Skip to main content

Archives and Special Collections: Archival Vertical File of Diana Spirt, Ph.D.

Archives and Special Collections is a repository for materials contained in a variety of formats: books, manuscripts, correspondence, journals, photographs, posters, maps, original drawings, theatre programs, archival documents, and other materials.

The Archival Vertical File of Professor Diana Spirt, Ph.D., Originator of the American Juvenile Collection

Diana L. Spirt, Ph.D. taught in LIU Post's Palmer School of Library and Information Science for almost three decades. During her tenure at the Palmer School, Professor Spirt taught children's literature and media. She was given a small collection of juvenile books that were used by a former colleague early on during the establishment of the Palmer School. With her characteristic visionary approach, Dr. Spirt began collecting rare juvenile literature in fiction, folklore, fairytale and poetry with North American imprints published between 1910-1960. Her intent was to collect all the juvenile books within these parameters published in the United States. This was no small task! It took a while, but the American Juvenile Collection (AJC) now contains more than 12,000 wonderful first editions. It should be noted that most of the rare books collected have been donated by private donors and many libraries on Long Island who have provided the collection with an array of rich rare book items.

The AJC vertical file is arranged in A-Z folders and contains many papers reflecting Dr. Spirt's personal research interests, collected as she was building the American Juvenile Collection.

July 27, 2017
Compiler: Claudette Allegrezza, MSLIS
Volumes 1-241 of Something about the Author are available in the American Juvenile Collection reference section.

Folder 1   --   AJC - American Juvenile Collection: IMC Acquisitions   --   Location: Box 1

DateDescription
12.14.2011Book List: (List of books acquired from the Instructional Media Center, 28 pages).

Folder 2   --   Alcott, Louisa May   --   Location: Box 1

Date Description
Feb. 1995 Article (photocopy): School Library Journal, "Lights, Camera…Alcott!" by Lillian N. Gerhardt, page 4.

Folder 3   --   Alexander, Lloyd   --   Location: Box 1

Date Description
4.30.2007 Website Biographies (computer printouts):

Folder 4   --   Alger, Horatio   --   Location: Box 1

DateDescription
Oct. 1997Martha's Kidlit Newsletter, vol. 9 no. 10, "The Horatio Alger Collection" by Samuel T. Huang, page 6.

Folder 5   --   Alphabet Books   --   Location: Box 1

DateDescription
ndArticle (photocopy): "Alphabet Books in the United States from 1875-1975", by Dr. Irvy Gilbertson, page 28 (source unknown).

Folder 6   --   Altscheler, Joseph A.   --   Location: Box 1

DateDescription
7.19.2005Website Author Biography (computer printout): TSHA Online (Texas State Historical Association, "Handbook of Texas Online").

Folder 7   --   Andersen, Hans C.   --   Location: Box 1

DateDescription
ndReference Book Excerpt (biographical information): Yesterday's Authors of Books for Children, page 23.
ndAuthor Book List: (source unknown), 6 pages.
10.10.2003"Fairy Tales" FirstSearch Record (computer printout), plus miscellaneous book excerpts (sources unknown), 3 pages.
10.13.2003Bookseller List of Andersen titles (computer printout): UKBookWorld.com, 3 pages.

Folder 8   --   Anderson, C.W.   --   Location: Box 1

Date Description
7.19.2005 Chronological Author Book List (computer printout): www.buriedantiques.com

Folder 9   --   Angelo, Valenti   --   Location: Box 1

DateDescription
1949Book Title Page (photocopy): The Bells of Bleecker Street

Folder 10   --   Appleton, Victor   --   Location: Box 1

DateDescription
7.20.2005Website Article (computer printout): "Tom Swift, Jr: An Appreciation" by Jeff Duntemann, www.duntemann.com/tomswift.htm, 10 pages.

Folder 11   --   Arbuthnot, May Hill   --   Location: Box 1

DateDescription
7.20.2005 Website Article (computer printout): "The May Hill Arbuthnot Honor Lecture Award", ALSC, www.ala.org.

Folder 12   --   Armer, Laura Adams   --   Location: Box 1

DateDescription
7.20.2005Encyclopaedia Britannica Online Entry (biographical information-computer printout): www.britannica.com.

Folder 13   --   Armstrong, William H.   --   Location: Box 1

DateDescription
7.20.2005Encyclopaedia Britannica Online Entry (biographical information-computer printout): www.britannica.com.
ndLetter (printed with author signature).
ndArticle (biographical information-photocopy): Twentieth-Century Children's Writers, pages 38-39.

Folder 14   --   Artzybasheff, Boris   --   Location: Box 1

DateDescription
ndBook Excerpt (biographical information): Illustrators of Children's Books, page 270.
ndReference Book Excerpt (biographical information): Something About The Author, pages 14-15.
ndBook Excerpt (biographical information): (source unknown), page 13.
ndBook Illustration (photocopy): The Adventures of Haron, 1923 (title/date handwritten on back), (source unknown), page 106.
ndWebsite Author Biography (computer printout): Bud Plan Illustrated Books, www.bpib.com/artzybas.htm, 4 pages.

Folder 15   --   Asbjornsen, Peter C.   --   Location: Box 1

DateDescription
ndReference Book Excerpt (biographical information photocopy): Something About The Author, Volume 15, page 5.

Folder 16   --   Banned Books   --   Location: Box 1

DateDescription
2.9.2010Website List of Banned and Challenged Classics (computer printout): ALA, www.ala.org, 3 pages.

Folder 17   --   Bannerman, Helen (Little Black Sambo)   --   Location: Box 1

DateDescription
c 1976, 1983Book (historical information): Little Black Sambo: A Closer Look, by Phyllis J. Yuill, 52 pages.
March 1976Article (original copy): School Library Journal, "Little Black Sambo: The Continuing Controversy" by Phyllis Yuill.

Folder 18   --   Baum, L. Frank   --   Location: Box 1

DateDescription
ndReference Book Excerpt (biographical information-photocopy): Something About The Author, Volume 18, pages 7-8.

Folder 19   --   Bemelmans, Ludwig   --   Location: Box 1

DateDescription
ndReference Book Excerpt (biographical information-photocopy): Something About The Author, Volume 15, pages 15-16 (handwritten note).
ndBook Excerpt (biographical information-photocopy): (source unknown), pages 65-66.

Folder 20   --   Bibliotherapy - AJC   --   Location: Box 1

DateDescription
ndBook List and Resource Guide from a Presentation by Prof. Don Wilson-Palmer School of LIS (photocopy).

Folder 21   --   Bishop, Claire Huchet   --   Location: Box 1

DateDescription
ndReference Book Excerpt (biographical information-photocopy): Something About The Author, page 30.
ndPhotocopy of Author's signature: The Five Chinese Brothers.

Folder 22   --   Book Editors and Publishers   --   Location: Box 1

DateDescription
3.1.2008Website List of Book Editors and Publishers, Children's & Parenting Books (Online source-computer printout): www.bookmarket.com/childrens.htm, 32 pages.

Folder 23   --   Book Illustrators   --   Location: Box 1

DateDescription
2.28.2008Website List of Early Illustrators of Children's Books from the 19th and 20th Centuries (Online source-computer printout): www.scils.rutgers.edu/kvander/HistoryofChildLit/illus.html

Folder 24   --   Branson, Paul   --   Location: Box 1

DateDescription
ndBook Excerpt (biographical information-photocopy): (source unknown), page 19.

Folder 25   --   Brown, Marcia   --   Location: Box 1

DateDescription
ndBook Illustration (photocopy): Skipper John's Cook (title/date handwritten on back), 1951.

Folder 26   --   Brown, Paul   --   Location: Box 1

Date Description
1951 Book Excerpt (biographical information-photocopy): Junior Book of Authors, 2nd edition, revised, page 56.
nd Book Excerpts (biographical information photocopy): (sources unknown) pages 82, 69, 33.
1985 Reference Book Excerpt (photocopy): Who Was Who In American Art, page 83.
4.28.2007
3.13.2007
Lists -2 (AJC-computer printouts): American Juvenile Collection Database.

Folder 27   --   Burroughs, Edgar Rice   --   Location: Box 1

DateDescription
7.20.2009Wikipedia Website article about Tarzan (computer printout): en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tarzan, pages 11.

Folder 28   --   Caldecott, Randolph   --   Location: Box 1

DateDescription
ndReference Book Excerpt (photocopy-biographical information): Something About The Author, pages 32-33.
ndBook Catalog List (photocopy): (source unknown), pages 12-13.
ndEphemera: The Caldecott Medal.

Folder 29   --   Carroll, Lewis   --   Location: Box 1

DateDescription
ndArticle (original): National Geographic, "The Wonderland of Lewis Carroll', by Cathy Newman, photographs by Sam Abell.

Folder 30   --   Castlemon, Harry   --   Location: Box 1

DateDescription
1941Book Excerpt (bibliographic information-photocopy): Harry Castlemon; Boy's Own Author Appreciation and Bibliography, compiled by Jacob Blanck, assorted pages.

Folder 31   --   Chappell, Warren   --   Location: Box 1

DateDescription
ndBook Excerpt (biographical information-photocopy): Something About The Author, pages 42-43.

Folder 32   --   Children's Books-Authors and Illustrators   --   Location: Box 1

DateDescription
ndPublishers' Series Lists (photocopies): Little, Brown, & Company, Houghton Mifflin Company, Pan Books & Graphics.
ndPublisher Book List (photocopy): Gale Research Company.
Spring 1990Article (photocopy): Journal of Youth Services in Libraries,"Three Scandinavian Contributions to American Children's Literature", by Karen Nelson Hoyle, pages 219-225.
April 1997Article (original-complementary copy): Martha's Kidlit Newsletter, vol. 9 no.4.

Folder 33   --   Children's Books-Bibliography   --   Location: Box 1

Date Description
nd Bibliographic Lists (2 original with duplicates): Contemporary Classics, Books for Every Child
nd Book Bibliographic List (photocopy): "Children's Books-Bibliography", (unknown source).
Nov 1974 Book Bibliographic List (photocopy): "Thirty Mid-Century Books Every Adult Should Know", issued by The Horn Book, Inc.
1960 Booklet, Children's Classics by Alice M. Jordan.
1973 Book List (The World Book Encyclopedia-Reprint): Literature for Children.
12.24.1984 Article (original): New York Times, "Of Horror and Mischief: Rare Children's Books", by Glenn Collins.
4.4.2008 AJC List (computer printout): about William Pene DuBois.
10.11.2003 Antiquarian Booksellers Association of America Website List -100 Years/100 Books (computer printout): http://abaa.org/pages/collectors/bc-childrens.html, 21 pages.

Folder 34   --   Children's Books-History   --   Location: Box 1

DateDescription
ndDictionary Excerpt (photocopy): Dictionary of Literary Biography DLB, Foreword for vol.22, by John Cech, pages ix-xii.
ndArticle Excerpt (original): "Small Mischief", (author and source unknown (The New Yorker?).

Folder 35   --   Children's Books Publishers   --   Location: Box 1

DateDescription
ndChildren's Illustrated Classics Book List (photocopy): E. P. Dutton and Company, Inc.
March 1995Article (photocopy): School Library Journal, "The Bounty that was Macmillan" by Amy Kellman
June 1969Article (photocopy): The Horn Book Magazine, "The Part Played by Boston Publishers of 1860-1900 in the Field of Children's Books" Conclusion, by Helen L. Jones

Folder 36   --   Children's Books-Series   --   Location: Box 1

DateDescription
4.28.2007Series List for Carolyn Keene's Nancy Drew Mysteries (AJC-computer printout): American Juvenile Collection Database.
ndThe Maidenhead Series List (photocopy).
ndThe Yacht Club Series List (photocopy).

Folder 37   --   Children's Books-Reference   --   Location: Box 1

DateDescription
ndAuthor Index Cards (typewritten).
ndAssorted Pamphlets-4 (Children's Literature and Research Collections): Appalachian State University-The Gail E. Haley Collection of Culture of Childhood, The Free Library of Philadelphia Children's Books Collections, University of Connecticut-Homer Babbidge Library- The Northeast Children's Literature Collections, University of Minnesota - Research Center for Children's Books-The Kerlan Collection.
ndLittle Women Centennial Edition promotional notepad: Little Brown & Company.
1974Article (original): New York Times, "10 Notable Children's Books" by Christopher Lehmann-Haupt.
ndGeneral Bibliography-Book (photocopy): (source unknown), 10 pages.
1912Series List (photocopy): Books for Young People: Cosy Corner Series, 6 pages (handwritten date).
1912Author List (photocopy): A Handy List of Best Fiction by Modern Writers, Grosset & Dunlap (handwritten date).
1912Book List (photocopy): The Macmillan's Children's Classics (handwritten date).
ndBook List (photocopy): Fiction for Boys, The Saalfield Publishing Company.
Oct. 1976Article (original): Wilson Library Bulletin, "What Shall They Read? A Historical Perspective" by W. Boyd Rayward, pages 145-153.
Oct. 1976Article (photocopy): Wilson Library Bulletin, "Somewhat Free: Post-Civil War Writing for Children" by Evelyn Geller, pages 172-176.
1975Microform Catalog with handsigned letter to C. Gilbert. Book Excerpt (photocopy): A Moral Tale: Children's Fiction and American Culture 1820-1860 by Anne Scott MacLeod, 2 pages.
ndPaper Chapter (typewritten-photocopy): "Children's Literature" by Lois Watt, pages 323-388.
ndBook Examination Copy Request form: Gale Research Company.
ndReading List (typewritten): "For Further Reading".

Folder 38   --   Children's Books-Translations   --   Location: Box 2

DateDescription
ndCatalog: Children's Books Translated & Transported, Justin G. Schiller, Ltd. Catalogue 37.
ndArticle (photocopy): "Publishing Translations for Children" by Dorothy Briley (unknown source), 1 page.
ndArticle (photocopy): "On the Situation of Translating for the Child: The Dialogue between Text and Illustration" by Riitta Oittinen, (source unknown) pages 13-18.
ndList (AJC-computer printout): Foreign Language-French, American Juvenile Collection Database.

Folder 39   --   Children's Book Council   --   Location: Box 2

DateDescription
Nov. 1997Members List (original): The Children's Book Council, Inc.
2001-2002Annual Report (original): CBC: The Children's Book Council, Inc., covering July 1, 2001-June 30, 2002.

Folder 40   --   Children's Literature Collections   --   Location: Box 2

DateDescription
ndAssorted Pamphlets-5 (Children's Literature and Research Collections):
  • Friends of Freddy-Walter R. Brooks, University of Southern Mississippi Libraries
  • De Grummond Children's Literature Collection, California State University, Fresno
  • Henry Madden Library
  • The Arne Nixon Center for the Study of Children's Literature, The Arne Nixon Center
  • The Helen Monnette Amestoy Collection of Books on Cats. Newsletter (original): The Arne Nixon Center
  • The Magic Mirror, Number 13, 7 pages.
March 2008Conference Announcement: ALA Annual Conference-Using the Past to Create the Future
2005Book Release Publicity Piece: Houghton Mifflin. Company, The Journey that Saved Curious George: the True Wartime Escape of Margret and H.A. Rey, 12 pages.

Folder 41   --   CLA Book of the Year Award 1954-1971   --   Location: Box 2

DateDescription
ndAward Information Sheet (original): Canadian Association of Children's Librarians Gold Medal Award, 1 page.

Folder 42   --   Colum, Padraic   --   Location: Box 2

DateDescription
7.18.2005Encyclopaedia Britannica Online Entry (biographical information-computer printout): www.britannica.com.

Folder 43   --   Cormier, Robert   --   Location: Box 2

DateDescription
June-Dec 1986Newsletter (original): The Children's Book Council, Inc. CBC Features, Vol. XL, No. 2, includes "Books Remembered" by Robert Cormier

Folder 44   --   Cory, Fanny Young   --   Location: Box 2

DateDescription
ndIndex card (handwritten): Biographical Excerpt from Dictionaire des Peintres, Sculpteurs, Designateurs et Graveurs, Vol. 2, page 657.
ndBook Excerpt (photocopy): Illustrators of Children's Books 1744-1945.

Folder 45   --   Cox, Palmer   --   Location: Box 2

DateDescription
ndBook Illustration (photocopy): The Brownies: Their Book, 1887 (title/date handwritten on back).

Folder 46   --   Crane, Walter   --   Location: Box 2

DateDescription
ndPlaying cards-3 cards: Biographical information about Walter Crane.

Folder 47   --   Cuneo, Cyrus   --   Location: Box 2

Date Description
7.10.2007 Website Biography (computer printout): The Modernist Journals Project for Students and Scholars of Modernism:
http://www.modjourn.org/render.php?view=mjp_object&id=mjp.2005.02.0182
[old url: dl.brown.edu:8080/exist/mjp/plookup.xq?id=CuneoCyrus]

Folder 48   --   Dalgliesh, Alice   --   Location: Box 2

DateDescription
ndBook Illustration (photocopy): The Little Angel, 1943 (title/date handwritten on back).
ndReference Book Excerpt (biographical information-photocopy): Something About The Author, Volume 17, pages 47-52.

Folder 49   --   Daugherty, James   --   Location: Box 2

DateDescription
7.18.2005Encyclopaedia Britannica Online Entry (biographical information-computer printout): www.britannica.com
ndReference Book Excerpt (biographical information photocopy): Something About The Author, page 26.
ndBook Illustration (photocopy): Daniel Boone, 1939 (title/date handwritten on back).
ndAuthor signature (photocopy).

Folder 50   --   D'Aulaire, Ingri and Edgar   --   Location: Box 2

DateDescription
ndBook Excerpt (biographical information-photocopy): (source unknown), page 547.
ndReference Book Excerpt (biographical information-photocopy): Something About The Author, pages 49-51.
ndBook Illustration (photocopy): Foxie, 1949 (title/date handwritten on back).

Folder 51   --   De Angeli, Marguerite   --   Location: Box 2

Date Description
nd Book Excerpt (biographical information-photocopy): (source unknown), pages 76-77.
nd Book Illustration (photocopy): Up the Hill, 1942 (title/date handwritten on back).

Folder 52   --   De Regniers, Beatrice Shenk   --   Location: Box 2

DateDescription
4.8.2000Article-Obituary (original): New York Times.

Folder 53   --   Du Bois, William Pene   --   Location: Box 2

DateDescription
ndBook Excerpt (biographical information-photocopy): Illustrators of Children's Books 1946-1956, page 103.
ndReference Book Excerpt (biographical information-photocopy): Something About The Author, pages 69-71.
ndBook Illustration (photocopy): Otto at Sea, 1936 (title/date handwritten on back).

Folder 54   --   Dulac, Edmund   --   Location: Box 2

DateDescription
ndBook Excerpt (biographical information-photocopy): (source unknown), page 23.
ndReference Book Excerpt (biographical information-photocopy): Something About The Author, Volume 19, pages 107-117.

Folder 55   --   Extra Editorials   --   Location: Box 2

DateDescription
ndIllustration (photocopy): Pig Alphabet (source unknown).
1980Editorial (photocopy): by Francelia Butler, Annual of the Modern Language Association Group on Children's Literature and the Children's Literature Association, Volume 8, 2 pages.
Oct. 1975Editorial (photocopy): Wilson Library Bulletin, "Children's Literature Collections and Research Libraries" by Frances Henne, pages 136-137 (partially handwritten).
Nov. 1974Editorial (photocopy-2 copies): School Library Journal, "Something Can Begin..." by Lillian N. Gerhardt.
ndGuest Editorial (photocopy): Wilson Library Bulletin, "Children's Literature Collections and Research Libraries" by James H. Fraser.
3.23.1982Article (Typewritten-photocopy): "The Collections of Historical Juvenile Books" (author unknown) with attached copies of editorials listed above.

Folder 56   --   Ewing, Juliana Horatia   --   Location: Box 2

DateDescription
1960Book Excerpt (photocopy): The Works of Mrs. Ewing, (source unknown).

Folder 57   --   Field, Rachel   --   Location: Box 2

DateDescription
ndReference Book Excerpt (biographical information-photocopy): Something About The Author, Volume 15, page 106.

Folder 58   --   Ford, Henry Justice   --   Location: Box 2

DateDescription
1975Book Excerpt (bibliographic information-photocopy): Fantasy of the Golden Age of Fantastic Illustration by Brigid Peppin (partially handwritten).
ndBook Illustration (photocopy): The Violet Fairy Book.
1954Book Excerpt (bibliographic information-photocopy): English Children's Books 1600 to 1900, by Percy Muir
ndBook Excerpt (biographical and bibliographic information-photocopy): (source unknown), page 25.

Folder 59   --   Frost, A. B. (Arthur Burdett)   --   Location: Box 2

DateDescription
1920Book Excerpt (bibliographic information-photocopy): Pen Drawings and Pen Draughtsmen, by Joseph Pennell, page 289, 294.
ndReference Book Excerpt (biographical information-photocopy): Something About The Author, Volume 19, pages 122-123.
ndBook Excerpt (bibliographic information-photocopy): "Illustrators in the United States" (source unknown), page 29.
ndBook Illustration (photocopy): (source unknown).

Folder 60   --   Grahame, Kenneth   --   Location: Box 2

DateDescription
Early Spring 1994Martha's Kidlit Newsletter, Vol. 6, no. 2, "Poop-Poop! Make Room for Toad", by Marjorie Rosenthal, page 1.

Folder 61   --   Gramatky, Hardie   --   Location: Box 2

DateDescription
ndBook Excerpt (biographical information-photocopy): (source unknown), pages 107-108.

Folder 62   --   Grimm   --   Location: Box 2

DateDescription
Winter 1971Article (computer printout): Folklore, Volume 82, no. 4, "Oral Tradition and the Brothers Grimm", by Ruth Michaelis-Jena, pages 265-275.

Folder 63   --   Gruelle, Johnny   --   Location: Box 2

DateDescription
11.3.2007Website Article (computer printout): Raggedy Land. "Johnny Gruelle, Inspired Illustrator", by Patricia Hall www.raggedy-ann.com/jgill.html
ndArticle (original): Washington Post Service "Raggedy Ann 'Descendents' Fight Publisher's New Image" by Michael Kernan.
ndBook Illustration (photocopy): Raggedy Ann and Andy, 1924 (title/date handwritten on back).

Folder 64   --   Hader, Berta and Elmer   --   Location: Box 2

Date Description
Nov.25, 2008 Research Paper: "Berta and Elmer Hader" by Jarron Jewell, Head of Special Collections, 11 pages.
Nov.25, 2008 Research Paper( Bibliography): "The Berta and Elmer Hader Collection Book Bibliography" by Jarron Jewell, Head of Special Collections,12 pages.
10.6.2008 Website Biography (computer printout): https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Berta_and_Elmer_Hader , 3 pages.
12.11.2008 Book Illustration (computer printout): The Grapes of Wrath, 1939, www.britannica.com
2.13.2001 Online Reference Source (index for other reference sources-computer printout): Literary Index, 2 pages.

Folder 65   --   Harper & Brothers Publishing   --   Location: Box 2

DateDescription
5.9.2011Website Biography (computer printout): Denton Family Genealogy. The Harper Brothers Founders of Harper Brothers Publishing. www.dentongenealogy.org/Harper , 10 pages.

Folder 66   --   Harris, Joel Chandler   --   Location: Box 2

DateDescription
1881Book Excerpt (photocopy-2 copies): Uncle Remus: His Songs and His Sayings, Introduction and Table of Contents page.
ndBook Illustration (photocopy); Uncle Remus, "Mr. Terrapin Appears Upon the Scene", page 47, 1920 (title/date handwritten on back).
ndBook Illustration and Author Signature (photocopy): Uncle Remus.
1920Book Excerpt (photocopy): Uncle Remus: His Songs and His Sayings, Introduction and "A Story of the War".
ndReference Book Excerpt (biographical information-photocopy): Yesterday's Authors of Books for Children, pages 154-155.
ndBookseller Advertisement (photocopy): Uncle Remus: His Songs and His Sayings, (source unknown).

Folder 67   --   Hawthorne, Nathaniel   --   Location: Box 2

DateDescription
ndBookseller Advertisement (photocopy): A Wonder Book for Girls & Boys, (source unknown).

Folder 68   --   Haywood, Carolyn   --   Location: Box 2

DateDescription
12.15.2000Online Reference Source (index for other reference sources-computer printout): Literary Index, 5 pages.
ndBook Author Biography and photo (photocopy): (source unknown) Harcourt, Brace & World, Inc.

Folder 69   --   Hinton, S.E.   --   Location: Box 2

DateDescription
Sept. 13, 2005Article (original): Newsday, "The Outsiders Still Fit In" by Lewis Beale.
Sept. 13, 2007Article (original): Newsday, "Talking with S.E. Hinton: Forty Years On, The Outsiders" by Hillel Italie.

Folder 70   --   Horn Books   --   Location: Box 2

DateDescription
ndBook Catalog (original)
Sept-Oct 1961Bimonthly Newssheet (original): The Horn Book Crier.

Folder 71   --   Hughes, Richard   --   Location: Box 2

DateDescription
ndReference Book Excerpt (photocopy): Something About The Author, pages 87-88.

Folder 72   --   Influential Books   --   Location: Box 2

DateDescription
Mar. 10, 2010Presentation Book List (photocopy): "Modern Books that Made a Difference in What We Did and Thought", Books presented to Long Island Book Collectors by Myron Sywak.

Folder 73   --   Internal Docs - AJC   --   Location: Box 2

DateDescription
ndBook Donation List (computer printout): Books donated to AJC from 9.30.96 - 12.14.2010, 7 pages.

Folder 74   --   Jackson, Jesse C.   --   Location: Box 2

DateDescription
5.19.2011Website Biography (computer printout): en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jesse_C._Jackson
5.19.2011Website Biography (computer printout): www.answers.com/topic/jesse-jackson-1

Folder 75   --   Judson, Clazra Ingram - "Mary Jane Series"   --   Location: Box 2

DateDescription
4.22.2011Website Biography and Book Series Bibliography (computer printout): en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Clara_Ingram_Judson , 2 pages.

Folder 76   --   James, Will   --   Location: Box 2

DateDescription
ndReference Book Excerpt (biographical information-photocopy): Something about the Author, Volume 19, page 148.

Folder 77   --   Kemble, Edward B.   --   Location: Box 2

DateDescription
ndBook Illustration (photocopy): (source unknown).

Folder 78   --   Kent, Rockwell   --   Location: Box 2

DateDescription
ndBook Excerpt (biographical information-photocopy): Illustrators of Children's Books, pages 327-228.
ndBook Title Page Illustration (photocopy): The Saga of Gisli; Son of Sour, 1936 (date handwritten on back).

Folder 79   --   Kredel, Fritz   --   Location: Box 2

DateDescription
ndReference Book Excerpt (biographical information-photocopy): Something About The Author, Volume 17, pages 92-93.

Folder 80   --   Lang, Andrew   --   Location: Box 2

DateDescription
ndReference Book Excerpt (biographical information-photocopy): Something About The Author, Volume 16, pages 178-179.

Folder 81   --   Lathrop, Dorothy   --   Location: Box 2

DateDescription
ndBook Excerpt (biographical information-photocopy): (source unknown)
8.25.2008Bibliographic List (AJC-computer printout): American Juvenile Collection Database.
9.15.2008Bibliographic List (AJC-computer printout): American Juvenile Collection Database.

Folder 82   --   Lawson, Robert   --   Location: Box 2

DateDescription
ndReference Book Excerpt (biographical information-photocopy): Yesterday's Authors of Books for Children, pages 222-223.
ndBook Illustration (photocopy): Story of Ferdinand, 1937 (title/date handwritten on back).
ndBook Illustration (photocopy): Rabbit Hill, 1944? (title/date handwritten on back).
ndBook Title Page and Author Signature (photocopy): Rabbit Hill.
ndArticle (photocopy): "Robert Lawson on My Shelves" by Frederick R. Gardner, pages 7-14 (source unknown-"Long Island Book Collector 1975" handwritten on item).
Jul-Aug 1945Article (photocopy): The Horn Book Magazine, "The Newbery Medal Acceptance" by Robert Lawson, pages 233-242.

Folder 83   --   L'Engle, Madeleine   --   Location: Box 2

DateDescription
7.18.2005Encyclopaedia Britannica Online Entry (biographical information-computer printout): www.britannica.com

Folder 84   --   Lenski, Lois   --   Location: Box 2

DateDescription
6.13.2011Author/Illustrator Book List (AJC-computer printout): American Juvenile Collection, 6 pages
3.22.2011Website Biography and Bibliography (computer printout): Illinois State University-Milner Library library.illinoisstate.edu/unique-collections/lois-lenski
Aug. 2000Book Lists-3 (AJC-computer printout): American Juvenile Collection Database
9.19.2006Book Lists-3 (AJC-computer printout): American Juvenile Collection Database
ndAuthor Book List (photocopy): (source unknown)
7.18.2005Website Biography (computer printout): Women Children's Book Illustrators-Lois Lenski, www.ortakales.com/illustrators/Lenski.html , 5 pages
7.18.2005Website Special Collections Information (computer printout): Lois Lenski Collection, University of North Carolina Greensboro, library.uncg.edu/depts/speccoll/lenski/ , 2 pages.
12.15.2000Online Reference Source (index for other reference sources-computer printout): Literary Index, 6 pages.
ndBook Title Page (photocopy): Cotton in My Sack, 1949 (date handwritten on back).
ndBook Excerpt (biographical information-photocopy): (source unknown), pages 142-144.

Folder 85   --   Lindgren, Astrid   --   Location: Box 2

DateDescription
Summer 1983Article (photocopy): The Quarterly Journal of the Library of Congress,"Pippi Can Lift a Horse; The Importance of Children's Books" by Astrid Lindgren, Volume 40, no. 3, pages 188-201.

Folder 86   --   Little Engine That Could, The   --   Location: Box 2

DateDescription
7.18.2008Online Article (computer printout): "Little Frankie Gets Her Due", www.time.com/time/magazine/article/0,9171,858344,00.html , 3 pages.
7.18.2008Website Article (computer printout): "The Little Engine That Could-Identifying Variants" 1stedition.net/blog/2007/04/the_little_engine_that_could_i.html

Folder 87   --   Lovelau, Maud Hart   --   Location: Box 2

DateDescription
ndArticle (photocopy): "The Real Betsy Ray" by Sur Burgess (source unknown).
ndWebsite Biography (computer printout): The Betsy-Tacy Society.

Folder 88   --   Lowell, Joan   --   Location: Box 2

DateDescription
3.16.2011Website Biography (computer printout): en.Wikipedia.org/wiki/Joan_Lowell , 5 pages.

Folder 89   --   Mary Jane Series & Maxie Series   --   Location: Box 2

DateDescription
4.22.2011Series Book List (computer printout): c.web.umkc.edu/crossonm/maryjane.htm , 2 pages.
Series Book List (computer printout): (source unknown).

Folder 90   --   McCloskey, Robert   --   Location: Box 2

DateDescription
Mar. 18, 1985Article (original): LC Information Bulletin, "A Symposium on Children's Books of the Twenties and Thirties Draws Many..." by Sybille A. Jagusch, pages 53-54.

Folder 91   --   McDonald, Robert   --   Location: Box 2

DateDescription
7.10.2007Website Biography (computer printout): AustLit; The Resource for Australian Literature www.austlit.edu.au

Folder 92   --   Milhous, Katherine   --   Location: Box 2

DateDescription
ndReference Book Excerpt (biographical information-photocopy): Something About The Author, Volume 15, pages 192-194.
ndBook Illustration (photocopy): A Book for Jennifer in: Something About The Author, Volume 17, page 51.

Folder 93   --   Moore, Anne Carroll   --   Location: Box 2

DateDescription
ndArticle reprint (original): Library School Pratt Institute, "Tribute to Anne Carroll Moore", (reprinted from Top of the News, Dec 1961), 12 pages.

Folder 94   --   Notations by Dr. Diana Spirt, Curator and Originator of the AJC   --   Location: Box 2

DateDescription
4.12.2012List (computer printout): "Program Changes to AJC Local db & Web", American Juvenile Collection Database.

Folder 95   --   Mosely, Karl   --   Location: Box 3

DateDescription
ndBook Illustration (photocopy): Wally Wanderoon, 1903 (title/date handwritten on back).

Folder 96   --   Mother Goose   --   Location: Box 3

DateDescription
ndArticle (original and photocopy): The Heritage Sandglass, "We Fall for Mother Goose."

Folder 97   --   Mythology   --   Location: Box 3

DateDescription
1973Encyclopedia reprint (original): The World Book Encyclopedia, "Mythology."

Folder 98   --   Newbery and Caldecott Awards   --   Location: Box 3

DateDescription
ndBook List- Newbery and Caldecott Awards (photocopy): (source unknown), page 668.
ndNewbery Medal Bookmark (original).
ndArticle reprint (original): "Behind Doors with the Newbery-Caldecott Committee", by Anne Izard (reprinted from Top of the News, January 1966.
July 6, 1965Newbery & Caldecott & Wilder Awards Dinner Booklet (original).
July 12, 1966Newbery Caldecott Awards Dinner Program (original with signed woodblock illustration of Randolph Caldecott by Nonny Hogrogian).
1970Newbery-Caldecott-Wilder Awards Program (folder-original with color illustration from Sylvester and the Magic Pebble).
1972Newbery and Caldecott Awards Dinner Head Table Guest List (original).
July 9, 1974Newbery and Caldecott Awards Dinner Booklet (original-2 copies).
July 1, 1975Newbery/Caldecott/Wilder Awards Dinner Trifold (original).
ndArticle reprint (original): "Choosing the Newbery and Caldecott Medal Winners", by Bette J. Peltola (reprinted from Top of the News, Fall 1979.
Oct 19-20, 1984Caldecott Medal and Honor Books 1938-1984-"The Illustrator as Storyteller" Booklet and Conference Program (original).
June 29, 1986Newbery Caldecott Wilder Awards Publisher Promotional Booklet (original).

Folder 99   --   Nielsen, Kay   --   Location: Box 3

DateDescription
ndBook Illustration (photocopy): East of the Sun, 1924. (title/date handwritten on back).
ndReference Book Excerpt (biographical information-photocopy): Something About The Author, Volume 16, page 210.
ndBook Excerpt (biographical information-photocopy): (source unknown), page 29.

Folder 100   --   Orton, Helen Fuller   --   Location: Box 3

Date Description
nd Book Excerpt (photocopy):" By The Same Author" (list of books written by author), (source unknown).

Folder 101   --   Palmer School Faculty   --   Location: Box 3

DateDescription
Spring 1987Newsletter (original): Palmer School Annotations, "Hail But Not Farewell", by Fred J. O'Hara.
Fall 1990Newsletter (photocopy): Palmer School Annotations, "American Juvenile Collection Goes Overseas!"
Spring 1991Newsletter (original): Palmer School Annotations, Vol.22, No. 2, "A Brief History of the American Juvenile Collection", by Dr. Diana L. Spirt, page 9.
July 1994Palmer School Faculty and Staff Profiles List (original).
ndPalmer School Faculty and Staff Profiles List (original).

Folder 102   --   Parrish, Maxfield   --   Location: Box 3

DateDescription
Sept/Oct 1998Martha's Kidlit Newsletter, vol. 10, no. 9/10, "Maxfield Parrish & Children's Books," by Martha Rasmussen.

Folder 103   --   Paus, Herbert   --   Location: Box 3

DateDescription
ndObituary (photocopy): (source unknown).

Folder 104   --   Petersham, Maud and Miska   --   Location: Box 3

DateDescription
10.25.2006Website Biography (computer printout): en.Wikipedia.org/wiki/Maude_and_Miska_Petersham
10.25.2006Book Cover Images (computer printout): Google Images.
10.25.2006Website List of Books written by the Petershams (computer printout): www.valerieslivingbooks.com/petersha.htm, 4 pages.
12.15.2000Online Reference Source (index for other reference sources-computer printout): Literary Index, 2 pages.
ndBook Illustration (photocopy): Guld: The Tavern King, 1919 (title/date handwritten on back).
ndReference Book Excerpt (biographical information-photocopy): Something About The Author, Volume 17, pages 146-152.
Apr. 25, 2007Author Book Lists (AJC-computer printout): American Juvenile Collection Database.

Folder 105   --   Piper, Watty   --   Location: Box 3

Date Description
3.13.2010 Website Article (computer printout): "The Little Engine That Could-Identifying Variants." 1stedition.net/blog/2007/the_little_engine_that_could_i... , 7 pages.
3.13.2010 Website Article (computer printout): "In Search of Watty Piper: A Brief History of the "Little Engine" Story" by Roy E. Plotnick, tigger.uic.edu/~plotnick/littleng.htm , 14 pages.

Folder 106   --   Pitz, Henry   --   Location: Box 3

DateDescription
ndReference Book Excerpt (biographical information-photocopy): Something About The Author, pages 167-171.

Folder 107   --   Pogany, Willy   --   Location: Box 3

DateDescription
ndBook Excerpt (biographical information-photocopy): (source unknown), pages 246-247

Folder 108   --   Politi, Leo   --   Location: Box 3

DateDescription
ndPublisher's Bookmark (original-laminated): Scribners, "Have You Met Leo Politi's Friends?"

Folder 109   --   Porte, Barbara Ann   --   Location: Box 3

DateDescription
7/3/1979Card Catalog Card (original): Author Signature?
ndPublisher Catalog Excerpt (biographical information-photocopy): page 25.
3.26.2008Website Author Bibliography (computer printout): ravenstonepress.com/Bportebib.html, 3 pages.
3.26.2008Database Citation (bibliographic information-computer printout): FirstSearch WorldCat "I Only Made Up The Roses", 2 pages.

Folder 110   --   Potter, Beatrix   --   Location: Box 3

DateDescription
10.7.2006Website Biography (computer printout): potter.thefreelibrary.com/, 2 pages.
10.7.2006Website News Release (computer printout): "Peter Rabbit Publishing Set to Launch in China!", www.prnewswire.co.uk/cgi/news/release?id=108710 , 2 pages.
10.7.2006Publisher's Website Article (computer printout): "Frederick Warne", (Warne was Potter's fiance and among 6 publishers to whom Potter submitted her first Peter Rabbit book.), us.penguingroup.com/static/ html/about us/youngreaders /warne... , 3 pages.
10.7.2006Publisher's Website Article (computer printout): Paragraph about Warne Young Readers Division, www.penguin.co.uk/static/packages/uk/aboutus/ publish... , 1 page.

Folder 111   --   Pyle, Howard   --   Location: Box 3

DateDescription
ndReference Book Excerpt (biographical information-photocopy): Something About The Author, page 224.

Folder 112   --   Rackham, Arthur   --   Location: Box 3

Date Description
nd Book Illustration (photocopy): Gulliver's Travels, 1899 (title/date handwritten on back).
nd Book Excerpt (biographical information-photocopy), (source unknown), 1 page.
nd Book Excerpt (biographical information-photocopy): (source unknown), page 20.
nd Book Excerpt (biographical information-photocopy): (source unknown), page 33.
nd Reference Book Excerpt (biographical information-photocopy): Something About The Author, vol.15, page 213.
10.25.2006 Website Article (biographical information-computer printout): The Arthur Rackham Society, www.angelfire.com/ar/ArthurRackhamSociety/ars03.html , 2 pages.

Folder 113   --   Rare Books Terminology   --   Location: Box 3

DateDescription
ndTypewritten Page (photocopy): "Explanation of Terms Used", 1 page.

Folder 114   --   Recordings - North and South America   --   Location: Box 3

DateDescription
ndTypewritten List (photocopy): List of Records and Cassettes, Folk and Fairy Tales, with Dewey Classification (from LIS 635 course), 5 pages.

Folder 115   --   Rey, H.A. and Margret   --   Location: Box 3

DateDescription
Summer 1998Newsletter (original): Juvenile Miscellany: deGrummond Collection, The University of Southern Mississippi, vol. 25, no. 1, "The H.A. and Margret Rey Legacy."
Fall 1999Newsletter (original): Juvenile Miscellany: deGrummond Collection, The University of Southern Mississippi, vol. 25, no. 2, "Curious George Comes to Hattiesburg."
Summer 2001Newsletter (original): Juvenile Miscellany: deGrummond Collection, The University of Southern Mississippi, vol. 26, no. 2, "Curious George Fund Provides Financial Support."

Folder 116   --   Riley, James Whitcomb   --   Location: Box 3

DateDescription
ndBook Illustration (photocopy): Riley Child-Rhymes, 1905 (title/date handwritten on back).

Folder 117   --   Schultz, James Willard   --   Location: Box 3

DateDescription
ndReference Book Excerpt (biographical information-photocopy): Yesterday's Authors of Books for Children, page 238.

Folder 118   --   Scudder, Saidie E.   --   Location: Box 3

DateDescription
6.23.2010Newspaper Article (original): The Leader, "The Saidie E. Scudder Greenhouse At Bailey Arboretum.", page 8.

Folder 119   --   Sendak, Maurice   --   Location: Box 3

DateDescription
Sept. 28, 1983Article (photocopy): New York Times, "A Fairy Tale by Grimm Comes to Light", by Edwin McDowell.
Sum/Fall 2003Article (original): Children and Libraries, "Descent into Limbo" by Maurice Sendak.
7.31.2008Website Biography and Bibliography (computer printout): en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Maurice_Sendak , 5 pages.

Folder 120   --   Dr. Seuss   --   Location: Box 3

DateDescription
Apr.28,2007List-Picture Books and Letters (AJC computer printout): American Juvenile Collection Database.

Folder 121   --   Sewell, Anna   --   Location: Box 3

DateDescription
ndBook Catalog Excerpt (photocopy): "A Unique Archive: Sewell, Anna." (Source Unknown), 1 page.

Folder 122   --   Slobodkin, Louis   --   Location: Box 3

DateDescription
ndBook Excerpt (biographical information-photocopy): (source unknown), page 199.

Folder 123   --   Smith, Doris Buchanan   --   Location: Box 3

DateDescription
Oct. 2002Article Obituary (original): School Library Journal, "Doris Smith Dies", page 24.

Folder 124   --   Smith, E. Boyd   --   Location: Box 3

DateDescription
ndBook Illustration (photocopy): Sinopah, 1913 (title/date handwritten on back).
ndReference Book Excerpt (biographical information-photocopy): Yesterday's Authors of Books for Children, page 248.
ndBook Excerpt (biographical information-photocopy): (source unknown), page 33.
ndBook Excerpt (biographical information-photocopy): A Critical History of Children's Literature, pages 370-371.

Folder 125   --   Smith, Jessie Wilcox   --   Location: Box 3

DateDescription
ndArticle Excerpt (original): "The Original Babes." (source unknown), 1 paragraph (3 color images).
ndReference Book Excerpt (photocopy): Something About The Author, volume 21, pages 155-162.
7.18.2005Encyclopaedia Britannica Online Entry (biographical information-computer printout): www.britannica.com

Folder 126   --   Spirt, Diana L., Curator and Originator of the AJC   --   Location: Box 3

DateDescription
Nov.16, 2012Invitation (original): "The Power of Children's Literature and the 50th Anniversary of The Snowy Day."
5.12.2011Website Excerpt (computer printout): about the American Juvenile Collection, 1 page.

Folder 127   --   Steig, William   --   Location: Box 3

DateDescription
Nov. 25, 2007Article (original): Newsday, "The New Yorker Giant.', by Ariella Budick, pages C22-23.

Folder 128   --   Storytelling   --   Location: Box 3

DateDescription
April 15,1986Pamphlet (original-bibliographic information): "Storytelling Sources", compiled by Frances Corcoran. (source unknown).
Winter 1988Booklet (original): "How To Tell A Story" by Ruth Sawyer. Written for Compton's Pictured Encyclopedia.
ndNewsletter (original): By Word of Mouth: a publication of the National Clearing House for Information on Storytelling, vol. 3, no.1.
ndBibliography (photocopy): "Stories To Tell." o.p. We Read. OEO. HEW (handwritten notation), pages 7-13.
3.6.1983Bibliography (Article-photocopy):"Folktales From Many Lands", (source unknown), (from LIS 635), 8 pages.

Folder 129   --   Stowe, Harriet Beecher   --   Location: Box 3

DateDescription
ndReference Book Excerpt (biographical information-photocopy): Yesterday's Authors of Books for Children, page 250.

Folder 130   --   Stratemayer Syndicate   --   Location: Box 3

DateDescription
ndObituary (original): "Leslie McFarlane: Playwright Created Hardy Boys", (source unknown).
June 25, 1977Article (original): TV Guide, "Their Success Is No Mystery", by Harriet Adams, pages 13-16.
August 8, 1977Article (original): Newsday, "The Case of the Hidden Author", by Karen DeWitt, page 4A-6A.
Jan. 25, 1969Article (original): Saturday Review, "The Secret of Nancy Drew-Pushing Forty and Going Strong" by Arthur Prager, pages 18-35.
ndArticle (original): "Tom Swift Lives!" (source unknown).
ndAppendix-Pseudonym Author List (original-source unknown): 3 pages.
Oct. 26, 1986Article (original): New York Times, "A Sleuth's Newest Venture", by Barbara Basler, page F4.
May 9, 1993Article (original): New York Times, "A Ghostwriter and Her Sleuth: 63 Years of Smarts and Gumption', by Patricia Leigh Brown, 1 page.
Summer 1994Assorted Articles (original): Martha's Kidlit Newsletter, vol.6, no. 4, "Collecting the Bobbsey Twins", by Deidre A. Johnson, etc., 8 pages.
Nov. 8, 2004Article (photocopy): National Review, "Hardy Perennial" (book review), by S.T. Karnick.

Folder 131   --   Targ, William   --   Location: Box 3

DateDescription
March 22, 1959Newspaper Article (original): "Wide, Wide World", by William Targ (source unknown).

Folder 132   --   Terhune, Albert Payson   --   Location: Box 3

DateDescription
7.21.2009Website Biography and Bibliography (computer printouts-2 copies): en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Albert_Payson_Terhune, 4 pages.
8.5.2009Website Biography and Bibliography (computer printouts-2 copies): en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Albert_Payson_Terhune, 4 pages.

Folder 133   --   Tudor, Tasha   --   Location: Box 3

DateDescription
1981Bookseller Book Catalog (original): "Tasha Tudor", Catalogue 32, Doris Frohnsdorff.
ndReference Book Excerpt (biographical information-photocopy): Something About The Author, Volume 20, pages 184-185.

Folder 134   --   Twain, Mark   --   Location: Box 3

DateDescription
1985Booklet (original): "Born To Trouble: One Hundred Years of Huckleberry Finn', by Justin Kaplan, Library of Congress Viewpoint Series, 23 pages.
3.10.2010Website Article (biographical information-computer printout): "Mark Twain, Publisher", by Barbara Schmidt, www.twainquotes.com/websterco.html

Folder 135   --   Van Loon, Hendrik Willem   --   Location: Box 3

DateDescription
ndReference Book Excerpt (biographical information-photocopy): Something About The Author, Volume 18, pages 286-287.
ndBook Excerpt (photocopy): "Social Studies for Older Children; Hendrik Willem Van Loon - The Story of Mankind", (source unknown), pages 561-562.

Folder 136   --   Von Arnim, Elizabeth   --   Location: Box 3

DateDescription
7.28.2005Website Biography (computer printout): en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Elizabeth_von_Arnim , 1 page.

Folder 137   --   Walck, H.Z.   --   Location: Box 3

Date Description
3.25.2011 Online Obituary (computer printout): New York Times, "Henry Z. Walck," www.nytimes.com/1984/12/26/ obituaries/henry-z-walck.ht...

Folder 138   --   Ward, Lynd   --   Location: Box 3

DateDescription
ndReference Book Excerpt (biographical information-photocopy): Something About The Author, pages 257-260.
ndBook Excerpt (biographical information-photocopy): Illustrators of Children's Books: 1946-1956, page 194.
ndIllustrations-Book List (AJC-computer printout): American Juvenile Collection Database.

Folder 139   --   Wheeler, Post   --   Location: Box 3

DateDescription
ndList-Fairy Tales and Folklore (AJC computer printout): American Juvenile Collection Database.

Folder 140   --   White, E.B.   --   Location: Box 3

DateDescription
ndArticle Reprint (excerpt-original):"On Writing for Children", by E.B. White, from "The Art of the Essay", Paris Review, Number 48, Fall 1969.
7.18.2005Encyclopaedia Britannica Online Entry (biographical information-computer printout): www.britannica.com

Folder 141   --   Wieses, Kurt   --   Location: Box 3

DateDescription
ndBook Excerpt (biographical information-photocopy): (source unknown), "The Twentieth Century,"page 135.
5.30.2008Illustrations-Book List (AJC-computer printout-2 copies): American Juvenile Collection Database.

Folder 142   --   Wiggin, Kate Douglas   --   Location: Box 3

DateDescription
ndPublisher Booklet (original): "Kate Douglas Wiggin", by Frances Hodgson Burnett, Houghton Mifflin Company.

Folder 143   --   Wilder, Laura Ingalls   --   Location: Box 3

DateDescription
1965Promotional Piece (original): "Ruth Sawyer, Winner of the 1965 Laura Ingalls Wilder Award".
ndArticle Reprint (original): "The Laura Ingalls Wilder Award, from Top of the News, January 1965.
ndBooklet-Article Reprint (original): "Laura Ingalls Wilder 1867-1967", from Top of the News, April 1967.

Folder 144   --   Williams, Garth   --   Location: Box 3

DateDescription
ndBook Illustration (photocopy): Stuart Little, 1945 (date handwritten on back).

Folder 145   --   Williams, Margery   --   Location: Box 3

DateDescription
April 1970Article Reprint (original): "A Tale for Children: The Velveteen Rabbit" by Margery Williams, from McCall's.

Folder 146   --   Woolley, Catherine   --   Location: Box 3

DateDescription
Aug 17, 1999Article (original): The Cape Codder, "Truro Library's Grand Opening Draws A Crowd", by Joyce Johnson, page 5.

Folder 147   --   Winter, Milo   --   Location: Box 3

DateDescription
ndBook Excerpt (biographical information-photocopy): Illustrators of Children's Books 1744-1945, page 373.
ndBook Excerpt (biographical information-photocopy): (source unknown), page 34.

Folder 148   --   Wright, Dare   --   Location: Box 3

DateDescription
ndArticle (original): New York Times, "The Unsettling Stories of Two Lonely Dolls", by David Coleman.
Oct 17, 2004Article (original): New York Times, Letters to the Editor.
Dec 5, 2004Article (original): New York Times, "Her Doll, Herself", by M.G. Lord.
ndAuthor Book List (photocopy): (source unknown).

Folder 149   --   Wyeth, N.C.   --   Location: Box 3

DateDescription
ndReference Book Excerpt (biographical information-photocopy): Something About The Author, Volume 17, page 249.
ndIllustrations Book List (AJC-computer printout): American Juvenile Collection Database.

Folder 150   --   Wyndham, Lee   --   Location: Box 3

DateDescription
ndAuthor signed photograph (original).
ndAuthor Book List and biographical information (original-source unknown).
Aug 11, 1967Letter written by author to Dr. Diana Spirt (original typewritten and signed).
ndArticle? (original-typewritten): "Fiction Plus! Lee Wyndham's Candy Stripers", (source unknown).

American Juvenile Collection

American Juvenile Collection

Contact Information

Archives and Special Collections

B. Davis Schwartz Memorial Library
LIU Post Campus
Long Island University
Brookville, NY 11548

Telephone: (516) 299-2880

Email: jarron.jewell@liu.edu

Hours: 9:00-5:00, Monday-Friday