Library Guides: Archives and Special Collections: The Irish Literary Renaissance: Five Authors

The Irish Literary Renaissance: Five Authors


Lady Gregory	James Joyce	Sean O'Casey	John Millington Synge	William Butler Yeats

Gregory, Lady [Dame Isabella Augusta nee Persse] (1852-1932)

*Coole* by Lady Gregory. Dublin: The Cuala Press, 1931. 1st edition. Limited to 250 copies printed on paper made in Ireland and published by Elizabeth Corbet Yeats. Prefatory poem "Coole Park" by W. B. Yeats, dated "September 7th 1929". Cloth.
*Coole* by Lady Gregory. Completed from the manuscript and edited by Colin Smythe. With a foreword by Edward Malins. [Dublin : Dolmen Press, 1971]. Edition limited to 1, 050 copies printed on cartridge paper in Plantin type. Designed by Liam Miller. Includes the poem "Coole Park" by W. B. Yeats. Cloth. Illustrated lining papers.
*The Full Moon* by Lady Gregory. London and New York : G. P. Putnam's Sons [1913]. 1st English and American edition. Signed by the author. Publisher's list facing title page: "A Complete List of Lady Gregory's Works". Paper wrappers.
*The Golden Apple, a play for Kiltartan Children* by Lady Gregory. Illustrated by Margaret Gregory. London : John Murray, 1916. 1st edition. Inscribed by the author and dated: "Nov. 14- 1916." Pictorial Cloth. Frontispiece. Music at end of text.
*The Image; a play in three acts* by Lady Gregory. Dublin : Maunsel & Co., 1910. 1st edition. Inscribed by the author and dated: "Xmas day, 1913." Re-bound in leather with gilt edges. Original paper wrappers laid in. Publisher's advertisement on the back cover.
*Kincord: a drama in three acts* by Lady Gregory. New York : John Quinn, 1905. 1st edition. Limited to 50 numbered copies. This is no. 19. Signed by the author. Paper wrappers.
*My First Play* by Lady Gregory. London : Elkin Mathews, 1930. Caption title: "Colman and Guaire." 1st edition. Limited to 500 numbered copies. This is no. 217. Signed by the author. Cloth with dust jacket.
*Poets and Dreamers: studies and translations from the Irish* by Lady Gregory. Dublin : Hodges, Figgis, and Co.; London: John Murray, 1903. 1st edition. Inscribed by the author and dated: "Sep 28 1904." Publisher's advertisement facing title page: "By the Same Writer." Cloth.
*Seven Short Plays* by Lady Gregory. New York and London : G. P. Putnam's Sons, The Knickerbocker Press, 1915. Inscribed by the author. The publisher's advertisements after text, 4pp. Publisher's list facing title page: "By Lady Gregory." Cloth.
*Shanwalla* by Lady Gregory. London : G. P. Putnam's Sons [1922.] 1st edition. Signed by the author. Publisher's list facing title page: "A Complete List of Lady Gregory's Works." Pictorial paper wrapper.
*A Book of Saints and Wonders put down here by Lady Gregory according to the old writing and the memory of the people of Ireland.* Dundrum [Dublin]: The Dun Emer Press, 1906. 1st edition. Limited to 200 copies printed on paper made in Ireland, and published by Elizabeth Corbet Yeats. The Irish texts of most of these hymns and legends had been published, and the author has made her own translations "as far as my scholarship goes and when it fails taking the meaning given by better scholars." Cloth.

Joyce, James Augustus (1882-1941)

*Anna Livia Plurabelle* by James Joyce. With a preface by Padraic Colum. New York : Crosby Gaige, 1928. 1st edition. Limited to 800 numbered copies. This is no. 218. Signed by the author. 1st "published in *Le Navaire* *d' Argent* in September 1925. It was expanded and published in *Transition* in November 1927." Cloth. The top edge in gilt. (Slocum A32).
*The Cat and the Devil* by James Joyce. Illustrated by Richard Erdoes. New York : Dodd, Mead and Company [1964]. 1st separate edition. 1st published in *Letters of James Joyce*, edited by Stuart Gilbert, 1957. "This fable was written by James Joyce as a letter to his grandson Stephen Joyce...." Cloth with dust jacket. Illustrated lining papers. Courtesy of the American Juvenile Collection.
*Chamber Music* by James Joyce. London : Elkin Mathews [1907]. 1st edition, 3rd binding variant. 509 copies were reportedly published. Cloth. Owner's slipcase. (Slocum A3).
*Chamber Music* by James Joyce. Boston : The Cornhill Company [1918]. 1st American edition, unauthorized. Cloth. With original "transparent tissue" dust jacket. (Slocum A5).
*Finnegans Wake* by James Joyce. London : Faber and Faber; New York : The Viking Press, 1939. 1st edition. Limited to 425 numbered copies. This is no. 27. Signed by the author. Cloth. Publisher's original slipcase. (Slocum A47).
*Finnegans Wake* by James Joyce. New York : The Viking Press, 1939. 1st American edition, trade. This "was printed in the United States by offset from reproduction proofs supplied by" Faber & Faber. Cloth with dust jacket. (Slocum A48).
*Haveth Childers Everywhere. Fragment from Work in Progress* by James Joyce. Paris : Henry Babou and Jack Kahane; New York : The Fountain Press, 1930. 1st edition. Limited to 100 numbered copies on imperial hand made iridescent Japan paper. This is no. 36. Signed by the author. Paper wrappers with an original glassine jacket. Housed in owner's cloth box. (Slocum A41)
*Pomes Penyeach* by James Joyce. Paris : Shakespeare and Company, 1927. 1st edition. It contains thirteen poems with place and date of composition under each poem. Errata slip. Facing title page publisher's list: "By the Same Writer." Paper boards. (Slocum A24).
*Tales Told of Shem and Shaun. Three Fragments from Work in Progress* by James Joyce. [Preface by C.K. Ogden]. Paris : The Black Sun Press, 1929. 1st edition. One of 500 numbered copies on Holland Van Geldor Zonen paper. This is no. 76. Paper wrappers. (Slocum A36).
*Two Essays. "A Forgotten Aspect of the University Question" by F.J.C. Skeffington and "The Day of the Rabblement" by James A. Joyce. Dublin : Printed by Gerard Bros. [1901]. 1st edition. In the opinion of Skeffington's son, the number of copies printed "was at the most 200 and that it might be as low as 100....". But in 1933 the Ulysses Bookshop authoritatively stated that it was agreed "that 85 copies would be sufficient, for circulation and sale to the other members of the College." This is W.G. Fallon's copy, with his signature and Dublin address. He was a fellow student of Joyce's at Belvedere College and was referred to in A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man*, under his own name, as a boy with a "silly laugh." Pamphlet. Author's first extant publication. (Slocum B1).
*Ulysses* by James Joyce. Paris : Shakespeare and Company, 1922. 1st edition. Limited to 1000 copies, this is one of 750 copies on hand- made paper numbered 251 to 1000. This is no. 957. Publisher's list "By the Same Writer" is facing the title page. Greek blue paper wrappers housed in owner's chemise and slipcase. (Slocum A17).
*Ulysses* by James Joyce. Paris : Shakespeare and Company, 1930 [c.1922]. 1st edition, 11th printing. From the eighth through the eleventh printing the text was expanded to 735 pages with type entirely reset and the "Additional Corrections", for the most part, incorporated in the text. Greek blue paper wrappers. (Slocum A17).
*Ulysses* by James Joyce. Hamburg-Paris-Bologna: The Odyssey Press [1932]. Two volumes. "The present edition may be regarded as the definitive standard edition, as it has been specially revised, at the author's request, by Stuart Gilbert." 1st issue. Paper wrappers. Publisher's notice on back cover: "Not to be introduced into the British Empire or the U.S.A. " (Slocum A20).
*Ulysses* by James Joyce. [Foreword by Morris L. Ernst]. New York : Random House, 1934. 1st authorized American edition. Includes the texts of: "The monumental decision of the United States District Court rendered December 6, 1933 by Hon. John M. Woolsey lifting the ban on "*Ulysses*;" and Joyce's letter, dated April 2, 1932, to his American publisher Bennett Cerf. Cloth with dust jacket. (Slocum A21).
*Ulysses* by James Joyce. With an introduction by Stuart Gilbert and illustrations by Henri Matisse. New York : The Limited Editions Club, 1935. Limited to 1500 signed copies "made for the members of The Limited Edition Club." This is no. 1059. Signed by the artist. Designed by George Macy. The text is based on that of the Odyssey Press edition. Cloth in publisher's slipcase. (Slocum A22).
*Ulysses* by James Joyce. London : John Lane, The Bodley Head [1936]. 1st English edition, printed in England. Edition limited to 1000 copies, of which this is one of 900 on Japan Vellum paper bound in linen buckram. Designated a "Presentation Copy." A list after title page: "Previous Edition of 'Ulysses'." Appendices after text consist of those documents from the Random House edition plus "International Protest against the Unauthorized and Mutilated Edition of 'Ulysses' in the U.S.A..." (Dated 2nd February 1927); and a "Bibliography of Works by Mr. James Joyce." Binding and Homeric Bow were designed by Eric Gill. Cloth. (Slocum A23).
*Ulysses* by James Joyce. Edited by Danis Rose. [Foreword is by the Irish novelist John Banville]. Dublin : The Lilliput Press, 1997. The Dublin Edition. 1st Irish edition. Limited to 1000 numbered copies, of which this is one of the first 100 bound in quarter leather, with gilt top edge. This is no.85. It is signed by the editor and by Banville. Publisher's list after text: "A Ulysses Chronology." Publisher's slipcase.

O'Casey, Sean (1880-1964)

*The Green Crow* [by] Sean O'Casey. New York : George Braziller, 1956. 1st edition. It contains parts of *The Flying Wasp, four stories from Windfalls*, and some new essays. Inscribed by the author and his wife Eileen. Dust jacket.
*Oak Leaves and Lavender; or, A World on Wallpaper* by Sean O'Casey. New York : The Macmillan Company, 1947. 1st American edition, 1st printing. From the library of English novelist, C. P. Snow. Signed by him and dated: "NY Nov. 21/47". Publisher's list facing title page: "Books by Sean O'Casey". Music with lyrics at end of text, 5pp. Dust jacket.
*The Plough and the Stars: a tragedy in four acts* by Sean O'Casey. London : Macmillan and Co., 1926. 1st edition. Publisher's note on the front cover: "This play, recently produced at the Abbey Theatre, Dublin, is by the author of *Juno and the Paycock* and the *Shadow of a Gunman*." Frontispiece portrait of the author. Dust jacket.
*The Silver Tassie; a tragic ?comedy in four acts* by Sean O'Casey. With a portrait of the author by Evan Walters. London : Macmillan & Co., 1928. 1st edition. At the end of the play: "Songs and chants in the play", 8pp. Signed by the author and dated " London. 1929". Frontispiece portrait. Cloth.
*The Star Turns Red* [a play] by Sean O'Casey. London : Macmillan & Co., 1940. 1st edition. Inscribed by the author to M. E. Corneliss "from his friend...with warm regards. December, 1942." Publisher's listing on book cover: "By Sean O'Casey" Cloth. Dust Jacket.
*The Story of the Irish Citizen Army* by P.O. Cathasaigh. Dublin and London : Maunsel & Co., 1919. 1st edition. The Author's name on the title page is the Irish form of O'Casey. Publisher's note on the front cover: "The first account that has been given of the formation of the Irish Citizen Army during the Dublin strike of 1913-1914, and the part played by it in the subsequent history of Ireland...". Paper wrappers.
*Sunset and Evening Star* by Sean O'Casey. London : Macmillan and Co., 1954. 1st edition. Complimentary copy with the publisher's printed slip: "With the Author's Compliments." From the library of American drama critic John Gassner, with his bookplate and his pencil notes and markings throughout the text. Publisher's list on verso of the half-title page: "Books by Sean O'Casey". Frontispiece photograph of The O'Caseys. Dust jacket.
*Two Plays: Juno and the Paycock* [and] *The Shadow of a Gunman* by Sean O'Casey. London : Macmillan and Co., 1925. 1st edition. Publisher's notice: "These plays have been produced with great success at the Abbey Theatre, Dublin." Publisher's advertisement on back cover: "Some New Books". Dust jacket.
Fortune Theatre, Covent Garden (London). [Program]. "Juno and the Paycock". April 1, 1926. Arthur Sinclair played "Captain" Jack Boyle and Sara Allgood played his wife, Juno.
Theatre Royal, Haymarket (London). [Program]. "Juno and the Paycock". August, 1937. Paul Farell was "Captain" Jack Boyle and Sara Allgood was Juno Boyle, his wife. Includes photographs of Sean O'Casey, Allgood, and Maire O'Neill, who played Mrs. Madigan.
Embassy Theatre (London). [Program]. "Juno and the Paycock". July 5, 1948. The Glasgow Unity Theatre production. Howard Connell was "Captain" Jack Boyle and Betty Henderson played Juno Boyle.
*Windfalls;* *Stories, poems and plays* by Sean O'Casey. London : Macmillan and Co., 1934. 1st edition. Contains, besides early poems and short stories, two plays: "The End of the Beginning" and "A Pound on Demand". Inscribed by the author and dated: " New York, 1934". Publisher's advertisements are on the back cover: "By Sean O'Casey". Cloth with dust jacket.
*Within the Gates; a play of four scenes in a London park* by Sean O'Casey. London : Macmillan and Co., 1933. 1st edition. Inscribed by the author to his friend, Jack Carney, on O'Casey's Hillcrest, Chalfont St., Giles letterhead. This is dated "Christmas 1933" and affixed to the front end-paper. According to O'Casey's wife, Eileen, Carney was a " Dublin friend" who alongside O'Casey worked with Jim Larkin, the great Irish trade unionist. At the end of the play: "Music to the play, composed and adapted by Herbert Hughes". Publisher's advertisement is on the back cover: "By Sean O'Casey". Loosely placed publisher's postcard soliciting readers to send for their catalogue of "New Books". Dust jacket.
O'Casey, Eileen. *Sean* by Eileen O'Casey. Edited with an introduction by J. C. Trewin. [Illustrated with photographs]. London and Basingstoke : Macmillan, Gill and Macmillan, 1971. 1st edition. Inscribed by the author and dated: "Dec. 1981". Dust jacket

Synge, John Millington (1871-1909)

*The Aran Island*: by J. M. Synge. With drawings by Jack B. Yeats. Dublin : Maunsell & Co; London : Elkin Mathews, 1907. 1st edition. Published in April, 1907. Publisher's list after text: "Books by J. M. Synge". Frontispiece. Cloth.
*The Aran Islands* by John M. Synge. Dublin and London : Maunsell and Company, 1912. "Pocket edition in two vols.". Facing title page is a statement of editions which gives the first printing as 1906. Cloth.
*Deirdre of the Sorrows: a play* by John M. Synge. [Preface by W. B. Yeats]. Churchtown [Dublin]: Cuala Press, 1910. 1st edition. Limited to 250 copies. Printed and published by Elizabeth Corbet Yeats. Although complete, this posthumous publication, according to W. B. Yeats, would have been altered by the author "till the structure had become as strong and varied as in his other plays..." Cloth.
*The Playboy of the Western World. A Comedy in Three Acts*. By J. M. Synge. Theatre Edition. Dublin : Maunsell & Co., 1907. 1st edition, 1st issue. The Abbey Theatre series, Vol. 10. The publisher's advertisements at the end of the text, 4pp. Pictorial paper wrappers.
*The Playbil, the magazine of the theatre*. The Booth Theatre (New York). [Program]. "The Playboy of the Western World". Week of December 30, 1946. Burgess Meredith played Christopher Mahon and Mildred Natwick the Widow Quinn. A cast slip for "this performance" announces Maureen Stapleton to replace Eithne Dunne as "Pegeen Mike".
*Poems and Translations* by John M. Synge. [Preface, entitled "John M. Synge", by W.B. Yeats]. Churchtown, Dundrum [Dublin]: Cuala Press, 1909. 1st edition. Limited to 250 copies. Printed and published by Elizabeth C. Yeats on April 8, 1909, shortly after the death of Synge on the 24th of March. Paper boards with linen spine and paper label on spine.
*The Works of John M. Synge*. Dublin : Maunsell and Company, 1910. Four volumes. 1st edition. Frontispiece portrait of Synge in each volume. Cloth.
Masefield, John. *John M. Synge: a few personal recollections, with biographical notes* by John Masefield. Churchtown, Dundrum [Dublin]: 1915. 1st edition. Limited to 350 numbered copies. This is no.278. Printed and published by Elizabeth Corbet Yeats. Paper boards with linen spine.
Masefield, John. *John M. Synge...Cuala Press, 1915. Limited to 350 copies. This is no. 36. Loosely inserted are three items: a written and signed note by Masefield dated "24 Dec. 1915" and contained in an envelope addressed by him; a reprint of a Masefield poem, "The Cold Cotswolds", taken from The Cambridge Magazine* ("Reprints from The Cambridge Magazine no. 5"); and a list of Masefield's works from a Maggs Bros. Catalog. Uncut Pages.

Yeats, William Butler (1865-1939)

*Autobiographies: Reveries over Childhood and Youth and The Trembling of the Veil* by W. B. Yeats. [Illustrations]. New York : The Macmillan Company, 1927. 1st American edition, 1st issue. "Published January, 1927". Limited to 250 numbered copies. This is no. 40. Signed by the author. Cloth with paper label on front cover. Frontispiece portrait of Yeats at age 21: "From a drawing by his Father". (Wade 152)
*Autobiographies*..... Macmillan Company, 1927. 1st American edition, 2nd (trade) issue. Published February, 1927. Under the frontispiece portrait of Yeats is a written and signed note by Irish poet James Stephens: "Hasn't he a fine head?". Cloth cover. (Wade 152)
*The Bounty of Sweden : a meditation, and a lecture delivered before the Royal Swedish Academy and certain notes* by William Butler Yeats. Dublin : The Cuala Press, 1925. 1st edition, limited to 400 copies printed on paper made in Ireland. Published by Elizabeth Corbet Yeats. An account of the author's trip to Stockholm to receive the Nobel Prize for literature and his lecture on "The Irish dramatic movement". Paper boards. Uncut pages. (Wade 146).
*The Cat and the Moon and Certain Poems*: by William Butler Yeats. Dublin : The Cuala Press, 1924. 1st edition, limited to 500 copies printed on paper made in Ireland. Printed and published by Elizabeth Corbet Yeats. Paper Boards. (Wade 145).
*Cathleen ni Hoolihan; a play in one act and in prose* by W. B. Yeats. London : Printed at the Caradoc Press, Chiswick, for A.H. Bullen, 1902. 1st edition. Limited to 300 copies. This number is not definite but seems "likely for the product of a small hand-press, and copies of the book are not often found". Paper boards with leather spine. (Wade 40).
*Cathleen ni Houlihan* by W. B. Yeats. Stratford ?Upon- Avon : Shakespeare Head Press, 1911. 3rd theatre edition. Signed by the author and dated: "May 16, 1913". Publisher's list after text: "The Works of W. B. Yeats". Paper wrappers. (Wade 63).
*The Celtic Twilight. Men and Women, Dhouls and Faeries* By W.B. Yeats. With a frontispiece by J.B. Yeats. London : Lawrence and Bullen, 1893. 1st edition, probable first issue. Yeats notes: "A good portion of this book has been printed in the 'National Observer'...."Inscribed by the Scottish writer Andrew Lang: " Irish Pixies. A.L.". Publisher's advertisements on page before the half- title: "By the same author". Cloth. (Wade 8).
*The Cloths of Heaven*; (from Song Cycle "The Wind among the Reeds"). Words by W. B. Yeats, music by Thomas F. Dunhill. London : Stainer & Bell [1911] 8pp. Stainer & Bell's Modern Songs, No. 88. "Copyright in the U. S. A. 1911 by Stainer & Bell." Reprint of 1905 original.
*The Collected Poems of W. B. Yeats*. New York : The Macmillan Company, 1933. 1st edition. Published on November 14, 1933. Frontispiece portrait of Yeats in 1907, from the portrait by Augustus John. Cloth. Courtesy of the Eugene and Carlotta O'Neill Library. (Wade 171).
*The Countess Kathleen, and Various Legends and Lyrics* by W. B. Yeats... London : T. Fisher Unwin, 1892. Cameo Series. 1st edition, limited to 30 numbered copies in Japan Vellum boards. This is no. 4. Signed by the publisher. Publisher's list on verso of half-title page: " In Same Series". Cloth cover. (Wade 6).
*The Cutting of an Agate* by William Butler Yeats. Author of "Ideas of Good and Evil, " etc. New York : The Macmillan Company, 1912. 1st edition. Paper boards with white label on front cover. Publisher's advertisements after text, 4pp. (Wade 102).
*The Death of Synge and Other Passages from an Old Diary* by William Butler Yeats. Dublin : The Cuala Press, 1928. 1st edition. Limited to 400 copies. Printed and published on paper made in Ireland by Elizabeth Corbet Yeats. Paper boards. (Wade 162).
*Deirdre* by W. B. Yeats. Being volume five of Plays for an Irish Theatre. London : A.H. Bullen; Dublin : Maunsel & Co., 1907. 1st edition. Publisher's list facing half-title page: "By the Same Author." Paper boards with cloth spine. (Wade 69).
*Alterations in 'Deirdre'*. [London : A.H. Bullen, 1908]. Four page leaflet, to be inserted into the published copies of the play, "was printed for Mrs. Patrick Campbell's production of the play in London on November 27, 1908." (Wade 70).
*Discoveries; a volume of essays* by William Butler Yeats. Dundrum [Dublin]: Dun Emer Press, 1907. 1st edition, limited to 200 copies. "Printed, upon paper made in Ireland , by Elizabeth C. Yeats, Esther Ryan and Beatrice Cassidy, and published by Elizabeth C. Yeats.....". Paper boards with linen spine. (Wade 72).
*Dramatis Personae* by William Butler Yeats. Dublin : The Cuala Press, 1935. 1st edition, limited to 400 copies. Printed and published by Elizabeth Corbet Yeats. Paper boards with linen spine and white paper label on spine. Published December 9, 1935. "These memoirs first appeared in The *London Mercury*, November and December 1935 and January 1936...". (Wade 183).
*Dramatis Personae, 1896-1902: Estrangement, The Death of Synge, The Bounty of Sweden* by W.B. Yeats. [Illustrations]. New York : The Macmillan Company, 1936. 1st edition. Frontispiece portrait of the author by Augustus John, in the Kelvingrove Art Gallery, Glasgow. Cloth. Courtesy of the Eugene and Carlotta O'Neill Library. (Wade 186).
*Early Poems and Stories* by W. B. Yeats. London : Macmillan and Co., 1925. 1st edition. Publisher's list after text, 2 pp.: "The Collected Works of W. B. Yeats." Cloth. Uncut pages. (Wade 147).
*Early Poems and Stories* by W. B. Yeats. New York : The Macmillan Company, 1925. 1st American edition. Owner's book plate signed "Carlotta and Eugene O'Neill." Cloth. Courtesy of the Eugene and Carlotta O'Neill Library. (Wade 148).
*Eight Poems* by W. B. Yeats. Transcribed by Edward Pay. London : Published by "Form" at the Morland Press [1916]. 1st book edition. Limited to 200 numbered copies. This is no. 26 of 122 copies on Italian hand-made paper. Printed slip attached to the title page states: This edition is a facsimile of certain pages in the quartly periodical *Form. Silhouette of nude female figure in red (by Austin Spare) appears on page after the front cover. Published in April 1916; These poems first appeared in Poetry* (Chicago), February 1916; and then in *Form*, April 1916. Errata notice on inside of back cover. Original cream card covers. (Wade 114).
*Essays* by W. B. Yeats. New York : The Macmillan Company, 1924. 1st American edition. Limited to 250 numbered copies. This is no. 46. Signed by the author. Paper boards with cloth spine and paper labels on front cover and spine. Uncut pages. (Wade 142).
*Essays* by W. B. Yeats. New York : The Macmillan Company, 1924. 1st American edition, trade. From the library of the American poet Sara Teasdale with her signature and date: "Sara Teasdale Filsinger 1931". Includes her pencil notes on the back end paper. Cloth with design by Charles Ricketts on front cover. (Wade 142).
*Essays 1931 to 1936* by W. B. Yeats. Dublin : The Cuala Press, 1937. 1st edition. Limited to 300 copies. Printed and published on paper made in Ireland by Elizabeth Corbet Yeats. Paper boards with linen spine and paper label on spine. Uncut pages. (Wade194).
*Estrangement: being some fifty thoughts from a diary kept by Willaim Butler Yeats in the year nineteen hundred and nine*. Dublin : The Cuala Press, 1926. 1st edition. Limited to 300 copies printed on paper made in Ireland. Published by Elizabeth Corbet Yeats. Paper boards with linen spine and paper label on spine. (Wade 150).
*Four Plays for Dancers* by W. B. Yeats. [Illustrated by Edmund Dulac]. London : Macmillan and Co., 1921. 1st edition. Paper boards with cloth spine. Pictorial from cover designed by T. Sturge Moore. At the end of the plays: Music for "At the Hawk's Well, " pp. 91-101, and Music for "The Dreaming of the Bones'" by Walter Morse Rummel (1917), pp. 107-125. (Wade 129).
*Four Years* by William Butler Yeats. Churchtown, Drundrum [Dublin]: The Cuala Press, 1921. 1st edition. Limited to 400 copies printed on paper made in Ireland. Published by Elizabeth Corbet Yeats. Paper boards with linen spine and paper label on spine. Uncut pages. (Wade 131).
*The Green Helmet and Other Poems* by William Butler Yeats. Churchtown, Dundrum [Dublin]: The Cuala Press, 1910. 1st edition. Limited to 400 copies. Printed and published by Elizabeth Corbet Yeats. An erratum slip loosely inserted is headed "An Error" and states "By a slip of the pen when I was writing out the heading for the first group of poems, I put Raymond Lully's name in the room of the later Alchemist, Nicolas Flamel." Paper boards with linen spine and paper label on spine. (Wade 84).
*The Green Helmet and Other Poems* by William Butler Yeats. New York : The Macmillan Company; London : Macmillan & Co., 1912. Adds six poems to the Cuala Press 1910 edition. Paper boards with green ornamental design enclosing the title on the front cover. (Wade 101).
*The Green Helmet, an heroic farce* by W. B. Yeats. Stratford- Upon-Avon : Shakespeare Head Press, 1911. 1st [theatre] edition and only separate edition. Paper wrappers. (Wade 89).
*The Herne's Egg*, a stage play by W. B. Yeats. London : Macmillan and Co., 1938. 1st edition. 1600 copies published. Cloth. (Wade195).
*The Hour-Glass, Cathleen ni Houlihan, The Pot of Broth*... London : A.H. Bullen, 1904. Plays for an Irish Theatre, volume 2. 1st English edition. Facing half-title page, publisher's list: "By the Same Author." Paper boards with cloth spine and paper label on spine. (Wade 53).
*The Hour-Glass: a morality* by W. B. Yeats. London : A.H. Bullen, 1907. 1st theatre edition. Paper wrappers. (Wade 67).
*Ideas of Good and Evil*. By W. B. Yeats[.] London [i.e. New York]: A.H. Bullen [i.e. Macmillan], 1903. 1st American edition. Variant issue using the English sheets, including the English title page, of the second edition, but bound in the American publisher's binding. Publisher's list facing half-title page: "By the Same Writer." Cloth with "The Macmillan Company" imprint at the base of the spine. (Wade 47).
*If I Were Four-and-Twenty* by William Butler Yeats. Dublin : The Cuala Press, 1940. 1st edition. Limited to 450 numbered copies. This is no. 119. Printed on paper made in Ireland by Esther Ryan and Maire Gill. Paper boards with linen spine and paper spine label. (Wade 205).
*In the Seven Woods: being poems chiefly of the Irish heroic age* by William Butler Yeats. Dundrum [Dublin]: The Dun Emer Press, 1903. 1st edition and the press' 1st book. [Limited to 325 copies]. "Printed upon paper made in Ireland and published by Elizabeth Corbet Yeats...in the house of Evelyn Gleeson..." Linen with paper label on front cover and extra narrow label loosely laid in. (Wade 49).
*John Sherman and Dhoya* [by] Ganconagh [Pseudonym of William Butler Yeats]. London : T. Fisher Unwin, 1891. 1st edition. The Pseudonym Library, no. 10. 1644 copies printed with paper wrappers. (Wade 4).
*The King of the Great Clock Tower, Commentaries and Poems*, by William Butler Yeats. Dublin : The Cuala Press, 1934. 1st edition. Limited to 400 copies. Printed on paper made in Ireland and published by Elizabeth Corbet Yeats. Paper boards with linen spine and paper label on spine. Original transparent paper dust jacket. (Wade 179).
*The King of the Great Clock Tower, Commentaries and Poems* by William Butler Yeats. New York : Macmillan Company, 1935. 1st American edition. Cloth. Dust jacket. Uncut pages. (Wade 179A).
*The King's Threshold; a play in verse* by W. B. Yeats. New York : Printed for Private Circulation, 1904. 1st edition. Limited to 100 numbered copies. This is no. 2. Signed by the author. Paper boards with gilt top edge. (Wade 55).
*The Land of Heart's Desire* by William Butler Yeats. Portland, Maine : Thomas B. Mosher, 1904. "Third edition, February, 1904." First published in October, 1903. 950 copies published, "printed on Van Gelder hand-made paper..." Grey paper boards with paper labels affixed on front cover and on spine. (Wade 13).
*The Land of Heart's Desire* by W. B. Yeats. London : T. Fisher Unwin, 1894. 1st edition. Inscribed by the author and dated: "Jan 15 1933." It is estimated that 600 copies were published. Left side of title page is Aubrey Beardsley's design for the Avenue Theatre poster where it was first produced on March 29, 1894. At the end of the play publisher's one page advertisement: "By the Same author." Rebound in leather with gilt top edge and original paper covers laid in. (Wade 10).
*Last Poems and Two Plays* by William Butler Yeats. Dublin : The Cuala Press, 1939. 1st edition. Limited to 500 copies printed and published by Elizabeth Corbet Yeats. Paper boards with linen spine and paper label on spine. (Wade 200).
*Later Poems* by W.B. Yeats. London : Macmillan and Co., 1922. 1st edition. 1500 copies published. Cloth with design by Charles Ricketts stamped on front cover. Publisher's list after text: "Works by William Butler Yeats." (Wade 134).
*Letters on Poetry from W. B. Yeats to Dorothy Wellesley*. London, New York , Toronto : Oxford University Press, 1940. 1st edition. Contains 172 letters written by Yeats from May 1935 to December 1938. Frontispiece portrait of Yeats from a photograph by F. J. McCormick. Cloth with dust jacket. (Wade 325).
*Michael Robartes and the Dancer* by William Butler Yeats. Churchtown, Dundrum [Dublin]: The Cuala Press, 1920. 1st edition. Limited to 400 copies printed and published by Elizabeth Corbet Yeats on paper made in Ireland. Paper boards with linen spine and paper label on spine. (Wade 127).
*Modern Poetry* by W. B. Yeats. The eighteenth of the Broadcast National Lectures deliverd on 11 October 1936. London : The British Broadcasting Corporation, 1936. 1st edition. 1000 copies were published, but 200 were destroyed by incendiary bombs in 1940-41. First appeared in *The Listener*, October 14, 1936. Publisher's list facing title page: "Previous National Lectures." Paper wrappers. (Wade 188).
*New Poems*: W. B. Yeats. Dublin : The Cuala Press, 1938. 1st edition. Limited to 450 copies printed and published by Elizabeth Corbet Yeats. Music after text, 5pp. Paper boards with linen spine. (Wade 197).
*New Poems:* by W. B. Yeats. Cuala Press, 1938. From the library of Eugene and Carlotta O'Neill, with their book plate of a tree over a dolphine and with their signatures. Courtesy of the Eugene and Carlotta O'Neill Library.
*Nine One-Act Plays* by W. B. Yeats. London : Macmillan and Co., 1937. 1st edition. 1500 copies published. The New Eversley Series. Loosley inserted is a slip fro the *New Catholic Herald*, with its Fleet Street, London address, entitled: "With the Review Editor's Compliments", and requesting "(250 words)". It is signed by the English writer and actor Robert Speaight. Cloth. (Wade 190).
*October Blast* by William Butler Yeats. Dublin : The Cuala Press, 1927. 1st edition. Limited to 350 copies printed on paper made in Ireland and published by Elizabeth Corbet Yeats. First publication of the poem "Sailing to Byzantium". Paper boards with linen spine and paper label on spine. Uncut pages. (Wade 156).
*On the Boiler* by W. B. Yeats. Dublin : The Cuala Press[1939]. 1st edition, 2nd printing. Publisher's advertisement at the end of text: "The Cuala Press....Hand-printed books." Paper wrappers with a drawing by Jack B. Yeats on the front cover. According to Mrs. W. B. Yeats all but four copies of the first printing were destroyed. (Wade 202).
*A Packet for Ezra Pound:* by William Butler Yeats. Dublin : The Cuala Press, MCMXXVIV [sic] (i.e. 1929). 1st edition. Limited to 425 copies printed and published by Elizabeth Corbet Yeats on paper made in Ireland. Signed by the author. Original book plate drawing of a Pegasus by Jack B. Yeats, inscribed by him and dated: "Dublin November 1953." Paper boards with linen spine and paper label on spine. (Wade 163).
*Pages from a Diary Written in Nineteen Hundred and Thirty* by William Butler Yeats. Dublin : Cuala Press, 1944. 1st edition. Limited to 280 numbered copies of which 250 are for sale. This is no. 23. Printed by Esther Ryan and Maire Gill on paper made in Ireland. Paper boards with linen spine and paper label on spine. (Wade 207).
*Per Amica Silentia Lunae* by William Butler Yeats. London : Macmillan and Co., 1918. 1st edition. 1500 copies published. Publisher's list facing half-title page: "The Works or William Butler Yeats." Cloth with pictorial gold-stamped design by T. Sturge Moore. (Wade 120).
*The Player Queen* by W. B. Yeats. London : Macmillan and Co., 1922. 1st edition. 1000 copies published. The play appeared in *The Dial*, November, 1922 and was published on November 21, 1922. Paper wrappers. (Wade 138).
*Plays and Controversies* by W. B. Yeats. New York : The Macmillan Company, 1924. 1st American edition. Limited to 250 numbered copies. This is no. 148. Signed by the author. Frontispiece portrait of Yeats "from a charcoal drawing by John S. Sargent." Paper boards with cloth spine and paper labels on front cover and spine. Uncut pages. (Wade 140).
*Plays for an Irish Theatre* by W. B. Yeats. With designs by George Craig. Deirdre/The Green Helmet/ On Baile's Strand / The King's Threshold/ The Shadowy Waters/ The Hour ?Glass/ Cathleen ni Houlihan. London : A. H. Bullen, 1911. 1st edition. Later issue with white end papers. Publisher's list on verso of half-title page: "By the same Author." Frontispiece. Paper boards with linen spine and paper label on spine. (Wade 92).
*Plays in Prose and Verse, written for an Irish theatre, and generally with help of a friend* by W. B. Yeats. New York : The Macmillan Company, 1924. 1st American edition. Limited to 250 numbered copies. This is no. 2. Signed by the author. Lady Gregory is the "friend" who collaborated on "The Unicorn from the Stars" and who helped on most of the other plays. "Music for Plays" after text, pp.445-455. Paper boards with cloth spine and paper label on spine. Original glassine dust jacket. Uncut pages. (Wade 137).
*Poems* by W.B. Yeats. London : T. Fisher Unwin, 1895. 1st edition. 750 copies published. Decorative design encompassing title page is by H. Granville Fell. Cloth stamped with elaborate gilt pictorial design on front cover, spine, and back cover with the designer's initials H.G.F. Publisher's list after text: "By the Same Author." (Wade 15).
*Poems, 1899-1905* by W. B. Yeats. London : A. H. Bullen; Dublin : Maunsel & Co., 1906. 1st edition. Publisher's list facing half- title page: " By the Same Author." Cloth with gold design by Althea Gyles on spine. (Wade 64).
*The Poems of W. B. Yeats*. London : Macmillan and Co., 1949. Two volumes. 1st edition of the " Definitive edition." Limited to 375 numbered copies, of which 350 are for sale. This is no. 162. Signed by the author. Some time before his death Yeats revised the texts, corrected the proofs, and signed the limitation pages. Frontispiece portraits of Yeats in each volume, by John S. Sargent in vol. 1 and by Augustus John in vol. 2. Buckram boards with author's initials in gold on front cover. Gilt top edges. Publisher's slipcase. (Wade 209-210).
*Poems: Second Series. The Wind among the Reeds, The Old Age of Queen Maeve, Baile and Aillinn, In the Seven Woods, Songs from Deirdre, The Shadowy Waters* [by] William Butler Yeats. London & Stratford-on-Avon: A. H. Bullen, 1909. 1st edition. Published in March, 1910. Frontispiece portrait of the author from a photograph by Alvin Langdon Coburn. Publisher's list on verse of half-title page: "By the Same Author." Dark blue cloth with design in gold on spine. (Wade 83).
*Poetry and Ireland : essays.* by W. B. Yeats and Lionel Johnson. Churchtown, Dundrum [Dublin]: Cuala Press, 1908. 1st edition. Limited to 250 copies. Printed and published by Elizabeth C. Yeats. Paper boards with linen spine. (Wade 242).
*Reflections* by W. B. Yeats. Transcribed and edited by Curtis Bradford from the *Journals*. Dublin : The Cuala Press, 1970. 1st edition. Limited to 500 numbered copies printed on paper made in Ireland. This is no. 313. Paper boards with linen spine and paper label on spine. Uncut pages.
*Responsibilities: poems and a play* by William Butler Yeats. Churchtown, Dundrum [Dublin]: The Cuala Press, 1914. 1st edition. Limited to 400 numbered copies. This is no. 269. Printed and published by Elizabeth Corbet Yeats. Paper boards with linen spine. (Wade 110).
*Reveries over Childhood and Youth* by William Butler Yeats. Churchtown, Dundrum [Dublin]: The Cuala Press, 1915. 1st edition. Limited to 425 numbered copies. This is no. 234. Printed upon paper made in Ireland and published by Elizabeth C. Yeats. Accompanied by a portfolio volume containing portraits of John Butler Yeats, of Mrs. Yeats, and a color- print, "Memory Harbor", by Jack B. Yeats, with a single sheet note by "W. B. Y.". Both volumes on paper boards with linen spines. (Wade III).
*Reveries over Childhood and Youth* by William Butler Yeats. [Illustrated with three plates]. New York : The Macmillan Company, 1916. 1st American edition. Advance issue with publisher's perforation stamp on the title page stating: "Advance copy/Not for Sale /For Review". Signed by the author and dated: "Feb 22 1920". Coloured frontispiece by Jack B. Yeats. Cloth with front cover design by T. Sturge Moore. (Wade 112).
*The Secret Rose:* by W. B. Yeats, with illustrations by J. B. Yeats. London : Lawrence and Bullen, 1897. 1st edition. Most of these stories have appeared in either *The New Review, The Sketch, The National Observer* or *The Savoy*. Publisher's list facing half-title page: "By the Same Writer". Frontispiece. Cloth with design by Althea Gyles stamped in gold on front cover, spine and back cover. (Wade 21).
*Selected Poems of W. B. Yeats.* Amsterdam : A. A. Balkema, 1939. 1st edition. Limited to 200 copies. Printed on Haesbeck Imperial paper. Paper wrappers. (Wade 199).
*A Selection from the Love Poetry of William Butler Yeats*. Churchtown, Dundrum [Dublin]: The Cuala Press, 1913. 1st edition. Limited to 300 copies. Printed and published by Elizabeth C. Yeats. Paper boards with linen spine and paper label on spine. (Wade 106).
*A Selection from the Poetry of W. B. Yeats.* Copyright edition. Leipzig : Bernhard Tauchnitz, 1913. 1st edition, 1st issue. Collection of British Authors, Tauchnitz edition, vol. 4384. "Yeats himself selected the poems for inclusion, and the book contains the first appearance of the revised edition of "The Countless Cathleen...". At the end of the text is a catalog of the "Tauchnitz Edition", dated January 1, 1913, 32 pp. Publisher's advertisements of "Latest Volumes ? January 1913" on inside front cover and on both sides of back covers. Paper wrappers. (Wade 103).
*Stories of Red Hanrahan* by William Butler Yeats. Dundrum [Dublin]: The Dun Emer Press, 1904. 1st edition. 500 copies "printed upon paper made in Ireland , published by Elizabeth Corbett Yeats... in the house of Evelyn Gleeson..." Blue paper boards with paper labels affixed on front cover and on spine. Uncut pages. (Wade 59).
*Seven Poems and a Fragment* by William Butler Yeats. [With a decoration by T. Sturge Moore] Dundrum [Dublin]: The Cuala Press, 1922. 1st edition. Limited to 500 copies. Printed and published by Elizabeth Corbet Yeats on paper made in Ireland. Paper boards with linen spine. (Wade 132).
*The Shadowy Waters* by W. B. Yeats. London : Hodder and Stoughton , 1900. 1st edition. Published in December, 1900. The title work, a play, first appeared in *The North American Review,* May, 1900. Cloth with design in gold on front cover. (Wade 30).
*The Shadowy Waters,* by W. B. Yeats. Acting version, as first played at the Abbey Theatre, December 8th, 1906. London : A. H. Bullen, 1907. Theatre edition. "Written partly in verse, partly in prose; the prose seems to be largely the work of Lady Gregory". Publisher's advertisements on back of front cover: "Works by Mr. W. B. Yeats". Paper wrappers. (Wade 66).
*The Singing Head and the Lady* [by] W. B. Yeats. [Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania : Privately printed for the author by Frederick Prokosch] Xmas 1934. 1st edition. "Twenty copies of this poem were printed for the author...". This copy is one of six on rice paper, lettered a-f. This is d. First appeared in The Spectator, December 7, 1934. Paper wrappers with paper label on front cover. (Wade 180).
*Stories of Michael Robartes and His Friends: an extract from a record made by his pupils: and a play in prose* by W. B. Yeats. Dublin : The Cuala Press, 1931. 1st edition. Limited to 450 copies. Printed and published by Elizabeth Corbet Yeats on paper made in Ireland. Paper boards with linen spine and paper label on spine. (Wade 167).
*Stories of Red Hanrahan* and *The Secret Rose* by W. B. Yeats. Illustrated and decorated by Norah McGuiness. London : Macmillan and Co., 1927. Edition of 1885 copies published on November 11, 1927. Frontispiece. Cloth with decorated dust jacket and front cover. Publisher's list on back cover: "The Works of W. B. Yeats". (Wade 157).
*The Tables of the Law and the Adoration of the Magi.* by W. B. Yeats. London : Elkin Mathews, 1904. "First published edition, " previously privately printed in June, 1897. "De luxe" edition. One of an unspecified number of copies issued and printed on slightly thicker paper than the ordinary copies issued. Publisher's advertisements after text, 4 pp. Paper boards with linen spine. (Wade 25).
*Three Things* by W. B. Yeats. Drawings by Gilbert Spencer. [London : Faber & Faber, 1929]. 1st edition/8 pp. The Ariel Poems, no. 18. Published on October 9, 1929. First appeared in *The New Republic*, October 2, 1929. There is no title page but the front cover substitutes for it. Paper wrappers. (Wade 166).
*Three Things* by W. B. Yeats. Drawings by Gilbert Spencer. London : Faber & Faber, 1929. Large paper edition. Limited to 500 numbered copies printed on English hand-made paper. This is no. 191. Signed by the author. The Ariel Poems, no 18. Paper boards. (Wade 166).
*The Tower* by W. B. Yeats. London : Macmillan and Co., 1928. 1st edition, 2nd issue. From the library of Eugene and Carlotta O'Neill with their signed bookplate. Publisher's list after text, 2 pp.: "By W. B. Yeats". Cloth with designs in gold on front cover and spine by T. Sturge Moore. (Wade 158). Courtesy of the Eugene and Carlotta O'Neill Library.
*The Trembling of the Veil* by W. B. Yeats. London : Privately printed for subscribers only by T. Werner Laurie, 1922. 1st edition. Limited to 1, 000 numbered copies on hand-made paper. This is no. 927. Signed by the author. Frontispiece portrait of Yeats "from a picture by Charles Shannon." Publisher's list on verso of half-title page: "Privately Printed Books". Paper boards with paper label on front cover. (Wade 133).
*Two Plays for Dancers* by W. B. Yeats. [Churchtown, Dundrum, Dublin]: The Cuala Press, 1919. 1st edition. Limited to 400 copies. Printed and published by Elizabeth Corbet Yeats on paper made in Ireland. Paper boards with linen spine and paper label on spine. Uncut pages (Wade 123).
*The Unicorn from the Stars and other plays*. by William B. Yeats and Lady Gregory. New York : The Macmillan Company, 1908. 1st edition. Cloth with design in gold on spine by Althea Gyles. (Wade 73).
*The Wanderings of Oisin and Other Poems*. by W. B. Yeats. London : Kegan Paul, Trench & Co., 18889. 1st edition. 500 copies published. Author's 2nd book. Loosely inserted is a typed, 5 line note, on Waldorf-Astoria New York letterhead. Signed by Yets and dated "December 31st, 1932". Cloth. (Wade 2).
*W. B. Yeats.* [Introductory note by Humbert Wolfe]. [London : Ernest Benn, 1931, c. 1927. The Augustan Books of English Poetry (Second Series) no. 4, edited by Humbert Wolfe. 1st edition, third impression. Inscribed by the author's sister, Lily Yeats, and dated: "Xmas 1933". Paper wrappers. (Wade 155).
*Wheels and Butterflies* by W. B. Yeats. London : Macmillan and Co., 1934. 1st edition. After text: "Music to Fighting the Waves" by George Antheil, pp 161-181. Cloth with design of masks in gold on front cover. (Wade 175).
*When There Is Nothing:* being volume one of plays for an Irish Theatre: by W. B. Yeats. London : A. H. Bullen, 1903. 1st English edition. Irish writer "Forrest Reid's copy, signed by him with his pencil scorings throughout the text, and dated: "31/7/'05". Publisher's list facing half-title page: "By the Same Writer". Paper boards with linen spine and paper label on spine. (Wade 44).
*The Wild Swams at Coole, other verses and a play in verse*, by W. B. Yeats. Churchtown, Dundrum [Dublin]: The Cuala Press, 1917. 1st edition. Limited to 400 copies printed and published by Elizabeth Corbet Yeats on paper made in Ireland. Paper boards with linen spine and paper label on spine. (Wade 118).
*The Wind among the Reeds* by William Butler Yeats. London : Elkin Mathews, 1900. "Third edition"; first published in 1899. Publisher's list facing title page: "By the Same Writer", and publisher's advertisements after text 3 pp. Dark blue cloth with design (by Althea Gyles) on front cover. (Wade 27).
*The Winding Stair* by W. B. Yeats. New York : The Fountain Press, 1929. 1st authorized edition. Limited to 642 copies printed on Kalmar paper, of which 600 are numbered and for sale. This is no. 145. Cloth with two small red leather labels on spine. (Wade 164).
*The Winding Stair and Other Poems* by W. B. Yeats. London : MacMillan and Co., 1933. 1st edition. 2000 copies published. Consists of poems from *The Winding Stair* (1929) and from *Words for Music Perhaps* (1932). Cloth with design by T. Sturge Moore on front cover. Author's "portrait by Lafayette, Dublin " affixed to front flylead (Wade 169).
*Words for Music, Perhaps and Other Poems*: by W. B. Yeats. Dublin : The Cuala Press, 1932. 1st edition. Limited to 450 copies printed and published by Elizabeth Corbet Yeats on paper made in Ireland. Paper boards with linen spine and paper label on spine. Original transparent paper dust jacket. Uncut pages. (Wade 168).
*The Words upon the Window Pane: a play in one act, with notes upon the play and its subject*, by William Butler Yeats. Dublin : The Cuala Press, 1934. 1st edition. Limited to 350 copies printed and published by Elizabeth Corbet Yeats on paper made in Ireland. Paper boards with linen spine and paper label on spine. (Wade 174).

Books Contributed to by W. B. Yeats:

*A Book of Irish Verse, selected from modern writers.* With an introduction and notes by W. B. Yeats. London : Methuen and Co., 1895. 1st edition. Publisher's advertisements after text, 33 pp. Loosely placed is a paper notice of a "National Lecture [by] W. B. Yeats on Modern Poetry tonight at 9.5" with the Augustus John portrait of Yeats. Date of lecture is penned in: "11.20.36". Cloth. (Wade 225).
*A Book of Images.* Drawn by W. T. Horton & introduced by W. B. Yeats. London : At the Unicorn Press, 1898. 1st edition. The Unicorn Quartos, no. 2. Loosely inserted publisher's slip, referring to line 4 on page 14, "states that the Brotherhood of the New Life claims to be practical rather than visionary, and that the 'waking dreams' referred to ... are a purely personal matter." Cloth with pictorial front cover by Horton. (Wade 255).
*Broadsides. A Collection of Old and New Songs 1935*. Songs by W. B. Yeats, James Stephens, F. R. Higgins, Frank O'Connor, Lynn Doyle, Bryan Guiness, Padraic Colum. Illustrations by Jack B. Yeats, Victor Brown, Sean O'Sullivan, E. C. Peet, Harry Kernoff, Maurice McGonigal. Music by Arthur Duff. [Edited by W. B. Yeats and F. R. Higgins]. Dublin : The Cuala Press, 1935. 1st edition. Limited to 100 bound copies Signed by Yeats and Higgins. Paper boards with linen spine and paper label on front cover. (Wade 149).
Carleton, William. *Stories from Carleton.* With an introduction by W. B. Yeats. London : Walter Scott; New York and Toronto : W. J. Gage & Co. [1889]. 1st edition, 1st binding. The Camelot Series, no. 48. Publisher's advertisements after text, 6 pp. Cloth. "Yeats" dedication is "To my friend, the author of Shamrocks". (i.e. Katharine Tynan). Cloth. (Wade 214).
*Certain Noble Plays of Japan :* From the manuscripts of Ernest Fenollosa, chosen and finished by Ezra Pound, with an introduction by William Butler Yeats. Churchtown, Dundrum [Dublin]: The Cuala Press, 1916. 1st edition. Limited to 350 numbered copies printed and published by Elizabeth Corbet Yeats. This is no. 238. "Finished on the twentieth day of July, in the year of the Sinn Fein rising, nineteen hundred and sixteen." Paper boards with linen spine. (Wade 269).
Eglington, John. *Some Essays and Passages* by John Eglington: selected by Willliam Butler Yeats. Dundrum [Dublin]: The Dun Emer Press, 1905. 1st edition. Limited to 200 copies printed on paper made in Ireland and published by Elizabeth Corbet Yeats. Paper boards with linen spine and paper label on spine. (Wade 232).
*Fairy and Folk Tales of the Irish Peasantry*. Edited and selected by W. B. Yeats. London : Walter Scott; New York : Thomas Whittaker; Toronto : W. J. Gage and Co., 1888. 1st edition, 1st issue. The Camelot Series, , no 32. Yeat's dedication states: "Inscribed to my mystical friend G. R." This probably refers to the Irish poet George Russell (A. E.). Publisher's advertisements after text, 6 pp. Without the errata slip inserted, presumably, in later issues. (Wade 212).
*Florence Farr, Bernard Shaw and W. B. Yeats.* Edited by Clifford Bax. Dublin : The Cuala Press, 1941. 1st edition. Limited to 500 numbered copies "set in Caslon type, and printed by Esther Ryan and Maire Gill on paper made in Ireland..." This is no. 173. Yeats' letters to Florence Farr on pp 45 to 85. Paper boards with linen spine and paper label on spine. (Wade 327).
*Irish Fairy and Folk Tales*. Selected and edited, with introduction by W. B. Yeats. Twelve illustrations by James Torrance. London and Felling-on-Tyne: The Walter Scott Publishing Co., [1893?]. Variant issue in white cloth with pictorial front spine and back covers decorated in red, gold and yellow. Pictorial end papers and gilt edges. Frontispiece. Publisher's advertisements after text, 14 pp. (Wade 223).
*Irish Fairy Tales.* Edited with an introduction by W. B. Yeats. Author of "The Wanderings of Oisin, " etc. Illustrated by Jack B. Yeats. New York : Cassell Publishing Company, 1892. 1st American edition. Blue and white pinafore cloth with decorative covers and end papers. English sheets used with new title pasted in. Frontispiece. Publisher's list on verso of half-title paper: "The Children's Library." (Wade 217).
*Literary Ideals in Ireland.* By Richard Eglinton, W. B. Yeats, A. E., W. Larminie. London : T. Fisher Unwin, Dublin : Daily Expres Office [1899]. 1st edition. Paper wrappers. Publisher's advertisements after text, 7 pp. (Wade 297).
Moore, T. Sturge. *The Centaur's Booty.* London : Duckworth and Co., 1903. 1st edition. Inscribed by W. B. Yeats to Lady Cunard who was married to the son of the founder of the Cunard Line. She was introduced to Yeats by her former lover, the Irish novelist George Moore, and she became on of Yeat's patrons. Paper wrappers.
*Sophocles. Sophocles' King Oedipus*; a version for the modern stage by W. B. Yeats. New York : The Macmillan Company, 1928. 1st American edition. Music following play: "The Music for the Chorus, " pp 55-61. Cloth with dust jacket. Publisher's advertisement on back cover: "The Modern Readers' Series." (Wade 161).
A. E. (pseudonym of George William Russell). *Some Passages from the Letters of AE to W. B. Yeats.* Dublin : The Cuala Press, 1936. 1st edition. Limited to 300 copies printed and published by Elizabeth Corbet Yeats on paper made in Ireland. This copy is signed by Yeats. Paper board with linen spine and paper label on spine.
Masefield, John. *Some Memories of W. B. Yeats* by John Masefield. Dublin : The Cuala Press, 1940. 1st edition. Limted to 370 numbered copies set in Caslon type and printed by Esther Ryan and Maire Gill on paper made in Ireland. This is no. 132. Paper boards with linen spine. Frontispiece. Original glassine dust jacket.
*William Butler Yeats: Aetat. 70. [Dublin : The Irish Times, 1935]. 1st book edition. Cover title: "Reprinted from the Irish Times* of June 13, 1935. Includes, in Yeats' holograph, "A Song, " from *The Player Queen* "which has been revised for production in London during the autumn." Portraits of Yeats and the contributors. Paper wrappers.

Conrad Schoeffling
Special Collections Librarian
February 22, 2007

Winthrop Palmer Collection

Contact Information

Archives and Special Collections is located on the second floor of the LIU Post Library.
Rooms: 345-346

Heather Hesse - Special Collections Assistant
Archives and Special Collections
516/299-2880
Heather.Hesse@liu.edu

Hours: 9:00-5:00, Monday-Friday