Skip to main content

Archives and Special Collections: Archive of C. W. Post Horse Shows and Equestrian Life - Press Clippings

Archives and Special Collections is a repository for materials contained in a variety of formats: books, manuscripts, correspondence, journals, photographs, posters, maps, original drawings, theatre programs, archival documents, and other materials.

Finding Aid - Press Clippings - Archive of C. W. Post Horse Shows and Equestrian Life

Category: Press Clippings

Folder Article Title Publication Title Date Description Location
Folder 1 "Long Island Shows" Unknown ca 1966 Gives overview of the three biggest horse shows on Long Island during the 1960's: "C.W. Post College", "North Shore", and "Piping Rock". Box 2
Folder 2 Unknown Unknown nd Short mention of Kathleen Merrill and Katrina Hickox Matheson's (Becker) planning of C.W. Post Horse Show. Also mentions Merrill's writing campaign against Charles de Gaulle. Box 2
Folder 3 "Horse Shows: C.W. Post College" The Chronicle of the Horse 9/16/1966 This article gives a brief overview of the 1966 Horse Show layout with an explanation of how it differs from previous years (show grounds moved near stables). Also includes results of the show as well as a few pictures of riders with horses. Box 2
Folder 4 "Ohioan Builds Jumping Courses Modeled on European Layouts" Unknown ca 1967 Discusses Jerry Baker's history of Grand Prix course design and his contribution to C.W. Post Horse Show. (Grand Prix is the highest level of equestrian show jumping.) This marks the first time that the Grand Prix was featured in a Long Island horse show. Box 2
Folder 5 "Gala Brookville Horse Show" Long Island Daily Review 8/24/1967 Provides details of the 1967 C.W. Post Horse Show layout of events. Also includes a list of sponsors. Box 2
Folder 6 "Society:  Party-Goers Are Dizzy Over Jam-Packed Week" Daily News 5/1/1967 Lists a number of society social events occurring the week of May 1, 1967. Included in the list is an event hosted by William L. Matheson in honor of the "First Grand Prix (race) of Long Island." Box 2
Folder 7 "Horse Set Jumps for LI Grand Prix" Newsday 5/5/1967 Describes champagne gala held to celebrate the proposed Grand Prix course at the 1967 C.W. Post Horse Show. Box 2
Folder 8 "Grand Prix Jumping Comes to Post Horse Show" Locust Valley Leader 5/11/1967 Discusses announcement of Grand Prix equestrian course at champagne gala held on May 2, 1967 at 5th Avenue's La Banque Continentale. Also discusses the growing importance of the C.W. Post Horse Show. Box 2
Folder 9 "Grand Prix Jumping Comes to Post Horse Show" Locust Valley Leader 5/11/1967 Discusses announcement of Grand Prix equestrian course at champagne gala held on May 2, 1967 at 5th Avenue's La Banque Continentale. Also discusses the growing importance of the C.W. Post Horse Show. *Full Paper. Box 2
Folder 10 "Horse Show: Aug. 23-27" Floral Park Bulletin 8/10/1967 Announces the schedule of the 1967 C.W. Post Horse Show. Also announces the Grand Prix course as well as listing names of people involved in the organization of the event. Box 2
Folder 11 "Charles de Gaulle and a Coward's Revenge." Newsday 11/28/1967 Editorial written by Pete Hamill regarding Charles de Gaulle found inside a
Letter written to Pete Hamill by Mrs. Joseph L. Merrill (Horse Show Chairperson) applauding his editorial (2 copies).
Box 2
Folder 12 "East Meets West at Post" Leader 9/1/1966 Article discusses the 10th Annual C.W. Post Horse show. Provides description of how the show was set up including decorations and set up of grounds. Box 2


Prepared by Debra Bernstein, MSLIS, MA.