Skip to main content

Archives and Special Collections: Beat Generation Collection of Karl Otto Patel

Archives and Special Collections is a repository for materials contained in a variety of formats: books, manuscripts, correspondence, journals, photographs, posters, maps, original drawings, theatre programs, archival documents, and other materials.

Beat Generation Collection of Karl Otto Patel  -  Collection Facts at a Glance

Benefactors:
Mrs. Karl Otto Paetel generously donated her husband's Beat Generation Collection to LIU in 1975.
Collection Time Period:
1946-1969
Abstract:
The Karl Otto Paetel Beat Generation Collection was donated to LIU by Mrs. Paetel in 1975. The materials in this collection belonged to Karl Otto Paetel, a German Jewish émigré who arrived in the United States in 1940 after a perilous journey fleeing Germany and the Nazis during World War II. Mr. Paetel was a political journalist noted for his radical writings pre- and post-World War II. This collection contains many important works produced by Beat Generation authors such as William S. Burroughs, Lawrence Ferlinghetti, Alan Ginsberg, Jack Kerouac, Philip Lamantia and more in the 1950s-1960s.
Scope and Content:
54 Books
26 Periodical Titles with Many Issues
Miscellaneous: 3 Catalogues and 1 Poster
Repository:
The Collection is available for viewing in the Special Collections' Reading Room. Requests for digital images are considered on a case by case basis. Please call or email us for an appointment.

History of the Collection

The Karl O. Paetel Beat Generation Collection was donated to LIU by Mrs. Paetel in May 1975 after her husband's death. The materials in this collection belonged to Karl O. Paetel, a German Jewish émigré who arrived in the United States in 1940 after a perilous journey fleeing Germany and the Nazis during World War II. Mr. Paetel was a prominent political journalist noted for his radical writings pre- and post-World War II. This collection contains many important works produced by Beat Generation authors such as William S. Burroughs, Lawrence Ferlinghetti, Alan Ginsberg, Jack Kerouac, Philip Lamantia and more in the 1950s-1960s.

Throughout his life, Karl Paetel was drawn to and wrote about the radical movements of his day. He was attracted to the writings of the political and social dissenters of the Beat generation. We are pleased to offer Karl O. Paetel's personal collection for your enjoyment and research purposes.

For additional research, the University at Albany's M. E. Grenander Department of Special Collections and Archives also has a Karl O. Paetel archive

Holdings List   -   Compiled by Denzel Rodney, September 2017

Poetry

Höllerer, Walter and Hans Bender. Akzente. Zeitschrift Für Dichtung. Munich: Verlag Carl Hanser, (c1958). Periodical. 9"L x 5.5"W. p. 101.
 
Beatitude #6. Published at 14 ½ Bannam Alley, San Francisco, CA. nd. Collection of poems and stories. (Original Handtyped Weekly Magazine Written by Beat Poets). (This is an early edition with a light blue paper cover, stapled with no back cover). 11L x 8.5W. nd. np.
(Bob Kaufman began Beatitude magazine with John Kelley, and William Margolis).
 
Beatitude #7. Published by Beat Publishing Co. Located at 14 ⅓ Bannam Alley, San Francisco. Founded April 29th, 1959 by Stan Weitzer. B. Kofman, President. (Hand typed manuscript of poems by different writers). 11L x 8.5W.
 
Beatitude #12. Cover Artist: Casey Van Duren. December 1959
 
Beatitude #13. Cover: Photographs by Fortunato L. Clementi
 
Big Table 1. Irving Rosenthal, Editor. Chicago, IL: Big Table Inc. Number 1. Spring, 1959. First Edition. (Paperback with red, white and blue striped front cover. Back is decorated with navy blue background and white stars). First Edition. 8"L x 5.75"W. p 152.
 
Big Table 2. Paul Carroll, Editor. Chicago, IL: Big Table Inc. [Number 2]. Summer, 1959. Paperback Cover: Head XX IV by Leon Golub. Courtesy of Allen Frumkin Gallery. 8"L x 5.75"W. p 122.
 
Big Table 3. Paul Carroll, Editor. Chicago, IL: Big Table, Inc. Volume 1. Number 3. 1959. First Edition. Paperback Cover: Aaron Siskind. Courtesy of Holland-Goldowsky Gallery. 8"L x 5.75"W. p 120.
 
Big Table 4. Paul Carroll, Editor. Chicago, IL: Big Table, Inc. Volume 1. Number 4. Spring 1960. Paperback Cover: Robert Fulton: Self Portrait 1804 ink on wash. Courtesy of New York Public Library. 8"L x 5.75"W. p 141.
 
Big Table 5. Paul Carroll, Editor. Chicago, IL: Big Table, Inc. Volume II. Number 5. 1960. Cover: Harry Callahan
 
Blatter Bilder. Würzburg -Wein: Verlag Andreas Zettner. May-June, 1959. [Number] 2.
 
Blatter Bilder. Würzburg -Wein: Verlag Andreas Zettner. January-February, 1960. [Number] 6.
 
The Black Mountain Review. Robert Creely, Editor. . Black Mountain, North Carolina: Black Mountain College. Vol. 1. No. 1. Spring 1954. 8"L x 6"W Paperback cover. p 66
 
The Black Mountain Review. Robert Creely, Editor. Black Mountain, North Carolina: Black Mountain College. Summer 1954. Vol 1. No. 2. 8"L x 6"W Paperback cover. p 64
 
The Black Mountain Review. Robert Creely, Editor. Black Mountain, North Carolina: Black Mountain College, Fall 1954. Vol. 1. No. 3. 8"L x 6"W Hardcover p 64
 
Chicago Review. Irving Rosenthal, Editor. Chicago, Illinois: The University of Chicago. Spring 1958. Volume 12. No. 1. 8.5"L x 6"W. Paperback cover. p 89
 
Chicago Review. Irving Rosenthal, Editor. Chicago, Illinois: The University of Chicago.. Summer 1958. Volume 12. No.2. 8.5"L x 6"W. Paperback cover. p 110.
 
Chicago Review. Irving Rosenthal, Editor. Chicago Review, Chicago, Illinois: The University of Chicago. Autumn 1958. Volume 12. No. 3. 8.5"L x 6"W. Paperback cover. p 88.
 

Commentary

Evergreen Review. Barney Rosset, Donald Allen, Editors. 795 Broadway, New York, Grove Press Inc. Vol 1. No. 2. 7.5"L x 5.5"W. Paperback cover. p 160.
 
Evergreen Review. Barney Rosset, Donald Allen, Editors. 795 Broadway, New York, Grove Press Inc. Vol 1. No. 4. 7.5"L x 5.5"W. Paperback cover. p 160.
 
Evergreen Review. Barney Rosset, Donald Allen, Editors. 64 University Place, New York, Grove Press Inc. Spring 1959. Vol 2. No. 8. 7.5"L x 5.5"W. Paperback cover. p 256.
 
Evergreen Review. Barney Rosset, Donald Allen, Editors. 64 University Place, New York, Grove Press Inc. Summer 1959. Vol. 3. No. 9. 7.5" L x 5.5"W. Paperback cover. p 223.
 
Evergreen Review. Barney Rosset, Donald Allen, Editors. 64 University Place, New York, Grove Press Inc. November-December 1959. Vol. 3. No. 10. 7.5" L x 5.5"W. Paperback cover. p 192
 
Evergreen Review. Barney Rosset, Editor. 64 University Place, New York, Grove Press Inc. January-February 1960. Vol. 4. No. 11. 7.5"L x 5.5"W. Paperback cover. p 196.
 
Evergreen Review. Barney Rosset, Editor.64 University Place, New York. Grove Press Inc. March-April 1960. Vol. 4. No. 12. 7.5"L x 5.5"W. Paperback cover. p 120.
 
Evergreen Review. Barney Rosset, Editor. 64 University Place, New York. Grove Press Inc. May-June 1960. Vol. 4. No. 13. 7.5"L x 5.5"W. Paperback cover. p 192.
 
Evergreen Review. Barney Rosset, Editor. 64 University Place, New York. Grove Press Inc. September-October 1960. Vol. 4. No. 14. 7.5"L x 5.5"W. Paperback cover. p 160.
 
Evergreen Review. Barney Rosset, Editor. 64 University Place, New York. Evergreen Review Inc. November-December 1960. Vol. 4. No. 15. 7.5"L x 5.5"W. Paperback cover. p 160.
 
Evergreen Review. Barney Rosset, Editor. 64 University Place, New York, Evergreen Review. January-February 1961. Vol. 5. No. 16. 7.5"L x 5.5"W. Paperback cover. p 122.
 
Evergreen Review. Barney Rosset, Editor. 64 University Place, New York, Evergreen Review. March-April 1961. Vol. 5. No. 17. 7.5"L x 5.5"W. Paperback cover. p 127
 
Evergreen Review. Barney Rosset, Editor. 64 University Place, New York, Evergreen Review. May-June 1961. Vol 5. No. 18. 7.5"L x 5.5"W. Paperback cover. p 126.
 
Evergreen Review. Barney Rosset, Editor. 64 University Place, New York, Evergreen Review. July-August 1961. Vol. 5. No. 19. 7.5"L x 5.5"W. Paperback cover. p 128.
 
Evergreen Review. Barney Rosset, Editor. 64 University Place, New York, Grove Press Inc. September-October 1961. Vol. 5. No. 20. 7.5"L x 5.5"W. Paperback cover
 
Evergreen Review. Barney Rosset, Donald Allen, Editors. 64 University Place, New York, Grove Press Inc. Jan-Feb 1962. Vol. 6. No. 22. 7.5"L x 5.5"W. Paperback cover. p 122.
 
Evergreen Review. Barney Rosset, Editor. 64 University Place, New York, Grove Press Inc. March-April 1962. Vol. 6. No. 23. 7.5"W x 5.5"W. Paperback cover. p 125.
 
Evergreen Review. Barney Rosset, Editor. 64 University Place, New York, Grove Press Inc. May-June 1962. Vol. 6. No. 24. 7.5"L x 5.5"W. Paperback cover. p 125.
 
Evergreen Review. Barney Rosset, Editor. 64 University Place, New York, Grove Press Inc. July-August 1962. Vol. 6. No. 25. 7.5"L x 5.5"W. Paperback cover. p 126.
 
Evergreen Review. Barney Rosset, Editor. 64 University Place, New York, Grove Press Inc. September-October 1962. Vol. 6. No. 26. 7.5"L x 5.5"W. Paperback cover. p 127.
 
Evergreen Review. Barney Rosset, Editor. 64 University Place, New York, Grove Press Inc. November-December 1962. Vol. 6. No. 27. 8"L x 5.5"W. Paperback cover. p 122.
 
Evergreen Review. Barney Rosset, Editor. 64 University Place, New York. Evergreen Review Inc. January-February 1963. Vol. 7. No. 28. 8"L x 5.5"W. Paperback cover p 125.
 
Evergreen Review. Barney Rosset, Editor. 64 University Place, New York, Evergreen Review Inc. March-April 1963. Vol. 7. No. 29. 8"L x 5.5"W. Paperback cover. p 124.
 
Evergreen Review. Barney Rosset, Editor. 64 University Place, New York, Evergreen Review Inc. May-June 1963. Vol. 7. No. 30. 8"L x 5.5"W. Paperback cover. p 124.
 
Evergreen Review. Barney Rosset, Editor. 64 University Place, New York, Evergreen Review Inc. October-November 1963. Vol. 7. No. 31. 8"L x 5.5"W. Paperback cover. p 120.
 
The Fifties. William Duffy, Robert Bly, Editors. Brairwood Hill, Pine Island, Minnesota. The Fifties. Third Issue 1959. 8.5"L x 5.5"W. Paperback cover. p 60.
 
Folio. Clayton Eshleman, Editor. Bloomington, Indiana. Winter 1960. Volume XXV. Number 1. 9"L x 6"W. Paperback cover. p 64.
 
The Floating Bear. Diane di Prima, Editor. 309 East Houston Street / New York City 2, New York. Issue #7. Paperback cover.
 
The Floating Bear. Diane di Prima, Editor. 229 East 4th Street / New York 9, New York. Issue #22. Paperback cover.
 
The Floating Bear. Diane di Prima, Editor. 35 Cooper Square, New York 10003, NY. Issue #26. Paperback cover.
 
The Floating Bear. Diane di Prima, Editor. 88 Third Place, Brooklyn NY. Issue #34. Paperback cover.
 
The Floating Bear. Diane di Prima, Editor. 23 East 10th Street, New York 10003. Issue #35. Paperback cover.
 
The Floating Bear. Diane di Prima, Editor. 190 Old Chelsea Station, New York City. Issue #36. 11"L x 8"W. Paperback cover.
 
The Floating Bear. Diane di Prima, Editor. 23 East 10th Street, New York 10003. Issue #28. 11" L x 8"W. Paperback cover.
 
The Fifties. William Duffy, Robert Bly, Editors. Briarwood Hill, Pine Island, Minnesota. Third Issue. 8"L x 5.5"W. Paperback cover. p 60.
 
Folio. Clayton Eshleman, Editor. Bloomington, Indiana. Winter 1960. Volume XXV. No. 1. 9"L x 6"W. Paperback cover. p 64.
 
Art On The American Horizon. Cyril Connolly, Editor. 41 West 47th Street, New York City. No. 93-4. October 1947. 8"L x 5"W Paperback cover. p 148.
 
Odyssey. R.R. Cuscaden, Ronald Offen, Editor. 1722 W. Carmen, Chicago, Illinois. Spring 1958. Volume 1. No. 1. 8.5"L x 6"W. Paperback cover. p 40.
 
Odyssey. R.R. Cuscaden, Ronald Offen, Editors. 1827 W. Morse Ave, Chicago, Illinois. Volume 1. No. IV. 8.5"L x 6"W. Paperback cover. p 76.
 
Origin I. Featuring Charles Olson. A Quarterly for the Creative. Dorchester, MA. Spring, 1951. 75 Cents.
 
Origin 2. Featuring Robert Creeley. A Quarterly for the Creative. Dorchester 24, MA. Summer, 1951. 75 Cents.
 
Origin 111. Featuring William Bronk and Samuel French Morse.. A Quarterly for the Creative. Prints by Dick Boyce. Dorchester 24, MA. Fall, 1951. 75 Cents.
 
Origin IV. Featuring New Foreign Poetry. A Quarterly for the Creative. Dorchester 24, MA. Winter '51-'52. 75 Cents.
 
Origin VI. Featuring Robert Dunkin and William Carlos Williams. A Quarterly for the Creative. London, England: Villiers Publication. Summer, 1952. 75 Cents.
 
Partisan Review. William Phillips, Phillip Rahv, Editors. 22 East 17th Street, New York, NY. Cultural Projects Inc. Fall 1958. Volume XXV, No. 4. 8.5" L x 6"W. Paperback cover. p 640.
 
Prairie Schooner. Karl Shapiro, Editor. University of Nebraska Press. Summer 1959. 9.5"L x 6.5"W. Paperback cover. p 194.
 
San Francisco Review. R.H Miller, Editor. 8.5"L x 6."W. Paperback cover. p 87.
 
The Sixties. William Duffy, Robert Bly, Editor. The Sixties Press. 8"L x 5.5"W. Paperback cover. p 65.
 

Books

Kerouac, Jack. The Dharma Bums. New York: The Viking Press. 1958. First Edition.
 
Kerouac, Jack. On the Road. New York: The Viking Press. (c1955, 1957). (Published in 1957 by Viking Press.
 

Contact Information

Archives and Special Collections

B. Davis Schwartz Memorial Library
LIU Post Campus
Long Island University
Brookville, NY 11548

Telephone: (516) 299-2880

Email: jarron.jewell@liu.edu

Hours: 9:00-5:00, Monday-Friday

Selected Images from the Collection

Beat Generation Collection of Karl Otto Patel
Beatitude. San Francisco, California - Published by Beat Publishing Co. Issue 13, February 1960.

Beat Generation Collection of Karl Otto Patel
Jan 1st 1959: Fidel Castro. (Six poems by six poets). [New York] Totem Press. [1959]. Blue Plate 1.

Beat Generation Collection of Karl Otto Patel
Corso, Gregory. The Happy Birthday of Death. (New York) New Directions Books. (1960). First Edition.

Beat Generation Collection of Karl Otto Patel
Ferlinghetti, (Lawerence). Her. [New York - New Directions, 1960]. (New Directions Paperback).

Beat Generation Collection of Karl Otto Patel
Lipton, Lawerence. The Holy Barbarians. New York - Julian Messner Inc. 1959. First Edition.

Beat Generation Collection of Karl Otto Patel
PR Partison Review. New York - Published by the Foundation for Cultural Projects Inc. Volume XXV, Number 4, Fall 1958.

Beat Generation Collection of Karl Otto Patel
Prairie Schooner. Lincoln, Nebraska. Edited by Karl Shapiro. Library has Volume XXXIII, Number 2, Summer 1959.

Beat Generation Collection of Karl Otto Patel
Preface to a Twenty Volume Suicide Note.... New York - Totem Press, in association with Corinth Books. (1961). First Edition.

Beat Generation Collection of Karl Otto Patel
San Francisco Review. San Francisco, California. Spring 1959 Volume 1, Number 2.

Beat Generation Collection of Karl Otto Patel
"San Francisco Scene." Evergreen Review. Published by Grove Press, Inc. New York. Edited by Barney Rossett. Vol. 1, Nos. 2, 1958.

Beat Generation Collection of Karl Otto Patel
"The Shrouded Stranger." Typed Allen Ginsberg Poem. Gemini. Spring, 1959. vol. II, no. 6, p. 52.