipping and plane stamps. Envelope. 22 lines.
  5. Typed letter written on a Sunday night to Joseph from F. Allen. Envelope. Watermark. 25 lines.
  6. Typed letter on Marlborough letterhead written on a Tuesday to Joseph from F. Allen. 56 lines.
  7. Typed letter on Hotel Stanley letterhead written on Tuesday to Joseph from F. Allen with envelope. 25 lines.
  8. Typed letter on Hotel Miller letterhead written on a Sunday to Joseph from F. Allen. 18 lines
  9. Memorandum dated 11/21, 1923. One side is written to Fred from Joe. 7 lines. The other side is written to Joseph from F. 12 lines. Typed letter and memorandum in one envelope.
  10. Typed letter on Hotel Seberin letterhead written on a Wednesday night to Joseph from F. Allen. With Envelope. 45 lines.
  11. Typed letter written on July 20th to Joseph from Mr. Allen. Envelope. 60 lines.
  12. Typed letter written on a Sunday night to Joseph from F. Allen. Envelope. Watermark. 30 lines.
  13. Typed letter written on a Sunday night to Joseph from F. Allen. Envelope. Watermark. 20 lines.
  14. Typed letter written on Sunday night, June 10th to Joseph from F. Allen. 80 lines.
  15. Typed letter written on a Tuesday to Joseph from F.. Envelope. 63 lines.
  16. Typed letter on Hotel Stanley letterhead written on a Thursday eve. to Joseph from Mr. Allen. Envelope. 25 lines.
  17. Typed letter written on a Tuesday to Joseph C. Cross from F. Allen. Envelope. Watermark. 17 lines.
  18. Three letters:
    • Typed letter written on a Tuesday to Joseph from F. Allen. Watermark. 54 lines.
    • Two-page typed letter written on a Sunday to Joseph from F. Allen. Watermark. 111 lines.
    • Two-page typed letter on Hotel Akron letterhead written on a Monday night to Joseph from Mr. Allen. 90 lines. Envelope.
  19. Typed letter on Hotel Stanley letterhead to Joseph from Mr. Allen, includes newspaper clipping, ballerina stamp. Envelope. 13 lines.
  20. Typed letter written on a Tuesday to Joseph from F. Allen. Includes photo of a building. Envelope. Watermark. 49 lines.
  21. Typed letter on Fred Allen letterhead written on a Wednesday to Joseph from Fred Allen. Envelope. 30 lines.
  22. Typed letter written on a Wednesday night to Joseph from F. Allen. Envelope. Watermark. 43 lines.
  23. Typed letter written on a Monday night to Joseph from F. Allen. Includes a comic. Envelope. 56 lines.
  24. Typed letter on Fred Allen letterhead written on June 25th 1933 to Joe from F. Envelope. Watermark. 40 lines.
  25. Typed letter on Arlington Hotel letterhead written on a Wednesday to Joseph from F. Allen. Envelope. Watermark. 32 lines.
  26. Typed letter written on a Tuesday to Joseph from Fred Allen. Includes business card. Envelope. Watermark. 27 lines.
  27. Typed letter written on a Sunday night to Joseph from Fred Allen. Envelope. Watermark. 22 lines.
  28. Typed letter on Benjamin Franklin hotel letterhead written on Thursday to Joe from Fred Allen. Envelope. Watermark. 40 lines.
  29. Typed letter written on a Sunday to Joseph from F. Allen. Includes a stamp. Envelope. 65 lines.
  30. Typed letter written on a Sunday to Joseph from F. Allen. Envelope. Watermark. 24 lines.
  31. Typed letter on Hotel Coolidge letterhead written on a Sunday to Joseph from F. Allen. Envelope. 44 lines.
  32. Typed letter written on May 15th to Joseph from F. Allen. Watermark. 60 lines.
  33. Typed letter written on March 19th to Joseph F. Allen. 47 lines. Envelope.
  34. Typed letter written on a Monday night to Joseph from F. Allen. Envelope. Watermark. 22 lines.
  35. Two-page letter on Hotel Miller letterhead written on a Monday to Joseph from Fred Allen. Envelope. 58 lines.
  36. Typed letter on Fred Allen letterhead written on a Saturday to Joe from F. Envelope. Watermark.
  37. Sheet of paper that says "this is the Joseph Cameron Cross Ballet Material Correspondence."

Location: Archives of the Joseph Cameron Cross Theatre Collection - Fred Allen - Joseph Cameron Cross Boxbinder

Viola Allen Correspondence

Actress Viola Allen - Signed Photograph
Actress Viola Allen - Signed Photograph
  1. Shakespeare Memorial Theatre (Stratford-Upon-Avon) ticket stub -- "Admission Sixpence Each". New Place Museum ticket stub with dried pressed forget-me-knots folded within.
  2. Letter dated Mar. 4th 1905 to Mrs. Allen from N.T. T----Y. Envelope. 21 lines.
  3. Letter imprinted with Trinita dei Monte 18 Roma. Dated 5/March/1900 to Glory from Hall Caine (H.C). 166 lines.
  4. Letter with Greeba Castle Isle of Man printed in blue. Dated 14/ Sept. 1907 "to VA from Hall Caine (HC)". 75 lines.
  5. Letter with black border dated March 26 1905 to Miss Allen from William Winter. Envelope. 37 lines.
  6. Letter on Hotel Touraine, Boston letterhead. Dated on a Monday to Miss Allen from Julia Marlowe. Envelope. Watermark. 12 lines.
  7. Letter on the Philadelphia Times letterhead. Dated Nov. 28th 96 to Miss Allen from Aka Chue. Watermark. 10 lines.
  8. Letter dated December 28th 1904 to Miss Allen from Musta Kobbe. 15 lines.
  9. Letter dated Jan.7, 1904 to Miss Allen from Homer Bassford. 6 lines.
  10. Letter on Winter lodge letterhead. Dated 2 July, 1855 to Miss Allen from Sydney Grimdy. Envelope. 5 lines.
  11. Letter dated December 28th 1906 to Miss Allen from William Winter. Envelope. Watermark. 9 Lines.
  12. Letter on Lyceum Theatre letterhead. Dated 30 June 1898 to Miss Allen from Jo Gonnig. Envelope. 7 lines.
  13. Letter with white border dated April Thirty First to Miss Allen from John. Envelope. 11 lines.
  14. Letter dated on a Thursday to Mrs. Duryea from Stephen Pauish. 10 lines.
  15. Letter on Duke of York's Theatre letterhead. Dated July 5 1904, to Miss Allen from Forbes Robertson. 6 lines.
  16. Letter on Hotel Newcomb letterhead. Dated March 4th 1908 to Miss Allen from Deats litte F --hel. Envelope. 9 lines.
  17. Letter on Cavendish Hotel letterhead. Dated on a Monday to Miss Allen from Julia Marlowe. Envelope. 20 lines.
  18. Blue speckled letter with two headed red bird in left upper corner, written to Miss Allen from E. A Sothern. Envelope. 12 lines.
  19. Letter dated June 3rd 1901 to "Miss Allen from Mary Johnston". Envelope. 7 lines.
  20. Lined letter dated Oct. 27. 1903 to Viola Allen from Jan Cuschek. Envelope. 14 lines.
  21. Letter with design on front upper left corner. Dated Feb. 18 to Miss Allen from A.C. Goodwin. Envelope. 16 lines.
  22. Letterhead dated on a Wednesday to Miss Allen from Elise De Wage. Envelope. 5 lines.
  23. Letter on Peahen Hotel St. Albans letterhead. Dated Sept. 12th 1909 to Mrs. Duryea from Ivey Kien. 25 lines.
  24. Letter dated March 23rd 1893 from Frances Illuison. Envelope. 22 lines.
  25. Letter dated Oct. 10. 1898 to Miss Allen from Ethel Barrymore. Envelope. 7 lines.
  26. Letter on Court Farm Broadway Worcestershire letterhead. Dated June 30th 1914 to "Miss Allen from Mary de Ganasso". 32 lines.
  27. Letter dated Mar. 1906 from Marguerite Merington. 4 lines.
  28. Letter dated July 25th 1909 to Miss Allen from Mary Cardinaladis Jones. 23 lines
  29. Letter dated Aug. 24, 1903 to Miss Allen from F. Marion Crawford. 64 lines.
  30. Letter dated Dec. 13. 1908 to Miss Allen from Langdon Mitchell. 8 lines.
  31. Letter on Brown Palace Hotel letterhead written on a Tuesday to Miss Allen from Ida Congreas. 18 lines
  32. Letter written on a Thursday to Miss Allen from Josephine Pown. 8 lines.
  33. Letter on Court Farm Broadway Worcestershire letterhead written on a Friday to Miss Allen from V. Frices. Envelope. 30 lines.
  34. Letter on Adams House letterhead. Dated Oct. 27 1894 to Miss Allen from James A. Herne. Envelope. 6 lines.
  35. Letter dated July 22 1908 to Miss Allen from Ae-b-n Chevabien. 11 lines.
  36. Letter on Biltmore letterhead. Dated Apr. 16 1910 to Mrs. Duryea from E A Sothern. Envelope. 13 lines. (2 pages).
  37. Typed letter on Ladies Home Journal Letterhead, dated February 16, 1899 to Miss Allen from Adward W. Bok. Envelope. 7 lines.
  38. Letter on Lotos Club letterhead written to Miss Allen from Hartley Mannes. Envelope. 24 lines.
  39. Letter with initials AR at top. Dated Oct.10th to Viola Allen from Annie Ruciell. Envelope. 9 lines.
  40. Typed sheet of paper with Very Truly yours, Signed William Russell. 1 line.
  41. Letter dated 21 May 1895 to Miss Allen from Bowson Howard. Envelope. 64 lines.
  42. Letter on Grand New Hotel, Jerusalem letterhead. Dated February 27 1897 to Miss Allen from George Arus. Envelope. 85 lines.
  43. Letter dated Dec. 31st 1897 to Miss Allen from Mary Mannering. Envelope. 20 lines.
  44. Letter on Daly's Theatre letterhead. Written on a Monday to Miss Allen from Maxine Ellion. 5 lines.
  45. Letter written on a Thursday to Mrs. Duryea from Eleanor R-tow Belmomet. Envelope. 25 lines.
  46. Card with Viola Allen's picture. Written to Miss Allen from Darwin Silberer. 4 lines.
  47. Letter dated Jan 20th 18093 to Miss. Allen from J M-assns. Envelope. 22 lines.
  48. Letter on St. Agnes' Chapel Trinity Parish letterhead. Dated April 16, 1906 to Mrs. Duryea from William J. Manning. 23 lines.
  49. Letter dated Dec. 22nd 1906 to Miss Allen from William Russell. 13 lines.
  50. Letter on Hotel Somerset letterhead, written to Miss Allen from Ella Naquiosy. 11 lines.
  51. Letter with colorful flags on front page upper left corner. Dated Sep. 26. 1899 to Miss Allen from F. Marion Crawford. Envelope. 53 lines.
  52. Letter dated October 14, 1909 to Mrs. Duryea from William Winter. Envelope. 20 lines.
  53. Letter on Villa Crawford letterhead. Dated Aug. 31, 1903 to Miss Allen from F. Marion Crawford. With envelope. Watermark. 28 lines.
  54. Letter dated Feb. 20, 1905 to Miss Allen from Hugh P. Mc. Nally. 15 lines.
  55. Letter on Villa Crawford letterhead. Dated March 24. 1907 to Miss Allen from F. Marion Crawford. Watermark. 10 lines.
  56. Two page letter dated Dec. 3, 1901 to Miss Allen from F. Marion Crawford. Envelope. 18 lines.
  57. Letter dated January 9. 1907 to Miss Allen from William Winter. Envelope. 17 lines.
  58. Letter on McVicker's Theatre letterhead. Dated June 17 1885 to Miss Allen from J.H. Mc Voiker. Watermark. 9 Lines.
  59. Letter on Congress Hotel letterhead. Dated Wednesday 1904 to Miss Allen from David Puhunam. 11 lines.
  60. Typed letter on Wm. A. Brady's letterhead. Dated May 22, 1916 to Viola Allen from Jim A Brady. Envelope. 15 lines.
  61. Letter on Farringford Freshwater letterhead. Dated Aug 21-1904 to Miss Allen from Tennyson. Envelope. Watermark. 11 lines.
  62. Letter on Hotel Chatham letterhead. Dated 16 July 1902 to Miss Allen from Hall Caine. Watermark. 24 lines.
  63. Letter on Lyceum Theatre letterhead. Dated Feb. 25 1804 to Miss Allen from David Puhunam. 17 lines.
  64. Letter dated November 4. 1906 to Miss Allen from William Winter. 18 lines.
  65. Letter on The Theatre letterhead. Dated January 22 to Miss. Allen from Arthur Hornblow. Watermark. 8 lines.
  66. Grey letter with red design in upper left corner. Dated March 13 to Miss Allen from Viola Allen. Envelope. 34 lines.
  67. Letter on Royalton letterhead. Dated Dec. 2. 1916 to Mrs. Duryea from David Bishau. Envelope. 9 lines.
  68. Typed letter dated April 11th 1917 to Viola Allen from David Beloca. Envelope. 4 lines.
  69. Letter on The City Club of New York letterhead. Dated Mar. 31 to Miss Allen from Beu Sheet. Envelope. 24 lines.
  70. Grey letter with address printed in red. Dated Sep. 23. 1908 to Mrs. Sothern from Watt Claudal. 4 Lines.
  71. Letter on Palazzo Barberini letterhead. Dated Wednesday eve. To Miss Allen from Waldo Story. Envelope. Watermark. 12 lines.
  72. Letter on Lyceum Theatre letterhead To Miss Allen from E. H. Spettece. Envelope. 7 lines.
  73. Letter on Cosmopolitan Magazine letterhead. Dated Monday to Miss Allen from Paul Kisher. 27 lines.
  74. Typed letter on Cohan and Harris letterhead. Dated April 18th 1918 to Miss Viola from Allen George McCohan. 10 lines.
  75. Letter on Boston Museum letterhead to Miss Allen from John Mason. 9 lines.
  76. Letter on J. Hunt Stanford letterhead. Dated June 21 1904 to Viola Allen from J. Hunt Standford. 10 lines.
  77. Typed letter. Dated April 8th 1916 to Miss Viola Allen from Mr. And Mrs. Jof-tisst. Watermark. 11 lines.
  78. Two page letter [front and back]. Dated Jan 14 1909 to Miss Allen from F. Marion Crawford. Envelope. Watermark. 121 lines.
  79. Letter with Black border. Dated March 12. 1905 to Miss Allen from William Winter. Envelope. 46 lines.
  80. Letter on Lambs letterhead. Dated Feb. 1st 1899 to Miss Allen from Grant Stewart. Watermark. 24 lines.
  81. Letter on St. Lucy's Rectory letterhead. Dated October 21st 1909 to Miss Allen from rev. Francis Castellano M.A. 22 lines.
  82. Letter dated Oct. 13. 1918 to Mrs. Duryea from William Gilletbe. 18 lines.
  83. Letter dated Sept 27 to Mrs. Duryea from Minnie Maddern. 11 lines.
  84. Letter with small design in upper left corner. Dated Feb 16th to Miss Allen from Maryanne Elaine Goodwin. 21 lines.
  85. Letter on Hotel Walton letterhead. Dated Oct. 17th 1905 to Charles Allen from John Mason. 16 lines.
  86. Card with write border and design in upper left corner. Dated Dec. 20th 1898 to Miss Allen from Lillian Russell. 8 lines.
  87. Letter with gold design in upper left corner to Miss Allen from Lillian Russell. 2 lines.
  88. Letter with small design on front. Dated 26 October to Miss Allen from Julia Marlowe. 27 lines.
  89. Letter with design on front. To Miss Allen from Israel Gangwill. Envelope. Watermark. 25 lines.
  90. Telegram with Western Union Telegraph Company of Baltimore City designation. Dated Nov. 6 to Viola Allen from Janauschek. 3 lines.
  91. Folded note with red line on bottom. Initials printed in red on upper left hand corner. Written on front and back to Mr. Cross from Viola Allen Duryea. 32 lines.
  92. Folded Note with red line on bottom dated April 5th. Initials printed in red on upper left hand corner. Written on front and back to Mr. Cross from Viola Allen Duryea. 24 lines.
  93. Folded note with red line on bottom. Initials printed in red on upper left hand corner. Dated January 21st to Mr. Cross from Viola Allen Duryea. 6 lines.
  94. Typed letter on Lyceum Theatre letterhead. Dated November 23, 1912 to Miss Allen from David Puhunam. Watermark. 12 lines.
  95. Typed letter on Charles Frohman empire theatre letterhead. Dated Aug. 22, 1907 to Viola Allen from Charles Frohman. Watermark. 8 lines.
  96. White letter with the Argus letterhead on it. Written on January 23, 1908 to Miss Viola Allen from M. A Worswick. Watermark. 14 lines.

Location: Archives of the Joseph Cameron Cross Theatre Collection - Viola Allen Boxbinder

 

Additional Items

  1. Photocopy of entry in William C. Young, "Famous Actors and Actresses of the American Stage", vol. 1.
  2. Photocopy of Sir Hall Caine entry in Who's Who in the Theatre. Dated 1922.
  3. Photocopy of Viola Allen entry in Who's Who in the Theatre. Dated 1922.
  4. Photocopy of Viola Allen biography.
  5. Photocopy of Viola Allen photo from Great Stars of the American Stage: A pictorial record by Daniel Blum. Dated 1952.

Location: Viola Allen Folder (See photograph finding aid)

Sadie Bates Correspondence

  1. Letter dated June 24, 1942 from Sadie Bates. 62 lines.
  2. Letter dated Dec. 8, 1942 to Joe from Sadie Bates. 52 lines.
  3. Letter dated Dec. 16, 1942 to Joe from Sadie Bates. 20 lines.

Ambrose Bierce Correspondence

  1. Letter dated Nov. 8, 1903 to Nilsluch from Ambrose Bierce. Watermark. 82 lines.

Kate Blancke Correspondence

  1. Letter with blue border dated Jan. 13, 1936 to Joe from Kate Blancke. 26 lines.
  2. Blue/gray letter on Kate Blancke letterhead. Dated Nov. 28, 1941 to Joe from Kate. 38 lines.
  3. Folded letter dated Nov. 3, 1935 to Joe from Kate Blancke. Watermark. 26 lines.
  4. Letter with blue border dated Jan. 14, 1936 to Joe from Kate Blancke. 13 lines.
  5. Letter to Kate Blancke featuring a poem. Typed. 17 lines.
  6. Letter on Belasco Theatre letterhead. Dated Jan 7th to Mr. Holt from David Belasco and Edwin Wolf Gigre. Includes a card monogrammed Miss Anne Blancke. Envelope. 7 lines.
  7. Envelope dated Jul. 29 1938. Addressed to Mr. J.C. Cross from K. Blancke.
  8. Envelope dated May 25 1938. Addressed to Mr. J.C. Cross from K. Blancke.

(See photograph finding aid)

Maria-Theresa Bourgeois Folder

  1. Envelope dated May 30 1951. Addressed to Mr. Joseph Cameron Cross from Maria-Theresa Bourgeois.
  2. Envelope dated April 26 1951. Addressed to Mr. Cameron Cross from Maria-Theresa Bourgeois.
  3. Advertisement of Dance-Concert given by Maria-Theresa on March 29, 1949 at Carnegie Recital Hall.
  4. Letter dated May 21. 1951 to Friend from Maria-Theresa. 4 double-sided pages. 126 lines.

Richard Burton Correspondence

  1. Letter on The Old House Oxhill Warwick letterhead. Dated May 15th 1951 to Joseph Cameron Cross from Richard Burton. Watermark. Typed. 14 lines.
  2. Letter on The San Carlos letterhead. Dated January 4th 1952 to Cameron Cross from Richard Burton. Typed. 12 lines.
  3. Letter on The Old House Oxhill Warwick letterhead. Dated Aug. 27th 1951 to Joseph CC from Richard Burton. Watermark. 8 lines.

Giles Cain Correspondence

  1. Blue/green letter on Giles Cain letterhead. Dated January 30, 1946 to Josefs from Giles. 26 lines.
  2. Letter on Kansas City Gas Company letterhead. Dated September 14, 1942 to Cameron from "Sir" Giles. 38 lines.
  3. Letter dated July 30, 1947 to Cameron from Giles. Typed. 61 lines.

Joseph Cameron Cross Envelopes / Letters

  1. Letter on Park Avenue letterhead. Dated August third to Jo from Mary. Envelope. 2 pages. 33 lines.
  2. Envelope dated Apr 5 1940. Addressed to Mr. Joe C. Cross from Mrs. B. Semula. Contains catalogue clippings.
  3. Letter on The Royalton letterhead. Dated November 29, ‘49 to Joe from Philip. Envelope. 22 lines.
  4. Envelope dated Apr 29 1943. Addressed to J. Cameron Cross.
  5. Blue folded letter on Deer Park Greenwich, Connecticut letterhead. Written to Mr. Cross from Alberta. 37 lines.
  6. Envelope with Joseph Cameron Cross return address printed on the side. The name Claire written on the upper left-hand corner.
  7. Envelope dated Jul 18 1952. Addressed to Mr. Joseph Cameron Cross from Michel Katcharoff.
  8. Envelope of The Hotel Raleigh. Dated Mar 27 1950. Addressed to Mr. Joseph Cross.
  9. Envelope of Croydon Hotel Chicago. Dated Aug 10 1950. Addressed to Mr. Joseph C. Cross.
  10. Envelope dated Aug 1 1949. Addressed to Mr. Joseph Cameron Cross.
  11. Envelope addressed to Mr. Joe Cross from Ruth Charleston.
  12. Letter on Fredric March letterhead. Dated January 19th to Mr. Cross from Fredric March. Includes article Newsweek, The March Story in Press and Radio. Envelope. 8 lines.
  13. Letter on folded gray note card. Written to Joe from Valerie Butis. 15 lines.
  14. Letter with a "V" sticker on the top. Dated April 2 - 1942 to Joe from Grace Dathea. 30 lines.
  15. Letter dated July 12th to My dear Mr. Cross from Penelope Munday. 21 lines.
  16. Light gray letter with red border. Dated April 26th 1950 to My dear Joe from Bill Weslow. 35 lines.
  17. Letter on New Hotel Jefferson letterhead. Written to Mr. Cross from Ben Ren. 20 lines.
  18. Letter on Anton Dolin letterhead. Dated September 23rd, 1948 to My dear Joe from Tony. Typed. 11 lines.
  19. Blue letter on Santa Fe Super Chief letterhead. Dated March 26, 1949 to Jo from Ruth and Nikolai. 31 lines.
  20. Letter dated October 6th 1950 to Mr. Cameron Cross from Margaret Rutherford. 17 lines.
  21. Green letter with red border. Written to Mr. Cross from Ruba Rounderko. Watermark. 16 lines.
  22. Folded letter on Ritz Tower letterhead. Dated on a Tuesday to My dear Joe from Ruth and Barry. 18 lines.
  23. Letter dated April 20, 1950 to Joe from Rosella. 3 pages. 63 lines.
  24. Letter on gray speckled paper. Dated January 15th to Mr. Cross from Flora Robson. 24 lines.
  25. Letter on JRE letterhead. Dated 14 December 1950 to Joe from Janet Reed. 11 lines.
  26. Letter on The Gladstone letterhead. Dated 8th October 1948 to Mr. Cross from Michael Rane. Watermark. 5 lines.
  27. Folded letter on Hotel Statler Washington D.C. letterhead. Dated March 20, 1957 to Cameron Cross from Norah Nicholson. 2 pages. 21 lines.
  28. Letter on The St. Moritz letterhead. Dated Dec. 12/45 to Mr. Cross from Marjorie Lord. 2 pages. 20 lines.
  29. Letter dated March 4/47 to Mr. Cross from Charles Allen. 4 pages. 107 lines.
  30. Letter dated 4-11-49 to Joe from Charles. 13 lines.
  31. Folded letter dated Tuesday 19-26 to Joe from Helena. 81 lines.
  32. Blue letter dated May 14, 1948 to "J.C." from Edith Allen Hall. 35 lines.
  33. Folded gray letter with white border. Written to My dear Mr. Cross from Julia Junian. 2 pages. 16 lines.
  34. Letter dated Nov. 27 - 49 to Mr. Cross from Nattalie Krassovsko. 32 lines.
  35. Letter on folded note card to My dear Mr. Cross from Virginia Mac Watters. Typed. 23 lines.
  36. Folded letter to My dear Mr. Cross from Virginia Mac Watters. Typed. 24 lines.
  37. Letter on the reverse side of Shelton Hotel letterhead paper. Dated on a Tuesday night to Joe Cross from Grace Z. 5 lines.
  38. Letter written to Joe from George Blake. 12 lines.
  39. Folded letter dated May 11, 1948. Written to Joe dear from Bette. 15 lines.
  40. Letter dated Sept. 21, 1950 to Joe from Marjorie Borgia. 25 lines.
  41. Folded pink letter dated May 9, 1948 to Joe from Alan Alonso. 13 lines.
  42. Green speckled letter on Booth Avenue letterhead. Dated Sept. 4 to Mr. Cross from z Jo Meri. 15 lines.
  43. Letter on The St. Moritz letterhead. Dated on a Wednesday morning to Joe Cross from Lea. 2 double-sided pages. 35 lines.
  44. Letter on The St. Moritz letterhead. Written to [Joseph Cross] from Lea. 3 pages. 25 lines.
  45. Letter on Washington Duke Hotel letterhead. Dated Jan. 14 to Joe from Ruth. 13 lines.
  46. Letter dated Sept. 25th, 1948 to Jo Cross from Rhodello Steele. 28 lines.
  47. Gray letter with red and white border. Dated March 14 - 1948 to Joe from Tania Grantzeva. 14 lines.
  48. Letter on Hotel Sherman letterhead. Dated November 16 to Joe from Alexander Grant. Envelope. 2 pages. 33 lines.
  49. Pale green letter Hyde Park Hotel letterhead. Dated Oct. 28 1953 to Mr. Cameron Cross. 18 lines.
  50. Folded letter dated May 19 ‘45 to My dear Mr. Cross from Virginia Gerson. 9 lines.
  51. Letter dated April 29th, 1949 to Mr. Cross from Forrest Frazier. 31 lines.
  52. Letter on The Atlanta Journal letterhead. Dated August 3, 1949 to Joe from Becky Franklin. 9 lines.
  53. Folded letter dated Thursday P.M. to Joe dear from Fay. Includes black and white photo of Fay with 6 line note on back dated Apr. 29/43 to Joe. 12 lines.
  54. Letter dated 9/7/47 to Mr. Cross from Jessie Evans. 31 lines.
  55. Letter dated Saturday, 14 May 1949 to Joe from Douglas. Typed. 95 lines.
  56. Letter dated 1st September, 1953 to Mr. Cross from Deryl Gray. Typed. 12 lines.
  57. Letter dated Nov. 17./1950 to Joseph Cameron Cross from Rachel Booth Powers. 3 pages. 44 lines.
  58. Letter on folded note card. Dated on a Sunday to Mr. Cross from Ethel Merman. 8 lines.
  59. Letter on Orange Grove Avenue letterhead. Dated February 23, 1949 to My dear Joe from Dorothy McCoy. Typed. 43 lines.
  60. Pale green letter dated Jan 6th to Mr. Cross from Constance Collier. 8 lines.
  61. Letter dated 4/30/49 to My dear Mr. Cross from Lavinia Farve. 2 pages. 27 lines.
  62. Gray letter on Claude Gonvierre letterhead to Joe Cross from Claude. Typed. 19 lines.
  63. Letter dated February 23, 1948 to My dear Mr. Cross from Yvonne Chouteau. 8 lines.
  64. Letter dated 11th August 1950 to Joe from Bryan. 7 pages. 185 lines.
  65. Letter on The Savoy Plaza letterhead. Dated on a Monday to Joseph Cameron Cross from Pamela Brown. 18 lines.
  66. Folded letter on The Warwick letterhead. Dated on Wednesday Oct. 4th to Mr. Cross from Liona Shearer. 9 lines.
  67. Letter on the St. Moritz letterhead. Dated on a Monday to My darling Joe Cross. 17 lines.
  68. Letter dated May 11, 1949 to Joe from Diana. 13 lines.
  69. Letter dated on a Friday to Joe from Allen Davis. 16 lines.
  70. Letter dated on a Thursday to Joe from Lillian Kremble Cooper. 16 lines.

Donna Dickey "Poems"

  1. Poems by Donna Dickey. Dated December 25, 1927.

Grace Fisher Correspondence

  1. Letter with picture of candy canes on top. Dated Dec. 17, 1944 from Grace Fisher. 21 lines.
  2. Gray/denim letter with holiday greeting sticker in upper left-hand corner. Dated December 27, 1942 to Joe from Grace Fisher. 46 lines.
  3. Gray/denim letter dated on a Thursday to Joe from Grace Fisher. 30 lines.

(See photograph finding aid)

Lynn Fontanne Correspondence

  1. Gray/blue letter dated June 3, 1950 to Mr. Cross from Lynn Fontanne. Watermark. 4 lines.
  2. Gray/blue letter dated May 8, 1950 to Mr. Cross from Lynn Fontanne. 6 lines.

Margot Fonteyn Correspondence

  1. Letter on folded note card monogrammed Margot Fonteyn. Dated Sept. 27th to Mr. Cross from Margot Fonteyn. 11 lines.
  2. Letter on The Plaza letterhead. Dated September 15, 1953 to Mr. Cross from Margot Fonteyn. Typed. 6 lines.
  3. Letter on The Plaza letterhead. Dated September 17, 1953 to Mr. Cross from Margot Fonteyn. Typed. 7 lines.
  4. Letter on The Plaza letterhead. Dated September 28, 1953 to Mr. Cross from Margot Fonteyn. Typed. 7 lines.
  5. Letter on The Plaza letterhead. Dated October 3, 1953 to Mr. Cross from Margot Fonteyn. 7 lines.
  6. Letter on Margot Fonteyn letterhead. Dated 4th August, 1951 to Mr. Cross from Margot Fonteyn. Typed. 13 lines.
  7. Letter on The Plaza letterhead. Dated 16th September 1950 to Mr. Cross from Margot Fonteyn. Typed. 9 lines.
  8. Letter on The Plaza letterhead. Dated September 30th 1950 to Mr. Cross from Margot Fonteyn.
  9. Monogrammed note card from Margot Fonteyn. 2 lines.

(See photograph finding aid)

John Gielgud Correspondence

Actor John Gielgud - Signed Photograph
Actor John Gielgud - Signed Photograph
  1. Letter on Ritz-Carlton Boston letterhead. Dated July 11 to Cameron Cross from John Gielgud. 28 lines.
  2. Letter on John Gielgud's Productions letterhead. Dated on a Saturday to Cameron Cross from John Gielgud. Envelope. 10 lines.
  3. Letter on John Gielgud letterhead. Dated 25.7.50 to Joe from John Gielgud. Watermark. Typed. 17 lines.
  4. Letter on One Fifth Avenue letterhead. Dated October 25th to Cameron Cross from John Gielgud. Watermark. 12 lines.
  5. Letter on One Fifth Avenue letterhead. Dated June 24th to Cameron Cross from John Gielgud. Watermark. 15 lines.
  6. Letter on John Gielgud letterhead. Dated 16.8.48 to Cameron from John Gielgud. Watermark. Typed. 45 lines.
  7. Letter on John Gielgud letterhead. Dated 23.3.50 to Cameron from John Gielgud. Watermark. Typed. 35 lines.
  8. Envelope addressed to John Gielgud from J. Cameron Cross.

(See photograph finding aid)

Lillian Gish Correspondence

  1. Letter on note card. Dated 1949 to Mr. Cross from Lillian Gish. 14 lines.
  2. Note card with Lillian Gish's name and address. Dated on a Wednesday to Joe from Lillian. 6 lines.
  3. Light gray letter dated April 4, 1949 to Joe from Lillian Gish. Watermark. Typed. 20 lines.
  4. Gray/blue speckled letter on Lillian Gish letterhead. Dated June 25, 1948 to Mr. Cross from Lillian Gish. Watermark. Typed. 8 lines.
  5. Gray/blue speckled letter on Lillian Gish letterhead. Dated September 17, 1950 to Mr. Cross from Lillian. Watermark. Typed. 6 lines.
  6. Gray/blue speckled letter on Lillian Gish letterhead. Dated October 30, 1950 to Mr. Cross from Lillian. Watermark. Typed. 12 lines.
  7. Letter on note card monogrammed Lillian Gish. Dated on a Wednesday to Joe from Lillian. 15 lines.
  8. Letter on note card monogrammed Lillian Gish with a printed drawing. Written to Joe from Lillian. 2 lines.

Alec Guinness Correspondence

  1. Letter on Alec Guinness letterhead. Dated 6th August, 1951 to Joe from Alec. Watermark. Typed. 15 lines.
  2. Letter dated 4th April to Jo from Alec Guinness. Watermark. 11 lines.

Edna Wallace Hopper Correspondence

  1. Letter featuring "A Comedian's Prayer" (1926) by Francis Wilson. Dated 1934 to Joe from Edna. Typed. 16 lines.
  2. Yellow letter with brown and white border on 330 East Fifty-Eighth Street letterhead. Dated September 21, 1949 to Joe from Edna. 11 lines.
  3. Letter with blue and red border on Edna Wallace Hopper letterhead. Dated January 23, 1949 to Joe from Edna. Watermark. Typed. 14 lines.

(See photograph finding aid)

Elsie Janis Correspondence

  1. Letter on The Hotel Dauphin letterhead. Dated Thursday Thanksgiving Nov. 23/39 to Friend from Elsie Janis. 12 lines.
  2. Letter on The Hotel Dauphin letterhead. Dated on Wednesday Jan. 2nd to Joe from Elsie Janis. 12 lines.

(See photograph finding aid)

Thais Lawton Correspondence

  1. Blue letter on Thais Lawton letterhead. Dated on a Thursday afternoon to Joe from Thais. Includes magazine clipping. 13 lines.
  2. Blue letter with white border on Thais Lawton letterhead. Written by Thais.
  3. Letter on Thais Lawton letterhead. Written to Joe from Thais.
  4. Envelope dated Apr 20 1942. Addressed to Joseph Cameron Cross from Thais Lawton.
  5. Envelope dated Jan 2 1951. Addressed to Joseph Cameron Cross from Thais Lawton.

(See photograph finding aid)

Joel Marston Correspondence

  1. Letter on Joel Marston letterhead. Dated on a Wednesday to Mr. Cross - Joe from Joel Marston. Typed. 10 lines.
  2. Letter on Joel Marston letterhead. Dated on a Thursday to Joe from Joel. 16 lines.

Marguerite Merington Correspondence

  1. Folded letter on The Cosmopolitan Club letterhead. Dated 14 July - 1946 to Mr. Cross from Marguerite Merington. 10 lines.
  2. Letter on 46 W 97 St. letterhead. Dated June 27 1946 to Mr. Cross from Marguerite Merington. Typed. 18 lines.
  3. Letter on The Cosmopolitan Club letterhead. Dated 26 Aug. 1945 to Mr. Cross from Marguerite Merington. Typed. 28 lines.
  4. Letter on The Cosmopolitan Club letterhead. Dated 1st Dec. 1947 to Joe Cross from Marguerite Merington. Typed. 28 lines.
  5. Letter on The Cosmopolitan Club letterhead. Dated Dec. 5 1949 to Joe from MM. Typed. 20 lines.
  6. Letter on The Cosmopolitan Club letterhead. Dated 16 June 1946 to Mr. Cross from Marguerite Merington. 14 lines.
  7. Letter on reverse side of The Cosmopolitan Club letterhead. Dated 15 Jan. 1948 to Joe Cross from Marguerite Merington. 22 lines.
  8. Letter on The Cosmopolitan Club letterhead. Dated 11 July 1946 to Mr. Cross from Marguerite Merington. Typed. 13 lines.
  9. The Cosmopolitan Club folded letterhead paper. Includes picture titled La Mode Illustree with Victorian Ladies on the back. Dated Dec. 1949.
  10. Envelope dated Dec. 12 1944. Addressed to Miss Marguerite Merington from Mrs. E.H. Sothern.

James Monks Correspondence

  1. Letter on James Monks letterhead. Dated October 13, 1942 to Mr. Cross from James Monks. 4 lines.
  2. Folded gray letter dated on a Wednesday afternoon to Joe from Jimmie Monks. 26 lines.

Ward Morehouse Correspondence

  1. List of photographs dated August 10, 1948 to Ward Morehouse and to be returned to Joseph Cameron Cross. 27 names.
  2. Letter on The Sun letterhead. Dated on a Saturday to Joe from Ward. Watermark. Typed. 10 lines.
  3. Letter on The Sun letterhead. Dated on a Thursday to Joe from Ward. Envelope addressed to Ward Morehouse. Typed. 8 lines.
  4. Letter dated November 23, 1971 to Mr. Heinl from Rebecca Morehouse (Mrs. Ward Morehouse). Includes photocopy of Ward Morehouse's obituary. 10 lines.
  5. Envelope addressed to Mrs. R. Heinl from Mrs. Ward Morehouse.
  6. Letter dated Nov. 30. 1971 to Mrs. Morehouse from Sadie Heinl. 26 lines.
  7. Letter mentioning Ward Morehouse. Dated November 2, 1971 to Miss Heinl from Richard Watts. Envelope. Typed. 9 lines.
  8. Letter on Free Press letterhead. Dated June 27, 1955 to Joe from Ward Morehouse. Typed. 10 lines.
  9. Folded letter dated 8:20 pm Sunday to Joe from Ward Morehouse. 12 lines.
  10. Letter on Chalfonte-Haddon Hall letterhead. Dated Tuesday pm to Joe from Ward. Typed. 12 lines.
  11. Letter on The Hotel Algonquin letterhead. Dated on a Friday to Joseph Cameron Cross from Becky. Includes newspaper clippings. Envelope. Watermark. 6 lines.
  12. Envelope dated Feb. 16 1950. Addressed to Mr. Joseph Cameron Cross from Mrs. Ward Morehouse.

Mary Ellen Moylan Correspondence

  1. Letter on folded note card. Dated December 28, 1950 to Joe from Mary Ellen. 20 lines.
  2. Letter on folded note card. Written to Joe from Mary Ellen. 16 lines.

Olive Oliver Correspondence

  1. Letter on 328 Jerome Avenue letterhead. Dated Jan. 11th 1937 to Mr. Cross from Olive Oliver. Typed. 35 lines.
  2. Letter on 328 Jerome Avenue letterhead. Dated April 4th 1937 to Joe Cameron Cross from Olive Oliver. Typed. 30 lines.
  3. Green speckled letter dated Dec. 8th 1937 to generous MAN from Olive Oliver. Typed. 83 lines.
  4. Folded letter on Miss O. Oliver letterhead. Dated Mch. 7th. 1943 to Joe dear from Olive. Typed. 64 lines.

(See photograph finding aid)

Nichstha Alias Bernice Rehmer Correspondence

  1. Letter on The St. Clair Hotel letterhead. Dated Oct. 19 from Nichstha Alias Bernice. Pages have different letterhead design. 2 double-side pages. 97 lines.
  2. Letter on Ford Hotels letterhead. Dated Sept.? to Joe from Nichstha Alias Bernice. 38 lines.
  3. Pale blue letter on The Hotel Bond letterhead. Dated April 2 to Joe from Nichstha Alias Bernice. 50 lines.
  4. Blue letter on The Bellevue-Stratford letterhead. Dated March 21 to Mr. Cross from Bernice Rehmer. 46 lines.
  5. Postcard dated Aug.8 - 1950 to Joe from Bernice Rehmer. 16 lines.

Fritizi Scheff Correspondence

  1. Folded light blue letter with red and dark blue border on FS letterhead. Dated on a Wednesday to Joe from Fritizi Scheff. 24 lines.
  2. Pink letter with white border on 308 East 79th Street letterhead. Dated August 12, 1951 to Joe from Fritizi Scheff. Watermark. 11 lines.
  3. Folded letter with light blue border on FS letterhead. Dated Friday Aug 21st, 1951 to Joe from Fritizi Scheff. Watermark. 45 lines.
  4. Folded gray letter with white and red border on 308 East 79th Street letterhead. Dated Monday Sept: 4th: 1950 to Joe from Fritizi Scheff. Watermark. 43 lines.
  5. Folded gray letter with white and red border on 308 East 79th Street letterhead. Dated Thursday Dec: 21st: 1950 to Joe from Fritizi Scheff. Watermark. 18 lines.
  6. Folded light blue note card with red and dark blue border and monogrammed FS. Dated September 1st 1949 to Joe from Fritizi Scheff. Watermark. 17 lines.
  7. Green note card with fuchsia border and 308 East 79th Street letterhead. Dated on a Tuesday to Joe from Fritizi. Watermark. 30 lines.
  8. Folded green note card with fuchsia border and 308 East 79th Street letterhead. Dated May 14th 1950 to Jo from Fritizi Scheff. Watermark. 23 lines.

Julia Marlowe Sothern Correspondence

  1. Letter on The Plaza letterhead. Dated September first to Mr. Cross from Julia Marlowe Sothern. 11 lines.
  2. Letter on The Plaza letterhead. Dated March 2nd to Mr. Cross from Julia Marlowe Sothern. 5 lines.
  3. Letter on The Plaza letterhead. Dated 1949 to Mr. Cross from Julia Marlowe Sothern. 9 lines.

(See photograph finding aid)

Frances Starr Correspondence

  1. Letter dated on a Tuesday to Joe Cross from Frances Starr. 2 pages. 14 lines.
  2. Blue/gray letter on Frances Starr letterhead. Dated July 15th/49 to Mr. Cross from Frances Starr. Watermark. 2 pages. 19 lines.

Gloria Swanson Correspondence

  1. Yellow letter on Gloria Swanson letterhead. Dated May 29, 1951 to Mr. Cross from Gloria Swanson. Watermark. Typed. 21 lines.
  2. Letter on note card with Gloria Swanson/Haley Corporation Travel letterhead. Written by Gloria. 10 lines.

Maria Tallchief Folder

  1. Letter dated August 23, 1944 to Mr. Cross from Maria Tallchief. 15 lines.
  2. Envelope dated Dec. 8 1949. Addressed to Mr. J. Cameron Cross from M. Tallchief.
  3. Envelope dated March 12 1951. Addressed to Mr. J. Cameron Cross from Maria Tallchief.
  4. Princess Firebird newspaper article about Maria Tallchief's performance by Walter Terry. Includes newspaper photo of Tallchief and her sister Marjorie.
  5. Catalogue photo of Maria Tallchief and her sister, Marjorie. Dated February 4 1951.

Booth Tartington Correspondence

  1. Letter on 1100 North Pennsylvania Street letterhead. Dated March 14th, 1900 to Mr. Tyler from Booth Tartington. 39 lines.

Evelyn Vaughan Correspondence

  1. Envelope dated Aug 18 1951 to J. Cameron Cross from E. Vaughan.
  2. Letter written to My dear Mr. Cross from Evelyn Vaughan. 2 pages. 20 lines.

Dick Watts Correspondence

  1. Letter on New York Post Home News letterhead. Dated February 13, 1950 to Joe from Dick Watts. Watermark. 5 lines.
  2. Letter on New York Post Home News letterhead. Dated December 6, 1950 to Joe from Dick Watts. Watermark. 4 lines.
  3. Letter on New York Post Home News letterhead. Dated February 18, 1950 to Joe from Dick Watts. Watermark. 7 lines.

Mary Young Correspondence

  1. Letter on folded note card monogrammed Mary Young Craig. Dated 1950 to Joseph from Mary. 8 lines.
  2. Note card monogrammed Mary Young.
  3. Folded sand-colored letter with design in upper left-hand corner. Dated 8/17/47 to Mr. Cross from Mary Young. 41 lines.
  4. Letter dated Dec. 26/50 to Joseph C. from Mary-Young. 34 lines.
  5. Letter on Mary Young letterhead. Written to Joseph Cross from Mary Young. Watermark. 7 lines.

(See photograph finding aid)

Miscellaneous Correspondence

  1. Blue letter dated Sept. 24th to Loyal Friend from Grace Carlotta. 2 double-sided pages. 60 lines.
  2. Letter on 114 E 56" St New York letterhead. 18 lines.
  3. Letter written to Sir from Mrs. Howard Hull. 7 lines.
  4. Letter on Hotel Gorham letterhead. Includes newspaper clipping. 18 lines.
  5. Letter on Allerton Hotel letterhead. Dated December 4 to Mrs. Dickey from Harry Ellerbe. Typed. 12 lines.
  6. Letter on folded note card. Dated Nov. 13th to "Joe" from Josephine Hall.
  7. Telegram titled "Jack Hortop sends you The Seasons Greetings." Typed by Jack.
  8. Letter dated August 28, 1943 to Jim from Harry Maloney. Typed. 2 pages. 57 lines.
  9. Letter on Western Union letterhead. Dated Nov 28 1948 to Robert Cross from Pola Negri. Typed. 5 lines.
  10. Letter written to Post College, To Whom it may concern from S. Heinl.
  11. Folded letter on Seven Acres letterhead. Dated Oct - 24th 1907 to Nora from Beatrice Wausfield. Watermark. 21 lines.
  12. Folded letter dated on a Friday to Friend from Ruth Matteson. 18 lines.

(See photograph finding aid for Harry Ellerbe)

Miscellaneous Items

  1. Folded note on The Merchants Bank letterhead. Dated April 22 1898. Includes newspaper clipping. 17 lines.
  2. List of actors and the shows they appeared in. 3 double-sided pages. 56 actors listed.
  3. Song lyrics for "That Fifth Avenue Rag" by Carl Randall. Dated week of March 31st, 1912.
  4. Newspaper clipping from The Rochester Herald theatre section. Dated Wednesday October 8, 1924.
  5. Newspaper cartoon of Olive Oliver as Ulysses.
  6. Catalogue clipping featuring a mention of John Gielgud and his photo.
  7. Black and white German newspaper graphic of a house and people.
  8. "The Ice Lady Cometh" newspaper article which discusses Sonja Henie's ice show.
  9. "The Truth About Patriotism" newspaper article by Howard Whitman.
  10. Glossy copy of part of The Boston Museum. Dates and plays mentioned: Monday, August 27th, 1888 "The Bells of Haslemere" and Monday, September 10, 1888 "Little Lord Fauntleroy"
  11. Small note from Portia Thais.
  12. Address titled "Come to Life Americans." Dated 1950 by Frank Hitchcock. Typed. 31 lines.
  13. Bronx Opera House playbill for "Peg O' My Heart"
  14. Letter on the reverse side of J.S. Ogilvie Publishers & Booksellers letterhead paper. Watermark. 24 lines.
  15. A Wartime Consultation by Charles W. McGavran, M.D. Dated March 1949 from The Ohio State Medical Journal.
  16. Program for the Arts Club of Washington. Dated January 1946.
  17. Article on Ward Morehouse from The New York Sun. Dated Monday, January 6, 1947.
  18. List of names on yellow memo paper. 15 names.
  19. Cleared check from Knickerbocker Trust Company. Dated Dec. 31st 1904. Made to Chas. Joseph by Lillian Russell for $1000.
  20. Numerical information table on Churchill, Hitler, Roosevelt, Il Duce, Stalin, and Tojo (Supreme Commander: CHRIST). 5 copies.
  21. Drawing of Alice Spieer[?]. Dated 1929.
  22. Article on John Gielgud. Dated August 25, 1974 from The New York Times.
  23. A poem for Joe Cross entitled "It isn't a plane it isn't a Bird."
  24. List of names. 37 names.

Professional Letters

  1. Letter on The Olney Theatre letterhead. Dated June 2, 1949 to Joe from Dick. Typed. 6 lines.
  2. Letter on Mr. & Mrs. F.R. Benson & their Shakespearean Company letterhead. Dated March 10. 1910 to Mr. Scott Craven from R. Halford Forster. Watermark. Typed. 5 lines.
  3. Letter on The Mohawk Drama Festival letterhead. Dated July 31st to Mr. Cross from Nan-l-eml -ikeose[?]. 3 pages. 35 lines.
  4. Letter on The Olney Theatre letterhead. Dated June 2, 1948 to Joe from Dick. Watermark. Typed. 10 lines.
  5. Letter on Whitehead-Rea Productions letterhead. Written to Joe from Bob. Watermark. 37 lines.
  6. Letter on The American Library Service letterhead. Dated Nov. 25, 1953 to Mr. Cross from Symon Gould. Typed. 20 lines.
  7. Letter on The American Library Service letterhead. Dated Oct. 31, 1950 to Mr. Cross from Raphael Gould. 27 lines.
  8. Letter on The Playwrights' Company letterhead. Dated Jan. 7, 1944 To Mr. Cain from Phil Stevenson. 15 lines.
  9. Letter on Friars Annual Benefit Dinner letterhead. Dated 1951 to Mr. Cross from Milton Berle. Typed. 18 lines.
  10. Letter providing a list of players to be written to. Written to Joe from W.P. 46 names.
  11. Letter dated March 22 1950 to Mr. Cross from Chamberlain Brown. Written on the reverse side of flyer for Chamberlain Brown at the Carl Fischer Recital Hall.
  12. Letter on The Sun letterhead. Dated Monday, March 3, 1947 to Joe from Willie. 8 lines.

Contact Information

Archives and Special Collections

B. Davis Schwartz Memorial Library
LIU Post Campus
Long Island University
Brookville, NY 11548

Telephone: (516) 299-2880

Email: jarron.jewell@liu.edu

Hours: 9:00-5:00, Monday-Friday