Skip to main content

Archives and Special Collections: Archives of William E. Hutton II / Joan King Chapin Families - Miscellaneous

Archives and Special Collections is a repository for materials contained in a variety of formats: books, manuscripts, correspondence, journals, photographs, posters, maps, original drawings, theatre programs, archival documents, and other materials.

W.E. Hutton/Chapin Family Miscellaneous Documents

Category Item Number/Quantity Description Location
W. E. Hutton Family Miscellaneous Documents Graduation Program 1 program Closing exercises for The Hill School. Dated: Monday June 28, 1926. With lists of program, various songs, and honor roll members. Unfolded measurements: 27cm X 19cm. Box Binder 9
W. E. Hutton Family Miscellaneous Documents In Memoriam Folder 1 folder In Memoriam Folder Issued by the Cincinnati Chamber of Commerce for William E. Hutton (1845-1934). 21.5cm X 28cm. Box Binder 9
W. E. Hutton Family Miscellaneous Documents Reunion Program 1 program Reunion program entiotled"The First Hurdles: The Class of 1926 at The Hill Ten Years After." With notes from school officials, various photographs, and biographies of the graduates. 64 pages plus cover. Information on William E. Hutton is on page 34. 17.5cm X 25cm. Found inside: Page (973-974) from Harvard Alumni Bulletin. Box Binder 9
W. E. Hutton Family Miscellaneous Documents Envelope of Naval Orders 1 envelope Large brown envelope with various papers from William E. Hutton's naval service. Return address on envelope: B & H Photo Copy Co., Inc. Two Rector Street New York 6, N.Y. ITEM 1: Appointment in U.S. Naval Reserve for Lieutenant William Edward Hutton. Dated: January 23, 1942. 20cm X 26.5cm. ITEM 2: Orders-Change of Duty for Lieutenant Commander William E. Hutton. Dated: December 29, 1944. 20cm X 26.5cm. ITEM 3: Voucher for Per Diem and/or Reimbursement of Expenses Incident to Official Travel for Lieut. Commander William E. Hutton. Dated: February 12, 1945. 20.5cm X 27cm. ITEM 4: Voucher for Per Diem and/or Reimbursement of Expenses Incident to Official Travel for Lieut. Commander William E. Hutton. Dated: June 1, 1945. 20.5cm X 27cm. ITEM 5: Release from Active Duty for Lieut. Commander William E. Hutton. Dated: September 6, 1945. 20.5cm X 27cm. ITEM 6: Release from Active Duty for Lieut. Commander William E. Hutton (5 copies). Dated: September 6, 1945. Signed by WEHutton. 20.5cm X 27cm. ITEM 7: Endorsement for Lt. Comdr. William E. Hutton. From Commanding Office, Separation Center. Dated: September 7, 1945. 20.5cm X 27cm. ITEM 8: Voucher for Per Diem and/or Reimbursement of Expenses Incident to Official Travel for Lieut. Commander William E. Hutton. Dated: September 7, 1945. 20.5cm X 27cm. ITEM 9: Mileage Voucher for William E. Hutton. Dated: September 7, 1945. 20.5cm X 27cm. ITEM 10: Mileage Voucher for William E. Hutton. No date. 20.5cm X 27cm. ITEM 11: Report of Compliance with Orders for Lt. Comdr. Wiliam E. Hutton. Dated: September 12, 1946. 20.5cm X 27cm. (badly torn) ITEM 12: Annual Qualifications Questionnaire note from William E. Hutton (saying he doesn't need to fill out forms). With Letter from Third Naval District and Annal Qualifications Questionnaire and instructions. Dated: Setember 27, 1954. 21.5cm X 28cm. ITEM 13: Honorable Discharge letter to William Edward Hutton. Dated: June 3, 1955. Signed by Chase Van Valkenburg (original plus 1 copy). 20cm. X 26.5cm ITEM 14: Annual Qualifications Questionnaire filled in by William E. Hutton. Undated. 21.5cm X 35.5cm Box Binder 9
W. E. Hutton Family Miscellaneous Documents Commemorative Program 1 item Commemorative program for the commissioning of the U.S.S. WASP CV-18. Cover plus insert listing program and history of earlier WASP ships. Commissioned: November 24, 1943. 16cm X 23.5cm Box Binder 9
W. E. Hutton Family Miscellaneous Documents Letter 1 typed page Envelope: No. Letter from the United States Pacific Fleet, Air Force, Pacific Fleet. Dated: March 13, 1945. Marked confidential. To: Lieutenant Commander William Edward Hutton USNR (126261). From: Commander Air Force, Pacific Fleet. For the delivery of "One Bronze Star Medal and Temporary Citation." Signed: G.D. Murray. With blank sheet beneath. 20.5cm X 27cm. Box Binder 9
W. E. Hutton Family Miscellaneous Documents Record Jacket 1 record jacket Officer's Qualification Record Jacket for William Edward Hutton. Contains papers pertaining to current orders and job history. Dated: January 10, 1945. 15cm. X 23cm. Box Binder 9
W. E. Hutton Family Miscellaneous Documents Separation Notice 1 typed page Notice of separation from the U.S. Naval Service. For: William Edward Hutton. Dated: October 8, 1945. Signed: H.S. Haines, Lieut. USNR and by William Edward Hutton. 20.5cm X 27cm. Box Binder 9
W. E. Hutton Family Miscellaneous Documents Letter 2 handwritten pages Envelope: No. Letterhead: The Hill School, Pottstown, Pennsylvania. Dated: Jan.[?] 5, 1947. "My dear Willie...Affectionarely yours Jake." 21.5cm X 14cm. Box Binder 9
W. E. Hutton Family Miscellaneous Documents Graduation Excercises Program June 6, 1958 1 program Graduation exercises program from The Warren School, Chester, New Jersey. Date: Friday, June 6, 1958. William E. Hutton III, of Wesbury, Long Island, is listed as a member of the class of 1958. William E. Hutton III also is listed as presenting a senior essay on "The History of American Painting." Unfolded measurements: 25.5cm X 18cm. Box Binder 9
W. E. Hutton Family Miscellaneous Documents Greenvale School Report Cards 1958 - 1960 16 Report Cards Report cards for Inez Hutton from The Green Vale School. Dates: January 1958-June 1960. Report cards cover subjects of English, French, Latin, Mathematics, Geography, History, and Science. Supplementary report cards cover Art, Crafts, Physical Education, and Music. Teachers provide grades as well as general and specific comments. 21.5cm X 28cm. Box Binder 9
W. E. Hutton Family Miscellaneous Documents Wine List 1 page M. Lehmann Inc., N.Y., listing of 1959 Bordeaux for sale. Contains descriptions of 19 different wines from various French vinters. Unfolded measurements: 35.5cm X 55.5cm. Box Binder 9
W. E. Hutton Family Miscellaneous Documents Wine List 1 page M. Lehmann Inc., N.Y., listing of 1959 Burgandies for sale. Contains descriptions of 21 different wines from various French vinters. With order form. Unfolded measurements: 14cm X 19.5cm. Box Binder 9
W. E. Hutton Family Miscellaneous Documents Letter and Wine List 2 typed pages From Sherry Wine & Spirits Co. Inc. to Mr. W.E. Hutton. Dated: November 14, 1959. With listing of Bordeaux for sale. 18.5cm x 26.5cm. Box Binder 9
W. E. Hutton Family Miscellaneous Documents Letter and Wine List 5 typed pages From Sherry Wine & Spirits Co. Inc. to Mr. W.E. Hutton. Dated: December 8, 1959. With listing of Burgundies and Bordeaux for sale. 21.5cm x 28cm. Box Binder 9
W. E. Hutton Family Miscellaneous Documents Wine Report 4 typed pages "A report on the present wine situation (Spring 1960) prepared for Mr. W.E. Hutton" by Sherry Wine & Spirites Co. Inc. With order form. 21.5cm X 33cm. Box Binder 9
W. E. Hutton Family Miscellaneous Documents School Handout 1 item Brochure entitled "The Above All," from headmaster of The Hill School regarding truth. Dated: July 1960. 11.5cm X 16cm. Box Binder 9
W. E. Hutton Family Miscellaneous Documents The Hill School Camp Report Card 1 Report Card plus 3 comment sheets Report card for Thomas J. Hutton from The Hill School Camp, Wolfeboro, New Hampshire. Date: August 24, 1960. Grades given for Spanish and Geometry. With remarks from director of studies. 15.5cm X 24cm. Comment sheets are from subject teachers and counselor. Box Binder 9
W. E. Hutton Family Miscellaneous Documents Upper Canada College Report Cards 1960-1961 3 Report Cards Report cards for Thomas J. Hutton from Upper Cananda College. Dates: November 1, 1960, and June 9, 1961. Regular report cards cover subjects from English, History, Geography, French, Latin, Mathematics, Geography, and Science. Grades and comments. 21.5cm X 30.5cm. Box Binder 9
W. E. Hutton Family Miscellaneous Documents Letter of Evalutaion 1 typed letter A copy of a letter of evaluation for William E. Hutton III, from: Allan L. Gruer, Captain, USAF. To: Lt. Col. Donald A. Shaw, Commander, 3637 THCCRTNGSQ. Dated: April 13, 1962. With added note at bottom from Donald A. Shaw to William E. Hutton III. Dated: April 13, 1962. 22cm X 28cm. Box Binder 9
W. E. Hutton Family Miscellaneous Documents Airman of the Month 1 typed letter Letter naming William E. Hutton as Airman of the Month for April 1962. From: James E. Thomas 1/Lt. Dated: April 19, 1962. 22cm X 28cm. Box Binder 9
W. E. Hutton Family Miscellaneous Documents Pedigree Certificate and Photograph 1 certificate/1 photograph American Kennel Club Export Pedigree Certificate--U.S.A. Only. For "Benshiel Calvados" with family lineage. Labrador Retriever. With Kennel Club seal. Dated: July 4, 1963. "Horace" handwritten at top of sheet. 23.5cm X 33cm. Photograph of black lab, labeled "Horace (Best Lab ever)" on reverse. 18cm X 12.5cm Box Binder 9
W. E. Hutton Family Miscellaneous Documents Letter 2 handwritten pages and 2 typed pages Envelope: Yes. Not mailed. Addressed to: W.E. Hutton Esq. The Connaught Hotel Carlos Place. "Blue Lobster Painting" written above address. 16.5cm X 11cm. Letterhead: The Trafford Gallery 119, Mount Street W.1, Gosvenor 2021. Dated: December 4, 1964. "Dear Sir...Yours faithfully Barbar Dunell, the secretary." Next two pages are a receipt and carbon copy for watercolor painting "Blue Lobster" by Mary Talbot. Dated: December 4, 1964. 13cmX 17.5cm. Box Binder 9
W. E. Hutton Family Miscellaneous Documents In Memoriam Folder 1 folder In Memoriam Folder for Alfred P. Sloan Jr. 1875-1966. With photograph, short biography, and dedication. [Sloan was Chairman of General Motors in 1937]. Unfolded measurements: 28cm X 21.5cm. Box Binder 9
W. E. Hutton Family Miscellaneous Documents White House Program 1 program White House program honoring His Majesty Faisal ibn Abd al-Aziz Al-Saud King of Saudi Arabia. Text reads: "In honor of His Majesty Faisal ibn Abd al-Aziz Al-Saud King of Saudi Arabia Tuesday, June 21, 1966, The White House." Details performances by various groups. Unfolded measurements: 35.5cm X 18.5cm. Includes menu card dated Tuesday, June 21, 1966. 10.5cm X 16.5cm. Box Binder 9
W. E. Hutton Family Miscellaneous Documents In Memoriam Folder 1 folder In memoriam Folder for: William Max Faber, MD; Michael Bourne Fenninger; Robert Barton Nield. From The Hill School. Dated: September 23, 1966. Unfolded measurements: 21.5cm X 14cm. Box Binder 9
W. E. Hutton Family Miscellaneous Documents Prayer Folder 1 folder "Let Us Pray: A collection of prayers composed and offered by Sixth Formers in The Hill School Chapel between 1956 and 1967." Dated: July 1967. 11cm X 16cm. Box Binder 9
W. E. Hutton Family Miscellaneous Documents Boarding School Booklet 1 booklet Booklet entitled: "You and Your Boarding School" by Edward T. Hall, headmaster of The Hill School. With inscription: "To Bill Hutton, With deep appreciation and gratitude. Ned." 54 pages plus cover. Copyright: 1967. 15.5cm X 23cm. Box Binder 9
W. E. Hutton Family Miscellaneous Documents Letter with enclosures 4 items Letter containing Information regarding the sale of an original oil painting from the Galerie Urban Tableaux et Dessins Modernes 18, Rue du Faubourg Saint-Honore. Dated: Paris, November 14, 1967. "Dear Mrs. Hutton...Yours very truly A. Urban." 21cm X 27cm. FIRST ENCLOSURE: Receipt and carbon copy of receipt. Dated: November 13, 1967. 13cmX 21cm. SECOND ENCLOSURE: Declaration of Authenticity with signature of artist "Mottet." Dated: Paris, November 13, 1967. 21cm X 27cm. THIRD ENCLOSURE: Special Customs Invoice. Dated: Paris, France, November 13, 1967. 21.5cm. X 28cm. Box Binder 9
W. E. Hutton Family Miscellaneous Documents Newspaper Clipping & Note 1 item Note to Hutton Partners on the death of James M. Hutton (December 1967) from William E. Hutton with attached article from Cincinnati newspaper (headline: "James M. Hutton Jr."). 21.5cm X 28cm. Box Binder 9
W. E. Hutton Family Miscellaneous Documents Death Announcement 1 item Death announcement for James M. Hutton (December 1967) from W.E. Hutton & Co. attached to Doremus & Company paper. Announcement: 10cm X 8.5cm. Paper: 21.5cm X 28cm. Box Binder 9
W. E. Hutton Family Miscellaneous Documents The Hill School Bulletin 1 bulletin The Hill School Bulletin. Winter Issue 1969. Cover photo: The Dedication of Sherrerd House with William E. Hutton, President of the Board of Trustees. 40 pages plus cover. 21.5cm X 27.5cm. Box Binder 9
W. E. Hutton Family Miscellaneous Documents Graduation Program 1 item The Hill School June 8, 1969 118th Annual Bacalaureate Service program. Unfolded measurements: 33cm X 25.5cm. Box Binder 9
W. E. Hutton Family Miscellaneous Documents Letter 1 typed page Envelope: No. Letterhead: Van Der Straeten Old English Furniture--Works of Art and Gallery of Contemporary Artists 981 Madison Avenue (Hotel Carlyle) New York, N.Y. 10021. Dated: June 23, 1970. To: Mrs. W.E. Hutton. Invoice for "Honfleur" by Jean Monneret oil painting. From: Vincent R. van der Straeten. 21.5cm X 28cm. Box Binder 9
W. E. Hutton Family Miscellaneous Documents Letter 1 typed page Envelope: No. Letterhead: New Japan Securities International Inc. 80 Pine Street, New York, N.Y. 10005, U.S.A. Dated: August 1, 1972. "Dear Mr. Hutton...Sincerely Yoshihiro Tanaka Senior Vice President." 21.5cm X 28cm. [Photo that originally accompanied letter can be found in Box Binder 12.] Box Binder 9
W. E. Hutton Family Miscellaneous Documents Address List 7 typed pages USS WASP (CV-18) listing of corrected addresses of former shipmates as of August 1972. William E. Hutton listed on page 3. "WASP crew" handwritten on back page. 21.5cm X 28cm. Box Binder 9
W. E. Hutton Family Miscellaneous Documents The Hill School Bulletin 1 item "Hill: The Hill School Bulletin April 1982." Cover headline: "Jim Moffatt Moves On." With note on front to Bill Hutton from Jim Moffatt. Dated: April 19, 1982. 21.5cm. X 28cm. Box Binder 9
W. E. Hutton Family Miscellaneous Documents Luncheon Menu 1 item Menu entitled "The Recess" from Board of Governor's Farewell and Christmas Luncheon. Dated: Monday, November 20, 1983. Signatures of attendees (including William E. Hutton) on back panel. Unfolded measurements: 33cm X 20cm. Box Binder 9
W. E. Hutton Family Miscellaneous Documents Menu 2 items Handwritten menus from The Links, 26 East 62nd Street. Dated: W.E. Hutton & Company 1886-1986. 15cm X 22cm. Box Binder 9
W. E. Hutton Family Miscellaneous Documents Luncheon Menu 1 item Menu from Director's Christmas Luncheon 1986. Menu with decorative seal on front depicting bull and bear. William E. Hutton listed as past president. Dated: December 12, 1986. 14cm X 21.5cm. Box Binder 9
W. E. Hutton Family Miscellaneous Documents Luncheon Menu 1 item Menu from Director's Christmas Luncheon 1989. Menu with decorative seal on front depicting bull and bear. William E. Hutton listed as past president. Dated: December 8, 1986. 14cm X 21.5cm. Box Binder 9
W. E. Hutton Family Miscellaneous Documents Commemorative Booklet 1 item Commemorative booklet from "Les Vingt-Six," of the first 26 dinners held by this group. Booklet contains reproductions of newspaper articles, invitations, menus, and photographs. Dated: 1991. 21.5cm X 27.5cm. Also: Photograph of the original group in 1976. 18cm X 12.5cm. Box Binder 9
W. E. Hutton Family Miscellaneous Documents Illustration 1 page Drawing of the White House. "Limited Edition for Republican Presidental Task Force." Numbered 43/2000. With seal of Republican Presidental Task Force. Signature unreadable, 1996. Box Binder 9
Category Item Number/Quantity Description Location
Miscellaneous Business Papers Fidelity Union Trust Company - Statement of Assets - William E. Hutton Trust - Insurance FD T J H FD JT TR - Jan. 19, 1956 1 Small, yellow-brown pamphlet folder containing a statement of assets for the Thomas Hutton Trust fund. Folded out the dimensions are - 31.5cm X 21cm. Cover reads: "Fidelity Union Trust Company/ Trust Department/ Statement Of Assets/ William E Hutton Trust/ Insurance FD T J H FD JT TR/ Newark/ Belleville * East Orange * Irvington/ New Jersey." Closed the folder has the following dimensions, 11.5cm X 22.5cm. Box 10
Miscellaneous Business Papers Fidelity Union Trust Company - Statement of Assets - William E. Hutton Trust - Insurance FD I C H FD JT TR - Jan. 19, 1956 1 Small, yellow-brown pamphlet folder containing a statement of assets for the Inez Hutton Trust Fund. Folded out the dimensions are - 31.5cm X 21cm. Cover reads: "Fidelity Union Trust Company/ Trust Department/ Statement Of Assets/ William E Hutton Trust/ Insurance FD I C H FD JT TR/ Newark/ Belleville * East Orange * Irvington/ New Jersey." Closed the folder has the following dimensions, 11.5cm X 22.5cm Box 10
Miscellaneous Business Papers Fidelity Union Trust Company - Statement of Assets - William E. Hutton Trust - Family FD I C H FD JT TR 1 Small, yellow-brown pamphlet folder containing a statement of assets for Common Stock: Rudolph Wurlitzer Co Com for the Inez Hutton Trust Fund.. The folded out insert dimensions are -- 31.5 cm X 21.5 cm. Cover reads: "Fidelity Union Trust Company/ Trust Department/ Statement Of Assets/ William E Hutton Trust/ Family FD I C H FD JT TR./ Newark/ Belleville • East Orange • Irvington/ New Jersey." Closed the folder has the following dimensions, 11.5cm X 22.5cm Box 10
Miscellaneous Business Papers Fidelity Union Trust Company - Statement of Assets - William E. Hutton Trust - Childrens FD T J H FD JT TR 1 Small yellow-brown pamphlet folder containing a statement of assets for Common Stock: Rudolph Wurlitzer Co Com. The folded out insert dimensions are -- 31.5 cm X 21.5 cm. Cover reads: "Fidelity Union Trust Company/ Trust Department/ Statement Of Assets/ William E Hutton Trust/ Childrens FD T J H FD JT TR/ Newark/ Belleville • East Orange • Irvington/ New Jersey." Closed the folder has the following dimensions, 11.5cm X 22.5cm. Box 10
Miscellaneous Business Papers Fidelity Union Trust Company - Statement of Assets - William E. Hutton Trust - Childrens FD I C H FD JT TR 1 Small yellow-brown pamphlet folder containing a statement of assets for Common Stock: Rudolph Wurlitzer Co Com. The folded out insert dimensions are -- 31.5 cm X 21.5 cm. Cover reads "Fidelity Union Trust Company/ Trust Department/ Statement Of Assets/ William E Hutton Trust/ Childrens FD I C H FD JT TR/ Newark/ Belleville • East Orange • Irvington/ New Jersey." Closed the folder has the following dimensions, 11.5cm X 22.5cm Box 10
Miscellaneous Business Papers Fidelity Union Trust Company - Statement of Assets - Joan C. Hutton Trust - Insurance FD I C H FD JT TR 1 Small yellow-brown pamphlet folder containing a statement of assets for common stock: Duquesne Light Co Com, Rotary Electric Steel Co Com, and Seaboard Air line R R Co Com. Miscellaneous assests for Canada Life Assurance Co Policy. The folded out insert dimensions are -- 31.5 cm X 21.5 cm. Cover reads "Fidelity Union Trust Company/ Trust Department/ Statement Of Assets/ Joan C Hutton Trust/ Insurance FD I C H FD JT TR/ Newark/ Belleville • East Orange • Irvington/ New Jersey." Closed the folder has the following dimensions, 11.5cm X 22.5cm Box 10
Miscellaneous Business Papers Fidelity Union Trust Company - Statement of Assets - Joan C. Hutton Trust - Family FD I C H FD JT TR 1 Small yellow-brown pamphlet folder containing a statement of assets for common stock: Duquesne Light Co Com, Rotary Electric Steel Co Com, and Seaboard Air line R R Co Com. The folded out insert dimensions are -- 31.5 cm X 21.5 cm. Cover reads "Fidelity Union Trust Company/ Trust Department/ Statement Of Assets/ Joan C Hutton Trust/ Family FD I C H FD JT TR/ Newark/ Belleville • East Orange • Irvington/ New Jersey." Closed the folder has the following dimensions, 11.5cm X 22.5cm Box 10
Miscellaneous Business Papers Fidelity Union Trust Company - Statement of Assets - Joan C. Hutton Trust - Childrens FD I C H FD JT TR 1 Small yellow-brown pamphlet folder containing a statement of assets for common stock: Duquesne Light Co Com, Rotary Electric Steel Co Com, and Seaboard Air line R R Co Com. The folded out insert dimensions are -- 31 cm X 21.5 cm. Cover reads "Fidelity Union Trust Company/ Trust Department/ Statement Of Assets/ Joan C Hutton Trust/ Childrens FD I C H FD JT TR/ Newark/ Belleville • East Orange • Irvington/ New Jersey." Closed the folder has the following dimensions, 11.5cm X 22.5cm Box 10
Miscellaneous Business Papers January 31, 1951 - Investment Statement - Joan C. Hutton 0 Investments are "in account with W.E. Hutton & Co.14 Wall Street, New York 5, N.Y." Pencil notations included. Four pages. 32cm X 21.5cm. Box 10
Miscellaneous Business Papers February 28, 1951 - Investment Statement - Joan C. Hutton 0 Investments are "in account with W.E. Hutton & Co.14 Wall Street, New York 5, N.Y." Pencil and red pen notations included (three out of the four pages has the word "Corrected" written with black ink on it). Four pages. 32cm X 21.5cm. Box 10
Miscellaneous Business Papers March 30, 1951 - Investment Statement - Joan C. Hutton 0 Investments are "in account with W.E. Hutton & Co.14 Wall Street, New York 5, N.Y." Pencil notations included. Five pages. 32cm X 21.5cm. Box 10
Miscellaneous Business Papers April 30, 1951 - Investment Statement - Joan C. Hutton 0 Investments are "in account with W.E. Hutton & Co.14 Wall Street, New York 5, N.Y." Pencil and green pen notations included. Five pages. 32cm X 21.5cm. Box 10
Miscellaneous Business Papers May 31, 1951- Investment Statement - Joan C. Hutton 0 Investments are "in account with W.E. Hutton & Co.14 Wall Street, New York 5, N.Y." Pencil and green pen notations included. Four pages. 32cm X 21.5cm. Box 10
Miscellaneous Business Papers June 29, 1951 - Investment Statement - Joan C. Hutton 0 Investments are "in account with W.E. Hutton & Co.14 Wall Street, New York 5, N.Y." Pencil notations included. Five pages. 32cm X 21.5cm. Box 10
Miscellaneous Business Papers July 31, 1951 - Investment Statement - Joan C. Hutton 0 Investments are "in account with W.E. Hutton & Co.14 Wall Street, New York 5, N.Y." Pencil and green pen notations included. Five pages. 32cm X 21.5cm. Box 10
Miscellaneous Business Papers Part One: August 31, 1951 - Investment Statement - Joan C. Hutton. Part Two: Includes pencil notations on paper labeled "Joan" 0 Part one: Investments are "in account with W.E. Hutton & Co.14 Wall Street, New York 5, N.Y." Pencil and a green pen notation included. Four pages. 32cm X 21.5cm. Part two: 2 pages have pencil notations on paper labeled "Joan" found with the August 31, 1951 investment statement. Two pages. 9cm X 14cm. Box 10
Miscellaneous Business Papers September 28, 1951 - Investment Statement - Joan C. Hutton 0 Investments are "in account with W.E. Hutton & Co.14 Wall Street, New York 5, N.Y." Pencil notations included. Five pages. 32cm X 21.5cm. Box 10
Miscellaneous Business Papers October 31, 1951 - Investment Statement - Joan C. Hutton 0 Investments are "in account with W.E. Hutton & Co.14 Wall Street, New York 5, N.Y." Pencil notations included. Five pages. 32cm X 21.5cm. Box 10
Miscellaneous Business Papers November 30, 1951- Investment Statement - Joan C. Hutton 0 Investments are "in account with W.E. Hutton & Co.14 Wall Street, New York 5, N.Y." Pencil notations included. One marking stands out which states "rent check used as cash." Five pages. 32cm X 21.5cm. Box 10
Miscellaneous Business Papers December 31, 1951 - Investment Statement - Joan C. Hutton 0 Investments are "in account with W.E. Hutton & Co.14 Wall Street, New York 5, N.Y." Pencil notations included. Five pages. 32cm X 21.5cm. Box 10
Miscellaneous Business Papers Colvinex Corporation - Capital Stock Certificate- Paul Gayne 0 A green threefold certificate that states "Paul Gayne is the owner of sixty-three hundred shares of the capital stock of Colvinex Corporation." The certificate is dated August 2nd, 1937. There are various pencil markings including the word "Cancelled," and written on the back"valued trustees." 27cm X 20.5 cm. Box 10
Miscellaneous Business Papers Colvinex Corporation - Capital Stock Certificate- Evelyn C. Joyce. Small fragment was attached 0 A green threefold certificate that states "Evelyn C. Joyce is the owner of 500 hundred shares of the capital stock of Colvinex Corporation." The certificate was signed August 2nd, 1937. There are various pencil markings. On the inside of the threefold, one reads "cancelled not issued." 27cm X 20.5. Removed staple placed in mylar along with the stock certificate. Box 10
Miscellaneous Business Papers Morning Stock Letter - December 21, 1945 0 Two copies of the same morning stock letter of the W.E. Hutton & Co. written at 3p.m December 20th by L.O. Hooper. One appears to be the original while the other appears to be a later copy. Body of text has 54 lines. This letter is celebrating 1945 holiday season, the first Christmas since 1939 that the world was not at war. 21.5cm. X 35cm. Box 10
Miscellaneous Business Papers Press Release - Hutton Elected to Avis, Inc. Board. - January 9, 1961 0 Press release providing formal introduction of W.E. Hutton and his election to the Avis Rent-a-Car Corporation. Including a short biography and lists fellow members of the board. Dated January 9, 1961. The text is 22 lines long. 21.5cm X 27cm. Box 10
Miscellaneous Business Papers The Prescription People, Inc. - Common Stock Certificate - Joan C. Hutton 0 Two blue common stock certificates totalling 250,000 shares for "The Prescription People, Inc" for Joan C. Hutton. Dated August 4, 1986. One has label number "PPW 8112," the other has label number "PPW 8111." Both are 31cm X 21.5cm. Box 10
Miscellaneous Business Papers Appraisal Book of Mr. & Mrs. William E. Hutton - February 25, 1977 - Chicken Valley Road 0 In a pressboard binder: Appraisal of residential contents of Mr. & Mrs. William E. Hutton, Chicken Valley Road, Locust Valley, N.Y. Dated as of February 25, 1977. Certificate of insurable value. 25.5cm X 31.5cm. Detached sheet is "Appraisal Affiliates, Inc. Breakdown of residential contents" of same residence. 21cm X 28cm. Box 10
Miscellaneous Business Papers Part 1: Appraisal Book of Mr. & Mrs. William E. Hutton - February 13-15, 1968. Part 2: Photographs found in appraisal book dated February 13-15, 1968. 0 Part one: Green binder with 3 brad fasteners. "Appraised Inventory of Household Furnishings" for "Mr. & Mrs. William E. Hutton, Locust Valley, L.I. and New York City." Binder contains various pencil markings. Metal paperclip removed from page 1 of entrance hall of the New York, N.Y., section of the binder. 24cm X 29.5cm. Found in the appraisal book are color photographs of various paintings. Five photographs are stamped "April 1993." 15cm X 10cm. Box 10
Miscellaneous Business Papers Part One: Appraisal Book of Mr. & Mrs. William E. Hutton - February 25, 1977 - Chicken Valley Road. Part Two: Post-it-Notes. Part Three: Loosepages 0 Part One: Black binder printed with gold letters "Ms. & Mrs. William E. Hutton." This binder contains "Appraisal of residential contents of Mr. & Mrs. William E. Hutton, Chicken Valley Road, Locust Valley, N.Y." Dated February 25, 1977. Certificate of insurable value included. Blue ink and pencil notations through out the book. 25.5cm X 30cm. Part Two: two light blue ripped post-it notes. The first post-it note was attached to page 26, the second post-it note was attached to page 43. Part Three: Two loose pages, page 43 in large blue ink reads "Appraised Inventory 1968" with the title "Books." 20cm X 28cm. The other loose page, page 7 in blue ink reads "Appraisal 1977" with the title of "Office, Books." Box 10
Mementos and Ephemera "The In-Line Six" - Chaplin Family - Bill Chapin 0 Presentation booklet about the Chapin Family created by Bill Chapin entitled "The In-Line Six: The Story of a Family Growing Up in the Motor Car Industry." 28cm X 21.5cm. Box 10
Category Item Number/Quantity Description Location
W. E. Hutton/Chapin Family Oversized Miscellaneous Items U.S. Navy Officer Service Record folder 1 folder Contains various papers related to WE Hutton II's military service, including Annual Qualification Questionnaire for Inactive Service, letters, honorable discharge information. Dated from 1945-1954. Box 12
W. E. Hutton/Chapin Family Oversized Miscellaneous Items Menu and illustration 1 item Stock Exchange Luncheon Club menu with drawing of bull and bear. Dated: Monday, August 5, 1968. On reverse: "From W.E. Hutton to Hayden Stone," a crayon drawing of large house with crowd of people in front. Attached to this is a newspaper article about William E. Hutton recently selling his "mansion." 32cm X 21cm. Box 12
W. E. Hutton/Chapin Family Oversized Miscellaneous Items Wine list 1 item Hotel St. Regis wine list. 20pp. Undated. With handwritten note "To Mr. Hutton...From B. Devine." 21cm X 29cm. Box 12
W. E. Hutton/Chapin Family Oversized Miscellaneous Items Menu 1 item Handwritten menu from The Rainbow Room. "High Dining on the Rockefeller Center Roof." Dated: March 8, 1984. With signatures of attendees, including William E. Hutton II's, on front panel of insert. 22cm X 30cm. Box 12
W. E. Hutton/Chapin Family Oversized Miscellaneous Items Wine tasting folder 1 folder plus 9 typed sheets "La Confrerie des Chevaliers du Tastevin" menu for "diner des postulants," Hotel Pierre, New York City. Dated: Tuesday, November 13, 1984. Lists dinner courses and wine selections. William E. Hutton II is Grand Officier and Chairman. With rope braid. 23.5cm X 31 cm. Typed pages comprise list of questions to ask candidates. 21.5cm X 28cm. Also includes two placards: "Grand Officier Wililam E. Hutton" and "Chavalier Andre Gadaud." Unfolded measurements: 16.5cm X 14cm (each). Box 12
W. E. Hutton/Chapin Family Oversized Miscellaneous Items Wine tasting folder 1 folder plus 9 typed sheets, plus letter and list of candidates names "La Confrerie des Chevaliers du Tastevin" menu for "diner des postulants," Hotel Pierre, New York City. Dated: Wednesday, November 20, 1985. Lists dinner courses and wine selections. William E. Hutton II is Grand Officier and Chairman. With rope braid. 23.5cm X 31 cm. Typed pages comprise list of questions to ask candidates. 21.5cm X 28cm. Also includes: Letter from Edward H. Beneson to Bill Hutton on "Confrerie des Chavaliers du Tastevin" letterhead. Dated: November 11, 1985. 21.5cm X 28cm. Also includes: Typed list of names of candidates. 21.5cm X 35cm. Box 12
W. E. Hutton/Chapin Family Oversized Miscellaneous Items Reunion program 1 item "The Hill School Class of 1926 at Its 65th Reunion, June 1991." Includes information about reunion costs, activities, and updates on each graduate. 22cm X 28cm. Box 12
Oversized W. E. Hutton Family Miscellaneous Items Inez Tiedeman portrait 1 drawing, 4 photographs, and 1 negative Pencil drawing of Inez Tiedeman, dated December 30, 1904. Drawing: 19.5cm X 25cm. Board: 27.5cm X 35.5cm. Also: Photographic negative of drawing: 9.5cm X 12cm; 2 large photographic copies of drawing: 20.5cm X 25.5cm; and 2 small photographic copies of drawing: 12cm X 17cm. Box 12
Category Item Number/Quantity Description Location
Newspaper Clippings Clippings from the 1930s 17 clippings 1. Clippings gathered for W.E. Hutton & Co. by Albert Frank-Guenther Law Advertising: 13 clippings regarding W.E. Hutton II being admitted to W.E. Hutton & Co. as a partner from various newspapers, July 1-July 8, 1933. 2. Advertisement: "We are pleased to announce...," July 1, 1933. 3. "Troth Announced" (with photos of Joan Chapin and Wiliam H. Hutton II). No newspaper or date cited. 4. "News of Engagement and Arrival of Visitor From Abroad--Miss Chapin to Be Bride." The Detroit Free Press, Thursday, June 30, 1938. (2 copies) Box 13
Newspaper Clippings Clippings from the 1940s 4 clippings 1. "Fisher Big Revealed by Hudson." Detroit Free Times, May 21, 1945. (Mentioned in letter in Box 3). 2. "Fishers Attempting to Buy 400,000 Shares of Hudson." Detroit News, May 21, 1945 (Mentioned in letter in Box 3). 3. No headline; drawing and captions of men who led automotive industry. Detroit Free Press, June 1, 1946. (2 copies). Box 13
Newspaper Clippings Clippings from the 1950s 14 clippings 1. "Victor" (with photo of Stuart Symington). Partial paper name. Dated August 6, 1952. Originally included with letter from Box Binder 4 (dated August 7, 1952). 2. "Heads Campaign." World Telegram & The Sun, March 8, 1954. 3. "Hutton in Cancer Drive." March 8, 1954. 4. Clippings gathered for W.E. Hutton & Co. by Doremus & Company: 10 clippings on the 70th anniversary of the firm of W.E. Hutton & Co. from various newspapers, March 7-March 12, 1956. 5. Clipping gathered by New York Life Insurance Company agent re "Hutton's 70th Anniversary." No paper or date cited. 6. Advertisement: "March 7--our 7th Anniversary...," 1956. No paper or date cited. 7. "International Set Cavorts in Austria." With photo of Mrs. Sarah Ann Chapin. No paper or date cited. Originally included with letter from Box Binder 5 (September 24, 1956). 8. "P.S. From Paris." New York Herald Tribune. Originally included with letter from Box Binder 5 (November 10, 1956). Box 13
Newspaper Clippings Clippings from the 1960s 10 clippings 1. "Guild Signs Director." New York Herald Tribune, February 11, 1965 (on The Music Theater of Lincoln Center stationery). 2. "William E. Hutton Named Treasurer of Music Theater." New York Times, February 11, 1965 (on The Music Theater of Lincoln Center stationery). 3. "Steel Product Prices Edge Higher" with note "Brokers Elect Hutton" (with photo of William E. Hutton). Daily News, November 22, 1965. 4. "Financial People" (with photo of William E. Hutton). No magazine cited. December 1965. 5. "First Such Meeting in Kansas City: Host to Stock Exchange Leaders" (with photo of William E. Hutton). The Kansas City Star, May 1, 1966. 6. "S.E.C. to Issue Mutual Fund Report Soon" with sidebar "'Piecemeal' Changes in Stockbrokers' Fees Opposed" (with William E. Hutton pictured). The New York Times, November 17, 1966. 7. At 80, W.E. Hutton & Co. Still a Family Firm" (with photo of James Hutton II, James Hutton III, William Hutton II, and William Hutton III). No newspaper cited. "1966" written in pencil. 8. "Hutton Memorial Library Dedication on Sunday: Noted Guests Will Attend Special Program." Barnesville Enterprise, April 18, 1968. 9. "Beautiful, New Hutton Memorial Library Dedication Sunday." Barnesville Enterprise, April 18, 1968. 10. Advertisement: "Presenting Hutton Memorial Library." In Barnesville Enterprise, April 18, 1968. Box 13
Newspaper Clippings Clippings from the 1970s 7 clippings 1. "Time Changes Hands (with photo of W.E. Hutton & Co. sign). Clipped from paper by "Steve" from Justin J. Stevenson, Jr. office in Cincinnati, Ohio. The Post & Star Times, May 6, 1970. 2. "Oltimers Recall Past as Hutton Marks 84th Year." Reprinted from Investment Dealers' Digest, August 4, 1970. 3. "Clawd Bawl Award for Bawl Streets' Man of the Year" (with illustration and brief blurb about several men, including William E. Hutton). The Bawl Street Journal, June 4, 1971. 4."Investors Abroad Like U.S. Stocks." Dallas Times Herald, April 27, 1972. 5. "W.E. Hutton Marks 86 Years" (with photo of James M. Hutton III and William E. Hutton). The Commerical and Financial Chronicle, March 9, 1972. 6. "Alumni Day" (with photo of William E. Hutton). Hill Topics, July 1972. 7. "Willy Hutton: Stockbroker To Artist and 'Freedom'" (with photo of William Edward Hutton III). Detroit Free Press, October 20, 1972. Box 13
Newspaper Clippings Clipping from the 1980s 1 clipping 1. "Palm Beach Sales Enrich the Rich" (with photo of William F. Hutton III (sic)). The New York Times, June 7, 1981. Box 13
Newspaper Clippings Undated clippings 11 clippings 1. "William E. Hutton Dead in Cincinnati" (with photo of William E. Hutton). No paper or date cited. 2. "Wall Streeters at the Front" (with photo of Lt. Comm. W.E. Hutton). No paper or date cited. 3. "The Duchess of Windsor" (with photo). No paper or date cited. 4. "Broker Celebrates Birthday." No paper or date cited. (Mentioned in letter in Box 1.) 5. "Royalty in Overalls: King George Gets Himself Job in War Plant, on Night Shift." No paper or date cited. (Mentioned in letter in Box 2). 6. "Brokers Elect Hutton" (with photo of William E. Hutton). No newspaper or date cited. 7. Walter Stuempfig Dead at 56; A Painter and Professor of Art." No paper or date cited. 8. Stock Exchange Officer Heads Cancer Drive Unit" (with photo of William E. Hutton). Clipped from paper by The Hotel Barclay. No newspaper or date cited. 9. Photo with caption "At the Lewis L. Bredins'..." (with William E. Hutton pictured). No paper or date cited. 10. "New York Stock Exchange..." No paper or date cited. 11. "Miscellany." No paper or date cited. Box 13
Category Item Number/Quantity Description Location
W. E. Hutton Family Undated Miscellaneous Documents Book Plate 1 Book Plate Boofplate text: Ex Libris Inez and Roy Chapin, with drawing of a front door and neo-classical façade. 6cm X 9cm. Box Binder 10
W. E. Hutton Family Undated Miscellaneous Documents Note Card With Drawing 1 Note Card Front on card: Spiritus Gladius emblem in pencil. Reverse: "This is an original design by Brock and Company and must not be taken from the store." 6.5cm X 11.5cm. Box Binder 10
W. E. Hutton Family Undated Miscellaneous Documents Unused Stationery 1 Note Card and Envelope Blank note card in blue with white letterhead and return address: 160 Provencal Road Grosse Pointe Farms 36, Michigan. Envelope: 14.5cm X 9.5cm. Note card (unfolded): 18.5cm X 14cm. Box Binder 10
W. E. Hutton Family Undated Miscellaneous Documents Picture Book 1 Book Book made from illustrations taken from other sources. First section: Illustrations from possible advertisement. Second section: hand-drawn and cut illustrations of farm. Third section: Comic strip. Fourth section: Poem taken from another source. Book is bound with pink string. Included: Joan King Chapin calling card: "To Mother and Daddy." Book: 12.5cm X 20.5cm. Calling card: 6cm X 3.5cm. Box Binder 10
W. E. Hutton Family Undated Miscellaneous Documents Envelope with Locks of Hair 2 locks of hair Envelope labeled "Baby's hair" with two locks of hair. One reads "Our baby Inez age 3 mo." Second reads "My darling Inez 1 year old." Envelope: 14cm X 9cm. Box Binder 10
W. E. Hutton Family Undated Miscellaneous Documents Homemade Card 1 card Happy Father's Day card. No date or greeting. "I hope you will use this item during Winter. Love Inie." Unfolded measurements: 14cm X 15.5cm Box Binder 10
W. E. Hutton Family Undated Miscellaneous Documents Bird Feather 1 feather Bird feather found between two photographs. Box Binder 10
W. E. Hutton Family Undated Miscellaneous Documents Family List 1 list List of names in Morgan-Hutton family with birth and death dates (most from the late 1800s). 10cm X 11.5cm. Box Binder 10
W. E. Hutton Family Undated Miscellaneous Documents Ship Information Card 1 card Information regarding the steamer "J.A.W. Inglehart" including its dimensions, with photograph of ship. 15cm X 10cm. Box Binder 10
W. E. Hutton Family Undated Miscellaneous Documents Song Lyrics 2 sheets Song lyrics entitled "Slide Mongoose" and "Woman Sweeter Than Man." 21.5cm X 28cm. Box Binder 10
W. E. Hutton Family Undated Miscellaneous Documents Storage Index 20 sheets inside 1 envelope Inventory/storage index for Thomas J. Hutton. 20 small sheets of paper list contents of storage boxes, from sweaters to shoes to "assorted precious junk." Envelope: 13.5cm X 10cm. Sheets: 9cm X 11cm. Box Binder 10
W. E. Hutton Family Undated Miscellaneous Documents Illustration 1 sheet Illustration of mock family seal on Mill Reef Club Antigua B.W.I. stationery. Motto: "Plenum Vini Bullshitumque Sum" with drawings of bull, bear and ticker tape. 22cm X 28cm. Box Binder 10
W. E. Hutton Family Undated Miscellaneous Documents Illustration and Wine List 2 handwritten sheets Page 1: Drawing of a man in a library. With caption: "you! Dad sitting ath the T.V. watching Ed Sullivan's Show!" Page 2: On front--wine list. On back-- "Dear Little Inie, It is time for you to go to bed. Good night, Dad" written twice in two different hands. 21.5cm X 35.5cm Box Binder 10
W. E. Hutton Family Undated Miscellaneous Documents Physical Fitness Plan 1 plan Booklet entitled "A Plan for Keeping Executives Physically Fit." For: William E. Hutton. From: William James O'Connor. Includes 6 pages of exercise sheets. 18.5cm X 27cm. Box Binder 10
W. E. Hutton Family Undated Miscellaneous Documents Death Notices 1 folder Six newspaper clippings on the death of William. D. Hutton (brother of James M. Hutton and uncle of W.E. Hutton II). No dates. Paper bound with black ribbon. 15.5cm x 23cm. Box Binder 10
W. E. Hutton Family Undated Miscellaneous Documents Liquor Catalog 1 catalog Sherry Wine & Spirits Co. Inc. listing of "favorites." Catalog contains descriptions and prices. 12 pages. 22 cm. X 28 cm. Box Binder 10
W. E. Hutton Family Undated Miscellaneous Documents Order of Worship 1 booklet The Hill School Order of Worship. No date. Unfolded measurements: 33cm X 25.5cm. Box Binder 10
W. E. Hutton Family Undated Miscellaneous Documents Note Card and Biographical Folder 2 items Note card: To Mr. & Mrs. Hutton from Mildred Sands Krantz. Cover is reproduction of an original painting by Krantz. Unfolded measurements: 18cm X 25cm. Folder is about the artist Mildred Sands Kratz, A.W.S. Spring Dell, R.D. 2, Pottstown, PA.. With information on artist and her paintings. Unfolded measurements: 42cm X 21.5cm. Box Binder 10
W. E. Hutton Family Undated Miscellaneous Documents Christmas Card 1 card Three-panel Christmas card will illustration of "Trinity Church in the Fifties" on front. Inside: Reprint of an original engraving of "Twas the Night Before Christmas" by Clement C. Moore. Signed: "Bob and Nancy." Unfolded measurements: 43.5cm X 23.5cm Box Binder 10
W. E. Hutton Family Undated Miscellaneous Documents Unmarked Postcards 26 items Various unmailed postcards. (2) "Greetings from Pensacola, Florida. Home of the U.S. Naval Air Station." With illustration of duck. 14cm X 9cm. (2) Sankaty Head Lighthouse, Nantucket, massachusetts. Photograph of lighthouse. 14cm X 9cm. (5) Antigua, West Indies. Illustrated map of island. 15cm X 10.5cm. (2) Aquamarine, Mill Reef, Antigua. Aerial photograph by Jo Hutton. 14cm X 9cm. (1) Nelson's Dockyard, English Harbor, Antigua, W.I. Aerial photograph by Jo Hutton (slightly torn at bottom). 14cm X 9cm. (1) Pickney Hill Plantation, Monticello, Florida. Photograph by Jo Hutton. 14cm X 9 cm. (1) Nantucket, Mass. "Sailor's friend, the first sign of land." Photograph of seagull in flight. 14cm. X 9cm. (1) Nantucket Island, "30 miles at sea." Illustratration of island. 14 cm X 9cm. (1) Nantucket Island from 270 miles. Skylab satellite photograph. 17cm. x 12.5cm. (8) Packet of Hallmark "Line-Dropper" postcards with underwater illustration. 14.5cm x 9.5cm. (1) Porto D'Ischia. Photograph of a harbor with handdrawn arrow pointing to a house on a distant hill. Writing on back. 15cm x 10.5cm. (1) George Anne Gillsepie. "Reflections on Oak Bluffs." Oil painting with note from Sara Tiezeman. 15cm X 10cm. Box Binder 10
W. E. Hutton Family Undated Miscellaneous Documents Membership Cards 20 cards Various membership cards to different clubs for Willilam E. Hutton. Includes: 1. Admiralty Islands Theatres 2. Beaux-Arts Cave 3. Chanteclair Club 4. The Club New Yorker 5. Cosmopolitan Club 6/7. La Confrerie des Chavaliers du Tastevin 8. Embassy Club 9. 44 Club 10. The Hunt Club 11. Lenox Club 12. Masters' and Pilots' Association 13. The New Ball and Chain 14. The New Royal Box 15. Old Wayne Club 16. The Old Pioneer Club 17. Reymando 18. The Simplon Club, Inc. 19. Travel & Leisure Elite Traveler 20. Twenty-One West Fifty Second Street Box Binder 10
W. E. Hutton Family Undated Miscellaneous Documents Membership Card 1 card Membership card, Admiral of the Flagship Fleet, for Mrs. W.E. Hutton Box Binder 10
W. E. Hutton Family Undated Miscellaneous Documents Navy Service ID Cards 6 items Various items issued for W.E. Hutton during Navy service. Includes: 1. Ancient Order of the Deep (U.S.S. Wasp) 2. Duty Status Card (dated 4-16-45) 3. Commissioned Officer's Mess card (dated Mar 19, 1945) 4. Fourteenth Naval District motor vehicle authorization (dated May 23, 1945) 5. Membership Officers Tennis Club 6. City and County of Honolulu Police Department Summons for violation of curfew (dated Feb 25, 1945). Box Binder 10
W. E. Hutton Family Undated Miscellaneous Documents Hunting Licenses 12 items Licenses and other items related to hunting for William E. Hutton. Includes: 1 . New York State Resident Free Hunting License. October 1, 1977-September 30, 1978. 2. Canadian Hunting License issued October 10, 1980. 3. Florida Non-Resident Hunting License issued January 18, 1982. 4. State of South Carolina Non-Resident Hunting License issued 2-18-1982. 5/6. Orvis gun receipts (2) dated Oct. 8, 1984. 7. Customs form for "personal affects taken abroad" for shotgun. Dated Oct. 19, 1984. 8. Canadian Hunting License issued October 20, 1984. 9/10. Ontario, Canada, License to Hunt Small game (2 licenses- Dated October 20, 1984 and October 25, 1985). 11. Florida Non-Resident Hunting License issued February 5, 1987. 12. Florida Non-Resident Hunting License issued October 24, 1987. Box Binder 10
W. E. Hutton Family Undated Miscellaneous Documents Visa [?] 1 item Russian visa (?) with photograph of W.E. Hutton. No distinguishable date. Unfolded measurements: 19cm X 15cm. Box Binder 10
W. E. Hutton Family Undated Miscellaneous Documents Christmas Card 2 cards Envelope: No. Front of card: "Christmas Greetings" with black, red and grey snowflake design. Slot for a photo. Photo is of a house. Inside right: Reindeer illustration. Inside left: "Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year Inez Chapin." Undated. 13.5cm X 13.5cm. Box Binder 10
W. E. Hutton Family Undated Miscellaneous Documents Handmade Valentine's Day Cards 2 cards CARD 1: Single panel with lace and cut-out illustrations. Text reads "A Message of Love." 13.5cm X 14cm. CARD 2: Folded card with "You are my Valentine's" and "p.s. Look under the hearts" on front. Inside is illustration of black scottie dog with hearts that can be raised and the text "Wishing looking at his Valentine." Unfolded measurements: 21.5cm X 13.5cm. Box Binder 10
Joan Chapin Childhood Miscellaneous Documents Hand Trace 1 item Outline of Joan King Chapin's hand. Dated July 15, 1919. 21.5cm X 27cm. Box Binder 10
Joan Chapin Childhood Miscellaneous Documents Letter 1 handwritten sheet Envelope: Yes. 14cm X 9cm. Not mailed. Addressed as: "From Joan...To Mother." Inside: "Dear Mother I love you a lot. I love the things you gave me for my birthday. I love Daddy very much." Unfolded measurements: 13cm X 16.5cm. Also a long string of paper dolls: 25.5cm X 4.5cm. Box Binder 10
Joan Chapin Childhood Miscellaneous Documents Handwriting Sample 1 sheet Handwriting sample by Joan Chapin. Name "George Washington" is written 3 times. Undated. 24cm X 10.5cm. Box Binder 10
Joan Chapin Childhood Miscellaneous Documents Spelling Tests 5 tests Spelling tests by Joan Chapin. Three are dated for May 1925 (May 19, May 21, and May 28). Two are undated. 27.5cm X 21cm (4 large sheets)/24cm X 10.5cm (small sheet). Box Binder 10
Joan Chapin Childhood Miscellaneous Documents Story 3 handwritten pages Story written by Miss Joan Chapin. Entitled: "Cubby the Bear." Dated: October 28, 1926. 21.5cm X 28cm. Box Binder 10
Joan Chapin Childhood Miscellaneous Documents Story 7 handwritten pages Story written by Miss Joan Chapin. Entitled: "A Hundred Years Ago" Dated: September 29, 1927. Sheets bear the letterhead: Harbor Point Club House, Harbor Point, Michigan. Two outer sheets have blue crayon-like border. Unfolded measurements: 26.5cm X 16.5cm. Box Binder 10
Joan Chapin Childhood Miscellaneous Documents Report Card 1 report card The Grosse Pointe School Pupil's Report card for Joan Chapin. No date. 19cm X 9cm. Box Binder 10
Joan Chapin Childhood Miscellaneous Documents Essay 2 handwritten sheets Essay written by Joan Chapin. Entitled: "Are You a True Friend?" Dated Jan. 28, 1934. 20cm X 26.5cm Box Binder 10
Correspondence and other documents related to "Jockeys..." Painting Letter with Drawings 1 handwritten page Envelope: No. Large paper is taken from book with illustrations of paintings. Small notecard attached. Letterhead: Henry Koehler 219 East 49th Street, New York 17, N.Y. Dated: June 12, 1961. "Dear Mrs. Hutton...Sincerely Henry Koehler." Letter regards Hutton's purchase of "Jockey's Walking into Belmont" by Koehler. 16cm X 23cm. Box Binder 10
Correspondence and other documents related to "Jockeys..." Painting Photographs 2 photos Photos of the painting "Jockeys Going into Belmont Park" in an unmarked envelope. One photo has writing on back: "Jockeys Walking Henry Koehler-artist 1961. Property of Mrs. William E. Hutton." Same photo also has numbers written on jockeys. Dated: Dec. 1990. 13cm X 9cm. Box Binder 10
Correspondence and other documents related to "Jockeys..." Painting Letter with Enclosure 1 typed page Envelope: No. Letterhead: The Jockey Club, P.O. Box 90, Jamaica, New York 11417 (718) 641-4700. Dated: April 7, 1993. "Dear Mr. Thieriot...Very truly yours, Sue Bradley." Letter is regarding the identification jockeys (by their silks) in the painting "Jockeys Walking into Belmont" by Koehler. Included: Copy of this letter and a copy of the letter above sent by Koehler to the Huttons with jockeys numbered on photocopy. 21.5cm X 28cm. Box Binder 10
Correspondence and other documents related to "Jockeys..." Painting Letter 1 handwritten page Envelope: No. Letterhead: Mrs. William E. Hutton, 680 Chicken Valley Rd., Locust Valley, NY 11560. With phone number and fax number added. Dated: April 13, 1993. "Dear Mrs. Robinson...With many thanks, Cordially, Joan C. Hutton." Letter is regarding Ms. Bradley's efforts to identify the jockeys in the painting "Jockeys Walking into Belmont" by Koehler (see entry above). Included: Photocopy of this letter. 18.5cm X 27.5cm. Box Binder 10
Correspondence and other documents related to "Jockeys..." Painting Letter 1 typed page Envelope: No. Letterhead: National Museum of Racing and Hall of Fame. Dated: April 28, 1993. "Dear Mrs. Hutton...Sincerely Field Horn, Curator." Letter is regarding identification of the jockeys in the painting "Jockeys Walking into Belmont" by Koehler (see entry above). 21.5cm X 28cm. Box Binder 10
Correspondence and other documents related to "Jockeys..." Painting Consignment Agreement 1 page Sotheby's "Master Consignment Agreement." Consignor: Mrs. William Hutton. Not signed or dated. Unfolded measurements: 35cm X 21.5cm. Box Binder 10
Correspondence and other documents related to "Jockeys..." Painting Consignment Receipt 1 page Sotheby's "Consignment Receipt." Consignor: Mrs. William Hutton. Dated: March 30, 1993. Receipt for two items: Henry Koehler's "Jockeys Going Into Belmont Paddock" and J.J. Audobon "Birds of America, 7 volumes, 1840 edition. 21.5cm X 28cm. Box Binder 10
Correspondence and other documents related to "Jockeys..." Painting Letter and Receipt 2 pages No envelope. Letter and Receipt are copies of originals. LETTER: Letterhead: Sotheby's 1334 York Avenue, New York, New York 10021 (with telephone and telex numbers). Letter is not dated. "Dear Consignor...Yours sincerely Benjamin Doller Vice President 19th Century European Paintings and Sculpture." Agreement signed: William E. Hutton and dated May 4, 1994. RECEIPT: For painting "Jockeys Going Into Belmont Park." Date: April 26, 1993. 21.5cm X 28cm. Box Binder 10
Correspondence and other documents related to "Jockeys..." Painting Remittance Advice 1 page From Sotheby's, 1334 York Avenue, NY, NY 10021. For Mrs. William Hutton. Dated July 20, 1993. Lists of sold and unsold lots and money due to Huttons. 28cm X Box Binder 10
Correspondence and other documents related to "Jockeys..." Painting Conditions of sale 1 page Condition of sale form from Sotheby's regarding "Conditions of Sale." 35cm X 21.5cm. Box Binder 10
Correspondence and other documents related to "Jockeys..." Painting Photographs 5 photos Photos (copies of other photos?) of the painting "Jockeys Going into Belmont Park" in an envelope. Envelope marked on front: Jockeys Henry Koehler, 31.5 x 26.5 overall, #234. Return address (imprinted); 20 East 63rd Street, New York City. Paper accompanying photo lists possible jockeys. Two photos have "31.5 x 26.5 overall" written on back. 12.5cm X 9cm. Box Binder 10
Correspondence and other documents related to "Jockeys..." Painting Note 1 handwritten page Note on white paper: "Mrs. Paula Robinson, Sotheby's, Fax: 212-606-7039." 13cm X 7.5cm. Box Binder 10
Loading