Skip to main content

Archives and Special Collections: History

Archives and Special Collections is a repository for materials contained in a variety of formats: books, manuscripts, correspondence, journals, photographs, posters, maps, original drawings, theatre programs, archival documents, and other materials.

Abraham Lincoln Pardon Document of David Barnett, 1863

Lincoln, Abraham. [Document of Pardon] of David Barnett. Washington, D. C.: [U. S. Office of the Executive], 1863.
2 pages with U. S. Government Seal and photograph of President Lincoln. Signed by Lincoln and the Acting Secretary of State, F. W. Seward.
Framed and under glass.

Archive of Ahmad Kamal, Senior Fellow, United Nations

Ahmad Kamal is presently senior fellow at the United Nations Institute for Training and Research and is best known for his work as a professional diplomat in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Pakistan though he has served at postings around the world for nearly 40 years. As ambassador and permanent representative of Pakistan to the United Nations, he held high elective posts, including vice president of the General Assembly. He was also the chief negotiator in talks that led to the formation of the World Trade Organization. A graduate of the Paris Institute of Political Studies and the Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy at Tufts University, Kamal was a Carnegie Foundation Fellow at the London School of Economics and is the author of works on disarmament, management, multilateralism, global economic issues, and information technology.

Archives of Arthur T. Roth

The papers and memorabilia which trace the groundbreaking career of innovative Long Island banker Arthur T. Roth - credited with introducing the bank credit card and drive up teller window - have been donated to Long Island University by his son, Donald Roth, a 1964 graduate of the LIU Post Campus of Long Island University in Brookville. The Roth Papers are the first installment of a collection of primary sources documenting prominent Long Island business leaders and institutions.

Archives of the Metropolitan New York College Career Planning Officer's Association (MNYCCPOA)

The Archives of The Metropolitan New York College Career Planning Officer's Association (MNYCCPOA) contain the organization's historical and business records dating from 1960 to present. In order to address their long term preservation needs and interest in global access for research purposes, the MNYCCPOA Board of Directors donated their expanding archive to Special Collections in Spring, 2011. MNYCCPOA is a dynamic professional organization of career service counselors from the New York Metropolitan area. Their website is http://mnyccpoa.shuttlepod.org.

Archives of William E. Hutton II / Joan King Chapin Families

LIU Post has a special relationship with William E. Hutton II and his family. William E. Hutton II was the grandson of financier William E. Hutton and cousin of Marjorie Merriweather Post's second husband, E. F. Hutton. William E. Hutton II married Joan King Chapin in 1938. Joan Chapin was the daughter of Hudson car magnate Roy D. and his wife Inez Chapin of Michigan. William and Joan Hutton lived on a 26 acre estate adjacent to the LIU Post Campus of Long Island University from 1945-1965 at which time LIU purchased their estate. Special Collections is delighted to make this archive accessible for general and research interests.

Cedar Swamp Historical Society Collection

This invaluable library of books, periodicals, pamphlets, maps, historical documents, letters, flags, and other materials, was generously donated to Long Island University by the Cedar Swamp Historical Society under the auspices and direction of its former President, John G. Peterkin. Of the more than 1,100 books, the subjects range from town histories and biographies of Long Island personages (as Theodore Roosevelt) to monographs on Long Island archeology and the Long Island Railroad, from many books on Long Island shipping and family histories to writings by Long Island poets and novelists, such as Walt Whitman and Christopher Morley.

We have extensive periodical holdings such as The Long Island Forum and The Journal of Long Island History. The collection boasts such treasures as 18th century Long Island family letters and deeds, poems in manuscript by John Howard Payne, and several Revolutionary War documents. The latter were displayed in 2000 at the Nassau County Art Museum, along with several flags.

Constance and Andrew Ippolito Rare Book Collection

Theodore Roosevelt Association Collection

This is a comprehensive collection of over 3,000 books, pamphlets and documents concerning the life, times and interests of our 26th President as well as Roosevelt's rich and prolific writings. The collection was donated by the Theodore Roosevelt Association (Oyster Bay, New York) in 1974. We have created a holdings list of this entire collection for scholarly access.

Underhill Collection

A collection of mostly classics of Quaker literature, sixty-four books and several issues of three serials, donated to the LIU Post library by a member of the Underhill family. Although containing predominantly 18th and 19th century publications, there are some 17th and 20th century items as well. The collection ranges from a George Fox 1674 classic and Robert Barclay's 1765 An Apology for the True Christian Divinity  to a 1983 issue of the News and Views of the Underhill Society.

Contact Information

Archives and Special Collections

B. Davis Schwartz Memorial Library
LIU Post Campus
Long Island University
Brookville, NY 11548

Telephone: (516) 299-2880

Email: jarron.jewell@liu.edu

Hours: 9:00-5:00, Monday-Friday