Skip to main content

Archives and Special Collections: Archives of William E. Hutton II / Joan King Chapin Families - Mementos & Ephemera

Archives and Special Collections is a repository for materials contained in a variety of formats: books, manuscripts, correspondence, journals, photographs, posters, maps, original drawings, theatre programs, archival documents, and other materials.

W.E. Hutton/Chapin Family Mementos and Ephemera

Category Item Number/Quantity Description Location
Mementos and Ephemera Brass Letter Opener 1 Brass, highly decorative, and embossed with raised images. 25.5cm in length. Box 1
Mementos and Ephemera Hill School Clear Plastic Paper Weight 1 Contains embedded nail/ spike. Left of the nail reads "John Meigs House 1793-1973." To the right of the nail reads "The Hill School 1851." Diameter 9cm. Box 1
Mementos and Ephemera W.E. Hutton Button Pin 2 Picture of W.E. Hutton on a circular button pin. Diameter 5.5cm. Box 1
Mementos and Ephemera Ammunition Belt 1 Dark green ammunition belt. Adjustable. Room for 25 rounds of ammunition. The initials JCH appear in black on the belt.24.5cm in length. 4.5cm in width. Box 1
Mementos and Ephemera Telephone Notepad 1 Full leather notepad with a decorative metal plate, thick outer border which is silver colored, and an inner segment which is gold colored. A letter 'T' is etched into the center cover. There is paper upon which to take telephone messages. A leather loop to hold a pen on the right side. 19.5cm X 8.5cm Box 1
Mementos and Ephemera American Cancer Society Award Plaque 1 Wooden plaque with a gold metal plate neat the bottom with the following text, "Wm.E. Hutton - In grateful acknowledgment of outstanding service to the cause of cancer control - American Cancer Society". Upper 2/3rds of the plague has the symbol for the American Cancer Society - two serpents twining around a hilt of a sword. 8cm X 24cm Box 1
Mementos and Ephemera Hill School Plaque 1 Shield shaped plaque with the coat of arms for the Hill School and text: "Whatsoever Things Are True." 18cm X 15cm Box 1
Mementos and Ephemera Business Card Holder plus Personalized Business Card 1 Black plastic business card holder. Contains, blank, white business cards with only the name "William E. Hutton" centered on the card. Open the dimensions are - 10cm X 12cm Box 1
Mementos and Ephemera WEH Initial Stamper 1 Heavy brass stamp with the initials "WEH". The head is attached via a long brass handle with a wooden knob on the end. 30cm in length. Box 1
Mementos and Ephemera WEH Initialed Post-it Notes Holder 1 Small box with no lid covered in leather. Has enough depth for 2 pads of post-its. There is a lengthening of the holder where the copper etched "WEH" are displayed. 11.5cm X 10cm X 2cm Box 1
Mementos and Ephemera Initialed Post-it Notes 0 Standard white post-its with the name "William E. Hutton" in the upper left corner. 10Cm X 7.5 cm Box 1
Mementos and Ephemera WH Initialed Bill Fold 1 Bill fold is blue leather with the initials "WH" is gold lettering. The front has 4 covered corners to allow the insertion of a photograph. Below is the phrase, "Smythson Of Bond Street". 14cm X 9cm Box 1
Category Item Number/Quantity Description Location
Mementos and Ephemera Large American Cancer Society Award Plaque 1 Large wooden plaque with text: "Meritorious Service Award to William E. Hutton For Exceptional and Devoted Service Since 1951 in the Crusade to Conquer Cancer - American Cancer Society New York City Division, Inc. 1976". 30cm X 22.5cm Box 2
Mementos and Ephemera New York Stock Exchange Board of Governors Plaque 1 Wooden plaque from the New York Stock Exchange with text: "Member, Board of Governors New York Stock Exchange". Following text in the bottom middle of metal plate, " Name Plate From Chair In Board of Governors Room". There are two spaces above and below the middle text, with accompanying empty screw holes, where it looks like two name plates were removed. 28cm X 20.5cm Box 2
Mementos and Ephemera The Huttons Napkins 11 items 11 white napkins with two blue stripes along each edge of the napkin. Printed in corner in red ink:"The Huttons". 21.5cm X 21.5cm. Box 2
Category Item Number/Quantity Description Location
Mementos and Ephemera Brass Luggage Tags 2 Personalized luggage tags. One for Mr. Hutton, another for Mrs. Hutton. Both have the address of their residence at the time. 7.5cm X 2.5cm Box 3
Mementos and Ephemera Tiffany & Co Credit Card 1 Expired Tiffany and Co. credit card. Signed by Mrs. W.E. Hutton 5cm X 8.5cm Box 3
Mementos and Ephemera Admirals Club American Airlines Luggage Tag 1 For Mrs. W.E. Hutton. 4cm X 8cm Box 3
Mementos and Ephemera Framed Birthday Invitation to "The Stock Exchange Luncheon Club" 1 Wood-framed invitation to The Stock Exchange Luncheon Club, with text: "You are cordially invited to attend a special reception to honor former President William 'Waldorf Willy' Hutton on the occasion of his ninety-second birthday. Main Dining Room - The Stock Exchange Luncheon Room Club - Monday After The Close - May 24, 1999". 19.5cm X 24cm Box 3
Mementos and Ephemera W.E. Hutton Personal Stationary 5 Pads The text at the top of the pad reads "All Bull, No Bear - William E. Hutton". The background of the pad is three columns of stock quotes. 20.5cm X 15cm Box 3
Mementos and Ephemera W.E. Hutton Harvard Appreciation Box 1 Wooden box bound in red leather with text "Veritas" as a coat-of-arms. Below reads "W.E.H. In Appreciation of Service to Harvard." 11cm X 4cm X 19.5cm Box 3
Category Item Number/Quantity Description Location
Mementos and Ephemera Audio Recording of President Reagan Seeking Reelection 1984 1 Audiotape of president Reagan's Presidential Address from the Presidential Strategy Series. Two sided audio recording. Produced in special recognition of: Mr. W.E. Hutton. Box 4
Mementos and Ephemera Pair of Sterling Silver Cufflinks 1 pair Sterling silver cufflinks with the insignia "SIA." Box 4
Mementos and Ephemera Armco Loyal Service Pin 1 Circular Pin commemorating 25 years of service with embossed words "Loyal Service." Box 4
Mementos and Ephemera US Navy Pin 1 Pin of the insignia for the US Navy Box 4
Mementos and Ephemera RN Pin 2 Pair of Pins with the initials RN. One with a diamond between the letters, the other with the year "1972" below the letters. Box 4
Mementos and Ephemera Dark Banded Ring 1 Striped gradations of brown. Appears to be ivory, or wood. Box 4
Mementos and Ephemera 1991 Pin 1 Pin with the year "1991." Box 4
Mementos and Ephemera Squarish Brass Golf Tournament Pendant 1 Male figure swinging a golfclub on front. Written on back, "Hole-In-One Medal Presented by the Makers of US Royal Golfballs" 2.5cm height. Box 4
Mementos and Ephemera Squarish Brass Golf Tournament Pin 1 Female figure swinging a golfclub on front. Written on back, "Hole-In-One Medal Presented by the Makers of US Royal Golfballs" 2.5cm height. Box 4
Mementos and Ephemera Virgin Mary Miracle Medal 1 On front of medal is the virgin Mary surrounded by the prayer, "O Mary Conceived Without Sin Pray For Us Who Have Recourse To Thee." On the back is the insignia of "M" with a cross signifying Mary. The back of medal is ringed with st Box 4
Mementos and Ephemera Virgin Mary and Baby Jesus Miracle Medal 1 Brass or bronze colored medallion. Image of the Virgin Mary holding the baby Jesus, with an angel on either side. Box 4
Mementos and Ephemera US Navy Lapel Pin 2 Seal of the US Navy on the front. The initials "W.E.H." on the back. Box 4
Mementos and Ephemera Useppa Island Lapel Pin 1 Pin with a fish jumping out of the ocean, initials "IWC" and Useppa Island cross. Box 4
Mementos and Ephemera Coin Of Unknown Origin 1 The front of coin has the profile of a Roman or Hellenic figure, the back has a partial image of what appears to be an anchor. Diameter is 1.5cm Box 4
Category Item Number/Quantity Description Location
Mementos and Ephemera Squarish Brass Golf Tournament Pendant 1 Small white covered, red spined diary/day planner. The book covers the span of the entire year of 1967. Inside are reminders, receipts, notes, and etcetera for each individual day of that year. The initials "W.E.H." are on the lower-right of the front cover. 15.5cm X 21cm X 4cm Box 5
Mementoes and Ephemera 1959 Engagement Calendar 1 Small red leather appointment book/engagement calendar. On the front in gold lettering is written "1959". Below is the seal of the Harvard Club of New York. 6.5cm X 10cm Box 5
Mementoes and Ephemera 1960 Engagement Calendar 1 Small black leather appointment book/engagement calendar. In the center of the front cover in gold letters are the initials "W.E.H.", and in the lower right corner is the year "1960." 6.5cm X 10.5cm Box 5
Mementoes and Ephemera 1961 Engagement Calendar 1 Small black leather appointment book/engagement calendar. In the upper right of the front cover in gold letters is the year "1961." 6.5cm X 10.5cm Box 5
Mementoes and Ephemera 1962 Engagement Calendar 1 Small black leather appointment book/engagement calendar. In the center of the front cover in gold letters are the initials "W.E.H.", and in the upper right corner is the year "1962." 6.5cm X 10.5cm Box 5
Mementoes and Ephemera 1963 Engagement Calendar 1 Small black leather appointment book/engagement calendar. In the lower right of the front cover in gold letters is the the year 1963. 6.5cm X 10.5cm Box 5
Mementoes and Ephemera 1964 Engagement Calendar 1 Small black leather appointment book/engagement calendar. In the upper right of the front cover in gold letters is the year "1964." 6.5cm X 10.5cm Box 5
Mementoes and Ephemera Joan Chapin Hutton United States Passport 1 United States Passport circa late 1990's for Joan Chapin Hutton, which contains her photograph. No stampings throughout. 9cm X 12.5cm Box 5
Category Item Number/Quantity Description Location
Mementos and Ephemera The New World Book of Huttons 1 Small gray soft-covered genealogical book which details the origins of the Hutton surname. 21cm X 27cm X 7cm. Box 6
Mementos and Ephemera The History of the Hill School 1 Blue hard-covered book with the seal of the Hill School embossed in metal in the center of the cover. The following page is a signed message to William E. Hutton from the Headmaster of the Hill School, Charles C. Watson. It is dated June 24, 1976. 16.5cm X 24cm X 3cm Box 6
Mementos and Ephemera The Life of Sammy Chapin Winston 1 Black hard-covered biographical book entitled "The Life of Sammy Chapin Winston" by Frederick Waterman. Copyright 2003. 14.5cm X 22cm X 1cm Box 6
Mementos and Ephemera William E. Hutton International Driving Permit 1 Light gray, card-stock with the following text on the cover "United States of America - International Motor Traffic - International Driving Permit - Convention on International Road Traffic of 19 September 1949 - (United Nations) - Issued at Falls Church, Virginia 22047, USA - Valid for one Year From - Date Oct 1st 1982 - Important: This Permit is not Valid - For Driving in the United States" With the seal of the American Automobile Association - " J.B. Creal - Authorized Signature of the Empowered Authority - NO 609635". 10.5cm X 15.5cm Box 6
Category Item Number/Quantity Description Location
Mementos and Ephemera Book: Joy Fills My Heart 1 Soft covered book entitled, " Joy Fills My Heart" by Mozelle Bennett Sawyer. On the cover is the author's photograph and the following text, " From the Foreword by Harold Sherman:/ '....the incredible story she has written of her life possesses a/ quaintness, a charm, a freshness, a nostalgia, a poignancy often/ heart-touching and always interesting ... I predict that JOY/ will fill your heart.'" On following page is a personal message written to William E. Hutton II from the author that reads "To Billy Hutton: Remembering how your grandfather (W.E.) Hutton and your 'Aunt Edie' adored you. May Joy Fill Your Heart always, with my love. Mozelle Bennett Sawyer. March 3rd, 1977." There are two index cards marking pages directly relevant to the W.E. Hutton family. The pages are 100-101, and 186-187. 13.5cm X 21cm X 1cm Box 7
Mementos and Ephemera Catalogue of the Fly Club of Harvard University 1836 1 Black, hard covered book entitled "The Fly Club/1836-2000" with the seal of the fraternity. This book is a catalogue of all members of this Harvard University Fraternity from its founding in 1836-2000. On pages 44-45 is the seal of the Fly Club(8cm X 10.5cm). Page 44 lists the year that W.E. Hutton II was a member of the fraternity. 13.5cm X 21 cm Box 7
Mementos and Ephemera The First Seventy-five Years of The United States Seniors' Golf Association 1905-1980 1 Red, hard covered book detailing the history of the USSGA from its founding to 1980. The cover of this book has the gold embossed seal of the USSGA. The signature of William E. Hutton II is signed on the page following the cover. 15.5cm X 23cm Box 7
Mementos and Ephemera United States Seniors' Golf Association Letter to Members 1 Letter is dated December 3, 1996 and is addressed "Dear USSGA Member," The letter directly references the book, "The First Seventy-five Years of The United States Seniors' Golf Association 1905-1980 Box 7
Mementos and Ephemera Association of Stock Exchange Firms Program - January 31, 1966 1 Small program book which commemorates a special meeting of the Association of Stock Exchange Firms, dated January 31st, 1966, at the Mayflower Hotel. The cover of the program is a heavy white card-stock with a picture of the Capital Building and the following text, "Association/of/Stock Exchange/ Firms/Program/The Mayflower/Washington, D.C./January 31, 1966" 15cm X 22.5cm Box 7
Mementos and Ephemera W.E. Hutton Speech given January 31, 1966 1 Speech given by W.E. Hutton II at the Association of Stock Exchange Firms meeting. The speech is 6 pages, and contains hand written edits written by W.E. Hutton. The edits are written in both pencil and blue pen. 14cm X 24cm Box 7
Mementos and Ephemera Auction Label for W.E. Hutton Speech 1 Auction label that was taped to the Association of Stock Exchange Firms Program. Linked together the items, "W.E. Hutton Speech given January 31, 1966" and "Association of Stock Exchange Firms Program - January 31, 1966". The label is composed of a thick, yellow, card-stock. The following text is written in thick, black marker "American History - Speech by/ W.E.H. To Congress 1966/ $225" The label incorrectly says that the speech was given before congress. 16cm X 6.5cm Box 7
Category Item Number/Quantity Description Location
Mementos and Ephemera Vacation Photograph Album 1 Green leather, spiral bound photo album. Spine damage. Contains 33 tropical vacation photos, including one of Joan Chapin Hutton in 1959. Photographs span from 1959 - 1972. Photo Album: 17.5cm X 20.5cm X 4cm Box 8
Category Item Number/Quantity Description Location
Mementos and Ephemera W.E. Hutton Harvard 1930 Year Book 1 Large, black covered bound book. Unidentified. 27.5cm X 35cm Box 9
Mementos and Ephemera Trinity Church Certificate of Appreciation 1 Blue leather bound certificate holder containing the certificate of appreciation from "The Rector, Churchwardens and Vestrymen of Trinity Church". Includes a calligraphic rendering of "Mr. Hutton", with a gold leaf angel. Box 9
Mementos and Ephemera American Cancer Society Certificate of Merit 1 White certificate of merit with the following text. "1961 - Certificate of Merit - American Cancer Society, Inc. - Acknowledges with sincere appreciation - the outstanding service rendered by - William E. Hutton - as chairman of the Cancer Crusade of the - New York City Cancer Committee" 30cm X 25cm Box 9
Miscellaneous Business Papers Appraisal Book of Mr. & Mrs. William E. Hutton - February 13-15, 1968 118 pages Black 3 ring-binder. "Appraised Inventory of Household Furnishings" for "Mr. & Mrs. William E. Hutton, Locust Valley, L.I. and New York City." Appears to be a copy of an original. Markings of both ink and pencil. Removed a staple in the upper left hand corner of the title sheet. 27.5cm X 29cm. Box 9
Mementos and Ephemera HAVOC - 5 - September 3 -6, 1993. 1 booklet Chapin family reunion directory booklet entitled the "Headquarters for the Advancement of Vistation of Chapins- HAVOC, 5" at Sun Valley, Idaho. Includes Chapin family tree. September 3 - 6, 1993. 17cm X 21.5cm. Box 9
Mementos and Ephemera HAVOC - 6 - September 11 - 15, 1998 1 booklet Chapin family reunion directory booklet entitled the "Hijinks Afoot in the Visitation Of Chapins- HAVOC 6" at Ocean Edge Resort, Cape Cod, Massachusetts. September 11-15, 1998. Pen and Pencil markings. "Joan C. Hutton" written in pencil on the cover. Includes family tree. 17cm X 21.5cm. Box 9
Mementos and Ephemera Bulletin of The Garden Club of America - May 1955 42 pages in book 10 loose pages "Bulletin of The Garden Club of America" Vol. 43-No. 3- May 1955, With pencil marking underlining the name "Mrs. Roy D. Chapin" on page 19. Also on page 19, upper right hand corner has been folded over. 21.5cm X 14.5cm. Between pages 26-27, ten pages of looseleaf is tucked and labeled "Azaleas - Suited to Our Garden" with various pencil markings. 14cm. X 21.5cm. Box 9
Loading