Skip to main content

Archives and Special Collections: William F. Rozea's First Home Run Baseball Hit at LIU Post

Archives and Special Collections is a repository for materials contained in a variety of formats: books, manuscripts, correspondence, journals, photographs, posters, maps, original drawings, theatre programs, archival documents, and other materials.

William F. Rozea's First Home Run Baseball Hit at LIU Post

LIU Post Alumni Willliam F. Rozea and his wife April Rozea, were in C. W. Post's first graduating class in 1959. April and Bill recounted that they were the first couple from the campus to get married. They were interviewed on "WCWP" Radio (LIU Radio) on October 25, 2018 in collaboration with LIU Post's Archives and Special Collections and "WCWP Radio" (LIU Post Radio). Former early alumni and "WCWP" student radio host, Art Beltrone interviewed April and Bill Rozea for the LIU Post Archive and historical record. Before the radio interview, Bill Rozea donated his famous baseball to the LIU Post Archive. He hit the very first home run baseball on the C. W. Post Campus! The baseball was signed by Bill and the 14 other campus baseball team players, including Donald Ungarelli, Ph.D. who became the Dean of LIU University libraries where he served for more than 50 years!

The Baseball Signatories were: Dom Anile, Bob Barrett, John Begley, Jim Davey, Lou Dellavechio, Ron Herman, Charlie Horton, Steve Offerman, Bill Rozea, Bud Simmons, Dick Stieg, Joe Stone, Art Tailey, Don Ungarelli, and George White.

Their digital interview will be available on our Archives and Special Collections web soon!

Baseball Images

First Varsity Baseball Home Run Hit at C. W. Post College Home Field by William F. Rozea (Class of 1959) in Game Against Adelphi College.
The Game Was Played in the Spring, 1957.
Donated by William F. Rozea. October 26, 2018.
Courtesy of Archives and Special Collections. LIU Post Library. LIU.

 First Varsity Baseball Home Run Hit at C. W. Post College Home Field by William F. Rozea (Class of 1959) in Game Against Adelphi College.

 First Varsity Baseball Home Run Hit at C. W. Post College Home Field by William F. Rozea (Class of 1959) in Game Against Adelphi College.

 First Varsity Baseball Home Run Hit at C. W. Post College Home Field by William F. Rozea (Class of 1959) in Game Against Adelphi College.

Contact Information

Archives and Special Collections is located on the second floor of the LIU Post Library.
Rooms: 345-346

Jarron L. Jewell - Acting Director
Archives and Special Collections
516/299-3407
Jarron.Jewell@liu.edu

Heather Hesse - Special Collections Assistant
Archives and Special Collections
516/299-2880
Heather.Hesse@liu.edu

Hours: 9:00-5:00, Monday-Friday